Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

sKeith wrote: »
    ooc: maybe you could check the rusty weapons for traps.

OOC: I'm also checking them but won't be told

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

OOC: I really need to reread that section, I thought it was only the thief who could check items for traps.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

OOC: I really need to reread that section, I thought it was only the thief who could check items for traps.

OOC: Anyone can check is my understanding, just dwarves and thieves get a positive hit on a 1 or a 2 whereas all else get it only on a 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

OOC : I'm not clear on whether that cloak gave her a Charisma or a Strength boost (or both?), if it's strength I'm not sure you need it unless you're promoting yourself to the front line - might be better suited to Bandylegs or Xanthea if it gets them over the +1 modifier threshold. If it's charisma, given where you started you have just become impossibly good looking - sleep with one eye open >:)

Re: Traps, it's 1 on a d6 for all, 1-2 on d6 for Dwarves, Thieves have a skill and it looks more like a D100 with a table of threshold percentages - Elin at L3 has a 20% chance to see traps. I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

"We ought to work out some kind of marching order before heading onto the stairs. I'm comfortable in second row or full back if necessary."

While the others check out the room I head over to the painting and examine it wondering if there might be something behind it.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    "We ought to work out some kind of marching order before heading onto the stairs. I'm comfortable in second row or full back if necessary."

While the others check out the room I head over to the painting and examine it wondering if there might be something behind it.

'Aye, elf. Ye speak sense. I'd be suggestin' that Ekbard and Betty lead the way. Xanthea and Othegre in the second line, the Halfling with yersel' and the thief followin'. Mesel' and Moy will provide rear cover for the group. Unless ye want me to lead the way, I dinnae mind. But we should cover our lesser fighters Goodie, yersel and Elin there regardless.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Banjo wrote: »
    OOC : I'm not clear on whether that cloak gave her a Charisma or a Strength boost (or both?), if it's strength I'm not sure you need it unless you're promoting yourself to the front line - might be better suited to Bandylegs or Xanthea if it gets them over the +1 modifier threshold. If it's charisma, given where you started you have just become impossibly good looking - sleep with one eye open >:)
    OOC: If it'll push them over the boundary then by all means take it but be wary of the reduction in movement. I need all the strength bonus I can get meanwhile as I'm a pisspoor 9 and thats one of my prime requisites! I need to push that to a 14 to take advantage of an +5% exp modifier.
    On the otherhand if it IS a charisma boost then no one is gonna be safe from me, not even the dwarf. Just sayin'.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OOC: I don't want no stinking evil lord cloak :pac: You're welcome to it Saeros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

ooc: maybe you could check the rusty weapons for traps.

[OOC: Good plan actually] Elin also casts her eye over the rusty weapons.

[OOC: Rolled a 12 and an 18 for both checks. So a fail on both. Hopefully there's nothing left]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

As everybody searches the room nothing is found, until Elin discovers a vial of acid spring loaded into the entrance to the stairs. Something the thieves guild could set up for a few gold pieces.

She successfully dismounts it from the wall and neutralises the acid with some of the statue rubble.

Ekbard cautiously approaches the rusty weapons stash. He is wary of the possibility of traps being used to secure the weapons, he tries to see if he can find any useful weapons among the bunch.

Tigger wrote: »
    Goodies eyes gleam with delight
    he takes the sword and belts it on immediatly and pockets the treasure he drinks the speed and lonegvity potions and waits to see if he feels different .
    Goodie's muscles suddenly feel as if they could explode with power. Going to scratch himself, his hand moves like blade, blurring from perspective of others. He takes a step to the side and kicks up dust from the speed.

Impressed at his new found agility, he also notices the others are even taller than before.

Everybody else notices Goodie is now roughly 14 years old.

Ekbard cautiously approaches the rusty weapons stash. He is wary of the possibility of traps being used to secure the weapons, he tries to see if he can find any useful weapons among the bunch.
    The weapons turn out to only consist of near ruined average swords.

"Does anybody want to be the torch bearer? somebody from our middle group perhaps, as I'm up front, I could really benefit from being able to use my shield"

"hey youngster, would you like to hold the torch?"

"Shouldn't we let little miss Hawkeye go first, keep an eye out for trouble and traps? She's small enough that you can throw her over your head to the back if something comes up? Hey - gimme one of those necklaces. I don't want to get caught out by another statue..."

OOC : speaking of statues, any XP for Ekbard and I for not getting killed and snarfing those gems? Also, if we ring Harry out like a wet rag can we get some of that speed potion back from him?

"Shouldn't we let little miss Hawkeye go first, keep an eye out for trouble and traps? She's small enough that you can throw her over your head to the back if something comes up? Hey - gimme one of those necklaces. I don't want to get caught out by another statue..."

OOC : speaking of statues, any XP for Ekbard and I for not getting killed and snarfing those gems? Also, if we ring Harry out like a wet rag can we get some of that speed potion back from him?

OOC: How many necklaces do I have?

"Does anybody want to be the torch bearer? somebody from our middle group perhaps, as I'm up front, I could really benefit from being able to use my shield"

'Perhaps, Ekbard... I should join ye up front, let Betty take the rear and I'll be able to see more than most. Saeros can check the rear then. Let the thief or the halfling take the torch.'

Ekbard hands the halfling the lit torch and the 3 spare torches. "Expensive torches them, extra long burn time."
    Ekbard wields his shield again and readys himself. He looks to see if there is anything on the benches beneath the murals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Xanthea leads Shapsberg in to the front chamber of the tomb and settles her with food in a quiet out of the way corner, while she starts sorting through her gear for the upcoming task.

OOC: Loadout and encumbrance to follow.

OOC2: Four, can you confirm I now have Exp for Level 2 (644 + 1400ish for everyone last night?)

"Are you referring to me? I came here for adventure, not suicide. I'll stay behind the fighters. I can check for traps perfectly fine from there."

[OOC: Right?]

Bandylegs nods.

'Aye, little miss Elin o'er there hasnae the capabilities to fight on the front lines, Othegre. She can stay in t'middle of us with Goodie where we can keep 'em safe.'

Bandylegs, noticing Elin has disabled the trap, peers into the corridor to see what lies ahead.

'I'll be able to see fer 60 feet in front of me, mayhap I should go in the front and Betty and Moy cover our arses.'

Bandylegs turns around for a moment, a thought in his mind.

'Ekbard, can those there necklaces of yers close the tomb? If so, we should bring the horses in like Xanthea there did and leave em in the front room. Just a thought mind. I dinnae want to leave Shadowflame and me gear outside where anyone could steal 'im.'

Bandylegs goes back outside the tomb and leads Shadowflame inside to the first room. He leads the horse down to where Xanthea has her own steed. He pulls some of the horse feed from the saddlebag and gives it to the horse. Looking through his gear, he adds 4 rations to his backpack for the journey into the tomb.

OOC: Encumbrance of 1. Banded mail. On my person are 4 rations, the backpack, the bastard sword, my shield and my axe.

Othegre mutters something about how convenient it is that fair shares only apply to the good stuff, rolls the eye-gems in her pockets around a few times with her fingers and copies what everyone else is doing with the horses. Petting hers on the muzzle she leans in close and whispers

"Clipclop, you listen to me. I know you're armoured and I know you're strong and I know you're brave... but if trouble comes down you run. **** these other horses. You keep yourself alive. For me"
    She makes to leave but turns back.
    "...and if trouble doesn't come down... don't **** these other horses. You have your whole life ahead of you and so do I, don't go tying us down with foals neither of us want to rear."
    She leaves her with some horsey nibbles.

OOC :
    After redistributing some gear between saddlebags and backpack she's got :
    Backpack : 2xSack(L) + Torches + Flint + Rations + Waterskin + Spade + cursed mace (7)
    Shield + Flail + Sling with bullets (3) - 10 items -> Enc + 1
    Chainmail -> Enc +1

Total Encumbrance 2.
    (Did I do that right? I'm wearing my holy symbol, I'm not sure if the shield counts as being worn, I'm not counting the pencil as it's a small item.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

"hey youngster, would you like to hold the torch?"

ok Grampa

Elin also brings Horsey into the Temple foyer with the other horses. She unencumbers herself of everything apart from the dagger up her sleeve, her crossbow and 8 bolts, 3 fresh rations and her backpack. She makes sure that Xestes' larvae is still wriggling uncomfortably up her other sleeve and takes her place in the line entering the staircase.

Bandylegs reports back.

'It seems the stairs go both ways laddies. Which way do ye wanna try first? Or do we split the party... I'd advise against that mesel'.'

Bandylegs tries to look up and down in both directions as far as his infravision will allow him without actually entering the stairwell.

"i'd like to go up, we can go down afterwards."

Goddie reversers his horse in and throws a feed bag on her face, he sorts his gear
    bastard sword of unusual sharpness
    bow in left hand
    arrows
    potion of temporary esp
    torch in right hand
    he wolfs down a full days rations with the hunger only a 14 year old veteran of three wars can understand and turned to join the group at the stairs.

"i'd like to go up, we can go down afterwards."

I agree, up is far better.