Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Well deserved win for Corofin,they really should have won it in normal time.

Their foot passing is top class,they are a quasi county team in terms of quality.

All credit to the Mitchels,very resolute and dogged to the end.Today crystallised in my mind there are no new standout players coming through and the management were correct in culling some of these players from the county panel.Very fine club players but a step too far in terms of inter county football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

seligehgit wrote: »
    Well deserved win for Corofin,they really should have won it in normal time.

Their foot passing is top class,they are a quasi county team in terms of quality.

All credit to the Mitchels,very resolute and dogged to the end.Today crystallised in my mind there are no new standout players coming through and the management were correct in culling some of these players from the county panel.Very fine club players but a step too far in terms of inter county football.

Castlebar looked wrecked in extra-time. It was a fair result in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

The nonsense with Mitchels having to climb over a gate to get to the pitch. No national anthem. PA system that you could hardly hear all reflects badly on Tuam as a venue. Fair result in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The nonsense with Mitchels having to climb over a gate to get to the pitch.

From what I read on Hogan Stand.
    Just to clarify what happened, Both teams were told as usual with every team to conduct their warm ups behind the dressing rooms on the designated warm up area so as not to cut up the pitch doing drills, Corofin did so, Castlebar decided they wouldn't and went out on the pitch. The stewards had the gate locked and were trying to ask an official why they weren't using the warm up area but the Mayo lads didn't hang around and jumped the wall and warmed up out on the pitch. Corofin came out later and the gates were opened for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The nonsense with Mitchels having to climb over a gate to get to the pitch. No national anthem. PA system that you could hardly hear all reflects badly on Tuam as a venue. Fair result in the end

It's not a suitable venue for the connacht final. The pitch was awful. It's basically has a stand resembling an old cowshed/barn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Gael85

Do Ritchie and Alan Feeney play with Castlebar anymore? They had another lad Tom King? He played soccer with Galway Utd at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

Gael85 wrote: »
    Do Ritchie and Alan Feeney play with Castlebar anymore? They had another lad Tom King? He played soccer with Galway Utd at one stage.

Alan and Tom emigrated a few years back. Richie still plays junior I think but not sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

From what I read on Hogan Stand.

From what I’ve read on Twitter this was the warm up area offered as an alternative to the pitch.

Blackjack wrote:
    From what I’ve read on Twitter this was the warm up area offered as an alternative to the pitch.

Id be jumping the gate

There is also controversy about Corofin using an extra sub. Confusion about blood sub. Dont think Mitchel's will persue it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

Alan Dillon has announced his retirement from IC this morning. A massive servant and a huge shame we couldn't get the to the promised land before he hung up the boots.

statto25 wrote: »
    Alan Dillon has announced his retirement from IC this morning. A massive servant and a huge shame we couldn't get the to the promised land before he hung up the boots.

Yes a wonderful servant of the green and red.

Tis a great pity he never gained possession of a celtic cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Yes fair play to him. He has had a great IC career!!

Yes fair play to him. He has had a great IC career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Such a pity, and he had his best year in the green and red this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Squatman wrote: »

Ah now I don’t no about that
    Croke Park in 06 when he popef over that pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

naughto wrote:
    Ah now I don’t no about that Croke Park in 06 when he popef over that pint

He'd a great game that day.

He still looks very young.

Must be the fresh air. Or I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

A great servant but time for the younger guys to step up and give us more options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Whitehorse

U-21 championship is at semi final stage this weekend, westport v claremorris & belmullet v castlebar. Great to see belmullet with a strong underage, westport and claremorris could be serious contenders in senior championship in next few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Squatman wrote: »

He was peripheral this year :confused:

Are you getting confused with Andy Moran? Andy will go for years yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Whitehorse wrote: »
    U-21 championship is at semi final stage this weekend, westport v claremorris & belmullet v castlebar. Great to see belmullet with a strong underage, westport and claremorris could be serious contenders in senior championship in next few years.

It's a long time coming for Claremorris! Lack of a marquee player(s) is their downfall really. Shox is a class operator and can only do so much, but he's not even on the Mayo panel

Looks like Fine Gael are still looking to the sporting arena in their quest to land a credible Castlebar based candidate after Andy Moran ruled himself out.

Never knew Alan Dillon was from Ballyheane,proud Ballintubber man that he is!!Ditto his involvement in the party.Bit of competition for Lisa Chambers.

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/31209-fine-gael-and-footballer-alan-dillon-in-talks-about-surprise-general-election-bid-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Looks like Fine Gael are still looking to the sporting arena in their quest to land a credible Castlebar based candidate after Andy Moran ruled himself out.

Never knew Alan Dillon was from Ballyheane,proud Ballintubber man that he is!!Ditto his involvement in the party.Bit of competition for Lisa Chambers.

http://www.mayonews.ie/news/31209-fine-gael-and-footballer-alan-dillon-in-talks-about-surprise-general-election-bid-2

I've good time for Dillion and what he done for Mayo but he doesn't have the popularity or profile for that gig. GAA voters will be wary too after Johno's political run.

Aidan O'Shea and Paul Flynn sit down with OTB.

https://youtu.be/vW6iKP907go

I've good time for Dillion and what he done for Mayo but he doesn't have the popularity or profile for that gig. GAA voters will be wary too after Johno's political run.

Yeah totally agree with your sentiments.Don't imagine he'd have the profile to secure the votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Yeah totally agree with your sentiments.Don't imagine he'd have the profile to secure the votes.

He would need around 8,000 or so to beat chambers. Over 4,000 season ticket holders, say 3,000 regulars and a few transfers from Kenny and ring and he's in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm trying to think of the last inter county footballer who made it as a TD: Barney Rock, John O'Leary and Greham Geraghty all died on their arse in elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Oldtree wrote: »
    He would need around 8,000 or so to beat chambers. Over 4,000 season ticket holders, say 3,000 regulars and a few transfers from Kenny and ring and he's in :D

Vote number 1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

naughto wrote: »
    Vote number 1
    Ah, he was never any good anyway.....Only joking:P;):P