Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 SassyP

Let’s hope it was his first attempt at something like this and not just his first time being caught. I for one am glad there are groups like that predator finders group out there because the police wouldn’t have a hope of keeping track of all the perverts out there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Peatys wrote: »
    Holy shït..

There's a poster here who thinks it's ok to fancy kids as long as you don't act on it.

That's enough boards for one day.
    Phone in bin
    Bin in wheely bin
    Sit and wait for bin man

If someone had paedophile urges and didnt act on it in any way and got help and conselling for it and was able to control it, then I can respect that in a way.

I dont respect their urges but I respect the fact they recognised it as a problem and sought help to deal with it.

For example, parents of a young girl who was abducted and murdered are campaigning to make it easier for paedohiles to speak out and seek help

they could have simply videoed it on a camera and given it to the police. instead they streamed it on social media for attention before calling the police. nope i think we know what this group are really after. just because they got this guy doesn't legitimize them, they still should not be trusted as far as they could be thrown.

And on the other hand, a proper vigilante group could've given him a hiding or took him off to a remote location and tortured him and left him for dead. This group didn't do that. They are responsible for getting a would-be predator off the streets via the police, which you are always crying out for on here. You say they want attention. I say that very attention had made this case become national headlines and has the potential to keep parents abreast of their kids online activities. That's a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

SassyP wrote: »
    Let’s hope it was his first attempt at something like this and not just his first time being caught. I for one am glad there are groups like that predator finders group out there because the police wouldn’t have a hope of keeping track of all the perverts out there..

Its literally impossible for a national police force to keep track. Theres probably hundreds of thousands of paedophiles in britain and they're all using many different sites and also its difficult to find a middle ground between efficiently tracking people like this and allowing necessary levels of personal privacy for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

People like that lurk in the shadows. Whatever his eventual prison sentence will be, it will be a temporary incarceration.
    However, he's been completely exposed. It was the lead story on the website of his own employer - can't get more exposed than that.

So although his prison term will be temporary, his friends, family and co-workers now know his secret and that will be with him for the rest of his life, not to mention his career is completely over. I'm sure he'll be dismissed from RTE and no broadcaster or production company would hire him.

The video from Drogheda is absolutely chilling. The fella shows absolutely zero remorse. He's a real danger. Hope the Gardai investigate him fully. Sickening stuff he says on the video such as "she wanted it" etc.

Strazdas wrote: »
    The vigilantes are often racist themselves. I was reading on one of the British forums today that they are usually white, unemployed, racist and invariably have criminal records (sounds suspiciously like the types that gravitate towards the far right).

Here we bloody go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

wakka12 wrote: »
    Well, an attraction to children is disturbing and needs to be dealt with through psychological evaluation and counselling and preventing them being around children. But you do have to remember that it is something they were born with, they didn't choose to be like that . So what are you gonna do, execute somebody on the spot if they say they're attracted to children? They need help. Not only being ostracised for something they can't help

Same way we treat any dangerous mental illness, remove from society so they cannot harm, and give them mental help. You don't just abuse other people with mental illnesses who are danger to society do you?

Well that escalated quickly! Over exaggeration doesn't help the issue. As far as I'm aware it is a recognisable psychiatric disorder.

Treatment and detention with care if necessary. As it exhibits itself as a compulsion - it is not enough to think that as long as there is no sign of such behaviour then all is ok. Individuals require diagnosis and ongoing monitoring due to devious nature of many paedophiles activities.

Strazdas wrote:
    The vigilantes are often racist themselves. I was reading on one of the British forums today that they are usually white, unemployed, racist and invariably have criminal records (sounds suspiciously like the types that gravitate towards the far right).
    Omackeral wrote: »
    Here we bloody go...

I've asked that poster for stats to back up his assertions. Nothing doing so far. We've been listening to the same tune since nearly the beginning of the thread as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,809 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Here we bloody go...

What part do you disagree with? One person further up already picked up on potentially racist or xenophobic sentiments coming from the lead vigilante in the video. These guys freely admit to having criminal records in the various documentaries made about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 oulfecker

Sweet Jaysus. The fecker!

IMO, I'm just glad they caught the nonce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That giant transmission arial in montrose tried to finger me when i was 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

How many women have lambasted me here I wonder.

I know I'm late to the game - but I'd like to "lambast" you - I am female.

It's nothing personal but I just hate sexist sweeping statements - it doesn't nothing to help victims of sexual predators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

I never knew a nonce was a kiddy fiddler until I saw that video. Ive been using it in the wrong context all these years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

Don't forget the lad who was going around monasterevin this summer looking at prospective houses to buy and who was photographed and accused of being a sex offender on Facebook. He ended up being chased by locals and needed a Garda escort out of the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

foxatron wrote: »
    I never knew a nonce was a kiddy fiddler until I saw that video. Ive been using it in the wrong context all these years!

How did you use it?

What part do you disagree with? One person further up already picked up on potentially racist or xenophobic sentiments coming from the lead vigilante in the video. These guys freely admit to having criminal records in the various documentaries made about them.

I have asked you to back up similar statements previously. So:

Out of the total number of such groups- how many / what percentage

* Are racist
    * Are white
    * Are unemployed
    * Have criminal records

Thanks ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

But doesn't them picking up a fella who had intentions to meet a 13 year old girl and catching him out, trump what they might have done? If what they say is true he sent a picture of his c*ck to what he thought was a 13 year old?

I'm all for looking for an alternative angle to try and see things from another side. But at the end of the day, in this case, if these lads caught a fella who had intentions of having sex with a 13 year old kid, should they not at least get a pat on the back?

I would love to know I caught some one like him. I'd sleep soundly in my bed knowing I'd helped do some good like that. Vigilantism is not something I would advocate, but its hard not to try and justify this one.

You give an unnamed British forum as a source. You get a far right soundbite in. You allude to criminality/racism/xenophobia. Nothing really of substance, moreso an agenda. Guys possibly are conservative...or maybe they just absolutely abhor kiddie fiddlers and are sick of them getting away with things and have the balls to get up and do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

How did you use it?

I called my pet dog it a good few times when he was acting the bollix. No wonder he never liked me.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Einsteins Greatest Hits

I have to say I felt very uncomfortable watching the video, I know he was intending to commit a horrific crime but somehow the video felt very unnecessary, or the way they spoke to him anyway. The guy who does most of the talking mentions the fact that the guy is from Dublin and Ireland quite a lot, and over to harm one of "our" girls, shouldn't really matter, the fact that he wants to harm an underage girl is the point, not where she is from. Constantly calling him a disgusting paedophile and an animal etc just seems a bit gratuitous to me, wait for the police to come and deal with him, no need for the commentary.

I fascinated by this comment. The English people wanted to protect English children from a foreign predator. How is that troubling for you? Wanting to protect your own people is such a basic part of being human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The video from Drogheda is absolutely chilling. The fella shows absolutely zero remorse. He's a real danger. Hope the Gardai investigate him fully. Sickening stuff he says on the video such as "she wanted it" etc.

Thought I saw a report earlier saying the two men in Drogheda were released without charge. As is the usual I presume that'll be followed by "a file is being prepared for the DPP".

I fascinated by this comment. The English people wanted to protect English children from a foreign predator. How is that troubling for you? Wanting to protect your own people is such a basic part of being human.

something something alt right xenophobic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I'm amazed that he still hasn't deleted his Facebook account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I'm amazed that he still hasn't deleted his Facebook account

He probably doesn't have access to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Given the hassle England (northern in particular) has had with Muslim gangs grooming kids and the law Is to be impartial on grounds of race/sex etc

Youd wonder is this lad looking at a fairly serious stretch to set an example from here out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

And on the other hand, a proper vigilante group could've given him a hiding or took him off to a remote location and tortured him and left him for dead. This group didn't do that. They are responsible for getting a would-be predator off the streets via the police, which you are always crying out for on here. You say they want attention. I say that very attention had made this case become national headlines and has the potential to keep parents abreast of their kids online activities. That's a result.

whether it's a result or not isn't in dispute. what is being told is that the likes of the groups involved in this cannot be trusted. that is a fact, and one which i stand by.
    Here we bloody go...

he's not wrong though.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I read in an article somewhere this type of activity is illegal in many countries and would not be permissible in a court of law. Pretty sure Germany was one such country mentioned.

Ah sure the germans are never wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

foxatron wrote: »

Mon now