Dustin the turkey, ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Did he once make a joke about the sound of a pig and quipped something like Get Away From That Car You in a faux country Garda accent or am I imagining or recalling incorrectly?

Some of the stuff he got away with would definitely cause more offence these days.

The Noggin, Brack, Fermot, Mun etc used to make me laugh as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Who does his voice? Is it a mystery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

aziz wrote: »
    When I saw the title of this tread, first thoughts that went through my head was "is he dead "or is this the lastest celeb to be outed as a sex offender��

Well he was originally introduced on The Den as 'Dustin Hoffman' and this was also the name he used on the ballot when he ran for President...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,042 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I always loved his description of Ryan Tubridy - that he was just a life support machine for his adam's apple

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Pac1Man wrote: »
    The lads.

2015-09-19_ent_12827291_I8.JPG

Ah, the halcyon days before Ray got all preachy and became the conscience of the nation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

This is a good thread.

Great memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Why did RTE get rid of him?
    Tuco88 wrote: »
    What happened to podge and rodge i enjoyed a scare at bed time... My god iv just noticed how changed/crap rte hads become. 90s cartoons great times.

This was exposed by the secret RTE producer thing a while back. A new Commissioning Editor in RTE cancelled them many years ago, as he wanted to put his stamp on the company. Specifically Podge and Rodge was very popular, but he didn't create it, so he got rid.

Podge & Rodge was massively successful but there was a new Commissioning Editor and that Commissioning Editor didn't like it because HE hadn't come up with it. This Commissioning Editor never liked things until he had put his finger in the pie. He was only happy if he could claim credit. So he forced Podge & Rodge to reformat so he could either claim credit or cancel them. So, reluctantly, they did. It was a disaster, the new producer had made a mess. AND THEN the Commissioning Editor tried to make them abandon the format they had just been forced to adopt. BY HIM. Viewership dropped. The Commissioning Editor cancelled the show and replaced it with a show he had been wanting to make for years. "The Social with Craig Doyle" - Don't bother googling it, even the internet has forgotten it. It was a “social media” chat show even though Craig wasn't on Twitter, and neither were any of the producers, both of whom had been fired from other jobs - but the Commissioning Editor liked them because they would do anything he asked to try and keep their gig. The show was one of the worst things ever made by RTÉ and that's a low bar. It was about twitter and they got their own twitter handle wrong on the first night. So the same Commissioning Editor cancelled it. He then commissioned another Craig Doyle Show called Craig Doyle Live, and then replaced that with another Craig Doyle show before cancelling that. This was after the first Craig Doyle show he'd commissioned, on RTÉ 1 had bombed and he'd cancelled that. And how did he cancel Craig's last show? By never phoning him. 4 different Craig Doyle shows cancelled - that's not how you make good TV.
    If you believe in Craig, then you give him a show, and let it run for a year, and make it better. But no, the Commissioning Editor just did what he always did, and panicked, and burnt the place to the ground. So in the end there was no Craig Doyle Show. But what really is a shame is there was no Podge and Rodge. 10 years of them being the symbol of RTÉ - A prayer at Bedtime, then the Podge & Rodge show. After 10 years of them being Zig and Zag. All wrecked, so this Commissioning Editor could say it was his show. Podge & Rodge are gone, Craig Doyle has gone. The independent staff who worked hard to make those shows all gone. But the Commissioning Editor is still there. Still commissioning shows and cancelling them. I pass his office every day.

The Podge and Rodge lads (Zig and Zag) are very successful outside of Ireland with Bronx Bunny and other characters, so I doubt they will ever be back on RTE after the way they have been treated.

Dustin is starting to make a mild return, as he was on the Ray D'Arcy show last month. Even joking that he is the secret RTE producer with the hastag #wikibeaks.

https://twitter.com/DustinOfficial/status/920975415224782854

Yeah I’m doing @RTERayDarcyShow on Saturday where I’ll be explaining why I set up the @rtesecretpro account;) #WikiBeaks

Even if RTE kissed and made up with them all, none of them will be on children's TV on RTE in the future, and no new Irish puppets will be either, because RTE cancelled their children entertainment division. It doesn't exist anymore. All home grown talent have been fired/let go.

The amount of risque jokes on the Den was absolutely crazy.

I remember one segment where they were talking about a soccer player, who was supposedly gay. Can't remember if it were Dustin, Zig, or Zag, but one said, "I bet he likes the pink wafer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

For some reason, he always looked like Jack Charlton to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The amount of risque jokes on the Den was absolutely crazy.

I remember one segment where they were talking about a soccer player, who was supposedly gay. Can't remember if it were Dustin, Zig, or Zag, but one said, "I bet he likes the pink wafer".

Not a hope could you get away with a skit like that in the 2010's without the switchboards, I mean the Twitter machine, lighting up.

I dimly recall a Dustin one on the Toy Show with Joe Dolan, Joe puts arm around Dustin...."I bet I'm the first bird you put your arm around..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

I'll be honest,

I prefer peppa pig....
    said no one ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

You know what I hate these days, all this stupid talent show crap... Britain's got talent or whatever its called. Maybe kids these days enjoy these kind of shows. Singing and dancing on stage waving your arms and legs around like a demented chicken with their squeaky voices..... Making a fool of themselves in front of the nation. Is it ever gonna stop? Its gonna on for 15 odd years now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gnarbarian

I always fondly remember his appearance with Gaybo on the toy show!

Also me and my little brother used to bounce off the walls to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He said that Mary Robinson had smelly feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Was it the same commissioning editor that decided the Nathan Carter show would be a good idea? Jesus wept. I don't watch a lot on RTE but I saw this advertised last night and could only think that it's a new low for both RTE and the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

gozunda wrote: »
    Following his escape from a Turkey farm at Christmas he never really looked back imo.

He outlived Zig and Zag and a bunch of presenters on RTE. His most infamous moment was when he asked the joke question on daytime tv - "how does Sinead O'Connor comb her hair? Answer Pull down her knickers & etc.

As far as I'm aware he was banned for a while after that :pac:

He was a star of his times imo. There's no one out there of his calibre presently imo.

jesus christ - I never heard that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

We were lucky growing up in the 80s with that calibre of kids' TV. The Den bits were better than the programs they were announcing!

Everything's so sanitised nowadays.

Even as a teenager in the 90s Dustin was still relevant: Born Greasy still resonates with me:

I heard Born Slippy a couple of weeks ago and I found myself still singing ARKLA ARKLA ARKLA COUNTY WIKLA! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,214 ✭✭✭Patser

Did he once make a joke about the sound of a pig and quipped something like Get Away From That Car You in a faux country Garda accent or am I imagining or recalling incorrectly

I'm almost certain that was Zig who said that joke, I've a clear memory of it and that he had a weeks holiday (suspension) after it.

Also clearly remember Zig on the den one Christmas / Stephens Day asking a kid what Santa brought him, and as he listed off bike, Super Nintendo, money, Zig loudly and clearly saying 'You Lucky bast@rd!'. Cue another quick ad break and Zig missing on their return

Ian and Zig and Zag were also suspended for a while because Zig was selling products, which was against RTÉ regulations.

The best was when Ted and Ray used to beat the heads off one another. This is why I can't hate Ray D'arcy. He is such an annoying sanctimonious twat but one I'll forever have a soft spot for.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

anna080 wrote: »
    He is such an annoying sanctimonious twat but one I'll forever have a soft spot for.

Pretty much sums up my sentiments for the man too.

The lifeboat has set sail

Zag had a bit of a love/hate relationship with Zuppy. Zuppy would maul Zag, which Ray and Zig mistook for affection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭neirbloom

branie2 wrote: »
    He said that Mary Robinson had smelly feet

Didn't he get banned of the telly for a week for saying Mary Robinson liked to take it up the Aras lol.

neirbloom wrote: »
    Didn't he get banned of the telly for a week for saying Mary Robinson liked to take it up the Aras lol.

Hilarious! You'd never get away with it now. Maybe that's why our generation all have a bit of divilment inside!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

neirbloom wrote: »

All these bannings sound like Urban Legends/playground rumours.

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,420 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Thanks for posting Born Greasy.

Hearing it again makes me realise that I was right: A puppet from children's entertainment detailing an impressionistic mad night on the booze - love that tune. Dustin was the man back in day.

REAL POTATOES, REAL POTATOES... SPUUUUUDS BOOOOOY

GOOD NIGHT, TOP NIGHT, RUIN IT ALL START A FIGHT, WHAT'D HE DO, SKIPPED THE QUEUE
    CALL THE GUARDS, GIVE THEM YARDS, STILL THEY FLASH THE YELLOW CARD AT YOUUU BOOOOY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Best thread in ages! Great memories and half truths and really shows how we've changed as a society and are loosing our cheeky banter to pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Dustin for President, he will be back next year to run against Bertie and Mr TAYTO and Dana.
    Bring the dart to dingle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

It was classic when he asked for Kay Burleys number on sky TV