Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

I want to see what Decco will do when he finds out about Mondo cavorting with his mrs ... he's hardly gonna slap him on the back and say "well done sunshine - alls well in love and war" - is he?

- I reckon he will get a gun and shoot him , good we need a bit of the 'old' bishop's in the soap, it dont suit him all this lovey duvvy mulled wine and cakes in the park and baby business its getting boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

I had to laugh that Doug has been talking about Miriam being bad news for weeks and only now did he decide to google about her. And then the vague crap we are presented with as to what she had done in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

shall be disappointed if Deegan doesn't feature in the Christmas Day episode ...
    I know; he's like Carrigstown's answer to the detective off Broadchurch!:P The crime rate will go through the roof if he's not there, because the new cop is too easygoing to be a cop. Even though Deegan isn't great when it comes to finding missing teenage girls, he's great with enforcing the auld traffic laws and the likes. And he always looks as miserable as f**k, like every crime he ever witnessed is weighing heavily on his mind. The only time he cracked a smile was when he was having his whirlwind romance with Angela. But then, what did Angela do? She only went and died on him, leaving him with yet another misery line and no smile at all on his face. Then maybe, without Deegan there, and the rookie being - well - such a laid back rookie we might just get a ''who killed Dan?'' Xmas storyline :D What am I thinking; that's only wishful thinking, it only happens in soaps with a solid production and writing team, it's never going to happen, much as I'd love something along those lines in FC. And, if by some miracle, they did go down that route, then, sadly, it would become laughable, drawn out and just plain illogical...... :D:D

Just remember she's in Milan now!
    That sister of hers must have some mighty job to be able to afford to live in Milan. Milan - and most of Italy is lovely, but expensive as hell, even for tourists; imagine what the cost of living would be like??? And I thought Kelly (Zoe's sister) was working and living in the wholly more believable London, and just came home to take her on that surprise extended holdiay to see the giant turtles. Now she's in Milan:confused::confused::confused: If they had just said, ''oh, Zoe is gone to live with Kelly in London'' that'd be normal.... Oh, no; couldn't do that now, because it's FC after all, and believable isn't part of its thing. :D :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

If Dermot and Jo were Zoe's foster parents/guardians, how is Kelly legally allowed to have her living in Milan?

That sister of hers must have some mighty job to be able to afford to live in Milan. Milan - and most of Italy is lovely, but expensive as hell, even for tourists; imagine what the cost of living would be like??? And I thought Kelly (Zoe's sister) was working and living in the wholly more believable London, and just came home to take her on that surprise extended holdiay to see the giant turtles. Now she's in Milan:confused::confused::confused: If they had just said, ''oh, Zoe is gone to live with Kelly in London'' that'd be normal.... Oh, no; couldn't do that now, because it's FC after all, and believable isn't part of its thing. :D :P

wife has been to Milan - didnt like it, out of all different places she visited it ranks bottom of list with her...

youwould wrote: »
    If Dermot and Jo were Zoe's foster parents/guardians, how is Kelly legally allowed to have her living in Milan?

cause its fair city and they dont do research :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

bazermc wrote: »

Modeling his Winter scarf!

So we supposed to believe Niamh just left Ruth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Kind of anti climatic episode in the end. It just didn't spark for me.

While 5 year old Ruth is an innocent party and a child, i can see Niamh's point in cutting ties. She's invested a lot of her time in Rachel, Callum, Oisin and Ruthie. And all the thanks she gets is Paul and wrinkled old Nicola talking about her running off with a lover for the second time.

We've lost count of Baldy's lovers but of course that doesn't count, he's the man. Talk about double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

bazermc wrote: »

I forgot that they were flat mates.

wife has been to Milan - didnt like it, out of all different places she visited it ranks bottom of list with her...
    Venice and Rome are lovely though, and the people are so well groomed there. As for the drinking culture,it's completely different to ours. They have these - what I can only call - takewaway wine bar culture/thing in Venice, where a businessman on lunch, fully togged out in an expensive suit, arrives in, orders and drinks one small glass of wine, while standing at the bar/counter, drinks just the one and leaves. It's not a ''sit down, get steamed, play pool or darts and have the craic'' like places here and in England (it's like they just appreciate the flavour of the drink and don't do it to get drunk, didn't see one pi**ed Venetian there. Even the churches are very strict for tourists, the churches we visited had what I can only call a dress code - especially for women (arms covered and no cleavage showing, the head covering was optional, but they'd think more of you if you wore a mantilla, like our grannies used to wear years ago to Mass), and no tourists were allowed inside - unless it was to go to Mass - while Mass was going on. A beautiful place, lovely people, gorgeous buildings and great history, but if it's the session and the craic you're after, you'd be better off to go to somewhere with a big Irish (or English) ex-pat community, with plenty of home style pubs and the likes. :)

I was glad that Dan got a bit of a pasting from Robbie, but I can only remember him grabbing him by the throat and dragging him out of the wheelchair, not punching him (please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong) but why was his nose bleeding? I actually laughed out loud at Christiano and the scarf! Jaysus, but that yoke must be his security blanket or something! If it's not flowing from his neck, he has it clutched in his hand, and the fact that clinging on to the yoke took priority over breaking up a fight was just insane! :D And I'm glad Karen wants to report the f***er (Dan, not Christiano - but they could do him for abuse against an item of clothing, too, he does have an unhealthy relationship with the thing) :D :P.

And the absentee Niamh (who gave no sign that she had any romantic interestin Marcus before they left), Paul, Nicola, Dean and feckin' Vinos is doing my head in - easily one of the most boring storylines ever.

And, for once, I am actually hoping that the much loathed nuss will blab to Decco about Kerri-Ann and Mondo (what's the story anyway??? A week ago, she was all for dumping the poor fella, now she ''just thought''' she ''loved Raymond'' and it was just ''a fling'',when they were madly declaring their unstinting love for each other a short time ago :confused::confused::confused:

And as for Ama being cheated on, Kerri-Ann only mentioned the doctor, but didn't Damian cheat on her with Caoimhe too? Something they seem to have forgotten.

And Manson is hiding more than she's letting on, else Oakley's attempts to infiltrate the cult (which he was definitely doing) wouldn't have failed. He's the first person that she wasn't all ''everyone's welcome'' and ''we let go of negativity and embrace all'' BS.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Since when has Dan been living with Cristiano? Was that a known fact cos it went over my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

monkey9 wrote: »
    Since when has Dan been living with Cristiano? Was that a known fact cos it went over my head.

They had a small story where he talked Dan into letting him move in I think. But makes a mockery of the scenes where Dan told Paul he was leaving and Paul told Nicola he has lost a tenant at short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

It’s a bit rich, Kerrianne calling Ama a miserable interfering cow, that b*tch is constantly sticking her nose into other people’s business and trying to play the matchmaker, she’s an absolute pain in the h*le.

AMA mind your ducking business

fin12 wrote: »
    It’s a bit rich, Kerrianne calling Ama a miserable interfering cow, that b*tch is constantly sticking her nose into other people’s business and trying to play the matchmaker, she’s an absolute pain in the h*le.
    I always loathed Ama for her nosey, interfering ways, but honest to God, these days I have to say I hate that little c**t Kerri-Ann more. She acts all innocent and puppy dog eyed, but underneath it all she's a horrible b***h, and every bit as interfering as Ama, and judging by the tone she took with the nosey nuss, was it this episode or the last - can't rightly remember, she's not the ''Miss Sweetness and Light'' she makes herself out to be. She was the one who kept going after Mondo at the beginning of that farce of the affair, and being the sap he is, he gave in. Melanie might have been a bit abrasive, but at least she had a fully functioning brain, as opposed to the miniscule hamster on the wheel that powers Kerri-Ann's bodily and mental functions, because, in all honesty, no one is that f***ing thick and away with the fairies unless, God love them, they have severe mental issues or abuse illegal substances. I can't, in real life, see any self-respecting man ever falling for such a dimwit. A one night stand, maybe; but a lifetime commitment, no effing way.
    I know Ama is a head wreck, but at least she has some vestige of a brain, unlike that ''look at me, I can have intimate relations while still wearing my tights, aren't I the smart one'' Kerri-Ann! :D :P And another thing that gets to me about the whole situation: Leo. Wasn't Leo Kerri-Ann's first proper friend/father figure (I know he found her feng shui and astrology/vibes, etc, BS annoying in the beginning after herself and Mondo moved in with him, but after a while, especially through the Mondo selling the engagement ring storyline, he was always there for her, a real shoulder to cry on. Now, they never cross paths and seem to forget that each other exists. If it was real life, then surely Leo, her friend/father figure would be the first one she'd turn to in a crisis??? Then again, as I have to keep reminding myself it is FC after all, the most irrational piece of s**t RTE have ever churned out.... :P :D

I think Fair City portray women terribly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I always loathed Ama for her nosey, interfering ways, but honest to God, these days I have to say I hate that little c**t Kerri-Ann more. She acts all innocent and puppy dog eyed, but underneath it all she's a horrible b***h, and every bit as interfering as Ama, and judging by the tone she took with the nosey nuss, was it this episode or the last - can't rightly remember, she's not the ''Miss Sweetness and Light'' she makes herself out to be. She was the one who kept going after Mondo at the beginning of that farce of the affair, and being the sap he is, he gave in. Melanie might have been a bit abrasive, but at least she had a fully functioning brain, as opposed to the miniscule hamster on the wheel that powers Kerri-Ann's bodily and mental functions, because, in all honesty, no one is that f***ing thick and away with the fairies unless, God love them, they have severe mental issues or abuse illegal substances. I can't, in real life, see any self-respecting man ever falling for such a dimwit. A one night stand, maybe; but a lifetime commitment, no effing way.
    I know Ama is a head wreck, but at least she has some vestige of a brain, unlike that ''look at me, I can have intimate relations while still wearing my tights, aren't I the smart one'' Kerri-Ann! :D :P And another thing that gets to me about the whole situation: Leo. Wasn't Leo Kerri-Ann's first proper friend/father figure (I know he found her feng shui and astrology/vibes, etc, BS annoying in the beginning after herself and Mondo moved in with him, but after a while, especially through the Mondo selling the engagement ring storyline, he was always there for her, a real shoulder to cry on. Now, they never cross paths and seem to forget that each other exists. If it was real life, then surely Leo, her friend/father figure would be the first one she'd turn to in a crisis??? Then again, as I have to keep reminding myself it is FC after all, the most irrational piece of s**t RTE have ever churned out.... :P :D

Haha great post, u have Kerrianne spot on.

I thin Fair City portray women terribly!
    Kerri-Ann and Ama being the prime examples; although I have to say I like Aoife and Karen - then again, the two of them will probably have a major personality overhall/brain transplant and Karen (because I'm a ginger girl myself, I object to how ginger women - i.e Naimh are portrayed :P) will become the replacement Niamh, then they'll do the unimaginable and have Aoife and Carol the new double act besties, both part time alcoholics and calling all men b******s and making a holy show of themselves in public places.... Just look what they did to Orla; from savvy PR consultant, to melodramatic and, again, interfering fishwife (she didn't half overreact to Junior's ear infection and is constantly butting into Damian's private life):D

On Aoife's role. Long term i feel we'll have Robbie and Aoife together. To me it feels as inevitable as a stream eventually finding the sea:)

Though maybe Fair City will dam the stream and create an inland reservoir or engage in some drainage scheme;)

nagdefy wrote: »
    On Aoife's role. Long term i feel we'll have Robbie and Aoife together. To me it feels as inevitable as a stream eventually finding the sea:)

Though maybe Fair City will dam the stream and create an inland reservoir or engage in some drainage scheme;)
    As a normal (though won't be for too long, if I let FC get inside my head :P) person, I would be of the same mind: Two people who were more or less soulmates - and Nora did say that Aoife was there for Robbie 100% and encouraging him the whole time he was looking for her - and had so many things in common, and a solid relationship (weren't they engaged?) and had their relationship and Aoife's life ripped apart by a jealous ''won't take no for an answer'' Dan, then if right was right they would end up together. Despite what happened to her, Aoife is a stable person who didn't spend (I imagine the past twenty odd years, else Karen would have known long ago) drinking herself into a stupor, smoking like a chimney, getting involved in the gangland scene (she runs a security firm FFS) and having her assets seized by CAB (Carol was a criminal - something FC writers conveniently forgot, because, despite what Billy Meehan did to her, she was happy enough to take over his ''business'' and have Mick the enforcer threaten people. And that ''boyfriend'' who shot her ''precious'' Lorcan was an undercover cop investigating the wagon. She was up to her neck in the crime scene, but now she's suddenly a victim. Again, more FC revisionism, whereas Robbie is an ex-soldier - I know he did some dodgy s**t, but he was hardly gangland material, but my take on that it was all down to the Nora business and Aoife - his rock - disappearing from his life. Himself and Carol are so feckin' mismatched. And he's already had the patience of a saint with her.... And she moved her auld pervert of a father in with them, who tried to kill Robbie on more than one occasion. Now, in real life no one would take pity on the b***ard who abused them and pimped them out when they were kids, yet Carol had no problem letting Trigger stay there, even after he made an attempt on her husband's life. Father or not, most normal people would say ''rot in hell you scumbag'' but not our Carol. If it was a normal soap, Robbie would ditch the unstable, sometimes alcoholic, jealous, gobby, violent b***h and get back with the woman he loved, but it's FC where nothing is supposed to make sense. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

places.... Just look what they did to Orla; from savvy PR consultant, to melodramatic and, again, interfering fishwife (she didn't half overreact to Junior's ear infection and is constantly butting into Damian's private life):D

Don't forget the cocaine binges she was on during the tiger years!

Or her dating a much older man Seamus Mcaleer and her having an affair with his daughters boyfriend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Or her dating a much older man Seamus Mcaleer and her having an affair with his daughters boyfriend!

A credit to the sisterhood.

Paul Brennan here:eek: