Dustin the turkey, ??

• 07-11-2017 10:36PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Why did RTE get rid of him? Were parents complaining of his jokes on the politicians of Ireland? Or they didn't like his slang words being adopted by kids? Was there too much adult humour in his jokes? I thought he is great as a kid and my dad laughed his ass off at some of the Cork jokes..... "Best thing that came out of cork was the road to Dublin"....

Where the hell would you get these kind of jokes on daytime kids TV these days? Didnt do me any harm! Is it the nanny state attitude these days that saw his end? Better for kids to watch the little kitten singing and the puppy dancing ? FECK OFF! My kids don't watch TV because there is shag all worth watching! Its not like how it was with me and my dad watching so much kids stuff together back in the 90s, stuff that was actually worth watching. I don't have this TV experience enjoyment with my kid because of the strict sensorship for suitable viewing... " Oh that's toooo violent for little children, we couldnt possibly licence that on the network, the poor children might go on a rampage!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Miriam O'Callaghan allegedly had him for Christmas during the recession

Lots of mouths to feed and only a few hundred grand per year to pay for food.

Tough times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Why did RTE get rid of him?

Because it was as funny as an ingrown hair on the back of your balls.

Every joke seen coming from a mile away.

Seriously, always made me wanna switch the channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Got dropped when the den got cancelled

Had a failed music career and now appears to be reduced to annual apperenxes on the toy show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

I preferred Snotser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I always, and still do, think Dustin is hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I will always admire him for confronting the creeping evil that was line dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I like it when he starts shouting abuse and insults at people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I heard he grabbed some turkey breasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Following his escape from a Turkey farm at Christmas he never really looked back imo.

He outlived Zig and Zag and a bunch of presenters on RTE. His most infamous moment was when he asked the joke question on daytime tv - "how does Sinead O'Connor comb her hair? Answer Pull down her knickers & etc.

As far as I'm aware he was banned for a while after that :pac:

He was a star of his times imo. There's no one out there of his calibre presently imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭wawaman

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I heard he grabbed some turkey breasts.

GO ON YA GOOD THING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

One of The Den's best presenters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭briany

They completely PG'd Dustin towards the tail-end of his career. He went from calling the Irish language 'foreign' in the early 90s to then wholesomely promoting it in the mid 2000s.

The stuff he used to come out with in the Den's heyday you wouldn't get even on an edgy late night show now. Calling the Irish language foreign and joking about not paying your TV license in the context of comedy wouldn't be stood for too long.

Has he been to Meath yet?

He also reminded us not to forget the batteries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭weadick

I had a friend from Germany who absolutely loved Dustin and still does. Simon Cowell was a fan apparently and couldnt believe what he used to get away with on Irish tv. One of the last times I saw him on rte was on the 50th anniversary of the LLS a few years ago when he told Tubridy the toy show was the only thing he was any good at, which is true. After that he was never seen on another toy show again and is sorely missed tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

briany wrote: »
    They completely PG'd Dustin towards the tail-end of his career. He went from calling the Irish language 'foreign' in the early 90s to then wholesomely promoting it in the mid 2000s.

The stuff he used to come out with in the Den's heyday you wouldn't get even on an edgy late night show now. Calling the Irish language foreign and joking about not paying your TV license in the context of comedy wouldn't be stood for too long.

Yeah, back in the anarchic 90's Dustin used to get away with genuinely edginess, he was great.

But like most RTE fixtures he was gradually defanged over time.

The lads.

2015-09-19_ent_12827291_I8.JPG

He used to call Zag Zog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,582 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

For an established tv personality he should never have done Eurovision, it was fun joke for a bit but got tired pretty quick and I'm not sure it translated too well

Pac1Man wrote: »
    The lads.

2015-09-19_ent_12827291_I8.JPG

I can't believe it's taken me 'til now to realise that Socky was just a mentally subnormal Morbeg.

Feeling a bit nostalgic reading this thread.

Here's some teletext.

302.gif?strip=all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

When he lost us the Eurovision his goose was cooked :D

Yes..I was one of those who voted for him to represent us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

When he did the flap flaps it was funny..... Ray telling him to do it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭aziz

When I saw the title of this tread, first thoughts that went through my head was "is he dead "or is this the lastest celeb to be outed as a sex offender😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Faith of our feathers 👐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

Dustin is certainly one of a kind. Hard to believe it's nearly ten years since he did the eurovision in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Whatever about that Sinead O'Connor joke (I don't believe even he would say that on TV) I do remember one incident. I was on the bus to Dublin late in the evening near Christmas. Dustin was guest on the radio. So it was about 8 or so and wasn't a kids show. Bus was only half full, everyone dozing off, only half listening to him. The DJ was asking him about his favourite songs etc and he says "Anything by Boyzone Hweh hweh hweh" The DJ says "Have you met them?" He goes "I met Ronan last week and he said "It's pronounced Ronán, There's a fatha" I says, a fatha? I'll shove that fatha where Brian Kennedy won't find it"

Everyone on the bus, who was half listening to the radio just pissed themselves laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Faith Of Our Feathers was an all time classic. Funky Ford Cortina and Where Do You Go To You're Ugly two of my personal favourites off that album.

DaithiMa wrote: »
    Faith Of Our Feathers was an all time classic. Funky Ford Cortina and Where Do You Go To You're Ugly two of my personal favourites off that album.

I came here just to post Funky Ford Cortina. I used to love Born Greasy too

I have a vague memory of when Podge started appearing on the Den, and one time he and Dustin getting into a heated argument, and they were squaring up to one another, nose to nose, threatening one another. It's such a weird memory, the idea of two children's puppets carrying on like two lads outside a late night takeaway.