Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread VIII - ** MOD NOTE POST #4781 **

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

connachta wrote: »
    Never mind. If Aki starts, we're good to go. :D

be another sad day in irish rugby..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

irishfan9 wrote: »

Here we go again

Wegians89 wrote: »
    Here we go again

just stating a fact, any time another project player is capped, it's a sad day.

it's the rules and all that craic, but doesn't mean you have to be happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

it's the rules and all that craic, but doesn't mean you have to be happy about anything ever.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

it's the rules and all that craic, but doesn't mean you have to be happy about it.

A sad day for you. We get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

That's grand and all, and you're fine to have whatever opinion you want to have about project players, but lay off with silly stuff like "sad day for Irish rugby", because you can only speak for yourself, not "Irish rugby".

stephen_n wrote: »
    FYP

very happy about this:

INPHO_01286103.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

very happy about this:

INPHO_01286103.jpg

That's the most positive post I have seen you make.

I'm not a fan of project players, but they are a reality of the game, don't see how it's sad for Irish rugby, just a fact of professionalism. After surviving being an Irish fan in the 90's, I wish to Jaysus we had more project players then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Larbre34 wrote: »
    As regards this fixture, if the team are sweating the start or not of one outhalf option as the winning or losing of the game, we shouldnt bother getting out of bed.

Ireland's normal operating level is such that we can outplay the Boks all over the pitch. Aiming to beat them up would be the wrong approach in any circumstances, but we should be well able to eclipse them and win by 10 or 15. Looking forward to some monstrous back-row displays in ideal cool dry conditions.

Technically it's 2 out halves. Sexton and Jackson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

stephen_n wrote: »
    FYP

very happy about this:

INPHO_01286103.jpg
    You're gonna hate this one, with those two
    INPHO_01286100.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

molloyjh wrote: »
    Technically it's 2 out halves. Sexton and Jackson.

Only two?

rugby-union-rugby-world-cup-2015-pool-d-france-v-ireland-millennium-stadium-5-752x501.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

I for one can't wait.

Would love to see Aki tearing up the midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Only two?

rugby-union-rugby-world-cup-2015-pool-d-france-v-ireland-millennium-stadium-5-752x501.jpg

What can I say, I'm a heartless man. There's no room for sentiment in professional sport etc etc. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

You said its a sad day for Irish rugby. What you should more correctly say is that it is a sad day for your interpretation (possibly others too) of what Irish rugby is. There is no such thing as Irish Rugby. Closest thing to matching that description is the IRFU and they seem pretty happy with the decision.

Language is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

No, it's not. It's not a sad day at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'd be fine with calling it another sad day for the continued erosion of international rugby in general. I wouldn't expect Ireland to be "above" this or anything. Thankfully some steps have been taken to make it better so let's try not to dwell on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

We can't beat the Boks up front with pure muscle. But we can beat them with greater accuracy at set piece and at the breakdown. That's where we beat them in 2014 when they where actually half-decent. I've still no idea how we didn't win the 2016 tour 3-0. We were the better side that series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,595 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Nationality is a farce across most international sporting codes and at least WR are moving resident eligbility out to 5 years, which will hopefully make it more redundant.

At least Bundee is not a cricketer, or he could play for Ireland and New Zealand in perpetual summer a-la Eoin Morgan Ed Joyce and the rest. That really is a joke.

But so long as we are under the same rugby rules as everyone else, we should use what resources are available, and at the same time use those resources to educate young native players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Suggestion:

A totally separate thread for any chat to do with project players both arguments for and against.

Because it is tedious and boring and we must have gone in circles about 17 times just in the last 20 pages alone.

I'd wager that at least 75% of the talk on this thread in the last 2 weeks has just been endless drivel on project players and it is just old.

I am aware I can hide posters. But it would be much easier to not have to click on a thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

DOCGuWuW0AAfzkH.jpg

Well at least we know Murray likes Bundee ;)

That or they're holding hands to comfort each other as they prepare to meet their doom at the hands of a gigantic rugby ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭jacothelad

molloyjh wrote: »
    yuck.gif?w=778

Not a swallower then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭bilston

The way I see it with Bundee is that once he finally pulls on the jersey and goes out and plays he will be accepted. It's what happened with Payne and Stander etc, the same will happen with Bundee. Until he goes out and actually puts his body on the line there will be negative views. Once he has played the negative comments will move on to next guy, probably Blyndenhall.

bilston wrote: »
    The way I see it with Bundee is that once he finally pulls on the jersey and goes out and plays he will be accepted. It's what happened with Payne and Stander etc, the same will happen with Bundee. Until he goes out and actually puts his body on the line there will be negative views. Once he has played the negative comments will move on to next guy, probably Blyndenhall.

Tyler isnt good enough.

Ok, well then whoever the next project who is good enough. Maybe with the new rules there won't be another. But the point is once Bundee plays he will be accepted pretty quickly.

So BS flanker, one wing spot and maybe a centre spot up for grabs. The rest seems nailed on.

O'Mahony v Ruddock
    McCloskey v Aki
    D.Kearney v Stockdale v Conway

Will Joe throw in a surprise?

Ryan to bench?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Tyler isnt good enough.

He probably is... but going thru a rough patch at the moment and rightly taken out of the firing line for a wee while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

POM, Aki, Stockdale.

Ryan to be named on the bench.

Next question!

So BS flanker, one wing spot and maybe a centre spot up for grabs. The rest seems nailed on.

O'Mahony v Ruddock
    McCloskey v Aki
    D.Kearney v Stockdale v Conway

Will Joe throw in a surprise?

Ryan to bench?

6 O Mahony 7 o Brien 8 Stander

12 Henshaw 13 Aki

Stockdale on wing with Earls and Kearney

Buer wrote: »
    POM, Aki, Stockdale.