If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭selectamatic

For some reason that song always reminds me of GTA. Was it on one of the radio stations or in a gay bar or something?

Near certain you're thinking of "dance hall days" by Wang Chung.

Twas on Flash fm on Vice City and it near always played in the background of the Malibu Club.

And before anyone says anything yes I spent an unhealthy amount of my childhood playing GTA and I still turned out grand :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

For some reason that song always reminds me of GTA. Was it on one of the radio stations or in a gay bar or something?

One of MTVs much played afair ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Grueller

Near certain you're thinking of "dance hall days" by Wang Chung.

Twas on Flash fm on Vice City and it near always played in the background of the Malibu Club.

And before anyone says anything yes I spent an unhealthy amount of my childhood playing GTA and I still turned out grand :P

Who told you that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Busy fecker of a week

Dropped mother to cork last weekend to her sisters. Then got word Thursday she wasn’t well. Her oncology team no way to travel back to Mullingar area without going to cork oncology first for xray bloods and CT scan

Tax deadline

Organising head and timing belt kit for the jeep

52meters of laurel hedge out individually with a sling on Friday.

Fencing contractor here yesterday morning and up with a new stud railing and chainlink on inside

At same time as feeding them brekkie and lunch had a crew from tullamore collecting the laurels with a curtain side lorry. I loaded them with the tractor.

Fed the cattle and herself looked after a sick toddler and bitch and pups

Going to clean the chimneys now after brekkie as the last load of hedging is gone.

Then go see the mother and wash the tractor and digger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Jaysus Lakill, I'm tired just reading that!

I was combing the bull here this morning, turned my back for a min and he pushed the gate open and got out of the pen. Well he strutted straight over to the cows rolling his eyes & booing like a good'un! Got himself so rose up he wouldn't even eat his morning ration :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Jaysus Lakill, I'm tired just reading that!

I was combing the bull here this morning, turned my back for a min and he pushed the gate open and got out of the pen. Well he strutted straight over to the cows rolling his eyes & booing like a good'un! Got himself so rose up he wouldn't even eat his morning ration :D

Ara we're all like that!!☺

Busy fecker of a week

Dropped mother to cork last weekend to her sisters. Then got word Thursday she wasn’t well. Her oncology team no way to travel back to Mullingar area without going to cork oncology first for xray bloods and CT scan

Tax deadline

Organising head and timing belt kit for the jeep

52meters of laurel hedge out individually with a sling on Friday.

Fencing contractor here yesterday morning and up with a new stud railing and chainlink on inside

At same time as feeding them brekkie and lunch had a crew from tullamore collecting the laurels with a curtain side lorry. I loaded them with the tractor.

Fed the cattle and herself looked after a sick toddler and bitch and pups

Going to clean the chimneys now after brekkie as the last load of hedging is gone.

Then go see the mother and wash the tractor and digger

What was the story with taking out the laurel hedging :confused:

gozunda wrote: »
    What was the story with taking out the laurel hedging :confused:

Since we bought the house I always said they were going. They were 6ft high when cut and 6/7ft wide. Unmanageable

So 1st sept my hedgecutting contractor cut them for me and I advertised them for sale. And sold them.

Organised this weekend as I knew I could do with a day out of office and booked the fencing lads to come for the Saturday morning

Finished taking the hedge out at 11pm Friday. First post was in the ground at 840am Saturday morning

Since we bought the house I always said they were going. They were 6ft high when cut and 6/7ft wide. Unmanageable

So 1st sept my hedgecutting contractor cut them for me and I advertised them for sale. And sold them.

Organised this weekend as I knew I could do with a day out of office and booked the fencing lads to come for the Saturday morning

Finished taking the hedge out at 11pm Friday. First post was in the ground at 840am Saturday morning

52 metres of 6 foot laural hedge is some amount of hedge.

I have noticed that since the extended cold snap of a few years ago when alot of Grisilinia was killed - Laural has been increasingly used for hedging ...

I generally advise against planting laurel due to the rampant nature of its growth even allowing for regular cutting etc.

There is an old wood that borders us, which was once part of a old estate. Many years ago the wood had been planted with a number of non native species including laurel for cover. A number of the laurals in that wood are now of a similar height to nearby native mature trees and make you realise how unsuited it is as a long term hedging species.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

gozunda wrote: »
    There is an old wood that borders us, which was once part of a old estate. Many years ago the wood had been planted with a number of non native species including laurel for cover. A number of the laurals in that wood are now of a similar height to nearby native mature trees and make you realise how unsuited it is as a long term hedging species.
    By that reasoning then beech is unsuitable also as a hedge.
    But it's that speed of growth and ability to hard prune that make beech and laurel two of the best sellers. Along with a bit more screening in the winter.

I always maintain if you want a labour free "hedge" the best solution is to build a wall and cover it with a creeper.

Floki wrote: »
    But it's that speed of growth and ability to hard prune that make beech and laurel two of the best sellers. Along with a bit more screening in the winter.

I always maintain if you want a labour free "hedge" the best solution is to build a wall and cover it with a creeper.

Thanks for that but No I don't agree with your summation. Beech is not as a quick grower as Laurel in this country. Laurel may also become invasive as in the example I gave. Beech does not. Beech is also decidous and a bit easier managed in my experience.

See:
    http://www.hedging.ie/advice/beech-and-laurel-irelands-favourite-hedges.html#.WhGjo9DLfqA

Oh and one important factor is that Laurel can be poisonous to livestock

https://thefarmingforum.co.uk/index.php?threads/laurel-shrubs-and-cattle.34363/

Btw I mentioned nothing about a 'Labour free' hedge either and I would be in agreement with the posters decision to remove the hedge ...

^Also f*cking Rhododendron!

I set 4ft green beech around the office. And every 20ft I set a 12/15ft oak tree

Going to do the same at the house and 100m along another field.

I set 4ft green beech around the office. And every 20ft I set a 12/15ft oak tree

Going to do the same at the house and 100m along another field.

All accessible with the tractor hedgecutter ??

I'm watching Ballykissangel and enjoying it, I must be getting ill or something :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Got this planted yesterday

I'm watching Ballykissangel and enjoying it, I must be getting ill or something :pac:

Dervla Kirwan was a fine thing in that.

Edit: Her great uncle was Michael Collins of foundation of the state fame.

Reggie. wrote: »

Don't let the stock near it .... :D

Looks well, laurel used at the house here for a windbreaker but be careful of that fence in the wind :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Grueller wrote: »
    Who told you that?

National Vetting Bureau ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Dervla Kirwan was a fine thing in that.

Edit: Her great uncle was Michael Collins of foundation of the state fame.

Ha ha I always think of her in the Christmas fr Ted !!

Pidae.m wrote: »
    Ha ha I always think of her in the Christmas fr Ted !!

"Ted Ted."
    "Do you want a peanut?":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

me too!!

me too!!

Priest wasn't too bad looking, I'd definitely go to mass if he was giving the sermons :D:D

All accessible with the tractor hedgecutter ??

Yes. But going to get a hedge cutter for the mini digger. Slanetrac do them

A really really weird coincidence just happened. I was in town getting chips & a kebab (can't be losing weight, have too much clothes for that :D) and I spotted a bank card on the ground opposite the bank. So picked it up, seen it was a business account one so intended to stick it in the banks letterbox on the way back. Took a glance at it in the chippers, and whose was it only my next door neighbours card!! So was able to ring him from the chippers and tell him it was safe.
    What are the chances!!!

Guy Martin is on CH4 now rebuilding a ww1 tank with the help of jcb.
    For anyone that's interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Guy Martin is on CH4 now rebuilding a ww1 tank with the help of jcb.
    For anyone that's interested.

On record. Sounded good

It is good.
    Jcb factory, ag scrapyard and some lad who has 20 tanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Grueller

A really really weird coincidence just happened. I was in town getting chips & a kebab (can't be losing weight, have too much clothes for that :D) and I spotted a bank card on the ground opposite the bank. So picked it up, seen it was a business account one so intended to stick it in the banks letterbox on the way back. Took a glance at it in the chippers, and whose was it only my next door neighbours card!! So was able to ring him from the chippers and tell him it was safe.
    What are the chances!!!

In Lietrim with its population of 12 people, fairly good I would say!!!! 😉