Does a 'D' plate add resale value?

• 09-12-2017 12:59AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

I'm in the process of buying a new car and was wondering whether the registration plate makes any difference to the resale value in the future?
    I've recently moved to County Wicklow but was wondering if it was worth registering the car at a friends address in Dublin initially?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

yes, despite what anyone might say, a D reg is universally accepted anywhere in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,999 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

colm_mcm wrote: »
    yes, despite what anyone might say, a D reg is universally accepted anywhere in the country.

Yes but if it's a common car being kept a few years, any advantage would be negligible.
    On the other hand, if it's an Audi A8 or something like that, it would be very wise to have a dublin plate on it.

mickdw wrote: »
    Yes but if it's a common car being kept a few years, any advantage would be negligible.
    On the other hand, if it's an Audi A8 or something like that, it would be very wise to have a dublin plate on it.

Oh yeah, but the point is you'll never be worse off having a D reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Personally I would'nt buy a car based on the attractiveness of its reg. plate .

Dublin reg cars are well known to suffer early clutch repairs due the massive usage daily .

But the reality is that to get the best deal on the next car come trade in time, you'll have to shop around, say you go to Kildare or Limerick to chase the next car, the D reg will be worth more down the country than a WW. And in Dublin itself, it's def worth more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

DubJJ wrote: »
    I've recently moved to County Wicklow but was wondering if it was worth registering the car at a friends address in Dublin initially?

No, a Dublin or Wicklow reg car selling in Wicklow, reg won't make any odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭DubJJ

Wow, thanks for all of the reply so quickly.
    I'm buying a Mercedes CLA so it's not the most expensive car but not the cheapest, as I'm in north County Wicklow there's a good chance that I would eventually be selling it in Dublin so I was more concerned about Dubs being a bit apprehensive buying a WW plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Definitely a plus if you're selling the car in Dublin, I know my auld fella always looks for a D reg for some reason.

Some silly reasoning about cars from other counties being driven harder or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

And if that plate happens to have a 4 beside the D then the value goes through the feckin roof :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

And if that plate happens to have a 4 beside the D then the value goes through the feckin roof :)

Please tell me they did not spend a grand for that and it instead naturally got that plate by sales order? & it's a jaysus diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Please tell me they did not spend a grand for that and it instead naturally got that plate by sales order? & it's a jaysus diesel.

Them D4 lads think a bit different to the rest of us, who knows 😀

Oh yeah, but the point is you'll never be worse off having a D reg.

You will if your job sends you to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Trading a D reg car into a Dublin dealer in the future will always be easier to sell on as the Dubs are really funny about their D reg. That especially goes for high end stuff as the main market for high end cars is where the majority of wealth to afford such cars is in the Pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Dublin reg cars are well known to suffer early clutch repairs due the massive usage daily .

My car has a D reg. it’s been in the vicinity of Dublin maybe twice in 3 years :pac:

From real personal experience:
    - a humdrum run of the mill car - it makes no difference.
    - a “premium” badged car, a hot hatch, anything even vaguely exotic - it absolutely makes a big difference. A D plate is a wise move on a car like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I had a 530d with a ky reg and a dub bought it happily enough. Got a decent price too. That said in Kerry branch of the family there are high end cars bought new every 2nd year ie 7 series, A8 etc and a D reg is a requirement when buying as it is always mentioned at trade in time as being a factor on value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Panrich

I’d be wary of a D reg on a diesel as the stop start nature of Dublin driving is not what they were designed for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

My motor is a D reg,I live in Cork but don’t see what difference it will make. The car was originally purchased in Limerick by a Dublin based firm.

I traded in a C registered Ford Focus with 12 months tax and 23 months nct, the same car is still sitting on the forecourt in Cork as I type, so I’m not one to believe it’s all in a reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Neilw

Same as every Donegal car has been doing rings at the crossroads for its entire life.

Not everyone in Dublin sits in traffic all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Panrich wrote: »
    I’d be wary of a D reg on a diesel as the stop start nature of Dublin driving is not what they were designed for.

You’re missing the point I made a few posts ago. A lot of D reg cars never see O’Connell street.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    You’re missing the point I made a few posts ago. A lot of D reg cars never see O’Connell street.

Maybe I wasn't addressing your point and just making a point in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

DubJJ wrote: »
    I'm in the process of buying a new car and was wondering whether the registration plate makes any difference to the resale value in the future?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    Definitely a plus if you're selling the car in Dublin, I know my auld fella always looks for a D reg for some reason.

Some silly reasoning about cars from other counties being driven harder or something.

Horseshyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,074 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

People have a belief that every DL reg is trashed to within an inch of its life. This of course is nonsense.

Using that logic, I would never touch a D reg diesel car, as it's been sitting in slow moving, stop start traffic all its life and is likely to be a DPF nightmare waiting to happen.

It's not joe public that will be deciding what trade in value you're getting down the road though, it's the garage you're trading into.

So in effect if that is the case, you are not getting fair value when buying a D reg car as second hand. An otherwise identical non D reg represents better value for someone who plans to keep a car for all it's useful life.
    If traders value D reg cars above others based on spurious nonsense, then it does make sense to register your new car as a D reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Panrich wrote: »

Idle stop-start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Horseshyte.

Yup I 100% agree with you, but that's what he believes and it seems to be something a lot of people up here believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

NIMAN wrote: »
    People have a belief that every DL reg is trashed to within an inch of its life. This of course is nonsense.

Using that logic, I would never touch a D reg diesel car, as it's been sitting in slow moving, stop start traffic all its life and is likely to be a DPF nightmare waiting to happen.

The diesel D reg i have has never seen a day of its life in Dublin traffic would you believe.

I agree with you on the DPF issue though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acronym Chilli

If it really does make such a difference, then you're paying too much for your car if you buy it used with a Dublin plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭DubJJ

Thanks for all of the advice, I think I'll get it registered to Dublin address just in case. I know in theory that it shouldn't make any difference to the resale value but as a few posters on here have stated there is a bit of a snobbery about numberplate in Dublin and it's not worth the risk.