Al Porter Scandal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Again, you missed my point. At no time did I say his age should make any difference.

The hysterical over-reaction to his awful behaviour is going to ruin his life. The punishment here will not fit the crime. Not even close. It didn't either for Hook or LCK - but it won't have such disastrous implications for them as they have had their careers and have lived their life.

When does the reaction become overly so or hysterical. At what point is the peak of appropriate reaction.

Simple Facts

Porter sexually allegedlyassaulted numerous men and made jokes about it (illegal action)Mod note

Papers caught wind of it

People made their own decision that the behaviour was innapropriate, some found it insulting, others laughed it off, most will forever see him as that camp guy from Tallaght who stuck his hand down men's pants , whether he likes it or not and will have zero interest in funding his career anymore

Employers pick up on this reaction

Employers get brainwave.............ah, maybe it won't be any use employing this guy.

You perhaps have a more relaxed reactive response to such things, your perogative, but you said yourself you don't find him funny or watch him so why moan when others won't entertain him anymore or when his employers cop on to this.
    You didn't, like many, find him funny before this revelation, so I am pretty sure you won't change your mind any time soon.
    Society doesn't accept this anymore, it is what it is. Drink driving isn't accepted, passing around brown envelopes, neither. People look distastefully on those who do so. The facts are given by the media, public's right to respond.

Also, as I said, his life isn't destroyed to the point of "disastrous implications".

And you are accusing people of "over-reacting" :D:D:D:D

He has no god given right to a career flaunting around on stage muttering sexual innuendo "jokes" and telling us about growing up being gay in Tallaght.

People just won't find these jokes as entertaining anymore and he will be very limited in material.

If Today FM take him back, that is their right.

Like me, when I finally had to give up my ambitions to being a professional footballer at the age of 12, I soon found other ways to try and earn a living

If he is hovering around the forum, here is a link that may just help his life become less disastrous, henceforth.

https://www.jobs.ie/

Mod note:As has been pointed out before now, all we have atm are ALLEGATIONS.

BTJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

NIMAN wrote: »
    so are the names of his accusors public?

Haven't seen them listed.

One of them is anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

pjohnson wrote: »
    All in the article.

Just went and checked.....never heard of any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

splinter65 wrote: »
    It’s standard procedure for people who have been accused and who intend to contest the allegations to issue a statement in which they refute these frankly vile allegations and sometimes even instruct their legal advisors re defamation.
    No such statement has been issued.
    Even in a criminal court of law much can be inferred from this silence.
    He isn’t even alleging that his Facebook account was hacked to send the offensive message.

i would disagree. sometimes it's better to keep one's mouth shut, incase what they say is twisted. so no statement or threat of legal action really means nothing, unless you have already decided they are automatically guilty or not.
    KKkitty wrote: »
    If Al Porter has nothing to hide why is his social media presence dead in the water? If you were accused of something like him would you be on everything possible to say the truth? He's been inappropriate in his behaviour. Call a spade a spade FFS.

i don't know what i would do in that situation, as i have never been in it, and i'm very very unlikely to ever be.
    however, if i was, then chances are i may just probably keep my mouth shut, because me defending myself would be thrown back at me by those who would have decided i'm guilty, who would see it as me having something to hide. one can't win in this situation. if they keep silent, they are guilty, if they defend themselves they are guilty.
    I think we are going to need to employ a lot more Guards.

hopefully, we are hugely short of them currently.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Again, you missed my point. At no time did I say his age should make any difference.

The hysterical over-reaction to his awful behaviour is going to ruin his life. The punishment here will not fit the crime. Not even close. It didn't either for Hook or LCK - but it won't have such disastrous implications for them as they have had their careers and have lived their life.

The irony in this sentence !!! Intentional?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

donaghs wrote: »
    Latest development is st pats mental health service responding to allegations of somethIng he did during a visit?
    But zero details on what he’s supposed to have done to who. Following the rumor mill on twitter etc, this sounds like it could be much more serious than groping fellow comics.

Their statement said that they haven't a clue because nobody reported anything to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Strazdas wrote: »
    Trump merely spoke of doing such a thing and was recorded on audio saying it (we don't actually know if it was the truth, or if it was all just bravado and spoofing to impress the guy he was talking to).

Trump also has numerous allegations against him. Think it's at 14.

Ladies and Gentlemen let me introduce you to the Duke Lacrosse Case, if you don't know about it already.

Duke is a prestigious university in the US with a predominantly white and rich student makup.

Back in 2006 there was a house party attended by members of the lacrosse team.

A pair of black strippers were hired for the party.

After the party one of the strippers alleged that she was gang raped.

There was outrage, the lacrosse program was cancelled, the airwaves were full of accusations, privileged whites raping vulnerable blacks, everyone was on board, Jesse Jackson, the NYT etc, on campus demonstrations against them etc

All the lacrosse players gave DNA samples, newspaper editorials asked why were the innocent ones not coming forward and pointing the finger at the guilty ones.

Then the DANA samples came back clean, no lacrosse team DNA on the victims sample.
    So the state gave the victim a photo line up of all the players and asked her to identify the rapists (the line up did not have photos of people who were not there), so she identifed three.

So they were charged.

The state also sent the DNA to a private lab for a second look, this time it came back with a possible trace of one of the players from a bathroom bin.

But what the state never revealed was that there was DNA from 7 other males on the victim.

Eventually it all unraveled.
    The victims story was full of holes, the DNA was clean.

Charges were dropped, the media apologised to the players, the players sued the ass off every one.

Moral of the story, wait for the evidence before making a conclusion.

I don't listen to Porter, I don't find him funny, but I don't like this jump to the conclusion that he is guilty based on some newspaper article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

pitifulgod wrote: »
    Trump also has numerous allegations against him. Think it's at 14.

He apparently tied up the crowd that used run the apprentice with non-disclosure agreements etc. Nobody has yet had the bottle to leak, as he'd bury them in suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

I could not understand how AP got famous & still dont but I cant believe how many people are happy that his lifes in ruins. Now dont get me wrong, no one male or female should be sexually assaulting anyone but it sounds like he has some issues as that behaviour is wrong. Hopefully now he will get the help he needs.
    Otherwise chances are he will commit suicide as many before him have done. Then what will all the people ganging up on him say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Simple Facts

Porter sexually assaulted numerous men and made jokes about it (illegal action)

Aren’t they just allegations at present?

Moral of the story, wait for the evidence before making a conclusion.

I don't listen to Porter, I don't find him funny, but I don't like this jump to the conclusion that he is guilty based on some newspaper article.

Maybe follow your own advice and listen to him before making the conclusion that he isn't funny ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Help!!!! wrote: »
    I could not understand how AP got famous & still dont but I cant believe how many people are happy that his lifes in ruins. Now dont get me wrong, no one male or female should be sexually assaulting anyone but it sounds like he has some issues as that behaviour is wrong. Hopefully now he will get the help he needs.
    Otherwise chances are he will commit suicide as many before him have done. Then what will all the people ganging up on him say?

Many wouldn't care, thats the sad fact of it. Many seem to be revelling in each and every celeb downfall thats in the media these days.

Every one of them is presumed guilty the minute their name is made public. There is no such thing as a fair trial for these folk, the mob has decided they are guilty and the more extreme their punishment the better.

IIRC, when AP was on with Lucy Kennedy he was saying that he has ental health issues in the past.....this episode has the potential to do him serious harm (and many will of course say "serves him right")

vicwatson wrote: »
    Aren’t they just allegations at present?

Allegedly so.

But, anyway....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Jaysus :D I bet Nanny May will have summet to say about that :D :pac

Ah to be fair sure jaysus like wasn't he even coming on to male guests live on air more than once hahaha jaysus like :pac:

Lookit you can't be camp like him no more and think it's all right to be carrying on with your sexuality swinging in people's face regardless of straight gay or whatever just keep it buttoned up haha :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Many wouldn't care, thats the sad fact of it. Many seem to be revelling in each and every celeb downfall thats in the media these days.

Every one of them is presumed guilty the minute their name is made public. There is no such thing as a fair trial for these folk, the mob has decided they are guilty and the more extreme their punishment the better.

IIRC, when AP was on with Lucy Kennedy he was saying that he has ental health issues in the past.....this episode has the potential to do him serious harm (and many will of course say "serves him right")

A lot of people have mental health issues. That doesn't give someone a free pass to sexually abuse anyone you feel like. It also doesn't excuse your actions after the fact.
    I'm not baying for blood here but if these allegations are true then he deserves to be reprimanded.

Maybe follow your own advice and listen to him before making the conclusion that he isn't funny ;)

Allow me to rephrase.

I have heard him on the radio and TV from time to time, I didn't find him funny, I don't listen anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

strandroad wrote: »
    I am female.

Whatever. What's being described is sexual assaults, what's your problem with admitting it?

I have no problem. I had my arse grabbed. I dealt with it. I was not assaulted. End of story

Jaysus :D I bet Nanny May will have summet to say about that :D :pac

Ah to be fair sure jaysus like wasn't he even coming on to male guests live on air more than once hahaha jaysus like :pac:

Lookit you can't be camp like him no more and think it's all right to be carrying on with your sexuality swinging in people's face regardless of straight gay or whatever just keep it buttoned up haha :D :pac:

I read this post in Al Porters voice. Even the "haha" . It has a very Al Porter like tone to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Not sure if this has been posted yet but talk about you words coming back to haunt you!

https://www.buzz.ie/news/al-porter-we-need-a-modern-irish-sex-scandal-156912

I have no problem. I had my arse grabbed. I dealt with it. I was not assaulted. End of story

actually, by the letter of the law, you were.

You just weren't offended by it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Allegedly so.

But, anyway....................

Anyway what? You said he did those things, I say they are at the moment allegations

Allow me to rephrase.

I have heard him on the radio and TV from time to time, I didn't find him funny, I don't listen anymore.

I was only joking! There is a panto gig hiring at the moment. I am testing how bad my jokes are so as to see if I am good enough for the role. So far, so good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Good for you. And I'm sure you're moving on with your life and never think about it. But your inability to see your issue as harassment/sexual assault doesn't give you the power to judge and rebuff everyone else's experience who feel differently to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

So by your logic Al Porter has not assaulted anyone - they had their mickeys grabbed and dealt with it (apparently he stopped when told off). He's free to keep going, and it's everyone else's responsibility to keep dealing with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ladies and Gentlemen let me introduce you to the Duke Lacrosse Case, if you ......

Never heard about this until you posted it.
    Just searched online and the woman who accused them was later convicted of killing a man in 2010. An evil, evil woman.

Never heard about this until you posted it.
    Just searched online and the woman who accused them was later convicted of killing a man in 2010. An evil, evil woman.

There is a great 30 for 30 ESPN documentary about it.

She is doing time for murder.

The DA, Michael Nifong, got disbarred.

The main police detective on the case committed suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Well, just so you know, if - heaven forbid - that does happen to you, you're insistence on "not sitting silently by" will greatly f*ck up your legal case. Greatly.

If I’m innocent I have nothing to worry about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

splinter65 wrote: »
    If I’m innocent I have nothing to worry about

Well now.... we've seen that one disproved many times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Just went and checked.....never heard of any of them.

Do you think they’ve been made up by the paper or something, because you’ve never heard of them?