Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Rules Test Two 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Brilliantly tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,096 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Was that only a behind for Ireland ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Can somebody clarify if there's a minimum distance a player has to be back from a freetaker?Aussies seem to stand within yards of the Irish freetakers.

Incorrect disposal has killed Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭C__MC

Clarke from Cavan caught far to many times in tackle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

Who is 31 for Ireland, tried a half hearted double punch instead of taking a mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

seligehgit wrote:
    Can somebody clarify if there's a minimum distance a player has to be back from a freetaker?Aussies seem to stand within yards of the Irish freetakers.

You stand on the mark of the free. So if the free taker is close its because he's brought it close.

Australia win. Fair overall I feelm

The likes of Fyfe and Betts were class.

A red card for the Barrett challenge would have made a big difference though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Deserved by the Aussies. We were brutal in the 3rd and 4th quarters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Too many average footballers in the Irish team. Brains melted when the pressure came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

raiders11 wrote: »
    Who is 31 for Ireland, tried a half hearted double punch instead of taking a mark

There were a fair few backing out of contact. Doubt Kernan would have picked most of them for Cross or Armagh!

Patww79 wrote:

I think its just a lack of understanding of the rule. If you fumble the ball in the tackle its a free for Incorrect Disposal.

If you hold onto the ball to the ground it's a free for holding onto the ball.

Ireland were giving away frees for both, but the Australians got the hands out of the tackle and managed to handpass it away.

The refereeing wasn't great especially from the Aussie ref, a lot if late hits left go etc. Deegan also made a mistake pulling an Aussie on 3 hops when he soloed in between (unless that rule changed). But I think the tackle was refereed well.

It's what balances out the round ball for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

DDC1990 wrote: »
    You stand on the mark of the free. So if the free taker is close its because he's brought it close.

Australia win. Fair overall I feelm

The likes of Fyfe and Betts were class.

A red card for the Barrett challenge would have made a big difference though.

Thanks for that,Aussies well deserving of their victory.

Fyfe is superb,Betts,Brown and Zorka are no slouches either.

Patww79 wrote:

When was that? Fyfe at one stage was down on one knee and that was as close as it came that I remember.. If there was an occasion where Australians were allowed to play the ball when being on their stomachs while being tackled then that is poor refereeing. I dont recall any occasion but that's not to say that it didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Whoever came up with this game 'compromised' too much from an Ireland point of view when they agreed to the AFL tackle being included!

Did they take Geaney off or did he just manage to avoid the ball in the last half?

Just noticed in the half time melee, Chris Barrett, the very one who should have been pissed off, grabbing Irish lads and keeping them out of it.

Fair play to him. That's a proper hard man! Takes a hit like that like it's nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭elefant

mystic86 wrote: »
    Whoever came up with this game 'compromised' too much from an Ireland point of view when they agreed to the AFL tackle being included!

They say the same about the ball.

Some of our players looked like they didn't adjust to the game well at all. Brennan, Powter and Geaney were miles off the pace.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Just noticed in the half time melee, Chris Barrett, the very one who should have been pissed off, grabbing Irish lads and keeping them out of it.

Fair play to him. That's a proper hard man! Takes a hit like that like it's nothing.

AOS acts the bollix at times, but Mayo are tough bunch. I've seen Dublin players after games and they looked like they been in the ring with Ali. I'm sure vice versa applies too. Some of the ones today proved they are nowhere near that level of pure toughness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

elefant wrote: »
    They say the same about the ball.

Some of our players looked like they didn't adjust to the game well at all. Brennan, Powter and Geaney were miles off the pace.

That's bs, the round ball is much easier to adapt to than the tackle, sure a round ball is predictable in its response due to being just that, round... the physics of it and its reaction to your striking of it are fairly predictable, its not like going from round to an afl shaped ball where the reaction of the ball after the bounce is erratic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Bonniedog wrote: »
    AOS acts the bollix at times, but Mayo are tough bunch. I've seen Dublin players after games and they looked like they been in the ring with Ali. I'm sure vice versa applies too. Some of the ones today proved they are nowhere near that level of pure toughness.

Its probably not so much toughness as Barrett focusing on the job. The Mayo lads, like all the top teams, are all business. They could be involved in all sorts of shenanigans and they wouldn't miss a beat for the next possession.

Barrett probably recognised not everyone in the squad is cut from the same cloth. Certainly a good number lost their composure when the pressure came on in the last quarter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

They need to bring back the brawling to be honest

corny wrote: »
    Its probably not so much toughness as Barrett focusing on the job. The Mayo lads, like all the top teams, are all business. They could be involved in all sorts of shenanigans and they wouldn't miss a beat for the next possession.

Barrett probably recognised not everyone in the squad is cut from the same cloth. Certainly a good number lost their composure when the pressure came on in the last quarter.

As someone above pointed out some Irish players were afraid to make a mark and punched or palmed the ball away to avoid contact. Kernan must have been disgusted. O'Shea never backed out. As for Geaney....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

Problem is there is no interest in this series anymore, either in Ireland or Australia.

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    Problem is there is no interest in this series anymore, either in Ireland or Australia.

That is part of it undoubtedly, but some of the jibbing was embarrassing. No wonder some of these chaps have never won anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

Sure if the champions of the country couldn't be bothered it immediately takes away from the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

munster87 wrote: »
    Sure if the champions of the country couldn't be bothered it immediately takes away from the whole thing.

Majority of key Dublin team couldn't play due to club commitments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,863 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

munster87 wrote: »

When I was watching it this morning, I was thinking that if you replaced the whole Ireland team with the Dublin squad, you would have seen a much better performance.

A pity they weren't there but that's life.