Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

citykat wrote: »
    Christy Moore... OFF!
    In my case - Christy Moore - never switched on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

For the first Moving Hearts album alone, I am glad of Christy Moore’s existence. Still one of the best Irish records ever released imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Christy is a great performer,but like Mick Wallace at the building trade, got a bit opinionated and strident.

That’s fine for the ordinary Joe, but if you are in the public eye and trying to make a living being by appealing to the widest sector of opinion you can, it’s disastrous.

You alienate a large swath of people who like your music but can’t stand your attitude.

Stick to the day job Kit, that’s what you are good at, others can handle the bleeding heart gig.

Too much regulation in the banks, this chap is saying. Remove the shackles, let them at it and we will be great again. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

This one deserves to be going out of business. Unwilling to change or modernise. Whinging and whining that it's everyone else's fault just makes you look like a tit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

neris wrote: »
    This one deserves to be going out of business. Unwilling to change or modernise. Whinging and whining that it's everyone else's fault just makes you look like a tit

She sounded shockingly entitled, and I don't understand how anybody with that attitude could have survived in business for so long. The egg sandwich analogy was laughable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

She sounded shockingly entitled, and I don't understand how anybody with that attitude could have survived in business for so long. The egg sandwich analogy was laughable...

Even though I have a Kindle I still buy lots of physical books & I love bookshops but I really wouldn't be in any hurry to visit this lady's shop ... To me she came across as a pompous and unpleasant womam & not at all welcoming. I think her problem is closer to home than she might care to admit :rolleyes:

You could tell how utterly distasteful the idea of selling secondhand books was to her when Sean posed the question as she hummed and hawed her answer, obviously not wanting to spell it out directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

There was one of those shops here in Sligo too. I went in a few times and asked about books and he wouldn't bother his ass looking them up on the computer. If I wanted something by Yeats, he'd have it no problem, at a premium price. I'd then go to Easons and get it within two days if they didn't have it in stock.

He's closed down now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

S'OR not at his best this morning with the women. Fairly put his foot in it with a rather brutal opening introduction to Una Butler, I'm sure she would have preferred not to hear his tabloid style into about her husband strangling her daughters. Insensitive at best.

Followed by a very spikey attitude towards Catherine Noone on article 43.3 etc., at least we know where O'Rourke's sympathies lie. Why can't he just interview someone in a neutral manner? It's their views which are important, regardless of what they are and not his. At least Catherine put him back in his box with her observation about men not giving birth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,357 ✭✭✭✭elperello

He redeemed himself by giving a very sympathetic ear to the demon drink ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭plodder

quintana76 wrote: »
    During the TV review John Boland had the temerity to criticise Nathan Carter's generic voice. He was soon put in his place. He must have forgotten he was on RTE where NC is the current flavour of the year.
    Funnily enough, they were talking about Nathan Carter on Arena the other day. It was kind of the opposite, with a lot of (generic) anti country-music snobbery on display.

“The beginning of wisdom is to call things by their proper name.” - Confucius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭plodder

BarryD2 wrote: »
    S'OR not at his best this morning with the women. Fairly put his foot in it with a rather brutal opening introduction to Una Butler, I'm sure she would have preferred not to hear his tabloid style into about her husband strangling her daughters. Insensitive at best.
    Didn't hear it, but it sounds like the perils of reading off a script that was written when the unfortunate woman wasn't sitting next to him.

“The beginning of wisdom is to call things by their proper name.” - Confucius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jeepers,the shameless gore/gossipfest on now about the Molly Martens case.... you can almost hear that journo licking his lips at the gory details :mad:

Unedifying at any time.
    Unforgivable during the holiday period when small ears are more likely listening.

Had to turn it off..... pure tabloid muck, I'd have expected better from the producers of that show, and from Damo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Had to turn it off..... pure tabloid muck, I'd have expected better from the producers of that show, and from Damo.

Phoning it in across all platforms until the turn of the year.

Pointless even switching on.

padd b1975 wrote: »

Lyric a better bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

padd b1975 wrote: »

Turn of the year, Padd!

04 Jan at the earliest, me good man.

Teachers holidays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Cant believe they let Damien O' Reilly cover on this programme , no offence to the lad but he has his niche in the farming and covering Joe Duffy ... but current affairs ?, he's like a deer caught in the headlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,156 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

At least he pulled up the lottery woman on where the unclaimed prize money goes. A lot of the others would have let that go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Oops69 wrote: »
    Cant believe they let Damien O' Reilly cover on this programme , no offence to the lad but he has his niche in the farming and covering Joe Duffy ... but current affairs ?, he's like a deer caught in the headlights.

Today is my first day listening to him - like him anyway but I thought he was good on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

At least he pulled up the lottery woman on where the unclaimed prize money goes. A lot of the others would have let that go.
    he posed the question but didn't follow it through, she said in reply ' thats a question for another day ' and he just let it go, so I wouldn't really call that ' pulling her up ' in fairness.

He wasn't remotely able for the politial round-up of the year - turned into a party-political broadcast / shouting contest very quickly. Complete waste of 20 minutes (or however long it was on, I had to switch over before my ears started to bleed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Jeepers,the shameless gore/gossipfest on now about the Molly Martens case.... you can almost hear that journo licking his lips at the gory details :mad:
    I heard the podcast and was unprepared for the graphic details of the crimes. Was there a pre warning before the podcast began. The content was horrific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I just can't believe this: the Banks actually STOLE from people and they seem to be completly above the law. If that lady went into her local bank & lifted a bundle of money off the counter she'd be pursued by Gardaí and would be facing a judge yet the bank can blithely steal on a massive scale and no-one calls the Gardaí!

It’s outrageous alright but not sure why it’s so hard to believe. Just as well we have proper regulation of these thieving banks nowadays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

The real scandal of the Tracker Mortgages case is the exorbitant Standard Variable Rates being imposed on Irish consumers.

I must confess that it sticks in the craw a bit to see those in arrears getting compensation, whereas those who struggled through and paid in full, get nothing.

Ahhh heres that eejit from rural resettlement Ireland again?

Yes lets haul people to the country side with no services......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

This keegan lads away with the faries.