Top 100 Courses 2017 - Golf Digest Ireland

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

BLUEYK wrote: »
    Madness, Druids Glen one of the best in the country. If I was offered a free game around Carton Monty I'd pass, boring, featureless, 5 hr rd min, enjoyment factor 0.

Don't get the usual hard on for links courses. Yes there are a dozen or so quality links but a lot of good to average links courses get ranked ahead of top parklands. Royal Dublin is a good links, that's all.

Fully agree with all of this. Genuinely baffled by Druids Glen being so far down. Perhaps Kevin who posts on here and was on the panel could shed some light? Just going by his comments on social media, he seems to be a big fan of the place.
    PARlance wrote: »

€20 for GC or €25 for a course like Wicklow (not in Top 100), I know where I would pay and play.

Not sure which list is the actual top 100 list but WGC was in the top 100 of the following list this year. First time we have ever been in the top 100.

http://www.top100golfcourses.com/news-item/top-100-golf-courses-of-the-republic-of-ireland-2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

Don't get the usual hard on for links courses

I'm the same, love a mature parkland course over a links course, just goes to show the subjectivity of top 100 list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I don't see how Laytown/Betttystown keeps getting in to the top 100. I have a friend who's a member there so I play it occasionally with him. I think it's a very poor course and i can only assume that it gets into the list purely because it's a links.

What's so bad about it in your opinion?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Perhaps a breakaway thread as we are not talking about Golf Digest Top 100, the one currently being discussed is based on a panel opinion whereas the GD includes course assessors and AFAIK is not published yet for 2018...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ThunderCat wrote: »
    What's so bad about it in your opinion?

It's a nice course imo but far too tight. Too many cries of "fore".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Someone's having a laugh with Royal Tara in at 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,968 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

HighLine wrote: »
    Fully agree with all of this. Genuinely baffled by Druids Glen being so far down. Perhaps Kevin who posts on here and was on the panel could shed some light? Just going by his comments on social media, he seems to be a big fan of the place.

Not sure which list is the actual top 100 list but WGC was in the top 100 of the following list this year. First time we have ever been in the top 100.

http://www.top100golfcourses.com/news-item/top-100-golf-courses-of-the-republic-of-ireland-2018

Athlone up 3 to 78th.

Now theres a list that knows what its talking about :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Rumple Stillson

Rikand wrote: »
    Athlone don't pay enough to their ad sales department ;)

Truthfully though Athlone probably don't deserve to be in the top 100 right now. While we still have one of the most challenging setups in the Midlands a number of changes have been forced on the club in the last couple of years which have negatively impacted course standards.

All about to change soon though hopefully. We will soon be appointing a general manager which can start to go some way towards righting the ship for us.

Look to see our glorious reentry in the next year or two!

Want your course well presented and in good condition, you need a capable head greenkeeper with financial support. General managers tend to be strong around the clubhouse but ineffectual on the course. In my experience of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,968 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I'd wonder how many of these lists are actually lists of genuine golf course design and how many are partly/wholly influenced by advertising revenues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,516 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I've played 8 out of the top 25, 12 out of next 25, 13 out of next 25 and 13 out of next 25, so 46 of them in total.

definately don't understand how some course get anywhere near the list, but yet other courses are not on it at all.

I have been a reviewer in this process before, so i understand how the scoring is supposed to be done, so my opinion is not just some random one, i can puit a bit of science behind it

Ahem.
    Where's Adare Manor?
    I know it's in Co Limerick but seems to have gone from 9th in 2016 ranking to nowhere this year.
    From what I have seen of the renovations it will be the number one park land, stunning changes.

J
    slave1 wrote: »
    It already was, and has been for many years, think it's all about getting the RC

Are you sure? I thought Mount Juliet was no1 parkland for a long time

Ah here, I was looking at this list the other day, and first thing I noticed was that it was the Irish golfer list. Was surprised to see that the thread was called golf Digest top 100, so wrongly assumed they had paired up, till I was 3 pages into the thread and had already posted the above 2 comments!!!

The new list lads is not the golf Digest list so really should be on a seperate thread.

Grange Castle in there...... no offence guys but that's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

Seve OB wrote: »
    Ah here, I was looking at this list the other day, and first thing I noticed was that it was the Irish golfer list. Was surprised to see that the thread was called golf Digest top 100, so wrongly assumed they had paired up, till I was 3 pages into the thread and had already posted the above 2 comments!!!

The new list lads is not the golf Digest list so really should be on a seperate thread.

I thought it was too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Royal Dublin is a good links, that's all.

Never got the attraction with Royal Dublin. Played it once and it was very forgettable. Actually, I do remember it for one thing..being reminded I needed to wear a jacket and tie for dinner :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 TheMightyI

Macker1 wrote: »
    In at 99th place I believe.

Isn't the magazine linked heavily with Grange Castle's mgmt company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭eoghan104

TheMightyI wrote: »
    Isn't the magazine linked heavily with Grange Castle's mgmt company?
    Starts reading from 100...... sees Wicklow in 97...... stops reading.

No offence but I would have Wicklow closer to one of the worst I've played. Just in the area alone Greystones and Blainroe are better tracks. I could name dozens more in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

eoghan104 wrote: »
    Starts reading from 100...... sees Wicklow in 97...... stops reading.

No offence but I would have Wicklow closer to one of the worst I've played. Just in the area alone Greystones and Blainroe are better tracks. I could name dozens more in Ireland.

Arent these things always subjective though?

I personally couldnt comment on Wicklow as i dont know it but i do believe there are courses closer to me that should or should not be on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Keengolfer7

Played two opens at Grange Castle this year and have to say I was very impressed with the condition of the course compared to in the past, fair play to Synergy Golf.