Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

youngrun wrote: »
    Usually a crew doing sessions at 12.30 Tuesday and Friday in Dangan , maybe not quite that volume ,but you should join if you can.

Tnx B

Do you meet outside the clubhouse ready to run at 12.30? I think that group passes me around Dangan occasionally and I'm not sure I'd be up to that standard yet

TbL

lukeeman wrote: »
    Hoping to run a 5k in 20.15 range this weekend.

20.15 would be a backward step from your race on Sunday
    Realistically you should be aiming for a sub 19.50.

Hey M,

No shape yet to run sub 20

Howya Gavlor, you running Waterford?

Unlike some I've only one account on here :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Hey M,

No shape yet to run sub 20

Howya Gavlor, you running Waterford?

Unlike some I've only one account on here :)

TbL

Nah, waiting on a hip op.... running Marathons without training has eventually taken its toll!!

Thursday: planned 5 miles easy. Was back in London and didn't get home till very late so no run.

Friday: planned rest day but I got a local early morning 5 miles done with half of it on grass at very easy pace.

Saturday: I'm gonna race a 5k tomorrow but last night I see that glue sniffin wannabe AGYR :) saying I was running 12 miles a week. A quick tot told me I'd already run 15 this week, so she can't be trusted :). Anyway I decided to get out in the rain for just over 6 miles easy.

I'm currently running very low mileage as a result of a number of different factors, different focus in my plan, no immediate target race, work is nuts, my missus is nuts, I'm enjoying the running with the lower miles and there's obviously not the same pressure as when you're trying to cram in upwards of 50 miles a week.

Funny thing is even with the low mileage I'm starting to feel better and I'm getting stronger week on week. I don't sweat it if I miss a run and with the low volume it's easy to change things around if needed.

The S&C is definitely helping and since I ditched the Hokas I've far less niggles. I'm going to try and lower my pb's over the shorter stuff, a 1 second PB over 5k is the only improvement I've had in a year and that's not good enough, especially when you see really auld lads like Murph getting faster!

Need to dig out the exact figures but I want to lower all of these;

5k: 19.2x
    8k: 31.3x
    10k: 39.2x
    10m: 64.xx
    HM: 1.25.xx

I've also decided not to do the Waterford half so if they are still allowing transfers I'll give mine away just send me a pm.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Not knocking you, you can't count a 1.25.xx half marathon as your PB when the course is short.........

AIMS certified so I'll take that.

It'll be moot by April anyway as I'll have run 1.23 :)

TbL

TbL

Do tell, where's the Half in April?

OOnegative wrote: »
    Do tell, where's the Half in April?

Thinking of doing the Bath half in March, if I can get an entry!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

TbL

I know a short downhill one in Valencia (interior) in April. No kidding. You don't get a pb there you should sue the organisers.

I've done 1.19 twice!!

Itziger wrote: »
    I know a short downhill one in Valencia (interior) in April. No kidding. You don't get a pb there you should sue the organisers.

I've done 1.19 twice!!

Valencia in April, feck sake I melted in Valencia in the end November!!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Valencia in April, feck sake I melted in Valencia in the end November!!!!

TbL

It's up in the hills, lad. Cool start - temperature wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good stuff, C. You tend to enjoy your running anyway I think, but good to see you energized again after a bit of a reboot. Less of the ‘really auld lads like Murph’ stuff though. Plenty of sub-3 M55s out there y’know. ;)

Best of luck today Speedy Gonzales:p:p:p.

Good man C, that's great running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

OOnegative wrote: »
    Good man C, that's great running.

Great going from the auld codger alright.... Was about to see if he had any interest in the BDN 10k (galway championship race) next weekend but I think he'd wipe the floor with me at this stage.... I'd have to hang up the runners ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

What? Who? Where? When??? Do tell!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Finally broke the magic 15 mpw barrier :D

Today: plan called for a raced 5k. About 5 weeks ago I raced a 5k and could only manage 20.42, and last weeks 8k time suggested that I should be able to put a decent dent in that. I hate 5k's and usually only run them as part of a marathon training program so I wasn't sure what to aim for.

Got guidance to go out a bit aggressively and try and hold on and do my best to not get isolated. So a change from the initial sub 20.15 to a sub 20 was the plan and I was told not to worry about blowing up.

Headed over the back roads to Moycullen after a slight detour due to taking a wrong turn! Registered, and went for a warm up with a friend. The start was a little chaotic, we were informed that there'd be a 10 minute delay due to locals attending mass and there were kids milling about everywhere. Great to see the enthusiasm from the kids but it was a bit like running the bull run in Pamplona at the start!

First k was up a slight incline and into a stiff breeze but I was feeling ok and when I saw the first mile done in 6.10 I started to get notions. After about the first k, I was running completely on my own with no one realistic to chase, and it was starting to get tough. About the half way point the wheels really started to come off and I was leaking time. By 4K the watch showed average pace had fallen to 6.23 so I tried to move up a gear but it was a hard with no one to run down. Crossed the line in 19.52 (watch pace 6.20) and was initially very happy but my brain was telling me that I didn't flog myself enough and I left 19.45 out there today.

Not that it makes a huge difference in the scheme of things as it was just over 30 seconds outside my pb, but I was a little annoyed with myself afterwards.

Gonna try and keep MartyBoy in my sights next Sunday for the county 10k.

It's less than 5 months since the knee op so it you told me in July when I was walk/jogging that I'd go sub 20 in November I'd have gladly taken it.

Onwards and upwards (hopefully)

TbL

TbL broke his sub 20 5k Cherry for the 2nd time..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Today: plan called for a raced 5k. About 5 weeks ago I raced a 5k and could only manage 20.42, and last weeks 8k time suggested that I should be able to put a decent dent in that. I hate 5k's and usually only run them as part of a marathon training program so I wasn't sure what to aim for.

Got guidance to go out a bit aggressively and try and hold on and do my best to not get isolated. So a change from the initial sub 20.15 to a sub 20 was the plan and I was told not to worry about blowing up.

Headed over the back roads to Moycullen after a slight detour due to taking a wrong turn! Registered, and went for a warm up with a friend. The start was a little chaotic, we were informed that there'd be a 10 minute delay due to locals attending mass and there were kids milling about everywhere. Great to see the enthusiasm from the kids but it was a bit like running the bull run in Pamplona at the start!

First k was up a slight incline and into a stiff breeze but I was feeling ok and when I saw the first mile done in 6.10 I started to get notions. After about the first k, I was running completely on my own with no one realistic to chase, and it was starting to get tough. About the half way point the wheels really started to come off and I was leaking time. By 4K the watch showed average pace had fallen to 6.23 so I tried to move up a gear but it was a hard with no one to run down. Crossed the line in 19.52 (watch pace 6.20) and was initially very happy but my brain was telling me that I didn't flog myself enough and I left 19.45 out there today.

Not that it makes a huge difference in the scheme of things as it was just over 30 seconds outside my pb, but I was a little annoyed with myself afterwards.

Gonna try and keep MartyBoy in my sights next Sunday for the county 10k.

It's less than 5 months since the knee op so it you told me in July when I was walk/jogging that I'd go sub 20 in November I'd have gladly taken it.

Onwards and upwards (hopefully)

TbL
    Congrats man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done. Great progress :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good man, congrats on the progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

great running C, next time you will be more aggressive and get what you want!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

was initially very happy but my brain was telling me that I didn't flog myself enough and I left 19.45 out there today.

Love this, great to see it, a real sign of returning confidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Well done chief, well and truly on the way back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Super stuff, good progress. Onwards!

Congrats, delighted for you! Glad you were happy for 2.2 seconds anyway :p no harm in wanting more - it'll come.

Monday: planned rest day, got a S&C session done that focused on my blubbery abs, ouch!

Tuesday: plan called for 5 miles easy, managed to get 5 early morning miles done along a local route.

Wednesday: another staple 5 mile easy planned was over and back to London in the day so switched this with Friday's planned rest day. Nada

Thursday: plan called for a scaled back session. Wu/cd with 7x800 metres @ 3.20 pace off 90 seconds (last two off 60 seconds).

Headed to Dangan to get this done at lunch time. Fairly uneventful session that I managed ok on the track. Didn't really bother with the usual watch watching obsession.

Time for a little rant about the latest male "fashion", saw a lad in London walking down the street with his slacks/pants only coming down to above the shin, about 6 inches above his ankle. Now this looked ridiculous by itself but he was also not wearing any socks and had a pair of leather loafers on. What the fcuk is that all about, not only did he look ridiculously stupid but it looked ridiculously uncomfortable! The only time I've seen the likes of that before was 40 years ago in school when a lad used to get the cast offs from his older but shorter brother or in college when I was trying to show off my 12 hole doc martens with red laces. (but in both cases at least socks were worn) :)

TbL

Time for a little rant about the latest male "fashion", saw a lad in London walking down the street with his slacks/pants only coming down to above the shin, about 6 inches above his ankle. Now this looked ridiculous by itself but he was also not wearing any socks and had a pair of leather loafers on. What the fcuk is that all about, not only did he look ridiculously stupid but it looked ridiculously uncomfortable! The only time I've seen the likes of that before was 40 years ago in school when a lad used to get the cast offs from his older but shorter brother or in college when I was trying to show off my 12 hole doc martens with red laces. (but in both cases at least socks were worn) :)

TbL

OMG I saw one of those creatures only yesterday!!!! Looked to me like he had actually cut the ends of his jeans himself :rolleyes: but this guy had white socks on :eek: believe me, he'd have been better with none :D Who comes up with this ****??!!!!