Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Fourier wrote: »
    She runs to the back room and fetches her armour.

"To the tomb" she roars, war hammer held aloft. "So that we may slay the foulness within!"

She runs out the door in the direction of the bluff.

OOC: You can, but in Betty's case there is no need.

Bandylegs stares at the gigantic woman tearing out the door.

'Aye, lass. I'll meet ye there. Need to get the others first.'

He heads back into the street and makes for the inn. Spotting Othegre ranting and raving, he keeps a good distance from her. He also spies Goodie who is in the corner and walks up to him.

'Time is upon us, lad. Let us make fer the tomb. We'll never get a better chance, the brotherhood are all in town fer the festival.'

Turning, he motions to Othegre to follow him.

He heads out into the street and spots Alexander speaking to an unknown man.

'Oy, magick man. If ye want a share in the gold, follow me. Bring yer friend if ye think he'll help.'

Stopping one last time he spies Moy standing idle.

'Ahoy, cleric. If ye be brave enough, the time is upon us. Could I ask ye to round up t'others that wish to go?'

Not waiting for anyone, Bandylegs puts his axe his saddlebag, climbs on his horse and makes haste for the bluff.

OOC: Take it that I didn't see Elin in the shadows at the inn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Banjo wrote: »
    "Ahoy innkeep!" She calls, approaching the bar. "I am but a simple cleric seeking my fortune on the road. Know ye of any odd jobs that pay coin-in-hand - hedges need trimming, a cellar full of oversized rats that need clearing? Or perhaps you could tell me if Crasten has been in today? I've just met with his daughter and I'm hoping he will adopt me and grow me to a similar size."
    "No rats, but Crasten is over that corner" the innkeeper directs her to an old man sitting by himself with a mug of ale.

It's at this point that Betty bursts in through the door.

Necrominus wrote: »
    'Oy, magick man. If ye want a share in the gold, follow me. Bring yer friend if ye think he'll help.'
    Sallem stops and turns "Gold, what is this now, where is your friend off to" as he sees BandyLegs ride to the bluff he turns to Alexander excitedly "Does he have a way into the tomb?"

Canyon of Heroes
    Necrominus wrote: »
    Not waiting for anyone, Bandylegs puts his axe his saddlebag, climbs on his horse and makes haste for the bluff.

OOC: Take it that I didn't see Elin in the shadows at the inn.
    BandyLegs rides into the canyon after Big Betty.

The sides of the canyon are steep enough and somehow the air here feels hotter and drier than the village.

Further on BandyLegs can make out an old plaza and further still an old monastery lying at the end of the canyon. The plaza is about half a mile away.

Betty is already pacing the canyon looking around.

Tigger wrote: »
    We have a Dwarf in our company maybey they'll meet up, is this Betty lucky in love?
    In the commotion the innkeeper got little time to answer Goodie.

"I would have said she wasn't, but.....is this BandyLegs part of your company?"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Canyon of Heroes

BandyLegs rides into the canyon after Big Betty.

The sides of the canyon are steep enough and somehow the air here feels hotter and drier than the village.

Further on BandyLegs can make out an old plaza and further still an old monastery lying at the end of the canyon. The plaza is about half a mile away.

Betty is already pacing the canyon looking around.

Bandylegs catches up to Betty and slows his horse. Even now Betty almost towers over him.

'Betty, me dear. What I got from the High Cleric is the entrance is near the plaza. Let us make haste towards there so I check the area. Have ye heard anything regarding it yerself?'

Ekbard sees the villagers approach the field with a wooden statue of Thurmun, chanting along the way.

"Thurmun, greater than any saint before,
    Thurmun, greater there is none in lore,
    He fought for what was true,
    braver than any knew,
    Thurmun, Thurmun best of all....."

The song continues for another twenty-seven verses, before the idle is placed on a platform in the middle of the field.

Othonos ascends the platform and opens his arms wide.

"People of Thurmunton and those from afar, welcome to this, the sixty second festival of Thurmunton, marking as many years since the great saint's tomb was discovered. We seek to find who most embodies the spirit of Thurmunton in our times and so we have our annual games. First up a test of strength. Lift as many boulders as you can in a row my hearty people. Any travelers from afar, all these boulders are mined from our local canyon, should ye be interested in this fine quality rock".

People throughout the field begin lifting boulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Goodie nods to The Mad cleric and runs through the Inn to the stables, throws the stable boy some silver and hops on his rested mare attaching the preloaded packs and saddle with the skill of a veteran of the saddle.

He rides out after the Dwarf and the War Woman and reaches the canyon a half mile behind them
    As he enterers he looks for threats or places threats might be lurking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Othegre slaps her hand down on Crasten's table.

"Father, it's great to meet you but my sister and your son-in-law need my help. If the whole town is a mask worn by an evil cult, shout 'Bananistan!' to the night sky and I shall return for you three days hence!"

She rushes out into the street screaming "Clipclop! To me!" When the horse doesn't meet her at the door she charges back through the town. Passing the Buena Thurmonton Social Club, she hurriedly and loudly addresses Saeros.

"Big Betty and Bandylegs are headed out of town - the job is on! CLIPCLOP! Grab your gear, Elf! CLIPCLOOOOP! Damned horse. Hey, Garp - if your arm is good for more than just getting punched, suit up and follow me! And if the rest of you see the mighty Devilrider at the tourney field, could you kindly tell him to put the boulders down and get his arse in motion?"

She eventually finds Clipclop back near the cart, makes a mental note to tie him to something next time and gets ready to gallop off. She pauses... "What's that Simon? ... Betty left the general store unattended and unlocked? ... Dude, she's my sister! I can't.. no! Bad spider!" And away to the canyon!

Tigger wrote: »
    Goodie nods to The Mad cleric and runs through the Inn to the stables, throws the stable boy some silver and hops on his rested mare attaching the preloaded packs and saddle with the skill of a veteran of the saddle.

He rides out after the Dwarf and the War Woman and reaches the canyon a half mile behind them
    As he enterers he looks for threats or places threats might be lurking.
    There are rocky outcrops up along the walls of the canyon. They would easily be able to hide four or so individuals.

Goodie decides that riding into the canyon withn out scouting would be foolins and circles round so he can look down on those areas from above

Back in town:
    Sallem stops and turns "Gold, what is this now, where is your friend off to" as he sees BandyLegs ride to the bluff he turns to Alexander excitedly "Does he have a way into the tomb?"
    "Also, you had an elf with you did you not. Rare in these parts, but I think he should go with us to the tomb, given their proclivity for secret entrances."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

"All those loyal to the great BandyLegs make haste with me to the bluff" and off she runs out the door, perplexing the locals.

Elin grumbles to herself as she slowly gets to her feet. She is still unsure of whether or not she should even be following the group at this point seeing as how they all (apart from Ilberic) seem to think she's a spoilt greedy brat.
    "I'll show them how valuable I can be" she says to herself as she stomps outside and unhitches her horse.

She rides casually out of town following the rest of the group, being careful to ensure that none of the villagers have noticed her leaving. She shakes her head "so much for stealth and subterfuge, I'm sure the entire village knows where we're headed and will follow us if they realise what we are about to do".

She reaches the canyon and approaches the dwarf. "Well dwarf, now that you and your giant woman have alerted the entire village to our plan, what's your next great idea?"

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Elin grumbles to herself as she slowly gets to her feet. She is still unsure of whether or not she should even be following the group at this point seeing as how they all (apart from Ilberic) seem to think she's a spoilt greedy brat.
    "I'll show them how valuable I can be" she says to herself as she stomps outside and unhitches her horse.

She rides casually out of town following the rest of the group, being careful to ensure that none of the villagers have noticed her leaving. She shakes her head "so much for stealth and subterfuge, I'm sure the entire village knows where we're headed and will follow us if they realise what we are about to do".

She reaches the canyon and approaches the dwarf. "Well dwarf, now that you and your giant woman have alerted the entire village to our plan, what's your next great idea?"

Bandylegs looks around at Elin.

'Aye, not the cleverest idea that be true. The entrance to the tomb is somewhere close to the plaza yonder. Cleric Othonos told me so himself. I'd like to introduce ye to Betty. She's sworn her sword to me, and will aid us inside.'

He pulls the thief to one side.

'It also means more treasure fer us as Betty, as ye can see - can carry more than her fair share.'

OOC: Just skimming there to catch myself up

Xanthea climbs down off Shapsberg and accepts the necklace of flowers.

"Why thank you little one. You are most generous. This blessing and tournament do sound interesting, but first I have my own health to attend to. Would you be able to point me inn the direction of the local healer, please and thank you?"
    "The local healer is that way miss" she says, pointing to a shop with "Mills Apothecary" hanging on a sign above it.

Entering the local healer takes a look at the wound. "A nasty one alright miss" he says stroking his beard, "but this balm should help somewhat, takes a little while for it to work, there's a magical ingredient!" He pauses for a second. "That's not a sales pitch, the ingredients are actually magical"

Xanthea's leg is looking healed up as she hears the town bell ringing and BandyLegs's horse goes flying past the shop window.

Banjo wrote: »
    "Father, it's great to meet you but my sister and your son-in-law need my help."
    Crasten spits out his ale "My son-in-what?!!"
    If the whole town is a mask worn by an evil cult, shout 'Bananistan!' to the night sky and I shall return for you three days hence!"
    "Wait, what!" he watches her leave mouth agog. The man next to him turns "Betty got married?"
    "Big Betty and Bandylegs are headed out of town - the job is on! CLIPCLOP! Grab your gear, Elf! CLIPCLOOOOP! Damned horse. Hey, Garp - if your arm is good for more than just getting punched, suit up and follow me! And if the rest of you see the mighty Devilrider at the tourney field, could you kindly tell him to put the boulders down and get his arse in motion?"
    Garp looks up. "I've no idea what you're doing or where you're going girl, but I'll get that Devil Ridin' fella fer ya alright."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

“Thank you Sir! That feels much better now”

Xanthea drops a couple of coins on the counter and leaves to follow Bandylegs and his buxom companion.

As the group converge, BandyLegs notices that subtly carved on the plaza's surface are dwarven runes. No human could spot these runes, they've been worn away by time. You'd need a dwarf's native understanding of the subtle song stones weave, to hear their very contours.

The plaza was constructed during the reign of Anak Redhammer IV, a dwarven mountain king who reigned over 500 years ago. In fact the stone itself was magical from the Blight mountains. Thurmun was an ally to dwarfs, or so Othonos had told him.

However something seemed wrong. Why undertake using magic stone, requiring runecraft, for some random human, even if he was your ally?

Then he realised. Anak Redhammer had ruled during the time of a dark lord to the west and had been subjugated by him. This Thurmun was just a corruption of Tumudz, the name of an ancient evil lord. And Carax wasn't his enemy he was Carros, his brother, Red Priest of Wastes. This Thurmun was evil through and through. This was the crypt of a dark lord.

Canyon slopes:
    Goodie rides high above atop the canyon walls. From here he can make out quite easily something which turns his stomach in knots. Most of the gang has come riding in, but in the outcrops below him Goodie can make out at least twenty orcs, watching the gang below. Their bows poised to strike.

Plaza:
    Betty approaches BandyLegs "You seem concerned my love".

Elin feels a wriggling in her sleeve, as the larva emerges and the voice of Xestes whispers to her "I'd keep my wits about me girl, make sure my body lives"

Moy gets the feeling of something foul. Othegre's eight-ball begins to spin rapidly.

Town:
    Back in town Saeros and Alexander feel a surge in magical energy. The magic of death and something else...

Ekbard gets ready to lift his first boulder, as Garp approaches him. "Yer mates are off out of town, with Betty, to the bluff is where Betty was going, at least so said those at the inn"

Canyon entrance:
    As Xanthea enters the canyon neck she sees her compatriots up ahead, but advancing toward them slowly, using the rocks as cover, is an orc warboss and two of his warriors. Xanthea could hit them from behind first, but she'd be fighting alone until the others reached her.

She was going to have to make her move soon...

Pause til Thursday

Goodie pauses
    tryingbto work out which Orc is the leader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

garp wrote:
    Ekbard gets ready to lift his first boulder, as Garp approaches him. "Yer mates are off out of town, with Betty, to the bluff is where Betty was going, at least so said those at the inn"
    Ekbard doesn't hesitate for a second and ignores all distrations. With fierce speed and strenght he lifts boulder after boulder clear over his head, putting them down again and moving on to the next one after next, after next, as if somehow his life now depended on it.

OOC: sKeith keep doing strength tests until you fail. They're easy for a fighter, so -2.

OOC: sKeith keep doing strength tests until you fail. They're easy for a fghter, so -2.

ooc so everything is a pass except a 19 or 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Searos is wandering to the tavern to talk with the bookeeper via the two warehouses that I am interested in 'exploring' at some point. I take my time and check for any hidden enterences that I (or the thief) might take advantage of in the future.
    Just as I approach the tavern my magical senses send a shiver through me, a visceral shudder that near loosens my bladder. "This ain't good. Is this what the mads cleric was shouting about earlier?"
    I sling my back pack on, grab my arms and armour and head to the stables to collect 'piph. All the while I'm reciting my spell 'Magic Missile' to myself hoping that I won't need it but if I do that I won't **** up again.
    I know it's a foolish thing I doing but that bunch of lunatics are becoming dear to me.
    I set out and try to pick up their trail.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OOC: sKeith keep doing strength tests until you fail. They're easy for a fighter, so -2.
    The crowds cheer and roar. "Sir Gaden!" some maidens shout, "Bellamin!" a mother shouts.

Each contestant is ordered to stop lifting after failing to heave a stone above their head.

Othonos does a count and soon a chalkboard is heaved up behind him:
    Scoreboard wrote:
    Bellamin,1
    Wandaerris: 1
    Petorin: 3
    Larden: 1
    Ekbard the Foreigner: 2
    Brevyre: 0
    Sir Gaden: 2

Othonos continues:
    "Well our baker confirms our suspicions over these past few years, with Betty out of the picture thanks to her elopement, oh!...congratulations again Crasten..."

Crasten shouts "With who, who is the bloody lad?! None of you idiots told me anything, took some lunatic foreign priestess for me to hear ab..."

Othonos interrupts him:

"Covering for your daughter eh, tell her she'll have to give the village a proper wedding sometime!!

Anyway, with Betty out of the picture, Petorin leads. Sir Gaden, the lady's man, is a threat though. However betting hounds should take note of Ekbard, the first foreign contestant in a while.

Now two hours of socialising and then today's feast."

Locals enter the contest field and start talking with the contestants and each other. Several approach Ekbard to speak to him.

"Tell us o' yer home lad" some say. "He's a proper warrior, the like to fight evil, tell us o' yer feats" say others.

Several approach Ekbard to speak to him.

"Tell us o' yer home lad" some say. "He's a proper warrior, the like to fight evil, tell us o' yer feats" say others.

Ekbard offers the feisty locals some wine from his waterskin and encourages them to sit with him, "My home is far far away, and of little significance to these parts, but i'll tell you some tales some my homeland if you tell me some from yours. My mind worries more of this local area, about which you are very familiar, what can you tell me of perils that I may come across if I was to venture to Blight mountain by way of Krasten Forest."

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard offers the feisty locals some wine from his waterskin and encourages them to sit with him, "My home is far far away, and of little significance to these parts, but i'll tell you some tales some my homeland if you tell me some from yours. My mind worries more of this local area, about which you are very familiar, what can you tell me of perils that I may come across if I was to venture to Blight mountain by way of Krasten Forest."
    One old man speaks up "There's an area to the north that you don't want to head to boy, nobody has since I were a lad. Then there's Clayton, the locals are a bit strange there, it's in the south of the forest.

Other than that, it's got the usual gamut of monsters."

"Thanks for the warnings, I'll take notice, now as promised, storyies from far far away".
    Ekbard regails them with four stories rich with sea faring, smuggling, zombies, and a particular one eyed vengeful pirate whom is searching the seas to this day for ekbard.
    After the fourth story finishes, he get up and makes his excuses, says he is tired and needs some rest for tomorrows events.
    He walks over, retrieves his barrel and ventures out of the field towards Menace. He puts the barrel in the cart beside the sleepy one, they gets on menace. "Okay menace, take us to the bluff 'til we find out how they managed to keep Betty away today, and if they can keep her away for the next few day.... Onward."

Menace pulls the ensemble out of the town and towards the bluff.

sKeith wrote: »
    Menace pulls the ensemble out of the town and towards the bluff.
    Ekbard arrives at the bluff. The bluff itself is a steep enough climb, but not outside Ekbard's capabilities.

Along one side of the bluff is a dry enough looking canyon.

Ekbards scans the area for hoof prints or tracks to see if he can figure out which way recent travellers went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

OOC: I guess I have no choice but to do this!

Xanthea urges Shapsberg forward, grabbing out her two handed sword, for it was its time to taste blood.

"OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC" she bellows, part as an act of intimidation towards the Orcs, part in the hope of alerting her friends to their peril as she prepares to engage the Warboss...