Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE "paedophile" exposed (Read Admin note post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

LewisR wrote: »
    Facebook is full of idiots. Grown men commenting on his page calling him all sorts, playing to the gallery and fishing for likes to give themselves some sort of twisted validation. Like these lads would stick their flute in a 17 year old given half a chance.

O..........k :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Facebook is full of idiots. Grown men commenting on his page calling him all sorts, playing to the gallery and fishing for likes to give themselves some sort of twisted validation. Like these lads would stick their flute in a 17 year old given half a chance.

Ehhh....this is what he believed to be a 13 year old child he was going to take out for the day after sending pictures of his cock to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Fair enough this scumbag can't be named for legal reasons, but I will say that if you search Facebook for Leeds Exposure Page you will find a group called Predator Exposure and there are videos that you may find relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,082 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Strazdas wrote: »
    I'd be against it myself. Self appointed vigilantes have no role in a civilised society. If the police were mounting an operation to catch people like these, that would be absolutely fine but I would be extremely wary of the motives of any private citizens doing this stuff....I can't help thinking a lot of them are probably scumbags themselves looking for some form of fame or validation.

Or some of them could have been effected by Paedophilia in some way and that has forced them into action.

From what I've seen, there isn't much fame or validation... aren't most of the groups anonymous? I don't doubt that there are probably a lot of them in it for the kicks too btw.

As long as they don't take punishment into their own hands or hamper any convictions then I'm all good with it. Police in the UK would prefer if they weren't doing it but they've decided to work with them... they have been so successful at uncovering Paedophiles that the Police don't really have an option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭JenovaProject

Dirty paedo bastard....hilarious seeing him fall apart on video...dirty cnut deserves everything he gets...no sympathy whatsoever none at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭mikeysmith

A large portion of the paedophile high horse brigade are of dubious moral character themselves

The paedophile being the lowest rung of society can have dirt flung at him by everyone including dodgy types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Zillah wrote: »
    To what video are people referring? I did a scan of the thread and I don't see anything. Did the vigilantes record the sting?

The mirror.ie names him,just Google his name and the video is pretty much top of the list. He was caught red handed and one of those who caught him mentioned the average sentence served over in the UK is 32 months.
    Interesting that one of the Twitter comments said that they rang RTE News who hung up on them when they mentioned what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,824 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

yesto24 wrote: »
    But a civilised country would have no need for vigilantes.
    Where the police or state fail to enforce the law or fail to enact legislation to catch such people vigilantes will and should step in. I have no problem with this happening. It is the second best option.

The counter argument is that the vigilantes are "creating" criminals. A lot of the guys they seem to catch are middle aged saddos and loners and one wonders if many of them pose any threat to society or if they have committed any other crimes at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Simpley simpley loveleh.

Just lucky it was a fake account he organised to meet up with. Looking at his friends on his alternate account, he could have easily destroyed a young life.

Where he's going, good for him he's so fond of showing his junk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

The counter argument is that the vigilantes are "creating" criminals. A lot of the guys they seem to catch are middle aged saddos and loners and one wonders if many of them pose any threat to society or if they have committed any other crimes at all.

Hadn't heard that slant on these types of groups, certainly is good food for thought.

Rather these fellas get caught before the act. Them living out their fantasy with a child is not an option I'd choose over them meeting with a paedo catcher instead. Zero sympathy from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Men are mysonigisitic bstds who think they have power. Well they thought they did.

Been happening for donkey's years in every sphere of life.

The worry is that like the "homeless" debacle, it will become a bit of a yawn. Now I don't mean to denigrate it, but too much publicity can often make it boring.

Ah feck, not again, that kind of thing. They may all rely on this.

Watch out and speak out.

That's quite a disturbing and also sexist post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭LewisR

steddyeddy wrote: »
    That's quite a disturbing and also sexist post.
    It's sexist against men so it's OK.

Peatys wrote: »
    Simpley simpley loveleh.

Just lucky it was a fake account he organised to meet up with. Looking at his friends on his alternate account, he could have easily destroyed a young life.

Where he's going, good for him he's so fond of showing his junk.

I shouldn't have laughed but I do admit that I did when one guy said to him that he'll "find a whole new meaning to the phrase Pog mo thoin in an English jail".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

The legal framework here is curious. He's being charged with encouraging a 13-year-old girl to engage in sex. But there is no actual girl, it was a fake account run as a sting. Like, if I see a silhouette in the dark and I stab it with a knife and it turned out to be a mannequin I can't be charged with attempted murder.

He's a scumbag and can rot in a dungeon for all I care, but it's interesting from a legal standpoint that one can be charged with a child sex offence without there being any actual child involved.
    I'm also glad he was caught, hopefully before he actually managed to hurt any actual girls. Having a fake account specifically for this purpose is disturbing. I want to be really clear on that.

That said though, I agree with the above post that this is an interesting one legally. Something about this doesn't sit quite right with me, presumably it's not entrapment if it's done by citizens rather than police or whatever? In this case it worked out well, but it's an incredibly powerful tool and I'd be wary of leaving that unregulated. The targeting of other men with a tenuous connection to this guy (as is currently happening on FB/Twitter) seems incredibly dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

It's sexist against men so it's OK.

Your persecution complex and resentment is pretty weird too.

True, maybe this perv wouldn't have gone to these lengths had he not been lured in by the decoy, but maybe he would.

And even if not, I'm sure there are scumbags out there giving serious thought to this kind of grooming who might think twice about it for fear that they are the next one caught.

The recent similar situation in Derry last week or so, the guy caught apparently said during his text history with the decoy that he was worried that the vigilante group in question might appear for him. Obviously that worry didn't stop him from proceeding but it was in his head.

The group in question don't start the chat, they don't instigate or encourage the meet. They only turn the peados into the police after they've tried to meet up with 'kids'.. so.. the criminals are created before the meet. My problem with them is live streaming the meet. If they'd just record it and hand it over to the police, it would be less about them, less of a chance of jeopardising the trial, and more about locking the dirty feckers up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭mikeysmith

There'd be some amount of weirdos in those vigilante groups

The cops would probably find enough to keep them busy full time if they started investigating them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,824 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Noveight wrote: »
    Hadn't heard that slant on these types of groups, certainly is good food for thought.

It's definitely food for thought. I haven't followed these cases closely but we never seem to hear of any these guys being investigated and charged with dozens of other crimes once they are caught. If they doing their contacting online, one would have thought there would be a big evidence trail that would implicate them in a load of other such incidents. Could it be that the vigilantes are not catching criminals at all and merely creating them?

Going onto the teenage girls accounts and looking at the comments on their pictures is disturbing. So many grown men posting creepy comments. It's so f*cking weird. Why do these girls add these men as friends?
    3 of the girls profiles had their ages, 13 from whatever town they're from, and one had a photo of herself in a bikini as her profile photo.

So important to monitor your children's social media accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Even if he doesn't go to trial or get convicted, he is ****ed from a personal and professional perspective. The story is being widely reported, literally everybody he know's is going to find out. Hard to feel sorry for him all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The legal framework here is curious. He's being charged with encouraging a 13-year-old girl to engage in sex. But there is no actual girl, it was a fake account run as a sting. Like, if I see a silhouette in the dark and I stab it with a knife and it turned out to be a mannequin I can't be charged with attempted murder.

He's a scumbag and can rot in a dungeon for all I care, but it's interesting from a legal standpoint that one can be charged with a child sex offence without there being any actual child involved.

The police do not appear to have issue with how he was reported and there appears to be actual evidence that he posted pornographic photos to the targeted profile. He has been charged and arranged for court appearance.

I don't think we need worry about how he is to be charged - that's for the courts to decide. The fact is that he believed he was contacting a young girl and he then acted on it by arranging to meet up with her with the alledged intention of illegal activity. He was 'caught' as he arrived at his prearranged meeting place.

If anything it's going to make paedophiles think twice about trying this sh!t elsewhere - if it results in them getting caught or not doing it in the first place - I and sure others don't have any problem with that.

mikeysmith wrote:
    There'd be some amount of weirdos in those vigilante groups
    The cops would probably find enough to keep them busy full time if they started investigating them

I note some evident low level attack on the group who caught this guy out like the above - branding the group as "weirdos" or some type if criminals etc - beware shooting the messengers for the reason that some perhaps don't like what is being outed. I would have concerns with that response tbh ...

DrPhilG wrote: »
    True, maybe this perv wouldn't have gone to these lengths had he not been lured in by the decoy, but maybe he would.

According to them, they don't do any luring. The offender starts the chat and organises the meetup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

Men are mysonigisitic bstds who think they have power. Well they thought they did.

Hate speech should not be tolerated and boards needs to deal with this amazonian racist with a permanent ban. Surely this gutter level uneducated vile poisonous and sexist creature should receive a permanent ban. I know I should ignore this attention seeker but where are the admins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

i wonder how yer man found the fake account. was he just randomly browing facebook for young girls?! obviously the vigilantes didn't message him first, they'd have no idea he was a nonce.

even if he doesn't go to prison, i think it's great work from the vigilantes, even if i thought they enjoyed it a bit too much. as yer man said, he has no record. well people know now

there was a big dark web bust of a CP site recently and news reports said some videos got over 100k views. it's really depressing that there's that many paedos out there. they could be anywhere

Peatys wrote: »
    According to them, they don't do any luring. The offender starts the chat and organises the meetup

Figure of speech. I know they make sure that he makes first contact, but they obviously don't discourage him once that contact is made. Nor should they. To be honest I'd be perfectly happy to allow entrapment this situation.

One of the members of these groups was interviewed recently by Matt Cooper and even though the police won't publicly admit it they are grateful of the help they get catching paedophiles. These groups have it down to a fine art avoiding any legal troubles over entrapment,they let the offender trap themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

PandaPoo wrote: »
    So important to monitor your children's social media accounts.

Keep talking to your children and stay involved. It's not just social media and phones that need monitoring, there are chats available on a lot of games that have online access, do you know who are they chatting to?

Oldtree wrote: »
    Keep talking to your children and stay involved. It's not just social media and phones that need monitoring, there are chats available on a lot of games that have online access, do you know who are they chatting to?

My son has a game on the tablet, it's aimed at kids aged 7-12. I always check through them and Google them to see if they're suitable.. .turns out there's a chat function on it to chat to other users. Such an odd and unnecessary feature. Wonder how many other parents don't realise it and their kids are chatting away to God knows who.