Al Porter Scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭munster87

pjohnson wrote: »
    I thought evolution had removed cavemen from the gene pool.

Who's the caveman. The guy punching or the guy grabbing genitalia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

NIMAN wrote: »
    Well, thats his career over.

"Merry Christmas one and all" !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

I am not a fan of Al Porter but in the current climate if somebody makes an allegation like this it seems it is presumed to be true. That's not right as a person's career and reputation can be destroyed by one person with an agenda. That whole Louis Walsh allegation was found to be entirely false. At least in that case the person making it was jailed.

But in this case because there are a number of people making similar allegations it does tend to be more credible but nothing has yet been proved or admitted.

What's been alleged though is a criminal offence and they are prosecuted so I wonder if the victims have reported them to Gardai. Last year there was a high profile case where Alan Fitzsimons (OTT boyband and Voice of Ireland) was convicted of groping a work colleagues genitals at a Party and he lost his job over it also. So these things are taken seriously enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

NIMAN wrote: »
    Well, thats his career over.

No loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Every Weinstein and Spacey article had comments enabled on the Journal but the Al Porter articles don't. Why is that do you think?

Odd ,isnt it .
    Cant wait to hear Matt Cooper show Monday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Celebrities who've managed to keep their sexual scandals under wraps must be shítting bricks these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

He looks like small little fella, I can't understand how he didn't get his head kicked in if he was allegedly going around grabbing men's balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Every Weinstein and Spacey article had comments enabled on the Journal but the Al Porter articles don't. Why is that do you think?

This story may end up in the courts here whilst the others won't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Conor84 wrote: »
    I am not a fan of Al Porter but in the current climate if somebody makes an allegation like this it seems it is presumed to be true. That's not right as a person's career and reputation can be destroyed by one person with an agenda. That whole Louis Walsh allegation was found to be entirely false. At least in that case the person making it was jailed.

But in this case because there are a number of people making similar allegations it does tend to be more credible but nothing has yet been proved or admitted.

What's been alleged though is a criminal offence and they are prosecuted so I wonder if the victims have reported them to Gardai. Last year there was a high profile case where Alan Fitzsimons (OTT boyband and Voice of Ireland) was convicted of groping a work colleagues genitals at a Party and he lost his job over it also. So these things are taken seriously enough.

His lack of a statement speaks volumes imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

eviltwin wrote: »

I imagine he would be taking legal advice before saying anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Kyng Shaggy Strap

eviltwin wrote: »

And ‘personal time’ away from his show now -

yabadabado wrote: »
    Odd ,isnt it .
    Cant wait to hear Matt Cooper show Monday!

The way coops is going he’ll claim it’s homophobia....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

The Times names him but the Indo rag has a piece about it but to scared to name him.
    But if was a WSM they would have it as the top headline

Sensationalist indo don't name him cos he's one of their own. He's done exclusive interviews, did a 10 week fitness thing and wrote about it each week, and is constantly in their various rags.

Now, if he had done above for Irish times his name would have been plastered across the entire indo group of sensationalist hysterical rags.

And remember, Today Fm and indo are owned by same person

Give him a few months/years away - he’ll come out with a book , doing the late late in the sad story spot , crying saying he Was depressed/alcohol issues /dealing with being gay and he’ll weasel his way back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I find him annoying but I don't agree with those hoping he will kill himself as a result of this, that's not right, and if he does kill himself it will be regrettable.

Your the only one bringing suicide into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭gordongekko

The way coops is going he’ll claim it’s homophobia....

Is coops a thing now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I've heard people predicting his suicide with glee, not nice at all.

Yes. You earlier in the thread. Remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Give him a few months/years away - he’ll come out with a book , doing the late late in the sad story spot , crying saying he Was depressed/alcohol issues /dealing with being gay and he’ll weasel his way back

Nah not with some of what has been alleged online. More to come out as well. In one word...
    Gealtacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As a matter of interest, I wonder how he covered the weinstein #metoo stuff on his radio show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,620 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Blind date should be on tv3 now but instead the cube is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭Trebor176

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Trebor176 wrote: »

“You’ve lovely hair,” says dapper-besuited Al Porter.

“Thank you,” says the bleached-blond waiter.

“Where are you from originally?” asks Porter.

“Croatia,” says the waiter.

“Lovely part of the world,” says Porter. “Are all the boys so handsome in Croatia?”

The waiter smiles and heads for the kitchen. “And that’s just some good old-fashioned flirting,” chuckles Porter, turning to me as though he’s been doing a demonstration. “I say that I’m a feminist because I make men feel how they made women feel for hundreds of years. That’s my aim as a feminist hero.”

At least we know it's his feminist leanings that lead him to be lecherous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

innocent till proven guilty.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Sparko wrote: »
    TV3 were due to show Blind Date at 7, showing The Cube now instead.

Noooooo!!! I was on it tonight,could have been my big break,

I'm the real victim here #metoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Christ on a unicycle, this sh*t is serious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Does he really base his act on a decade he wasn't even alive in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

It finished it's run last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Jaysus. I never thought a thread could make me feel SORRY for the hack Al Porter, but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

I'm no fan of the accused here at all but I am shocked to read the allegations. If true absolutely disgusting to do that to anyone and if false equally disgusting to do that to anyone. I'll reserve judgement until/ unless it's proven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Does he really base his act on a decade he wasn't even alive in?

Pretty much. Likes to throw in a few gags about the black and tans too.