Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cows dried off ,everything dosed for lice and worms over last 2 days ,half weanling heifers in other half out and out they’ll remain
    7400 Ltrs and 590 kgms sold average milk price over 39 cent for year
    Looking forward to break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Mooooo wrote: »
    Dried off 32 more cows and housed last of weanlings, down to 3 rows till the end off Jan now

Down to 45 mins here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Hydraulic hose burst on shear grab no answer from garage. Yeah Xmas is close alrite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hydraulic hose burst on shear grab no answer from garage. Yeah Xmas is close alrite

Any contractors near ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,674 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Can you rob one off another implement to tied you over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Scraper man can fix hydraulic hoses

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Base price wrote: »
    Can you rob one off another implement to tied you over.

Or something old with the big left hand thread nut that goes over the hose, us old lads had to do things the hard way before every shop and garage got a swaging machine for hydraulic hoses. Bad photo, but they look like this

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-of-4-Reusable-Hydraulic-Hose-Fittings-Male-1-8-NPT-x-3-3-16-Hose-NOS-/331774635599

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

ah lads ,,,,,i have been working on my own condition score here for the last few weeks getting ready for the spring.....:D .....

Thanks for suggestions, lad answered there will be there till 12 so sorted. Neighbour has similar loader so our attachments would fit his and vice versa so wouldn't be stuck but don't like to be borrowing this week as wouldn't like to be disrupting whatever plan/ timetable he has himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

022 42825 Mallow, next to the beet factory are open till 1pm. But if a drive for you, but they are definitely open, just off the phone from yhem...oops...should have kept reading....sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Cops rang at 3am saying that my incalf heifers were out on a busy road...phuckin charolais suckler cows, so not mine.
    Ended up giving them a hand. Locked them into a field of mine. Funny that nobody has claimed them yet. Lazy suckler farmers...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bo dearg

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Cows dried off ,everything dosed for lice and worms over last 2 days ,half weanling heifers in other half out and out they’ll remain
    7400 Ltrs and 590 kgms sold average milk price over 39 cent for year
    Looking forward to break

Great results mahoney. Do you think 600kg solids is as far as you can go? And if you dont mind my asking how many kg of meal were they fed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Thanks for suggestions, lad answered there will be there till 12 so sorted. Neighbour has similar loader so our attachments would fit his and vice versa so wouldn't be stuck but don't like to be borrowing this week as wouldn't like to be disrupting whatever plan/ timetable he has himself

Be sure to get two of them. Something we always have a spare of here is hoses for the sheargrab. One blew yesterday evening. Going again in five minutes. Got two made and replaced another that was looking a bit suspect this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Cops rang at 3am saying that my incalf heifers were out on a busy road...phuckin charolais suckler cows, so not mine.
    Ended up giving them a hand. Locked them into a field of mine. Funny that nobody has claimed them yet. Lazy suckler farmers...!!

Young lad I'm due the Christmas phone call

Bo dearg wrote: »
    Great results mahoney. Do you think 600kg solids is as far as you can go? And if you dont mind my asking how many kg of meal were they fed

Ta 1.6 t fed in parlour ,more or less finished expanding for now and let herd mature ,.on a good grass year I don’t see why 650 plus is achievable on same meal

Be sure to get two of them. Something we always have a spare of here is hoses for the sheargrab. One blew yesterday evening. Going again in five minutes. Got two made and replaced another that was looking a bit suspect this morning.

Yeah got two, nothing else in the yard has hoses that would fit the shear grab.

When going to shop bring back a spare

Why do guys quota output from milking block? Surely it should be from whole farm

Milk block is where milk is produced ????,I don’t know with all the mickey waving figures thrown around these days hard to believe anything ,only figure that interests me is profit after tax and all bills paid and what’s sitting in my current account

Sorry I asked

My thinking on milking block opposed to whole farm is that young stock are reared on whole farm. Silage and increasingly zgrazer grass is coming off whole farm.

This can allow higher Sr.on milk block leading to inflated figures being quoted. The figures aren't wrong but don't tell the whole story. A lot of bought feed can also distort this figure.

That's all I meant

Sorry I asked

You asked I gave answer no offense meant jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

My thinking on milking block opposed to whole farm is that young stock are reared on whole farm. Silage and increasingly zgrazer grass is coming off whole farm.

This can allow higher Sr.on milk block leading to inflated figures being quoted. The figures aren't wrong but don't tell the whole story. A lot of bought feed can also distort this figure.

That's all I meant

Out farms are often also farmed less intensively but the fertiliser allowance transferred back to MP to pump more grass from there which also inflates the figures.

Leading to the question I've in my head, is the milking block supporting the "support block", or vice versa.

All this land had a cost and guys increasingly want a land charge included in figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,674 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'm not well up on dairy or how ye calculate your litres/hectare/acre but I would assume that dry cows kept on a out farm would skew figures too.
    Is rented land also included in the figures e.g. land used to grow silage/maize silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'm not well up on dairy or how ye calculate your litres/hectare/acre but I would assume that dry cows kept on a out farm would skew figures too.
    Is rented land also included in the figures e.g. land used to grow silage/maize silage.

Yes definitely. All land associated with your dairy enterprise. Only land you could argue over would be for the likes of bought in maize or silage crops, you don't quote them in your financial/pm figures because you'll have costed the crop anyways, however it's slightly questionable to claim your stocked at 3lu/ha overall but on the other hand your buying in 100% of your winter feed.

All in all you need to be quite specific when quoting any per ha figures. It does sometimes turn into bit of a willy waving event, bit like the milk recorded/305day against milk delivered per year.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yes definitely. All land associated with your dairy enterprise. Only land you could argue over would be for the likes of bought in maize or silage crops, you don't quote them in your financial/pm figures because you'll have costed the crop anyways, however it's slightly questionable to claim your stocked at 3lu/ha overall but on the other hand your buying in 100% of your winter feed.

All in all you need to be quite specific when quoting any per ha figures. It does sometimes turn into bit of a willy waving event, bit like the milk recorded/305day against milk delivered per year.
    Hence my earlier comment only true figure is profit after tax and all bills etc accounted for ,that’s why I have little interest in cop or profit per he /liter etc cause none are true figures .so much other things going on with those figures and so many ways to skew them

All bought forage and feed is recorded in PM or should be

Imv all area should be included regardless of enterprise. It's the only way to know how you're going

Circa 750/ha with 19 acres maize bought in this year. Was at 975 last year. What do lads thinks a realistic target whole farm?