Will Leo be the shortest serving taoiseach in history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/ShonaMurrayNT/status/933842428351664129

Well done Ireland. Defining issue for a generation in this country and of course we are going to fcuk it up.

I guess we should just welcome the hard border now and all the other problems it's going to cause now. We are done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Are you denying this?

You claimed SF killed Garda, I asked yoy when did SF kill Garda still no answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,512 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

https://twitter.com/ShonaMurrayNT/status/933842428351664129

Well done Ireland. Defining issue for a generation in this country and of course we are going to fcuk it up.

I guess we should just welcome the hard border now and all the other problems it's going to cause now. We are done.

Germany don't have a government ATM either. Haven't seen the UK stealing the cutlery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Soulsun wrote: »
    Is there a real possibility of an election soon?

Yes

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Jesus if that’s true, Fianna Fáil have really been played. Wouldn’t be surprised to see them backtrack and find some fudge of a compromise tomorrow now.

Yup that's it
    All parties are gambling here
    Only two have a say in whether there's an election
    However FF will have to face down a Mary Lou SF at the ballot box next time anyway regardless

I'm not surprised that SF would put Mary in asap,it's the stated intention,I'd forgotten that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,235 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

VinLieger wrote: »
    FF arent ready for an election, if Frances doesnt resign then they will just abstain.

However if she doesnt resign and they have to abstain they will deffinitely take their share of skin off FG down the line as that will give SF a large stick to beat FF with for years to come

Abstain on their own motion of no confidence?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Germany don't have a government ATM either. Haven't seen the UK stealing the cutlery.

The German Government are not about to be fcuked by the British Government - we are.

We had one chance to prevent a border being put back on this island.

Our credibility is shot.

People who claim an election here does not change things. It does. No mandate for Varadkar to use a veto at EU council. Simple.

We are hopelessly weakened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

Don't worry the real leader Angela will dispatch orders tomorrow to Leo to dispatch Frances. Then things will settle again.

But hey the last time the country got fcked over by Britain the blueshirts delivered that fcuk up too so could be a little bit of history repeating itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Was posted before they had declared they were introducing their own motion

If there's an election before xmas....there won't be time?
    Jesus if that’s true, Fianna Fáil have really been played. Wouldn’t be surprised to see them backtrack and find some fudge of a compromise tomorrow now.

That's what she said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

They haven't tabled it yet and even if they had,they can withdraw it at anytime

The German Government are not about to be fcuked by the British Government - we are.

We had one chance to prevent a border being put back on this island.

Our credibility is shot.

People who claim an election here does not change things. It does. No mandate for Varadkar to use a veto at EU council. Simple.

We are hopelessly weakened.

That's nonsense. There was almost all party consensus on the veto. We won't be rudderless.
    Stop fretting.

Anyone who thinks an election right now is a good idea is deluded, we need stability for brexit which is something we should all be able to agree on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

They haven't tabled it yet and even if they had,they can withdraw it at anytime

And SF motion could be withdrawn too.... If?

Anyone who thinks an election right now is a good idea is deluded, we need stability for brexit which is something we should all be able to agree on

The Sun had worked out we didn't have stable government in fairness.

Ahh francie are you really trying to imply the political genius that is the sun "journalists" saw this coming?

If the Sun could work it out, we were fooling no one was the point.

What that we have a minority government? Fair play to them that they can count i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Noone Couldve predicted varadkar would back her though.....a modern Taoiseach for a modern ireland.....and walks himself into what looks like a clusterfcuk election??

I think Leo decided he could risk an election just to see if he can make Martin blink, FG got hammered at the polls last time and they're not polling too badly right now so they can't do much worse.

One thing this whole fiasco has shown is that the gardai and dept of justice need to be swept out from top to bottom.

This election talk has bumped another story off the front page, the garda commissioner announcing that no action will be taken on the false breathalyser scandal because the corruption was so widespread that they don't have the resources to address it

What that we have a minority government? Fair play to them that they can count i suppose

It was a weak government. Just look at what might end it. An email and a Taoiuseach too arrogant to do the simple thing.

in what way?

Had to rewind sky, but he said
    Ivan Yates wrote:
    do you not think David, there's an element whereby Leo realises he doesn't have a mandate, he's 50 TDs out 158.

He was talking to John Paul Pelhan at the time, and mistakenly referred to him as David.

On the tonight show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Autochange

This is depressing. We really need another viable option.
    Its becoming more and more obvious how much of a corrupt little backwater Ireland really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I think the reality is neither Martin or Varadkar want an election. Martin is probably now limited by his own TDs. Varadkar certainly doesn't want an election.

Circumstances may be forcing both towards one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,512 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Had to rewind sky, but he said

He was talking to John Paul Pelhan at the time, and mistakenly referred to him as David.

On the tonight show.
    so he didn't loose it he never had it

I duno but maybe if ppl don't understand how a govt is formed and what words like 'mandate' mean they go and find out offthread, idk tho

NB maybe don't find out from an oaf like Ivan Yates either, as I said idk tho

It was a weak government. Just look at what might end it. An email and a Taoiuseach too arrogant to do the simple thing.

That's enough to put the national interest at risk in your opinion? An email?

Theresa May, Boris Johnson, Michael Gove...the entire Tory establishment in the UK all delighted tonight.

They know Ireland has no say now. They know Varadkar is a lame duck at the EU summit in December.

The thing that gets me is how Irish this is. We get what we deserve really.

I hope she simply resigns. It's in the national interest but the others pressing for it are equally damaging this country right now.

Personally i'm angry at how this country manages to mutilate itself over and over again.

So be it.

They FF/FG/SF should pay dearly in the polls for this.

Perhaps an intial bad choice of words from me - but yeah.

Never had it.

Think Yates point was/is he might see this as a chance to seize a mandate.

He should check out Theresa Mays strategy on this regard if you ask me though.

Personally i'm angry at how this country manages to mutilate itself over and over again.

So be it.

Agreed on this. But not only is there no alternative to them (frankly I'd love to see labour grab 70 seats in a snap election but ....)- they're not even a decent rotating alternative to each other and an election probably delivers the same result.

A govt in the national interest consisting of FF/FG locked in together had stability going for it but politics intervened.

For all my distaste for SF antics and lack of suitability to govern, I can't really fault them for thumping the current weak FG/FF alloy over this affair.

Politics. It stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

That's enough to put the national interest at risk in your opinion? An email?

Theresa May, Boris Johnson, Michael Gove...the entire Tory establishment in the UK all delighted tonight.

They know Ireland has no say now. They know Varadkar is a lame duck at the EU summit in December.

The thing that gets me is how Irish this is. We get what we deserve really.

I hope she simply resigns. It's in the national interest but the others pressing for it are equally damaging this country right now.

So be it.

Do you have some notion that if you keep repeating the same thing over and over it will somehow become credible?

Bambi wrote: »
    Do you have some notion that if you keep repeating the same thing over and over it will somehow become credible?

.....voters seem to!