I touch your face while you are sleeping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,498 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

spindex wrote: »
    As most ye bright sparks are aware this is a line from the festive song Stay by East 17(why it is a festive song I don't know).
    Anyway did the writer get permission to touch the sleepers face before they went to sleep ? If they didn't is this a sexual assault ? Should the easily offended be calling for this song to be banned too ?
    I say yes purely because I don't like the song, nothing to do with the lyrics.

0b1c1b037f327ac0fd5bb5f1adbd075c1d7726fdf77b8ca0df79af8d71b7e43c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It's going to be alright OP. Everything is going to be alright.

Toby Mortimer wrote it about his brother who committed suicide.

I never knew that's what it was about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭Odhinn

spindex wrote: »
    As most ye bright sparks are aware this is a line from the festive song Stay by East 17(why it is a festive song I don't know).
    Anyway did the writer get permission to touch the sleepers face before they went to sleep ? If they didn't is this a sexual assault ? Should the easily offended be calling for this song to be banned too ?
    I say yes purely because I don't like the song, nothing to do with the lyrics.

A quick check reveals that "..with my lad" is not the rest of the line, so no.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Didn't one of them manage to run over himself with his own car?

Now that's real talent!

Allegedly opened the door to puke, put his foot on the accelerator, was thrun out, got dragged under the wheels and (genuinely) badly damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's so comical seeing them again over Christmas with the giant whitey gangsta clothing, scowls and random pointing fingers. It all seems so long ago.

Always liked the song though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Adele:

I'll set fire to the rain
    Watch it pour as I
    Touch your face.

They're all at it :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They were horsing into the yokes by all accounts. A bit of facing touching is only to be expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Adele:

I'll set fire to the rain
    Watch it pour as I
    Touch your face.

They're all at it :O

Holy f*ck

Are those actual song lyrics?

Jeeeesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

It was about one of the band members father dying in hospital. Therefore "stay another day". Jeez some of the comments here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

quintana76 wrote: »
    It was about one of the band members father dying in hospital. Therefore "stay another day". Jeez some of the comments here.

You are thinking of The Drugs Don't Work by The Verve. Stay Another Day was about Tony Mortimer's brother committing suicide.