DCM 2017 Graduates: Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

El Caballo wrote: »

That’s the one. Thanks a mill. Need to have a good think about it. Not quite a pb course but worth a shot anyway :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

:pac: They're not called track fairies for nothing;)

Great stuff Skyblue! You're well ahead of the game:)

Haha...I joined Alsaa. I presume that while the track might be sh1t it'll be fine for 400 intervals. I've yet to set foot on it.

skyblue46 wrote: »
    A: What are your next goals?

Stay healthy, avoid injury and smash PBs! Not much to ask :D

B: What type of training do you intend to do over the winter?

Want to hit 2,000km for the year, still 250 to go so that'll keep me honest. I'll do an 8 week plan for Raheny and then a half plan.

C: Where do you hope to see yourself to be in 12 months with your running?

I'd like to be running with more confidence. Everything to date has been with a big negative split due to my lacking belief in sustaining a pace and taking it easy for the first half of every distance. In 12 months I'd love to be aiming at 1500-1700 miles for the year. I'd also like to be in a club.

Changed my mind already on (B)... I'm going to go with the 14 week half plan that's on the plans for this thread. It's 14 weeks and will take me up to the Bohermeen half. I'll just fit Raheny in and give it a lash.

As for (A) I got at PB today for 5k, 21:49 which beat my 22.52 from last year. It's not so impressive when you consider my last 5k in the Fingal was 22:09. Then again it was a cold morning.

Changed my mind already on (B)... I'm going to go with the 14 week half plan that's on the plans for this thread. It's 14 weeks and will take me up to the Bohermeen half. I'll just fit Raheny in and give it a lash.

As for (A) I got at PB today for 5k, 21:49 which beat my 22.52 from last year. It's not so impressive when you consider my last 5k in the Fingal was 22:09. Then again it was a cold morning.

I think it is impressive when you are at those shorter times anyway. Well done!

Kellygirl wrote: »
    I think it is impressive when you are at those shorter times anyway. Well done!

Thanks :) The marathon seems to have knocked the wind out of a lot of sails. This thread hasn't drawn many of them out yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Great to see this thread up and running, completely forgot to pop in! I still regard the day to be one of the best of my life, what an experience...

Anyways,

Sub 19 5k for over the winter definitely anyways. Marathon wise, ill definitely do it again next year, and id absolutely love to get closer to 3:30 (injury free of course) and get my half down to 1:30(ish).

Nothing major to be honest, anyone who follows me on strava or my log on here will see I havent been putting in crazy miles, ive been catching up on everything I missed midweek while doing the training for DCM, just a couple runs here and there. Doing speed work once/twice a week but, and absolutely loving pushing myself that much once a week and then plodding along on my other runs.

In the best shape of my life that I can push myself to, HOPEFULLY in a club as I definitely enjoy running with people more, and I wanna do either a half/full marathon abroad :)

Hopefully we can all push each other to the next level like we all did in the Novices thread, I still owe a lot of what I achieved to a lot of people on here, bunch of legends.

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Great to see this thread up and running, completely forgot to pop in! I still regard the day to be one of the best of my life, what an experience...

Anyways,

Sub 19 5k for over the winter definitely anyways. Marathon wise, ill definitely do it again next year, and id absolutely love to get closer to 3:30 (injury free of course) and get my half down to 1:30(ish).

Nothing major to be honest, anyone who follows me on strava or my log on here will see I havent been putting in crazy miles, ive been catching up on everything I missed midweek while doing the training for DCM, just a couple runs here and there. Doing speed work once/twice a week but, and absolutely loving pushing myself that much once a week and then plodding along on my other runs.

In the best shape of my life that I can push myself to, HOPEFULLY in a club as I definitely enjoy running with people more, and I wanna do either a half/full marathon abroad :)

Hopefully we can all push each other to the next level like we all did in the Novices thread, I still owe a lot of what I achieved to a lot of people on here, bunch of legends.

Fair play Damo. They are good achievable goals which I have no doubt you will get. You'll deserve it for your enthusiasm never mind that you're a young fast fcuker! I met Lazare today and no doubt he'll be back on here soon enough once he settles with the babby!

Anyways,

Good to see you here Damo. I think the 29th October is going to be hard to beat!

Great goals.

Thanks :) The marathon seems to have knocked the wind out of a lot of sails. This thread hasn't yet drawn many of them out yet!

True. Hopefully more will feel up to joining soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

I thought I posted but it's vanished lol

Damo great to see you here great goals to have for the new year I'm looking forward to working on some speed work 1 more half to go and then going to start a new plan in the new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

I love the amount of events you go to, really jealous actually :D I think its one thing ill try do more in 2018, not necessarily race every single one of them but no harm in getting to an event to enjoy the atmosphere. I love the fact you do so many but dont race all of them, the temptation to burst out would be too much for me and thats something else I need to do in 2018 haha! Keep the slow runs, slow...

They don't have to be slow runs, you can build sessions into them. Or let a short race be your speed session for the week.

So I’m scheduled to run Clonakilty half next Saturday week and toying with the idea of changing to the full. I think from looking at the FAQs that I can change distance on the morning. What I’m thinking is if I’m feeling really good, weather is perfect then why not? It’s not a pb course so i’d just be doing it to finish it and i’d be happy to do it in 4:30 so don’t think i’d be putting myself under pressure considering Dublin was 4:20 and I could have probably done it faster.

Am I completely mad? Longest run since Dublin is the half marathon yesterday and I honestly did not have a twinge after it. Easily ran 8km tonight in wind and rain.

So I’m scheduled to run Clonakilty half next Saturday week and toying with the idea of changing to the full. I think from looking at the FAQs that I can change distance on the morning. What I’m thinking is if I’m feeling really good, weather is perfect then why not? It’s not a pb course so i’d just be doing it to finish it and i’d be happy to do it in 4:30 so don’t think i’d be putting myself under pressure considering Dublin was 4:20 and I could have probably done it faster.

Am I completely mad? Longest run since Dublin is the half marathon yesterday and I honestly did not have a twinge after it. Easily ran 8km tonight in wind and rain.

Honestly I think you're in your comfort zone and could do it. On the other hand the body will need some respite at some point. I've noticed the experienced runners on here target their races well in advance and build in rest and easy days. I suppose it depends on whether you want more PBs or just enjoy the atmosphere and taking part in race days.

This would def just be about taking part in the event and I would def not look to beat my DCM time. It’s very hilly so i’d be taking it very easy on those. I think I might prepare next week food wise as if i’m doing the full and if everything feels right on the day i’ll go for it. I’m regretting not doing the full yesterday. The half took nothing out of me and nearly feel like a fraud getting a medal for it. Plenty time to rest after as coming up to Xmas and besides getting to my 1000 miles i’ve no other plans and i’m at 71 now so that will be grand with a marathon thrown in there.

Well then I'd say go for it. If you had any plans for a target race in the first 3 months of the year it would be time to knuckle down to a plan that would be more beneficial than running a marathon. Maybe you're one of the people that can run multiple marathons a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

Great stuff N for getting this thread going, and fair play El Caballo for taking us under your wing, some really great stuff from you so far.

A pb at Jingle Bells. Have never raced 5k before, my parkrun pb is 22:10. I'm confident that I can beat it. Have come close to it twice post marathon at parkrun, both times after Friday night beers. November is 'letting the hair down' month. Went to a gig last Friday, had a fair few beverages, got in late due to a broken down nitelink then ran 22:36 the following morning. Serious business now, with a healthy week and an early night next Friday I'm confident I can beat it.

Then the focus is Raheny.

Love winter running. I'm starting a homemade 8 week plan next week after Jingle Bells, targetting Raheny. Easy Tue, Speed session Wed incorporating the McMillan 10k workout every second week, easy Thursday, parkrun Sat. Might alternate running parkrun hard and easy and on easy weeks try get an LSR in on Sunday.

In the exact same position, aiming for PBs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Am I completely mad?

Yes:p

Personally, I don't know how anyone does back to back marathons like that. I can't imagine been able to do it but maybe I'm just not built for that sort of thing, one seems to be hard enough for me:pac:

I know for many, that first marathon experience will feel hard to top and a bit like chasing the magic dragon but running is game of patience. Where I worry here is that your body might not be fully up to the task of handling the rigors of the racing. A single marathon alone is tough and when you add a half this weekend on top of it with a marathon next weekend again, I think you are asking a lot of your body to resist and I woner where you draw the line or it gets drawn for you (injuries, sickness etc). A marathon, even 10 minutes slower than your best is no easy task, even running 26 miles is no easy task and especially since you don't seem to have slowed down at all since Dublin.

I know your motivated right now and want to push on but there's many ways to use that motivation like a spring marathon and use that fire to up your training over the next few months. A sub-4 could be a very likely possibility for you come springtime or even Cork;) so maybe be something to think about.

Yes:p

Personally, I don't know how anyone does back to back marathons like that. I can't imagine been able to do it but maybe I'm just not built for that sort of thing, one seems to be hard enough for me:pac:

I know for many, that first marathon experience will feel hard to top and a bit like chasing the magic dragon but running is game of patience. Where I worry here is that your body might not be fully up to the task of handling the rigors of the racing. A single marathon alone is tough and when you add a half this weekend on top of it with a marathon next weekend again, I think you are asking a lot of your body to resist and I woner where you draw the line or it gets drawn for you (injuries, sickness etc). A marathon, even 10 minutes slower than your best is no easy task, even running 26 miles is no easy task and especially since you don't seem to have slowed down at all since Dublin.

I know your motivated right now and want to push on but there's many ways to use that motivation like a spring marathon and use that fire to up your training over the next few months. A sub-4 could be a very likely possibility for you come springtime or even Cork;) so maybe be something to think about.

I think I don’t put myself under huge pressure physically doing races so that’s why I can keep going or have been able to recently. I wouldn’t be very confident of my endurance if I pushed the pace so I stay comfortable so I know I can keep going. I have a fear of blowing up and not enjoying a race!

Yesterday doing the MCI Half there were a number doing the full totally at their leisure. The full was 5 laps and there was a table that people had left all their fuel at and literally people were stopping, having a drink and sweets and off they’d go again. I was thinking I could have easily done that too!!!

Then my last reason for thinking of doing it is that i’m not sure I’m in a position to do any more marathons. So much as I’d love to give Cork a bash again in June I think it will have to be the half but I will go hell for leather for that and that’s my next race after this anyway. Sub 4 in Cork would be some dream though - can’t imagine it!

I think I don’t put myself under huge pressure physically doing races so that’s why I can keep going or have been able to recently. I wouldn’t be very confident of my endurance if I pushed the pace so I stay comfortable so I know I can keep going. I have a fear of blowing up and not enjoying a race!

Yesterday doing the MCI Half there were a number doing the full totally at their leisure. The full was 5 laps and there was a table that people had left all their fuel at and literally people were stopping, having a drink and sweets and off they’d go again. I was thinking I could have easily done that too!!!

Then my last reason for thinking of doing it is that i’m not sure I’m in a position to do any more marathons. So much as I’d love to give Cork a bash again in June I think it will have to be the half but I will go hell for leather for that and that’s my next race after this anyway. Sub 4 in Cork would be some dream though - can’t imagine it!

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that anything I say isn't going to change your mind:pac: All I can do is share my thoughts. If you do decide to do it, just go handy and if anything doesn't feel right, don't be afraid to knock it on the head. You'll have many more great days ahead if you look after yourself.

I think I’m literally going to decide on the day and if conditions are perfect I’ll go for it and def take it handy. If the weather is bad or I feel tired I won’t do it. I’ll stick with the half and hopefully get a pb there.

My main worry is that my longest run since Dublin is a half though I’ve done 10 and 11 miles in the weeks before that. I wonder would I have needed longer.

Not ignoring advice by the way and I appreciate any input. Stubbornness could be a small issue too though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

Hi all.

Baby thanks for setting this up. And El Cab thanks for taking us on. You gave us great advice on the Novices thread so it's brilliant to have you here, we're a lucky bunch :)

Well 4 weeks later, 2 weeks of zero running and 2 weeks of very very very little running i finally feel recovered from DCM :o It seems to have taken me a lot longer than some of you but that's ok; i had no immediate goals, it's onward and upwards from here all going well :cool:

DCM was one of the most amazing days of my life, possibly only surpassed by the births of my kids (i kind of have to say that don't I :pac:), and it will be hard to top it as an experience but i love running and have missed it the past 4 weeks even though i needed the break in mind and body so it's time to get focused again, as focussed as one can be 4 weeks before Christmas with a string of parties and so on lined up :D

Where do i start :pac:

Sub 50 10k, sub 2 hr half marathon and another marathon are all high on the list. Which one of those is top of the list i am not sure yet :confused:

And anything else is a bonus :D

As i've said elsewhere lots of S&C anyhow. I've been signed up for a Duathlon (Run, Bike, Run) in 4 weeks time which i'm looking forward to doing from a fun/sociable aspect. It will be January before i tackle any king of training plan until then i'll be winging it, fitting in runs (and cycles i suppose!) when i can and prioritising gym sessions.

In 12 months time i'd like to be running strong and have completed another marathon and/or a couple of HMs and events over shorter distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

KG you've already completed 2 full marathons this year - Cork & Dublin. And a half marathon since Dublin as well. I think it's a lot to ask your body to do a 3rd full marathon in the same year even without pushing the pace. I think to build from quite a low mileage base in 2016 (?) to doing 3 marathons in a year is a big ask on your body and while you may feel fine (and it's fantastic that you do) something might give at this point. I would ask myself which is most important to me
    A. Run a marathon next weekend?
    B. Start 2018 strong and in a position to set an aggressive goal for Cork/Dublin (or other distance/event) and really give it a lash?

Just my opinion by the way, i admire the fact that you can even contemplating doing it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭henrietta

Hi All,

Great to see this thread and hopefully get some motivation from it.

Ye all seem to be doing great running in the last month, my own seems to have taken a bit of a back seat.
    I really took to the idea that the body needs rest after a marathon.
    I had my mother on babysitting duties while I trained for the marathon so think she needs a break now so no evening running for me lately. Sat morning seems to have fallen away a bit too with just one 10k in the last month! But I'm determined to get that back on track (probably after Christmas as out the next 3 Friday nights). I am still trying to get two short lunchtime runs in (6k) and I go to gym classes the other 3 lunches.
    So as you can see the excuses are coming thick and fast here. If only I could run as fast I can make up excuses !;-)

Well first of all I suppose to get back running regularly.
    Then I'm going to do a park run, I have the barcodes for about a year but never made it to a run.
    I'd like to do another half or two. I'd love to get down to 2hrs but maybe a bit ambitious, my PB is 2.04.22 or thereabouts. Hope to do Kinvara in March but don't think that's a 2hr course for me so will have to find another one aswell.
    I'd love to get under 56 for a 10k too. Its so long since I did one I don't know what time it was but was def over 57 mins.

If I'm honest it will be minimal until after Christmas.
    Then I'd like to do a semi long run on a Sat morning, a session of some sort on wed lunch and another run Friday lunch.
    Maybe try get a fourth run in some evening (currently rehearsing for a play so once that's over I'll have more time)

I'd like to be still running consistently (have a bit of a stop start history!)
    Maybe Maybe do Dublin again. Feel I've unfinished business, that I didn't train smart/hard enough or race hard enough either, did it at practically LSR pace for fear of blowing up. Paced for 4.35 did 4.32.22. would love to get closer to 4.15/4.20

So Thank you Baby for starting this thread and El Caballo for agreeing to be our mentor. If we get even half as much out of this as we did out of the novices thread it will be brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭clickerquicklic

Thanks El Caballo for the great info and offering to give advice here.

Get some speed back 18.44 parkrun pb was done during marathon training I'd like to get down to sub 18, but first I need to get back to 18.44 . I'll probably do the Raheny 5 mile , did that last year and it was well organised (I won't make the mistake of starting at the back this year)

Some sort of speed session Tuesday and/or Thursday , a tempo Parkrun on Saturday and a Sunday longer run of just over an hour.

Still running and enjoying it.

I've been working on strength and conditioning a lot since marathon, still tipping away with the running and cycling.
    I have done 1 parkrun 2 weeks ago at tempo pace 20mins , this weeks parkrun I ran in 19:49 , I feel very controlled at that pace.

Since the marathon I feel like I'm running different more from my legs and less from my lungs (if that makes sense) I feel very strong when running even at tempo/threshold pace like I can easily up the gears and push forward , I often do this in Parkrun I'll push a little for a few hundred meters overtake a few people till my lungs start to give out then I settle back to tempo pace. I haven't really established a race pace I think that is half the problem.

I'm reluctant to start back doing speed work too soon , did my first bit of speedwork last week in a fartlek session , did 7 miles with 1k/600/400/400 fast in between gentle running , I was happy with these efforts hit 5.45 mile pace consistently for the efforts the goal was sub 6 pace. I'm planning to do a few more weeks of fartlek running might extend the efforts to 1mile/800/600/400 , i'm enjoying the lack of structure and just getting out doing what I want and targeting a few strava segments on my way!

Thanks and good luck to everyone in their training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

Hi Laraze, clickerquicklic, henrietta and Ariana great to see you here :)

I never got round to answering the questions myself so making the time to do it now :)

I want to focus on S&C so far so good and I have at last won the battle with strengthing my glutes! Hill walking yesterday and yep they got used some doms today :) As for running I want to start working on some speed while keeping myself HM fit, I really love this distance :) I also plan on getting out on my bike more and working on getting my butt used to long hours in the saddle ( for future adventure races)

I want to find a good 5k plan with longer distance still an aspect which I see from last years Graduate plan is very doable December my plan is to keep running 3 to 4 times a week increase my cycling distance and S&C then starting a plan in January and get out in kyack more!

Hopefully, I will have succeeded and smashed some of my PB goals and set new ones, to have a great base to work off when I start training and FX run DCM18 I have unfinished business I want to be able to run it as best I can and see what time I could get DCM17 was more like an LSR best one ever though loved every minute of it ( no plans to cycle up again next year or if hubby does I may leave him with his friend and push on myself eek feel a bit mean saying that! :D I also will be skipping cycling home even though I loved that as well! I want to enjoy the atmosphere and have a drink before I head home :)I also hope to beat times in some adventure races I took part in this year and do more in 2018.

Right so I have had a look at the 10k-HM graduates training plan. Lots of variety in the sessions. I'm looking forward to that. I put my HM and 5k time into the training paces calculator and the results were practically identical so they will be the paces I will use. As expected I have a few questions for El C! :rolleyes:

A) My easy/ very easy training paces during the Boards plan were generally run at 9:20- 10:00 pace. The calculator gives 9:54-10:15 for easy and 10:18-11:03 for very easy. Should I slow down to these paces to allow for the increased numbers of hard sessions? Trust the plan rather than go by what I may have mistakenly believed to be easy running?

B) Recovery run pace is not listed. Would I be right to assume it would be in the range of 10:30-11:30 pace?

C) What sort of hills are best for the 1 minute hills? I presume they wouldn't be as steep as those used for 10 sec hill sprints? What pace/ effort on the hills?

D) Where recovery is mentioned in different sessions should it be standing, walking or jogging?

That's it for starters but something tells me it won't be the end of questions!:pac:

Right so I have had a look at the 10k-HM graduates training plan. Lots of variety in the sessions. I'm looking forward to that. I put my HM and 5k time into the training paces calculator and the results were practically identical so they will be the paces I will use. As expected I have a few questions for El C! :rolleyes:

A) My easy/ very easy training paces during the Boards plan were generally run at 9:20- 10:00 pace. The calculator gives 9:54-10:15 for easy and 10:18-11:03 for very easy. Should I slow down to these paces to allow for the increased numbers of hard sessions? Trust the plan rather than go by what I may have mistakenly believed to be easy running?

B) Recovery run pace is not listed. Would I be right to assume it would be in the range of 10:30-11:30 pace?

C) What sort of hills are best for the 1 minute hills? I presume they wouldn't be as steep as those used for 10 sec hill sprints? What pace/ effort on the hills?

D) Where recovery is mentioned in different sessions should it be standing, walking or jogging?

That's it for starters but something tells me it won't be the end of questions!:pac:

Haha, fire away:)

Easy Runs:

Easy runs are a funny one and there is a huge variety of opinion out there on the effort/pace that you should do them that. Some calculators like McMillian will set very aggressive paces and others like Tinmans attached one will be on the slower side. I think for many of recreational runners, it's best to err on the side of slower easy runs as we haven't fully tapped into our aerobic potential yet and will still see big gains from that lower intensity. HADD (an old coach who used to post on another forum) had a really good methaphor for this I think. Think of your training as a tube of toothpaste, if you start squeezing it in the middle, you'll only get half of it out so the idea is that if you start at the bottom and gradually work up, you will get the most out of your potential and your easy runs will start to get faster as you get fitter and fitter aerobically.

Workouts will also affect your easy pace for obvious reasons as a pace that feels easy when you are fresh is a lot harder when you are tired. The key here is that while the pace may change depending on how you feel, effort should remain constantly easy. Somedays it may be 9:30 pace and others may be 10:30. Remember that your body doesn't understand distance or minutes per mile very easily, it only knows effort and as such, pace ranges are only guidelines to give you an idea.

Running easier will also have an effect on how well you run workouts as you don't want to be wrecked from running too hard on easy days as it will have a knock on effect on being shattered going into speedwork. The goal of easy running is to help recovery between workouts and provide a small aerobic stress, run too hard on easy days and you limit the recovery aspect which will also undermine your workouts. Here's a really famous and brilliant article on this that I would recommend everyone read:

http://www.letsrun.com/news/2006/09/wejo-speaks-why-i-sucked-in-college/

I kind of drifted away from your question Skyblue:p but I think it's important to elaborate on what easy running is and the goal behind it. Many newer runners and even those at it for a while tend to run their easy days way too hard because they may not fully understand the goal of the run. Backing off the pace on easy days also opens up the oppurtunity to increase your weekly mileage/kilometrage:) as well which will give you a huge improvement in race times.

As I said, opinion varies hugely on this so I am speaking from a position of bias on this and what feels best for me personally. Maybe dial back the top end pace a bit and see how you feel. I don't think you are going way too fast by any means so expermint and see.

B)

Very Easy should have you covered for recovery, just different terms for the same runs.

C)Anything around 5-6% should be good to go for very short to midrange hill sprints. Longer ones above 90 seconds and 4% would suit better.

For short hill sprints like 10 seconds, the effort should be 100%, literally as fast as you can run while maintaining good form. The midrange ones of 60-90 seconds and 3-5k pace should be a good guideline. The goal with hill sprints should be focus on good running form and being in control. As with any hard workouts, you should finish the session knowing you could complete 1 or 2 more intervals if you had to. The goal isn't so much to run hard as it is to run fast and efficiently.

D)Anywhere that doesn't have jog recovery, either standing or a slow walk should be perfectly fine. Personally, I find a slow walk to be beneficial as my legs tend to cease up a bit when I'm just standing around waiting for the next one.

Hope that helps:)

That's brilliant. It's all crystal clear now. Thanks a million. I'll get Jingle Bells out of the way this weekend and then start on the 14 week plan. That'll bring me up to the Bohermeen Half which by all accounts is a decent race. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭RolandDeschain

Sorry, I haven't posted in ages. Life has been a bit hectic the last 3 weeks.

Great to see this thread set up! The kick up the a** I need to get going again.

What are your next goals?

Speed. All my running has been more or less the same pace. Time to introduce speed sessions and get the heart rate up.

My mobility is abysmal. So regularly working out kinks on the foam roller would also be good.

I have started a CrossFit kind of gym program 3 days a week. Mix of strength, hypertrophy and metcon stuff.

I have settled on the graduate HM plan and aiming for an early March half. Maybe a 5m, 10k in the build up.

New 10k and HM PB. Getting closer to a sub 40 10k.