Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Gael85

I don't know how you figure that. There is no evidence of it.

As for the Dub fans, Im just wondering where was all this dismissive talk of the series when Brogan was captain and there was a raft of dubs on the squad last time out? Funny it is only appearing now?

Stoner, you don't give people on the boards enough credit, everyone can see they pulled out collectively - fair enough if that is what they want to do - just have the honesty to admit it though. You are often saying how the posters on boards are by in large genuine gaa folk, so why not treat them as such?

The thing is they deserve criticism for doing it, same as anyone else would if they done the same. I accept some players wont be able to go, but not all of them ffs.

As for your spiel about a 'handful of players' - 10 players, a fair bit more than a handful. No other county has as many players invited to take part in fact. Every county has club commitments, every county player has a job. They flaked out, they deserve a bit of criticism for doing so, so be it. These attempts to control the narrative and veer it away from any criticism of the players but rather onto the game itself is highly disingenuous.

Majority of Dublin panel still involved in club action. County final in football and hurling this weekend and league playoffs for Division for 1-4 to be played in coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Gael85 wrote: »
    Majority of Dublin panel still involved in club action. County final in football and hurling this weekend and league playoffs for Division for 1-4 to be played in coming weeks.

How many players does this actually affect though? One team in the county final will be finished come Tuesday morning, while i dont buy this thing about the league - the leagues are still ongoing in mayo too for example..

I think it is bad firm personally. Like lads are giving out that people are against dublin, that players wont vote for dubs in awards, yet then the dubs wont even bother togging out alongside said players in the international rules and they wont represent their country. You cant have it both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

How many players does this actually affect though? One team in the county final will be finished come Tuesday morning, while i dont buy this thing about the league - the leagues are still ongoing in mayo too for example..

I think it is bad firm personally. Like lads are giving out that people are against dublin, that players wont vote for dubs in awards, yet then the dubs wont even bother togging out alongside said players in the international rules and they wont represent their country. You cant have it both ways.

In soccer parlance i'd equate this to a testimonial match. A non event. That is my view on this competition.

I personally had no interest in it when Brogan was captain, I never attended any of these fixtures in the past and I wouldn't attend one in the future even if Brogan, Rock or Connolly were playing.

The O'Byrne Cup would hold my attention more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Panrich wrote:
    Cian Hanley has been delisted by the Brisbane Lions.

This could be interesting from a Mayo GAA perspective. Was a very promising minor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Wasn't cian midfield for the minors ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Wasn't cian midfield for the minors ?

Centre forward I thought or most definitely the half forwards,excellent prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Or maybe, they (the small handful of players that Kernan invited in to the squad, not the entire Dublin panel) actually do have club and work commitments, that prevent them from pissing off to Oz for 3 weeks. James McCarthy (along with 5 other Dublin players) is playing in a club final on Monday. He has already said he can't get more time off work. What do you want him to do - not play in his county final, or not go away with the Dubs on their team holiday in December, just so he can participate in the Aussie lark? Or both? Grand, I'll tell him that so.

Of all the silly Dublin conspiracies out there, their not participating because AIG told them not to, has to be one of the daftest yet. Funny how big, bad, AIG had no trouble with Dubs being on the Aussie Rules panel, when the games were here 2 years ago, eh? :rolleyes:

Did you actually think I was serious with my comment do you think I give any fu1cks about what the dub players do for club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭Panrich

I may have been premature regarding Cian last night. The original statement from the Lions was thanking the delisted players and wishing them well for the future but this was posted on twitter today

https://twitter.com/MichaelWhiting/status/923724265509109760?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fs9e.github.io%2Fiframe%2Ftwitter.min.html%23923724265509109760

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Mickey Harte was correct about the Aussie games.

On another note, how much does the Mayo county pass cost, and does it get you into all club games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

Bonniedog wrote: »
    On another note, how much does the Mayo county pass cost, and does it get you into all club games?

200 and it covers club championships only. There is a waiting list for it and it's handled by Croke Park.

Moy Davitts 2-10
    Kiltimagh 2-9

Only saw the first half via the streaming on Mayo GAA TV,excellent resolution but some glitches/buffering.Good value for four euro.Really annoying the obstruction of the view by those pesky stand poles.

At half time I'd have bet my house on Davitts to win the game.They led by 1-8 to 1-3 with a ever dangerous Brian Reape goaling as half time approached.Definite goalkeeping error under a high ball.Kiltimagh's early goal courtesy of a fine catch from a long direct ball.
    Red card for Cillian Finn on the stroke of half time seemed to be a terminal blow for Kiltimagh.

Largely missed the second half with the Katie Taylor fight but Kiltimagh did come roaring back and converted a penalty.Their name seemed to be on the cup but Moy Davitts got a wonder goal at the death courtesy of MOTM James Mulderrig and a winning score from Sean Kelly.

Tough on Kiltimagh.

Mayo GAA TV still going with Liam Horan interviewing Brendan Harrison about his trip to Oz.

Lots of co commentators..Mickey Conroy,Gary Ruane and Austin O Malley.Kudos to Mayo GAA.

statto25 wrote: »
    200 and it covers club championships only. There is a waiting list for it and it's handled by Croke Park.

Our one is 140 and covers club and home league in both hurling and football. But same as that, a long waiting list. I thought Mayo had a separate scheme run by CB?

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Our one is 140 and covers club and home league in both hurling and football. But same as that, a long waiting list. I thought Mayo had a separate scheme run by CB?

It used to be,your version is great value for money.

seligehgit wrote: »
    It used to be,your version is great value for money.

It is a gift. Pays for itself just for club games. Can't understand why more counties don't do similar. Dublin and Mayo are by far best supported counties and one of reasons is the ticket scheme. I'm not actively involved in club any more so not in competition with players and mentors, which is fair. Downside of that is that club allocations are very low now because of amount of people with season tickets and county passes.

Cora Staunton scored 4-13 today as Carnacon drew with Kilkerrin Clonberne (5-17 to 6-14) in the Connacht ladies club football final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Cora Staunton scored 4-13 today as Carnacon drew with Kilkerrin Clonberne (5-17 to 6-14) in the Connacht ladies club football final.

Bloody hell that's something else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Some performance from Cora but doesn't say much about her team mates!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

The Giants are a shoo in for the league so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The Giants are a shoo in for the league so

I doubt that her new teammates will be as keen on the tactic of just give the ball to cora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

irishgeo wrote: »
    I doubt that her new teammates will be as keen on the tactic of just give the ball to cora.

Actually, you'd be surprised how much of a tactic it is in Aussie Rules.
    The main attacking focus is to get a mark by an accurate kicker within scoring range.

If she's accurate with the new ball and can take her marks, they'll look to feed her the ball all day long.

Obviously, they'll need a few targets to stop defenders targeting her, but they'll be happy to give her the ball if its likely gonna result in a score.

Marty Duffy is the réiteoir for the Mitchels game on Saturday.

I see McHale Park won’t be on the list of stadiums for use in the RWC if Ireland should win the bid. Of course thats looking unlikely after todays news re the bid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

I see McHale Park won’t be on the list of stadiums for use in the RWC if Ireland should win the bid. Of course thats looking unlikely after todays news re the bid.

Probably moot at this stage. When was it knocked off? It was always going to be. Them bloody pillars!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Probably moot at this stage. When was it knocked off? It was always going to be. Them bloody pillars!!

I think it's the 3 open sides with concrete benches as seats. We aren't going to win anyway

Dunno tbh when it got knocked out. Its just mentioned in this Irish Times piece today:
    https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/ireland-s-2023-rwc-bid-falling-short-on-infrastructure-1.3275032

Connacht championship quarter final 2018
    Mayo v Galway confirmed for Sunday May 13th.

Connacht championship quarter final 2018
    Mayo v Galway confirmed for Sunday May 13th.

Winners out on June 3rd for the semi final.

Connacht final takes place on June 17th at 4 PM.

Winners out on June 3rd for the semi final.

Connacht final takes place on June 17th at 4 PM.

Breaks of 3 weeks and 2 weeks. Ideal. May 13 is must win you would think if you want to keep the wear and tear on the players as low as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Breaks of 3 weeks and 2 weeks. Ideal. May 13 is must win you would think if you want to keep the wear and tear on the players as low as possible.

The new format is excellent if we win our first game ..........having said that there is only one week between final super 8 game and semi final . In fact one semi is on the Saturday meaning possible only 6 day break. That's not great. There could be a few dead rubbers at that stage ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

irishgeo wrote: »
    I think it's the 3 open sides with concrete benches as seats. We aren't going to win anyway

Killlarney is included.