Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day Trading with cryptocurrencies?

• 13-11-2017 8:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭

I'm day trading cryptos at the moment for an extra bit of cash, so far I've used LTC but about to go over to ETH as it has better volume and predictability. Does anyone here do the same? If so, any tips/tricks/strategies that work? I've been doing my research but have only been at it since Saturday so am a total newbie.

I'm up a few hundred € so far so not doing too badly, but the more knowledge I have the better, so if anyone have any experience please share!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭flashforward

What site are you using for the trades?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

GDAX, mainly because it has no maker's fees. No leverage involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,377 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Day trading is a risky game. There are bots making money from it but very few traders. You might get lucky in times of high volatility, but you can always get unlucky too.
    I tried it earlier this summer on ETH and got stung up near the ATH. Even if it grew by 100 euro overnight I'd barely break even.
    When a crash happens, the value can fall almost instantly. Exchanges get overwhelmed and crash too leaving you locked out of your own coins until it has settled at some unpalatable floor when it's all too late. Try and set up some stop loss trades to cover yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭wally1990

Check out 'thechartguys' on YouTube