Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester City Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017 Mod warning post # 1403

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

So um guys as a neutral, do you think you could maybe give yourself a handicap for a few games? Make things somewhat more competitive? That'd be nice thanks.

I'd say start with ten men and a goal deficit should do it. But I'm open to suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,736 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Kev scored that with a broken Ankle and **** you to Ali
    Alli <mod edit> Good player (though not this season), but he's one sly, snidey individual. One day, he's going to try that tackle against the wrong opponent and he'll pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Turtwig wrote: »
    So um guys as a neutral, do you think you could maybe give yourself a handicap for a few games? Make things somewhat more competitive? That'd be nice thanks.

I'd say start with ten men and a goal deficit should do it. But I'm open to suggestions.
    Put Bravo back in goal that will swing things back in yer favour.

Dunno he's been fairly solid for ye from the games I've seen this season. He was atrocious last year but I've seen enough of him for Chile and Barca to know he's capable of much better. He was exceptional for Barca the season they won the treble. Exceptional! (Not Ederson good distribution wise, but very goood nonetheless.)

We played without three of what could be considered our first choice back 4 (Vinnie, Stones and Mendy). And no Merlin. We also left our shooting boots at home. Short of sticking "Fraudiola" upfront and Arteta in midfield, I'm not sure what more we can do you.

Dunno he's been fairly solid for ye from the games I've seen this season. He was atrocious last year but I've seen enough of him for Chile and Barca to know he's capable of much better. He was exceptional for Barca the season they won the treble. Exceptional! (Not Ederson good distribution wise, but very goood nonetheless.)

He's had one very good game for us this season but by and large he was terrible for us ,he's not great at saving but decent on the ball and his passing is good and seems good under pressure. He would have definitely cost us points this season I am certain of that.

blueser wrote: »
    We played without three of what could be considered our first choice back 4 (Vinnie, Stones and Mendy). And no Merlin. We also left our shooting boots at home. Short of sticking "Fraudiola" upfront and Arteta in midfield, I'm not sure what more we can do you.

What magic could Pep do with Arteta,and didn't he take pens for Arsenal,could be the missing link.

He's had one very good game for us this season but by and large he was terrible for us ,he's not great at saving but decent on the ball and his passing is good and seems good under pressure. He would have definitely cost us points this season I am certain of that.
    He did the business in the shootout against Wolves!

https://twitter.com/BBCSport/status/942118397822816257

The lad is a class act. More than can be said for Alli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

cant shake off the typical city stuff but this is starting to look monumental

Fair play to spurs they played a game of football against us none of that Wimbledon crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I'll keep my powder dry.

For now.

But, should we win tonight....

ill-be-back1-800x1000.jpg

Fair play. City are formidable. Different class to the rest of the premiership!

He did the business in the shootout against Wolves!

Yea that the game I was on about, he made some great saves and in the Shootout he was very good,shame thats about all he has done.
    Anyways great win,surely Ali tackle will be reviewed ,it was an ankle breaker.
    Oh yea wheres everyone now saying Tripper was better than Walker ?

Yea that the game I was on about, he made some great saves and in the Shootout he was very good,shame thats about all he has done.
    Anyways great win,surely Ali tackle will be reviewed ,it was an ankle breaker.
    Oh yea wheres everyone now saying Tripper was better than Walker ?

I still think Trippier has the higher skill ceiling. :o Pep makes players look much better than they are too. Can't ignore that. :p But yeah Walker is in much better form than Trippier of late.

cant shake off the typical city stuff but this is starting to look monumental

Fair play to spurs they played a game of football against us none of that Wimbledon crap
    I've been a fan since the early seventies, and it's hard to break the habits of a lifetime.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

I've been a fan since the early seventies,

1970 for me, Franny Lee. Saw him playing for England which were the only live matches you could watch on tv back then. Went into school the next day and asked who he played for. Supported City ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Colin Bell would have lorded it in that team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Joe Exotic

I've been a fan since the early seventies, and it's hard to break the habits of a lifetime.
    :o

Just realised when reading this that I have been a fan for approx 25 years :eek::eek::eek: - man I'm old now (38)

What a ride !!

On another note as i was watching the Spurs game i was thinking about who were the best players so far this season, and what were the categories. I've come up with 4 categories (My choices in brackets):
    1. Best player (De Bruyne)
    2. Most improved (Sterling)
    3. Best player in a Team context (Delph - Despite being a Mid playing left back
    and doing a relatively great job)
    4. Most important newcomer(Ederson)

What do the rest of Ye think??

Any other categories ?

loobylou wrote: »
    1970 for me, Franny Lee. Saw him playing for England which were the only live matches you could watch on tv back then. Went into school the next day and asked who he played for. Supported City ever since.

Jesus I thought I was the oldest swinger in town around here apart from blueser of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭hubluh

Seems there's something up with Silva.
    https://twitter.com/Sammy_Goal/status/942120786114031616

hubluh wrote: »
    Seems there's somethings up with Silva.
    https://twitter.com/Sammy_Goal/status/942120786114031616

What the **** is that supposed to mean

Maybe a death in the family? I don't know. It's an odd tweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Loads of rumours going around on twitter, hopefully it's not too serious especially the form he has been in for us.

On the game, jaysus the first half was some of the best football I have ever seen us play. KDB, what can ye say that hasn't been said already. Only now am I beginning to feel he's actually on another planet. Maybe it's the city in me still waiting for something to go wrong, but this team is special, and everyone had bought into it judging by performances. Mangala had bee n excellent the last two games too

https://twitter.com/ManCity/status/942484398024347649

Well done to young Phil. Hopefully Pep will be able to use him in the domestic cups, and possibly a few sub appearances.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

That United thread on here is gas 😂

So far this morning I’ve read that ‘before you could classify Kompany, Aguero & Silva as mercenaries but not anymore’ even though that statement is wrong on all 3 imagine saying that about Kompany who’s been there before the Sheiks & is married to a Manchester woman 😂

Then I’ve read that ‘if you compare transfer fees & wages then the table is about right’ when are we comparing the transfer fees from? Last 2 years, 10 years 50 years? Plus United have a higher wage than City 😂

It’s a comical thread in fairness.

gstack166 wrote: »
    That United thread on here is gas &#55357;&#56834;

So far this morning I’ve read that ‘before you could classify Kompany, Aguero & Silva as mercenaries but not anymore’ even though that statement is wrong on all 3 imagine saying that about Kompany who’s been there before the Sheiks & is married to a Manchester woman &#55357;&#56834;

Then I’ve read that ‘if you compare transfer fees & wages then the table is about right’ when are we comparing the transfer fees from? Last 2 years, 10 years 50 years? Plus United have a higher wage than City &#55357;&#56834;

It’s a comical thread in fairness.

They cant see the wood for the trees,I remember discussing how good Wolfsberg was when they were playing them away in a CL tie they had to win,Think it was Stringer that shot me down saying how better United where and low and behold Wolfsberg beat them and knocked them out of the CL.
    There best left to them self's and let them enjoy there sour grapes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

They cant see the wood for the trees,I remember discussing how good Wolfsberg was when they were playing them away in a CL tie they had to win,Think it was Stringer that shot me down saying how better United where and low and behold Wolfsberg beat them and knocked them out of the CL.
    There best left to them self's and let them enjoy there sour grapes.

I know. I’m waiting for a flight & saw the traffic was high on it so said I’d give a look & post a little bit. They come at you in 3’s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

gstack166 wrote: »
    I know. I’m waiting for a flight & saw the traffic was high on it so said I’d give a look & post a little bit. They come at you in 3’s!

Mod note. Please refrain from cross thread baiting thanks

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Mod note. Please refrain from cross thread baiting thanks
    I hope that applies evenly to other clubs' threads as well. Some of the anti City stuff on other threads is farcical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Quick reminder RULE DISCUSSION: We do not tolerate discussion of moderation, moderation of posts or reportable posts in thread. If you have a problem with the forum rules, PM the mods or message the Cat Mod.