Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Village87

Faugheen wrote: »
    That's a strong Callan team. There might not be many stars (like Leahy with the Rower) but there's plenty of quality in there.

Great win for the village yesterday, hungry balanced team, well done to all.

PeterCasey wrote: »
    Looking at them this year you would have to say he is right that they are not in the top five teams,i say you wont be to sorry to see Paul Murphy gone next year as you reckoned this year he should have been dropped you were giving out about him been on the Kilkenny people holding a horse. Big clean out has happened if it happened in a business you would be on the cliff edge, in every walk of life there is valleys next years championship is going to be different playing four weekends in a row can have its pluses minuses . Have faith I have seen players before that lads said were no good they turned a corner never let us down here is to 2018.

Paul Murphy has had a very poor 2 years, tried in various position in the league at full and centre back, just was not good enough! Very poor in Championship also. I do believe he should be on the bench as competition might improve his performance. As Brian Cody stated about these superstars ready to explode, apart from Laehy i cant think of many more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Village87 wrote: »
    Paul Murphy has had a very poor 2 years, tried in various position in the league at full and centre back, just was not good enough! Very poor in Championship also. I do believe he should be on the bench as competition might improve his performance. As Brian Cody stated about these superstars ready to explode, apart from Laehy i cant think of many more

Well it is fairly certain that he will be on the bench given he wont be back from Syria until May so Im sure your wish will be granted. You could pick 6 or 7 players who have lost form in the last 2 years, why such a focus on Paul and Conor all the time? I think the fact that most of our players who have been tryed in the full back line have struggled over the last two years points to deeper problems with the structure of the team. Brian Hogan for example is a huge loss, really helped to keep a solid shape about the backline.

Topcat32 wrote: »
    Well it is fairly certain that he will be on the bench given he wont be back from Syria until May so Im sure your wish will be granted. You could pick 6 or 7 players who have lost form in the last 2 years, why such a focus on Paul and Conor all the time? I think the fact that most of our players who have been tryed in the full back line have struggled over the last two years points to deeper problems with the structure of the team. Brian Hogan for example is a huge loss, really helped to keep a solid shape about the backline.

I was expecting the 2 lads to really step up to the plate like Jackie, Tommy JJ did and provide leadership to the younger players around them by dominating themselves, when your most experienced players are not performing it is very hard on young players coming on to the team who have not had massive success for Kilkenny underage. Tj and Riche are providing great leadership up front, Cillain Buckley and Wally Walsh are also becoming lerders but its in midfield and the backs that we need strong leaders to step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Faugheen wrote: »
    That's a strong Callan team. There might not be many stars (like Leahy with the Rower) but there's plenty of quality in there.

Great win for the village yesterday, hungry balanced team, well done to all.
    Great win for the Village. Better, hungrier team on the day. Helped by a couple of strange refereeing decisions and Gaffneys early exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

citykat wrote: »
    Great win for the Village. Better, hungrier team on the day. Helped by a couple of strange refereeing decisions and Gaffneys early exit.

I heard conor browne hurled well along with scanlon and dwyer,are these 3 in with the seniors?browne seems to have improved since his return he could be an addition to the u21s next year if his around.dwyer like bill sheehan is a goal getter but both are still very young maybe trying to nail down a u21 spot should be the objective.

brookville wrote: »
    I heard conor browne hurled well along with scanlon and dwyer,are these 3 in with the seniors?browne seems to have improved since his return he could be an addition to the u21s next year if his around.dwyer like bill sheehan is a goal getter but both are still very young maybe trying to nail down a u21 spot should be the objective.
    I thought Conor Browne was overage for the under 21s next year.

Topcat32 wrote: »
    I thought Conor Browne was overage for the under 21s next year.

Sorry your correct this was his last year but he went travelling,I thought he had some good moments for his club hopefully he'll stay improving.

Well done to dj with It carlow beating dcu tonight in the league final 3-20 to 1-17 I know dcu have our own conor delaney and darren mullen and waterfords patricks curran,I think leahy is with carlow this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Richie Leahy is with Carlow alright. Two of my own club men on the team also... Mouse Kavanagh and James Doyle.

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Richie Leahy is with Carlow alright. Two of my own club men on the team also... Mouse Kavanagh and James Doyle.

WIT have seemed to decline in the 3/4 years. Carlow IT must be eating into some of the resources from Kilkenny that WIT once had. Richie Leahy is in Carlow IT, Mick Dempsey is literally babysitting him there, from what i heard they Brian Cody wanted him in there under Mick Dempeys guidance

Ah jaysus give the young lad a bit of credit! He hardly needs to be babysat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Are Chris Bolger and Kevin Kelly finished in Carlow?

Not sure on that one. Think they could be.

Chris bolger isn't as far as I know but they played garda college last week and kelly wasn't listed but maybe that could be because of ballyraggets involvement.

Can anyone post the Carlow Team plese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BORO BILL

Can anyone post the Carlow Team plese

Don’t have the Carlow team but there was more Kilkenny lads with DCU. Darren Mullen corner back was subbed early in 2nd half not his best game, Conor Delaney played well at centre back, John Donnelly got some good scores at wing forward and caused Carlow plenty of bother, Edmond Delaney conahy and Darren Brennan cshock were unused subs. Richie Leahy did ok for Carlow played mid field, Kelly or BOlger not on Panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

Anyone have updates on club managers for next year.

larrya wrote: »
    Anyone have updates on club managers for next year.

P.J. Delaney with The Rower Inistioge. Was with St. Mullins the last two seasons with Jimmy Dunne as his physical trainer. They were excellent. Jimmy is not with him this year though. I'd still expect P.J. to do well. He'll be very well prepared. He's a serious operator. We were sad to see him go.

Good job to get, i went to see the Rower play last year, played a sweeper with 3 intercounty backs already in the original 6, forwards looked limited with 6 playing never mind 5, Kenny was the best of them. Rower supporters were less than impressed with the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Nick o Donnell from ballygunner with carrickshock this year. Henry over the shamrocks apparently

Who is over Tullaroan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭larrya

Heard today alright that Henry is Ballyhale manager with Tommy Shefflin as trainer and Richie O Neill from Kilmacow as selector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Henry manager is a huge call. Very interested to see how that goes.

Tommy has a lot of experience and will have them fit,there's still the bones of a very good team there,few injuries didn't help them and lads like cha,alan cuddihy emigrating/retiring but lads like joe cuddihy and adrian mullen are improving,if they tighten up their defence and goalie they'll be in the mix,padraig holden,brian cody and patrick mullen missed most of the season.hard to believe it's 3/4 years since they won the final but I think clara are in decline granted they could of won the first day.I think the rower can give it a good go but maybe lacking a killer forward or two.

Another big win for Kierans in the junior All Ireland, for all their strength over the years I cant remember a time when they had such a constant flow of success, even the brilliant teams they had in the late 90s found it hard to win things with the strength of Dublin Collages, Flannans and others. Combination of a great structure in Kierans and a reduction in the concentration of the best players in one or two schools in other counties I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Good win for kireans and ballyragret.

dubcat51 wrote: »

Ballyragget blessed by all accounts.it would of being some shock fair play to the wicklow champs they lead for most of the 2nd half ballyragget pulled it out of the fire.
    Fair play to kireans good win and might be a indicator to next year's under 17s,I asked this question before but is it new management team?peter o donovan also gone from this year's minor back room team to djs 21s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

dubcat51 wrote: »

Ballyragget blessed by all accounts.it would of being some shock fair play to the wicklow champs they lead for most of the 2nd half ballyragget pulled it out of the fire.
    Fair play to kireans good win and might be a indicator to next year's under 17s,I asked this question before but is it new management team?peter o donovan also gone from this year's minor back room team to djs 21s
    Ballyragget were very lucky. Very dubious decision for the free in injury time. Some other questionable decisions by the ref in favour of Ballyragget during the game. Glenealy can feel aggrieved to not at least draw the game and take it back to Wicklow. That said the equalising point could have been a goal if the ball had been passed inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Saw the wicklow team v thomas davis and thought they were poor(should have lost)ballyraggret will need to step up to win it out.hopefully they will as im on at 9/2