Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas party, Boss might have tried to rape me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 846 ✭✭✭Tenigate

GingerLily wrote: »
    I do not know if your boss sexually assaulted you, but I do feel that you might benefit from talking to the rape crisis centre. You feel violated and I think you'll need to address that before you move on. No one here can tell you if you were sexually assaulted but I think talking to someone could help you come to terms with what happened.

Just to note.. REGRET IS NOT RAPE.
    sure, rape charities may be willing to counsel people who weren't raped. I dealt with a suicide prevention charity who counsel depressed people who arent suicide risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Tenigate wrote: »
    Just to note.. REGRET IS NOT RAPE.
    sure, rape charities may be willing to counsel people who weren't raped. I dealt with a suicide prevention charity who counsel depressed people who arent suicide risks.

I agree - I'm not suggesting it is - I'm trying to give the OP advice for her to cope with this situation - not get involved with the politics of consent in the 21st century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Op we don’t know what went on. All I can advise you is to go to your gp or well woman for a check up just incase especially if your not on any contraceptive if you did have sex Consenual or not I doubt that any protection was used. You need to be checked for stds also.

On the job front although it’s his own business you still have rights.

On the wife, I can understand she’s angry and that she doesn’t want to talk to you but if she’s the only witness.

I don’t know if you can report this to the guards to have them check any cctv from the hotel without involving him.

You need to photograph any bruising as well to have evidence just incase.if I was in your position right now and I couldn’t remember anything I’d be taking a trip to my doctor for an examination and some advice regardless of whether I wanted to go to the guards or not.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

OP it sounds like a horrible situation that you’re in, and your boss utterly abused his position by firstly serving you poitin, which is extremely potent and then those lewd remarks at the bar. It sounds like you blacked out and your boss might have taken advantage of the situation. I can understand your fear and confusion.

This is why in my opinion, work Christmas parties, especially where the boss is present, are generally a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Forgive me but I can't understand if you told your husband how he doesn't want to go round and get some answers from this guy especially if you think you may have been taken advantage of.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

How did your husband feel after taking the poitin? Is that why he went home because it hit him? Where did the poitin come from?

Is it possible that you got so drunk that you might have done something, but can't remember? You need to talk to your boss and his wife and get a clearer picture of what happened.

You said you were buying shots at the bar afterwards and you were there for a long time after, so you were having the craic. And you remember it all up the time at your door? Did your husband have to carry you to bed?

Like I said, atm you're going on what your boss said. You've no recollection. If himself and his wife are going to tarnish your name by saying you were trying shag him outside your house, with your husband upstairs, you need to put that right. Talk to him face to face.

What are the bruises from?

It's one of two things, either you both got p*ssed and got a bit hands on outside your house.

Or, your boss was more savvy than you and tried it on with you when you were in a state.

I wouldn't be staying with a cold state of the fear if I thought the second scenario was possible. I'd be banging down doors looking for answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

OP, I really think your trying to remove all blame from yourself here and the story you portray may not be 100% accurate. I mean to drink a glass of Poitin and only realise after you drank the full glass what it was. Come on, that stuff is like paint stripper. If you were only after a couple of beers at that stage I can't believe you drank that much of it.

Perhaps change the word glass to "shot" and it becomes more realistic. However then the narrative of the story changes to I had a shot of Poitin and got too drunk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭server down

The op woke up feeling fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

Any chance the OP's drink was spiked? Poteen is strong enough you could probably put anything in there and not be able to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

missmatty wrote: »
    Any chance the OP's drink was spiked? Poteen is strong enough you could probably put anything in there and not be able to tell.

I think you need to test the very next morning as common drugs used for spiking leave the system very fast. So the OP may be too late for that.

It's very often that blackouts are simply down to drink. I've had single shots of stuff I'm not used to on top of a couple of beers that blew the head off me and caused gaps in my memory.

The boss got the poteen in the venue by the sounds of it. So it's the commercial version and while it's still strong, it's not the real stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Ultimately, the chain of events is unknown or uncertain. It's hard to prosecute on that basis.

Hallmarks of the Ched Evans case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

I think everyone else here has covered the rape pov.

From an employment perspective he simply can't change your terms of employment like that without agreement from you and a proper notice period and you're well within you rights to take a case against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,006 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The poitin was brought to the hotel by one of the bosses employees. It was the strong kind. The boss asked him to bring it in and the boss arranged to have a tray of glasses from the hotel filled and he brought them to the table. They looked like large shots he bought at the bar. I took a sip and said it was horrible, the boss said 'you just need to down it' and I stupidly did.

He said afterwards that he never drank any himself, nor did his wife, but he claims he was drunk on vodka and can't remember anything.

My husband spoke to him on the phone, we both called him several times, his wife refuses to talk but she was in the room with him for one of the calls. Their story has changed a few times, especially when my husband mentioned going to the Gardai, but ultimately he says he doesn't remember, she won't talk to us, I have no memory of anything.

His wife said she is ok with me going back to work but tbh, I'm not going back there. I don't believe their story, my boss was always friendly with, but i know from work that he's not afraid of making up a story and sticking with it to get himself out of trouble.

At this point I'm worn out by it. I've given up getting a straight story from him or the wife. My job is finished, I'm just gonna tell him to hire someone else, train my replacement and leave and never be stupid enough to drink anything like that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Do you reckon this is an attempt to get rid of You?

You're not the only one who had the poitin. Your husband had it too. What's his memory like? Did you drink anything else that was bought by anyone else?

Are you saying the hotel knew that an illegal drink was being consumed on their premises and we're OK with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭JamBur

Your story keeps refining itself within every telling. My reading of this with the information to hand is that this is BS. I know that sounds harsh, but your story is inconsistent.

JamBur wrote: »
    Your story keeps refining itself within every telling. My reading of this with the information to hand is that this is BS. I know that sounds harsh, but your story is inconsistent.

There was a story on here a few weeks ago that disappeared very sharpish.
    It was a man who said his drink was spiked by his SIL in a hotel and has no memory of her taking advantage.
    She then claimed she was pregnant.

I'm just mentioning this because similarly this was an anon poster so if that disappeared quickly then this story must check out with mods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

To cut a long story short you went out, got drunk and cheated on your husband.

This talk of rape is a disgrace to people who genuinely have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,112 ✭✭✭bilbot79

JeffKenna wrote: »

This is a really good point. Something bad has happened here, either by the boss...or the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭qwerty13

....... wrote: »

It’s quite a leap from him being a sleazebag to being a rapist.

The OP needs to be very careful about tossing around the word "rape". That's how lives get destroyed. The OP's case sounds more like two people acting out of character.

Also I'm very uncertain about the OP drinking Poitin and not realising. It has an unbelievably distinctive smell and taste, which is undeniably Poitin. It could just be me, but the thought of the OP not knowing is very odd.

Not to mention the OP's husband wanting to call the boss. If I found out my loved one had been with another man I would be furious. The whole thing seems unbelievably odd.

OP, I'd be very careful about tossing the word rape around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

I once woke up at an after work Christmas party with my top unzipped ( and i wasn't wearing a bra) cuddled into my boss
    I'm not sure which of us was the most mortified. We avoided each other for ages but for the last 15 years have gone for lunch every Friday.
    But i wouldn't cry rape. Yes you both had too much to drink. But rape?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,006 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

To all the people telling me to be very careful using the word rape, why do you think I'm here as an anonymous poster asking for help and advice? If I was irresponsible, I would be all over social media using his real name and his real details.

The only reason I used that word (and attempted) is because I genuinely feel that my boss tried to take advantage of me sexually without my consent, and I think if his wife hadn't turned up, I don't want to think what he would have done.

Regarding the poitin,

Apparently he knew someone behind the bar who gave him the tray and glasses and he filled them outside. Someone said that I had to know what it was because poitin is so distinctive in taste, well, maybe it is a distinctive taste, but I've never tasted it before, so I had nothing to compare it with. But, I did know that it was a spirit of some kind and It was bad judgement on my part to drink it, although I suspect I'm not the only one who has drunk a mystery drink 'bought' for them them at a christmas party.

While I am angry that he gave out poitin during a work christmas party, I accept that it was irresponsible of me to drink something if I didn't know what it was, if that was all that had happened, this thread wouldn't exist.

My side of the story has been consistent up to now. I had too much to drink, apparently to the point where I couldn't walk properly and kept falling over, my boss followed me home, apparently to make sure I was safe, and the next day, I got a phone call from him saying "what have we done?" his wife had seen me kiss him outside the door of my house (actually, in the lane between my house and the neighbours (it's a semi detatched house and the door is right beside the lane)

I have absolutely no memory of kissing him or being confronted by his wife, everything I 'know' has come from them.
    He says he doesn't remember anything, I don't believe him.

In the past 2 days, I have spoken to him in the phone multiple times, spoken to him while his wife was in the room and wouldn't talk to me, and yesterday, his wife called me and we talked directly for the first time, and in the last 2 days, their story has changed so many times that I am now convinced that I never kissed him, that I was either fully unconscious or semi conscious when he assaulted me, and I think his wife caught him in the act and freaked out, and he has spent the last 2 days with her trying to get her to go with a story that makes it look like a drunken snog instead of something much worse.

Some of the things that have changed about the story are to do with the time line, the gap between when I left the hotel and she 'caught us' was 10 minutes at the start according to his first version, which made no sense, because why would his wife come to look for him after only 10 minutes, then he said that his wife was only changing her shoes and was going to help walk me home, which makes no sense because why would we kiss if we thought his wife was on her way and could be there at any moment, but that doesn't matter, because the next version of their story is that it was more like a 20- 30 minute gap, that the wife went to change her shoes and meet us, but only after waiting around in her hotel room for 10 minutes, and that makes no sense either because he would have been home by then, I only live next door. Who changes her shoes to walk to a house they can almost see from the door of the hotel (shoes that were comfortable enough for her to be dancing in all night..)

The last version of the timeline from her is totally inconsistent, she first said she told her husband she was going to bed, and then she said that she was going to her room to change her shoes. It's clear to me that they're lying about him thinking his wife was on her way and about how little time he was alone with me. What I am convinced happened is that she went to bed, and then went looking for him when he didn't come back. And that's fine, but why did they lie about it first?

Also, her story about hitting me has changed, first she 'beat the two of us', then it changed to she slapped me once, then changed to 'she pushed me twice' (all told to me by the boss) and the last version from his wife was that she only hit him and didn't touch me.
    And the worst thing she said that sends chills down my spine, is that she said before she left, she 'checked me to make sure nothing else had happened and my clothes were all in place'

Seriously. If i was conscious enough to consent to a kiss or take his pants down, she wouldn't have needed to check my clothes. That indicates to me I was unconscious when this happened, and she is now trying to protect her family from what her husband did by making me think that it was just a drunken kiss.

The last thing she told me on that call was to not tell anyone else about what happened, she wants to keep it quiet, also a few hours later, she texted me asking me to come into work on Thursday or Friday for tidy up some work.

I don't want to go into details about the company because I want to keep it anonymous and keep their identity secret, but she and her husband both control the company, so that's made it even more awkward, they run the company, I run the office, basically, I'm his secretary/pa. He can't run the place without me, at least not until he finds a replacement.

I know there are people talking about false memories, but I have been having a few flashbacks of that night. I'm not going to go into them but they confirm my suspicion that I was passed out outside and only came into the house some hours later.

Some people think it's irresponsible to use the rape word, but if you woke up in an alley and the next day you got a call saying that a man had been interrupted with you with his pants down and you have no memory of any of that, what would you think happened?

What would you do if you have a horrible feeling that your boss did something horrible and you have absolutely no way of proving any of it?

I just want to get out of this job, my husband and I agree that I'm never going to be alone in the same room as this man again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Patww79 wrote: »
    The likes of the thread title is the scary part. No matter what happened, she could finish him with a click of her fingers in the current climate.

Do you think it's that easy for a rape victims to get justice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

GingerLily wrote: »
    Do you think it's that easy for a rape victims to get justice?

No, but it is that easy for malicious gossip to spread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I think everyone else here has covered the rape pov.

From an employment perspective he simply can't change your terms of employment like that without agreement from you and a proper notice period and you're well within you rights to take a case against him.
    Taking a case against him would be career suicide. Imagine future employers googling her and it turns out she sued her boss because they got caught kissing by his wife after getting hammered at the office party and it was too awkward to work there anymore. I can't imagine anyone would want to hire her. It's not a risk I'd be willing to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

JeffKenna wrote: »

I said the same a few days ago and my post was instantly deleted by the mods.

This story has too many plot holes..