I've just turned off the radio in absolute anger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't think they were threatening or any similar nonsense but they were fairly pathetic. I bet you they would be embarrassed to do that in front of lingerie shop in Dublin but when people go away everything goes.

cantdecide wrote: »
    Morons and doaps. Ashamed to be Irish watching that clip even if the lady thought it was fun.

Doaps indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Barlett

The only downside of potentially qualifying for the World Cup next year in my opinion will be the flooding of the internet of Irish fans looking to outdo each other in the 'look how sound Irish fans are' video stakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

That woman played along, possibly as a defence. If you don't see the 'fun' is actually demeaning and almost completely on one side, then you don't see it!

I know many women I know would be fūcking mortified in that situation, and let's face it, that was what the 'fun' was all about.

She was interviewed afterwards and said it was great fun.

I think if it was my mother she would've gotten a great bit of skit out of it too. Then again, she's got a sense of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

Omackeral wrote: »
    I'm not sure who it was but she was saying that this is bordering on gender abuse. She said if it was a Holland&Barrett store it wouldn't be happening, that these men are purposefully using sexuality. That's not true, that crowd would and do cheer anything. Sure at the Euros last year in France they were cheering a man for just walking onto his balcony. A man! They're eejits, but harmless eejits.

They were cheering all the residents on the Boulevard de Clichy if they came out on their balconies to play along. It was the residents decision whether they wanted to come out or not. Completely different situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

A bunch of men hanging around outside an underwear store, cheering at people coming out is a bit juvenile imo. What's next - Cheering someone as they come out of the toilet?

Barlett wrote: »
    The only downside of potentially qualifying for the World Cup next year in my opinion will be the flooding of the internet of Irish fans looking to outdo each other in the 'look how sound Irish fans are' video stakes.

Oh 100%. I'm not here to sing the praises of the Best Fans in the WorldTM. That stuff was painful last year and very self aware and self indulgent. It's relatively harmless but yeah it got very annoying very quick.

It's not the police they'll have to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Well the woman didn't seem to mind, and she was interviewed afterwards so I reckon she really didn't mind. I don't think the lads meant any harm either. Though if it were me coming out of a lingerie shop and saw a giant group of lads cheering me on I'd probably laugh and smile but I'd also be mortified and quickly scuttle off. I wouldn't care about people looking at me coming out of an underwear shop, it could be any shop at all, I'd just be embarrassed by everyone looking at me all at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Doaps indeed.

You knew my misspelling was irony, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

I couldn't care less about this, but is anyone else slightly embarrassed at the way in which Irish fans seek attention. It's like anytime we play abroad there has to be a viral video so everyone can say how great we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

A bunch of men hanging around outside an underwear store, cheering at people coming out is a bit juvenile imo. What's next - Cheering someone as they come out of the toilet?

By all accounts the shop is next door to the Irish pub. Possible reason for 00s of Paddy's to be hanging about there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

They weren't hanging about a lingerie store they were filling a square that was happy to take 'teh' euros being spent on 'teh craic'

These are men hanging about a lingerie store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭exaisle

<snip>
    Fun is outlawed now chaps and girls. I'd just kindly like to tell this woman on the radio, this offense seeker, to kindly fcuk the fcuk off. <snip>

...and the (clothes) horse she rode in on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

The woman here seemed to love the fun. Fun, an awful thing.

I suppose the issue is what if she wasn't into it? She didn't get much choice, it just happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Have to say I find that behaviour fairly awful. I can absolutely see why women would feel threatened by that crowd.
    That woman played along, possibly as a defence. If you don't see the 'fun' is actually demeaning and almost completely on one side, then you don't see it!

I know many women I know would be fūcking mortified in that situation, and let's face it, that was what the 'fun' was all about.

you are right , they used their position of power to coerce her into doing their bidding..

then later when she was interviewed the crowd of men used their patriarchal mind control techniques to control her emotions into thinking she had a good time .
    in short the rabble of men caused her mind to internally misogynise (is that a word) herself .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Most of those drunken morons having the "craic" are in fact just a bunch of drunken morons shouting in the street and being a pain in the hole to people just trying to go about their lives.

The joe.ie version of the "best fans in the world" aren't half as funny as they think they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Comhrá

bum_community_offended_961755.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

She has very little to be worrying her.

I mean considering the heinous accusations emerging from the entertainment industry on pretty much a daily basis, there is no way this is even newsworthy in comparison.

Although I suppose it fits into the current "every man is a misogynistic/creepy/sexist bastard" narrative that is so in vogue right now.

Well the woman didn't seem to mind, and she was interviewed afterwards so I reckon she really didn't mind. I don't think the lads meant any harm either. Though if it were me coming out of a lingerie shop and saw a giant group of lads cheering me on I'd probably laugh and smile but I'd also be mortified and quickly scuttle off. I wouldn't care about people looking at me coming out of an underwear shop, it could be any shop at all, I'd just be embarrassed by everyone looking at me all at once.

Yeah, I'd be mortified at the attention, tbh. This lady wasn't but you only find that out after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

I think most women I know would have been fairly mortified to have a huge group of pissed men shouting at them coming out of shop after buying underwear.

I'm more mortified, however, for how simple you'd have to be to be a part of the group. Absolute LADS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

arayess wrote: »
    you are right , they used their position of power to coerce her into doing their bidding..

then later when she was interviewed the crowd of men used their patriarchal mind control techniques to control her emotions into thinking she had a good time .
    in short the rabble of men caused her mind to internally misogynise (is that a word) herself .....

I didn't attempt any faux intellectualalism. The idea that a woman might feel embarrassed upon leaving a lingerie store and by a crowd of leering, jeering drunks is straightforward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Testament1

Donal55 wrote: »
    By all accounts the shop is next door to the Irish pub. Possible reason for 00s of Paddy's to be hanging about there.

Yep, The Dubliner, one of Copenhagens main Irish pubs is right next door to the VS shop. It's not like they went out of their way to source a lingerie shop.

https://goo.gl/images/JQD3c8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

I'm not offended, but I don't think it's funny either.

But hey ho. No one got hurt.

Reminds me of this Trigger Happy TV sketch.

Testament1 wrote: »
    Yep, The Dubliner, one of Copenhagens main Irish pubs is right next door to the VS shop. It's not like they went out of their way to source a lingerie shop.

https://goo.gl/images/JQD3c8

But when it's right there, like, obviously you can't let the opportunity pass you by. Bras and knickers! Tee hee hee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭server down

The fact that this particular woman wasn’t offended doesn’t mean that in general other women wouldn’t be.

Thinking about general cases is difficult it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Taking bets on what date Una Mullally feature this in one of IT columns... Perfect material for her to let it rip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Does anyone know who the outraged woman was?

I switched off - and I wonder what the ratings are like for George Hooks replacement.

In fairness George Hooks High Noon never came close breaking any records for listenership

I've listened to Ciara Kelly most days and at times she's very good. Today she was bad. She was looking for a story that was there.

A female listeners rang in & Ciara tried her best to get her to say that she felt like a victim to men at some point in her life. I was delighted when she said no. She'd never laugh something off. If a man made her feel uncomfortable she'd tell him. Nip it in the bud.