Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General MMA Chat/News mk2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,117 ✭✭✭cletus

I'm not on Facebook so can't click the link, what's the background to that picture? Bellator 188 took place in a large indoor arena in Tel Aviv, how did the fighters end up on the grass verge beside the car park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,685 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

cletus wrote: »
    I'm not on Facebook so can't click the link, what's the background to that picture? Bellator 188 took place in a large indoor arena in Tel Aviv, how did the fighters end up on the grass verge beside the car park?

Belator 188 was in Tel Aviv. But they had an event yesterday in Florida. Monster Energy Series, a tie in with Nascar events.

The face book post is the above photo with the following tect.
    Mitchell Chamale
    14 hrs · Homestead, FL, United States

Fight for Bellator they said... with all the production equipment they travelled with, they could have thrown ins couple mats.
    The state wants the fighters to carry themselves as professionals, but don’t require promotions to treat them like professionals. I️t has to work both ways.

I know it's a minor event. But these are still pro fighters, pretty disgraceful imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The utter state of that Shanghai card this weekend. Jesus wept.

Bisping has really dug them out of a hole.

Jessica Rose-Clark vs PVZ set.

Great opportunity to make a name for herself, Mellor. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Paully D wrote: »

is there a link there mellor? i had to do an auld search for the wiki page myself...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Porthallian

So her tweet about a title shut is now confirmed as bollox :)

Good matchup.
    Liked the look of Jessy. I think she wins this by Sub.

Yeah, Jess told me about this at the weekend. They offered it to her post fight and she jumped at it. Was just waiting on Paige to sign.

IMO Paige is the best case opponent for her. This will get a lots of media coverage but she is absolutely beatable for Jess.
    The division is new, and Paige is already 2-0, so she has to be near the top of the pile in waiting.

This TUF seson is getting more interesting, Ill have to watch now.
    So her tweet about a title shut is now confirmed as bollox :)

Good matchup.
    Liked the look of Jessy. I think she wins this by Sub.
    A agree.
    I got a crazy 11-1 for Jessy by sub at the weekend. Was screaming for her to finish the head and arm.
    dashoonage wrote: »
    is there a link there mellor? i had to do an auld search for the wiki page myself...
    I've know Jessy for about 5 years. Since I started Jiu Jitus/MMA. She was living in Sydney, put moved to Vegas to train in Syndicate MMA.
    When Jojo pulled out, she got the short notice cal up as she didn't need a visa.

Mellor wrote: »
    Yeah, Jess told me about this at the weekend. They offered it to her post fight and she jumped at it. Was just waiting on Paige to sign.

IMO Paige is the best case opponent for her. This will get a lots of media coverage but she is absolutely beatable for Jess.
    The division is new, and Paige is already 2-0, so she has to be near the top of the pile in waiting.

This TUF seson is getting more interesting, Ill have to watch now.

A agree.
    I got a crazy 11-1 for Jessy by sub at the weekend. Was screaming for her to finish the head and arm.

I've know Jessy for about 5 years. Since I started Jiu Jitus/MMA. She was living in Sydney, put moved to Vegas to train in Syndicate MMA.
    When Jojo pulled out, she got the short notice cal up as she didn't need a visa.

Paige is 2-0?
    I didnt understand that part.

This is her flyweight debut right?

Also just noticed that this was the 2nd time Jessy has missed weight at FlyW.
    Hopefully that's not a problem going forward

Paige is 2-0?
    I didnt understand that part.

This is her flyweight debut right?

Also just noticed that this was the 2nd time Jessy has missed weight at FlyW.
    Hopefully that's not a problem going forward
    For some reason I thought that Paige v Bec Rawlings was Flyweight. I see now it wasn't. Is there anywhere to get a list of all the W.Fly fight so far in the UFC?

She was 2lbs over last weekend. But to be fair she on a weeks notice and only landed in Sydney on Monday. I thought she looked smaller than Bec in there.

I have compiled a comprehensive list:

Inaugural Women's Flyweight fight
    JoJo Calderwood def Valerie Letourneau by TKO
    18/6/16

Mara Borella def Kalindra Faria by RNC
    7/10/17

You can argue that a 3rd FlyW fight took place between Jessy and Rawlings.
    However, as Jessy missed weight it goes into the books as a Catchweight bout.

I have compiled a comprehensive list:

Inaugural Women's Flyweight fight
    JoJo Calderwood def Valerie Letourneau by TKO
    18/6/16

Mara Borella def Kalindra Faria by RNC
    7/10/17

You can argue that a 3rd FlyW fight took place between Jessy and Rawlings.
    However, as Jessy missed weight it goes into the books as a Catchweight bout.
    yeah, technically it was catchweight. But in terms of rankings and matchmaking, I'd imagine Sean Shelby will be considering it as a Fly fight. Official record books don't really exist afaik. Certainly not with the jokers in the Aussie commission :D

I'd be interested to see said rankings in any case.
    Winner of the Paige v Jessy fight will surely be top 5. See how the TUF series pans out.

Also didn't Valentina say she would drop down from BW? She could fight the TUF winner next.

JoJo and Letourneau will also be Top 10 IMO

Alexa Davis, Liz Carmouche and Jessica Eye dropping down. Between them, the new signings and the TUF cast they'll make a top 15.

It could end up being the best Women's division pretty soon.

So many could potentially find a middle ground and ideal weight by moving up/down.

Rumour has it that the vast majority of this season's TUF cast have been offered UFC contracts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

It could end up being the best Women's division pretty soon.

So many could potentially find a middle ground and ideal weight by moving up/down.

Yupp 125 is where it's gonna be at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,552 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Rumour has it that the vast majority of this season's TUF cast have been offered UFC contracts too.
    Your one with the rack that lost in the quarters and weighed in as wonder woman for Invicta will be getting one I imagine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

They kinda have to in fairness. Otherwise the division could be pretty empty.

Same as the 115 season. The cast minus any rejects plus the other signing and fighters moving up/down. And you get a top 15 pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,861 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Your one with the rack that lost in the quarters and weighed in as wonder woman for Invicta will be getting one I imagine.

Jesus Christ man it’s 2017, post a link please

ah FFS lads come on her name is Rachael Ostovich

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ man it’s 2017, post a link please

Rachael-Ostovich-Berdon-Invicta-21-Weigh-In-by-Scott-Hirano-Photography.jpg

Didnt dern fight a Flyweight in her last fight? missed the cut to 115 a few times and has an invicta contract now as well? surely shes going to end up in the UFC

Jesus saves!!!!!

On the show when she was deciding what to wear for the weigh ins and was walking around in her bra and panties, I nearly had a stroke.

what you have a stroke to man is your own business :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭akelly02

what you have a stroke to man is your own business :P

Clever :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Didnt dern fight a Flyweight in her last fight? missed the cut to 115 a few times and has an invicta contract now as well? surely shes going to end up in the UFC

She's a few fights away from the UFC yet. Lets see how she does in Invicta before sending her up to the big leagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

On the show when she was deciding what to wear for the weigh ins and was walking around in her bra and panties

And then proceeded to weigh in wearing her skimpiest bra and panties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,861 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I think the guys face in the back says it for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

I got an email last week from the UFC informing me about Dern signing with Invicta. I don't remember them doing that for anybody else ever so I think if she wins 2-3 in a row then she is a certainty to be called up. She needs to work on her striking and striking defense first though unless she is fed cans.

cliggg wrote: »
    I got an email last week from the UFC informing me about Dern signing with Invicta. I don't remember them doing that for anybody else ever so I think if she wins 2-3 in a row then she is a certainty to be called up. She needs to work on her striking and striking defense first though unless she is fed cans.

Can you imagine putting her in the cage with a 125lbs joanna

If Dern could get her down though? She is absolutely vicious in her Jiu-Jitsu fights and has been on the ground in her MMA fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I wonder are punches to the boobs sore, fairly big targets there

Does anyone really know whats going on with the Khabib vs Barboza vs Tony love triangle at the moment ?

Just let Khabib and Barboza bang no ?

https://twitter.com/RusHammerMMA/status/933620472402665472

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

I wonder are punches to the boobs sore, fairly big targets there

Of course they would be

Does anyone really know whats going on with the Khabib vs Barboza vs Tony love triangle at the moment ?

Just let Khabib and Barboza bang no ?

https://twitter.com/RusHammerMMA/status/933620472402665472

I thought the same thing about DC, Tony cuts a fair bit of weight before he even starts his proper training camp to make his final cut easier. It sounds like DC & Khabib want him drained because that's the only way they think Khabib wins.

Khabib's response. It just gets weirder. If you're focused on Barboza then stop talking about Tony at all.
    https://twitter.com/TeamKhabib/status/933417415194505216

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I'm drained from the Khabib vs Ferguson stuff now. They've been on about it for so long it's just lost its lustre for me. More Khabib's fault than Ferguson's obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Reeks of Khabib trying to get some embers going again tbh

If he beats Barboza then he can say Ferguson 'Run away like Chicken' and try to get that fight going again with people talking about it - Helwani will now be addressing it on the MMA hour for sure, people are once again putting Khabib and Ferguson in the same sentence which is more than enough for Khabib right now.

If UFC wants it then Ferguson vs. Khabib could fight but it'd have to be a case that McGregor is stripped of the title, Ferguson as interim champ has to get the opportunity to challenge for the full title now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,153 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

D'Agger wrote: »
    If UFC wants it then Ferguson vs. Khabib could fight but it'd have to be a case that McGregor is stripped of the title, Ferguson as interim champ has to get the opportunity to challenge for the full title now

Which shows how McGregor is ruining the division. Both Khabib and Ferguson both want to fight McGregor for the belt. Khabib vs Ferguson does a tiny percentage of the numbers either vs McGregor does.

Ideally Khabib would've wanted the McGregor vs Ferguson fight to happen in December and for McGregor to win.

The UFC are basically panicking and trying to pull something out of their arses after Conors bollocks at Bellator forced killed their big surprise fight plan.
    First was try get an injured, suspend Woodley to fight Nate, which resulted in Nate telling them to kindly do one.
    Then they phone Khabib and ask would he fight Tony without having a deal done on Tony's side and Tony is telling them to kindly go do one.

Their big end of year card is not coming together and now their shareholders won't be happy campers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

I dont think Conor was ever going to fight on the New Year event.

Probably something the UFC would have liked. But I would imagine he will take time off, concentrate of other business, enjoy Christmas and go back training in the New year. I would guess he should be good to fight later in the Spring

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

The UFC are basically panicking and trying to pull something out of their arses after Conors bollocks at Bellator forced killed their big surprise fight plan.

There was no surprise fight, just admit you called it wrong Marcos McGregor had no intentions of fighting in Vegas in a month against a killer like Ferguson who nobody even knows outside of hardcore mma fans, its wasnt and still wont be happening anytime soon.

Gamebred wrote: »
    There was no surprise fight, just admit you called it wrong Marcos McGregor had no intentions of fighting in Vegas in a month against a killer like Ferguson who nobody even knows outside of hardcore mma fans, its wasnt and still wont be happening anytime soon.

No, he was going to be fighting Diaz in December. That's the card the UFC admitted they pulled him from. That's the fight Diaz was in camp for.

So Diaz was in camp but McGregor was just planning a camp of being on the session every weekend for it? absolute garbage talk and you know it, ufc might of wanted it but it was never a viable option.

7 week fight camp would have been plenty of time for both of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

McGregor was never going to fight in December, and definetley not against Diaz.

If you hadn't of made that prediction Marcus, you'd be the first person saying McGregor wasn't ever going to fight, and the so called punishment is just bull**** to keep the snowflakes happy

7 week fight camp would have been plenty of time for both of them.

Yeah right no Danis or nothing, he wouldnt go to a press conference before the last fight over his need to train for it not a hope in hell they would fight Diaz on 7 weeks notice after being on the devils dandruff for weeks before camp.

ah lads **** off to the mcungget thread will ye!