Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Only three likes.. tough crowd eh? :pac:

I just remembered something else - the UK country with the biggest Remain vote (Scotland - 62%) saw a huge swing in the GE, away from an overtly Remain party (SNP, down 21 seats) mostly towards the Tories (+12) of all people! So figure that one out!

SNP had gone from 20% to 50% the last time so their vote wouldn't have been especially hardcore in the first place. Scottish conservatives also ran an excellent campaign, if May had lead the Conservatives as well as Ruth Davidson lead the Scottish Conservatives she may well have got her landslide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Synode wrote: »

Bargain at twice the price.

Apple have worked hard the last year or two to reset the acceptable price tags on some common mid range products steeply upwards.

No idea if it will work or not. I'm android / PC for life so meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,960 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Apple have worked hard the last year or two to reset the acceptable price tags on some common mid range products steeply upwards.

Big tax bill to pay dontcha know. :)

Well they released three phones recently and the mega-expensive one is the best seller so take from that what you will...

People are idiots?

Did anyone happen to drive through Dublin City this evening? I know this is unlikely but some of the traffic lights seemed out of sync or something. At one point had a green light with a Luas crossing the road right in front of me, and I'm pretty sure the Luas is actually not capable of breaking its lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Did anyone happen to drive through Dublin City this evening? I know this is unlikely but some of the traffic lights seemed out of sync or something. At one point had a green light with a Luas crossing the road right in front of me, and I'm pretty sure the Luas is actually not capable of breaking its lights.

Didn't they tell you? Last night was purge night. I have 15 fresh heads wearing Christmas jumpers bracketed on the wall of my trophy room.

Ho Ho Ho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

matthew8 wrote: »
    SNP had gone from 20% to 50% the last time so their vote wouldn't have been especially hardcore in the first place. Scottish conservatives also ran an excellent campaign, if May had lead the Conservatives as well as Ruth Davidson lead the Scottish Conservatives she may well have got her landslide.

Also, Ruth is a solid remainer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I was coming down Parnell Sq East turning right on to Parnell street yesterday and yeah I thought there seemed something strange about the Luas and the lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

So. Will Mueller get fired this week? Supposedly the rumour in D.C. is that it’ll happen on Friday (according to Seth Abramson on twitter).

It’d be the biggest scandal in the history of the office, but would anything be done about it?

So. Will Mueller get fired this week? Supposedly the rumour in D.C. is that it’ll happen on Friday (according to Seth Abramson on twitter).

It’d be the biggest scandal in the history of the office, but would anything be done about it?

The white house and the republican party are veering dangerously close to Erdogan levels of authoritarianism. They've even started banning words from science and education oriented institution which is a very dangerous and particularly worrying step.

They may get buried by the investigation and the electorate or they might take steps to consolidate their power. They've already done this regarding Senate rules and I don't think it's a push to think things could get a lot worse before they get better.

He'll have to fire either Sessions or Rosenstein first in order to fire Mueller.

Trump's team are claiming these emails were obtained illegally, there are also various counter arguments that they weren't because the information in them isn't covered by executive privilege (Trump wasn't president at this point) and the users of all the accounts/devices were told there's no expectation of privacy when using them. Whoever gave Mueller's team the emails would have been breaking the law anyway rather than the team themselves.

I think and hope firing Mueller would backfire on him hugely bigly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

My fantasy match up is going to ****e

Podge_irl wrote: »
    My fantasy match up is going to ****e

Damn you Buer!!!!

New Star Wars is great, don't care what anyone else says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ya it has its flaws but I really enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Find myself a bit torn, thought it had loads of jaw dropping moments and the main story arc is brilliant, just found it a bit... too disney at times. The side characters were weak and it actually made the first movie seem darker, which I expected from this.

But, parts that really stood out for me were...
    1. Rey and Luke's interaction on the Island. Lovely Star Warsy vibe from the entire act; the desolate land, the jedi master, the dark place, the Frank Oz sorta comedy vibe creatures... Sure, it ripped off ESB, but it worked brilliantly.

2. The story of the connection between Kylo and Rey... really powerful stuff, and the two of them really nailed the allure of the power of the force in completely different way.

3. Adam Driver... for me, he's the difference between these movies being Disney films with Star Wars wallpaper and a genuine Star Wars journey of dark and light. He's absolutely fantastic, his portrayal of a Jedi being seduced by the dark side is by far the best of anything else in the SW universe.

4. THAT fight scene, in Snoke's room.

5. Snoke himself, Andy Serkis take a bow. Another CGI character brought to life like no other. Absolute shame they killed him off after having so little interaction... Bit of a pity really, as I think the films will need someone more sinister than Adam Driver, unless he takes it up a notch in the next. (bring back the mask!!)

6. THAT hyperspace kamikaze scene. :eek:

7. Mark Hamill, brilliant.

8. Del Toro, also brilliant, but the stammer was silly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Well podge at least your least favourite team are having a nightmare game so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

.ak wrote: »
    But, parts that really stood out for me were...

As you say, there's plenty of great parts in it, some of the best Star Wars stuff so far.
    Luke walking out alone into the sun against the line of AT-ATs was so well done, my personal favourite.
    But there's also lots of complete tripe - mainly the overly-obvious political commentary of the Finn/Rose story and the shoehorned-in humour which takes away completely from the gravitas of some scenes. I found Thor: Ragnarok did the same thing and it failed at times there too.

Example being the final scene of TFA where Rey offers the lightsaber to Luke. Compare that scene to what they do with the follow on scene in the new film. It's awful and takes away from the original scene in TFA on a rewatch.

It's a good film and I thoroughly enjoyed it - I'll be going back for a rewatch. It's got lots of issues though and it's all over the place with what type of film it wants to be, tonally. I'm wondering how a second watch will change my opinion.

I actually enjoyed the comedy elements. For me, that brings me back to the original trilogy. ANH/ESB were full of those quippy one liners and funny moments. I'm okay with that.

It was the weak dialogue between the new side characters that really made parts of the film feel paper thin with a star wars logo on it. Finn also drifted away from being a really strong character for me.

But as I say, there's so many good bits around the main story arc that made up for me.

The new AT-ATs almost ruined it for me tho, god they were awful looking, like something out of the Rebels cartoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I hated the comedy. I found Poe pretending he wasn't able to hear hux one of the cringiest scenes going.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I hated the comedy. I found Poe pretending he wasn't able to hear hux one of the cringiest scenes going.

Ah I enjoyed that scene. Reminded me of the X-Wing series. Worked well I thought, whole cinema was laughing hard.

What I didn't enjoy is why Hux is so stupid he didn't cop it. That part I didn't like; he's the head of the military for the New Order and he's that stupid? Everything felt a bit dumbed down compared to TFA which was a better all over movie I think, thankfully JJ is back for the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

What I didn't enjoy is why Hux is so stupid he didn't cop it. That part I didn't like; he's the head of the military for the New Order and he's that stupid? Everything felt a bit dumbed down compared to TFA which was a better all over movie I think, thankfully JJ is back for the next one.

So right, this is effectively my problem with it. My suspension of disbelief can extend to fighting laser battles in space - actually quite comfortably. But I really really struggle with characters that should be rational acting consistently irrationally. Particularly annoying when they do it for comic effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

FFS, spoiler tags lads! Some of us haven't seen it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I was torn on it leaving the cinema, but the more I think about it the more I think
    that it took a big steaming dump on the original trilogy. The original trilogy is the Skywalker saga of redeeming a tragic character and saving the galaxy. That was ultimately the Skywalker legacy. If you look at it across the previous 6 films especially the Skywalker saga was one that helped to root out and destroy the Sith, saving the galaxy while Luke saved his father. A hopeful, albeit tragic tale. A pretty classic format in that regard.

Now however the legacy seems to be that they helped create the First Order, undoing all the good work that they had done in the original trilogy and leaving the galaxy in a worse state than ever before. With the only surviving Skywalker (you’d have to assume they’ll kill Leia off) being the main villain in the galaxy.

When they eventually destroy the First Order what will have been achieved? Rey will be a Jedi but several planets and billions of lives will have been lost in the process. And feck all else. At least in the previous films the Sith already existed before Anakins fall and so that was a threat that needed addressing. Which made the sacrifices worth it. But if we go back now and watch ROTJ we’re left thinking “that’s not really a happy and hopeful ending because Luke is just going make a balls of it and billions more are going to die”.

So for me it’s just not working the way it should. There were excellent elements to film as a stand alone peice, but the more I look at the new trilogy in the context of the series the less I think it works.

And that Guardians of the Halaxy scene with Leia was ridiculous. As was Holdos keeping her plan secret from Poe, and the ensuing Finn storyline. Most of the stuff involving Luke, Rey and Kylo was excellent. Although I really don’t get how Luke could be so willing to risk his life to turn his mass murdering father back to the light but was then willing to murder his innocent but troubled nephew without ever really attempting to save him. Far too much of the story was set up to work for the new characters and didn’t make enough effort to work for the existing characters at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

I actually enjoyed the comedy elements. For me, that brings me back to the original trilogy. ANH/ESB were full of those quippy one liners and funny moments. I'm okay with that.

Some of the comedy was OK. However, it was overused and it was used at the wrong times. I'll have to watch it again to do a mental list of the bits that worked and those that didn't. From first viewing - the scene with the porgs (pure toy-selling bull) doing an imitation of Chewy's battle cry worked well. The scene with Chewy roasting one and them staring at him worked OK too (this is no spoiler).
    BB8 trying to fix the weapons systems on Poe's X-Wing also worked.
    But the scene with
    Luke tossing the lightsaber really didn't, for reasons in my last post. The 'caretakers' from the Dark Crystal on Skellig Michael ... where Luke was supposed to be eking out a solitary existance, fell a bit flat for me with their Rey interactions.

I can't remember the quips I didn't like, but I remember thinking I didn't at the time. A second watch through will likely make me remember more.

I think they tried too hard at times when they shouldn't necessarily have tried at all. Star Wars has had plenty of humour, but usually it's done better than here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I enjoyed it but also never need to watch it again. It's a solid 7/10 but certainly not as good as Empire (which is a common opinion from what I've read)

I loved the Luke/Ren/Rey stuff. Saved the whole film and Driver really did give a masterclass in unstable characterisation. The Luke running scared and closing off from the force was totally believable considering he nearly murdered his own nephew and likely sped up the turn from Ben into Ren.

My main issue wasn't the comedy because a load of it landed in my screening (Porgs were very well received) but I hated the Casino/Finn & Rose story. Thought they could easily show the evil posh Leinster supporters profiting off the wars without the need for adding the camel racing for 15 minutes just to introduce Benicio's character.

Wasn't really a fan of the Poe stuff either and Leia floating back to the ship bit got a massive groan out of many of us.

Well podge at least your least favourite team are having a nightmare game so far...

Ah, my animosity for the Seahawks has declined as the 9ers have been so woeful. Looks like it might ratchet back up next season though :D

Anyway, thus ends a disastrous fantasy season for me across the board.