Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

sKeith wrote: »
    "i'd like to go up, we can go down afterwards."

'Well, looks like it'll be me and yerself leadin' so why not? Bare in my mind me little legs won't go too fast, especially upstairs.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Where is the bear !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

While everyone is being very polite at the entrance to the stairwell, Othegre takes a closer look at the painting on the wall of the Statue room, any setting it's in and, if applicable, what's behind it (both on the wall and the back of the painting.

OCC : Might be no harm to take it on the way out to show the village. But if a situation arises somewhere upstairs where hiding behind an unrolled painting of the Dark Lord is the only hope of escape I'll be kicking myself later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I too settle 'piph with the other horses and sort out my baggage after having a quick nom on a ration and a swig from a wineskin.

OOC:
    Saeros: Lvl 1 Elf
    Current exp: 2519

Spells: Magic Missile

Chain mail
    Shield
    Longbow
    1 full quiver
    Shortsword
    Spear

Backpack containing
    2 lge sacks
    Crowbar
    Grappling hook
    Silk rope
    Wineskin
    Rations 7
    Spellbook, ink & quill

Encumbrance - 2(?)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Tigger wrote: »
    Where is the bear !!

Bandylegs looks puzzled.

'Bear? If you're referring to Betty, she'll be at the back of the group looking after our arses.'

OOC:

Soooo

Are we happy with formation?

Bandylegs & Ekbard front row
    Xanthea & Othegre 2nd row
    Goodie & Elin 3rd row
    Saeros 4th (can use his infra to cover our rear)
    Moy & Betty rearguard protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

"You people should bring your horses into the statue room. When we have all the horses in, we can close that slab of a door. I'd hate to come back and find Menace had become troll food and pieces of my cart are strewn all over that canyon." Ekbard leads Menace and the cart into the statue room. "Settle down there Menace, you'll be safe here"

Ekbard explains to anybody who is interested, "To close the door, we need to empty the alcoves of weight. Then we can prime the switch by putting orcs back into all but one alcove. When all alcoves have weight in them again, the door opens. Simples, ehh?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

"What if that reactivates the statues though? I'd rather our escape route was left clear."

"What statues, Othegre and I pulverized each and every one of them statues to dust. They're way safer in here than being troll bait out there."

'Aye, Bandylegs agrees with the young 'un. Unless there's a noble one willing to sacrifice themselves on the way out by removin' the orc and sealing themselves in. And I can tell ye now, it won't be Bandylegs.'

"Challenge excepted."
    Edbard removes the Orc corpse from the closest alcove to him.

Bandylegs wheels around in shock, drawing his weapon in case of danger.

'Ekbard, are ye mad or just insane? How are we goin' to fight statues with your horse and cart in the middle of the room!'

OOC: :pac:

"What statues? show me the statues!"

Othegre - still standing over at the painting - holds the statues' eyes over her own and bellows
    "BEGONE FROM MY TOMB, INSOLENT TEEN PEST!"
    then remembers they're worth a fair bit and puts them back in her pocket.

Using her indoor voice, she asks the Dwarf to check the other side of the door that seals the stairway for a way to open it, so as to safeguard any horses in the Statue room from anything that might be downstairs.

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    "I'd rather our escape route was left clear."
    "As for our escape, if anything is chasing us, and we make it back to this room," ekbard points, "see that slab over there, just let it fall back into place and i'm guessing those staircase doors will close again, buying us some breathing space."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Banjo wrote: »
    OOC : speaking of statues, any XP for Ekbard and I for not getting killed and snarfing those gems? Also, if we ring Harry out like a wet rag can we get some of that speed potion back from him?
    OOC: Yes, but you'll need to get it out of the tomb first. Speed would still be in Goodie, if you consume his raw flesh within an hour.

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard hands the halfling the lit torch and the 3 spare torches. "Expensive torches them, extra long burn time."
    Ekbard wields his shield again and readys himself. He looks to see if there is anything on the benches beneath the murals.
    Nothing of note beneath the benches.

OOC2: Four, can you confirm I now have Exp for Level 2 (644 + 1400ish for everyone last night?)[/i]
    OOC: Yep, you are level 2. I'm going to go through details in the OOC thread.

Bandylegs again peers into the room with the spiral staircase and looks up and down, scanning as far as he can with his infravision. He also checks the walls to the left and right for any sign of switches as per Othegre's request.

OOC: Not sure if you saw this Fourier so I'll repost :)

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    "Are you referring to me? I came here for adventure, not suicide. I'll stay behind the fighters. I can check for traps perfectly fine from there."

[OOC: Right?]
    OOC: Not as well as you would if you examine the room yourself. Unless they follow you as you go around the room.

Banjo wrote: »
    While everyone is being very polite at the entrance to the stairwell, Othegre takes a closer look at the painting on the wall of the Statue room, any setting it's in and, if applicable, what's behind it (both on the wall and the back of the painting.
    The painting depicts Tumuz in front of a burning Soetrard centuries ago. In the distance his brother rides a demon of incredible size. Lifting the painting a bit of the wall Othegre finds a scroll, the magical writing is impenetrable.

Fourier wrote: »
    The painting depicts Tumuz in front of a burning Soetrard centuries ago. In the distance his brother rides a demon of incredible size. Lifting the painting a bit of the wall Othegre finds a scroll, the magical writing is impenetrable.

ook

woah

more ook

level me gm

Necrominus wrote: »
    Bandylegs again peers into the room with the spiral staircase and looks up and down, scanning as far as he can with his infravision. He also checks the walls to the left and right for any sign of switches as per Othegre's request.

OOC: Not sure if you saw this Fourier so I'll repost :)
    No switches appear to be on the walls.

The stair case below has no signs of heat, it is somewhat cooler than the current room and the stairs seem to descend only a short distance to the floor below.

The stairs ascending lead to a warmer room, the heat patterns are familiar to BandyLegs as those of sun warmed wood.

No switches appear to be on the walls.

The stair case below has no signs of heat, it is somewhat cooler than the current room and the stairs seem to descend only a short distance to the floor below.

The stairs ascending lead to a warmer room, the heat patterns are familiar to BandyLegs as those of sun warmed wood.

Ooc as the headmistress onec said in dt
    do we dare go down ?

Bandylegs relays this information back to the party.
    'Upstairs first is it? Elin, if ye would be a doll and check out the stairs before we leave.'

Bandylegs tries his best to spot any traps on the stairs.

Neither BandyLegs nor Elin spot traps on the stairs.

can i look
    quickly i thinknindo things wuickly (sniffs )

Bandylegs sighs.

'Aye. Might as well begin lads and lassies. What say you Ekbard?'

Bandylegs tentatively steps inside the room with the spiral staircase and tests the first step going up.

Othegre gingerly takes the scroll, acutely aware that the painting is probably going to come to life and drag her into the painting and crush her like a grape. Not for the first time she tries to remember the guys who were on the cart earlier - did they sell them in town?

Since everyone is still hanging around in the statue room she runs back outside the door of the tomb, raises the statue eye gems to the sky and cries "DIBS....IBs....ibs..." just in case there's no echo and then heads back inside.

She leads Clipclop to whichever room everyone is leaving their horses in, mimes an X with her arms and then grinds an invisible stripper. A further gesture reminds the horse that she'll be watching.

She takes her place in the 2nd row

The stairs appear to be in good order to Goodie.

BandyLegs's foot lands onto the first step and nothing happens.