Proposal to preserve old post boxes. Hitler is alive and well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

We should all write a strongly worded letter, and to show how serious we are we can use stamps featuring the great ant imperialist (don't mention the USSR) Che Guevara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Etc

No sign of Gerrup for ages, his outrage must have dissipated !

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Rename royal canal the Markievicz canal or Cumann na mBán canal

Cumann na mBan. No fada on the "a".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Allinall wrote: »
    Re-build Nelson's Pillar.

O'Connell St. Has never been the same without it.

At least the British knew how to build ****.

A grand spot for sniping from, according to some reports.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ipso wrote: »
    I'm still fuming about the invasion of the Cessair, Nemed and Parthenon.

Delighted for you.

Not sure what that has to do with the those who want to retain symbols of the British occupation of Ireland though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wait - is it pronounced "ban" or "bawn"?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,083 ✭✭✭✭josip

No, he's referring to the less well known Irish white supremacists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Just give them a new coat of green paint and they'll be grand

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I take it all those who love having post boxes with the symbols of our past foreign occupation on them as they consider them “part of our history”, wouldn’t mind the Butchers Apron being hoisted over the GPO and other public buildings?

“Part of our history” and all that, folks......

Oh no - a piece of cloth is on a building. What will we do...

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

elperello wrote: »
    Godwinned in the title post.
    Is this a record?

Godwin in post number three. Is this a record?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Proposal to preserve old post boxes. Hitler is alive and well.

Old postboxes & Hitler, what's that all about?

I suppose you could angle grind the Royal insignias off all the old postboxes & replace them with swastikas!

Would that help?

LordSutch wrote: »
    Old postboxes & Hitler, what's that all about?

I suppose you could angle grind the Royal insignias off all the old postboxes & replace them with swastikas!

Would that help?

It's a pity Sean Russell is dead, he would have done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

feargale wrote: »
    Godwin in post number three. Is this a record?
    Did you miss the thread title?

I can understand keeping the old ones with free state emblems, but they want to also make the ones with British logos and crowns protected structures too.

Tell me this: would Germany consider a Swastika to be a heritage symbol? Don’t think so. Sand blast all symbols of Britishness and cleans this country of our brutal colonial past.

you're just looking for excuses to create a new thread now. Please go away, your posts are very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

How many of ye use this sort of post box anyways? Where the last of these things are situated nowadays they're probably filled up with McDonalds burger wrappers and drink vomit from 20 years ago.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Did you miss the thread title?

No, I didn't. What's this obsessive cliché ridden objection to mentioning Hitler? Hitler for all his evil had a profound effect on the world. Godwin is remembered only for a "law" which is misunderstood by most of those who refer to it. I've even read posters referring to Hitler and apologising for it in the same breath, just like people used to ( maybe some still do ) refer to Jesus adding "God forgive me." Cut this censorship.

Remember the Life of Brian, and the guy being stoned for saying "Jehovah"?
    Here: HITLER, HITLER, HITLER. Now stone me away to f@ck.

P.S. By the way, I don't agree with OP but that's another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Etc

buried wrote: »
    How many of ye use this sort of post box anyways? Where the last of these things are situated nowadays they're probably filled up with McDonalds burger wrappers and drink vomit from 20 years ago.

Not true, they are all over Dublin, and a lot of people still write letters.....

No, I didn't. What's this obsessive cliché ridden objection to mentioning Hitler? Hitler for all his evil had a profound effect on the world. Godwin is remembered only for a "law" which is misunderstood by most of those who refer to it. I've even read posters referring to Hitler and apologising for it in the same breath, just like people used to ( maybe some still do ) refer to Jesus adding "God forgive me." Cut this censorship.

It's not the mentioning it's the equating of a post box to a psycho, and it's nothing to do with censorship and everything to do with ridiculousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I suppose you speak Irish at home then? Going by that logic then you wouldnt want to be using the invaders language either

I cant believe there are actually still people in 2017 who want to demolish things built by the british. Whatever about the past..irish people are mighty bad at making pretty buildings and the british gave us our nicest looking architecture by far. I can understand wanting to demolish it right after independence when the colonial rule was fresh in everyones mind.
    But its been over 100 years ..none of us were alive during british colonial rule. So I think we should move on

Etc wrote: »
    Not true, they are all over Dublin, and a lot of people still write letters.....

Do you use them?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Our past"? Ha - well indoctrinated by Harris/The Cruiser/Sunday Independent there, aren't you. Since when is glorifying a foreign, anti-Catholic British royalist colonial cult part of "our past". No amount of Kevin Myers-inspired revisionism will succeed in selling us the English/British royalist tradition as being our Irish tradition. None.
    Actually most of us don't actually give a feck about it anymore. Most of us think that was a sh1tty time, but that was then, this is now. Hell if anything given the spellings and accents about the place many of us are looking to somewhere in the mid Atlantic.
    Some of us are acutely aware of our own distinctive, ancient Irish tradition and will resist this West Brit attempt to portray the coloniser's tradition as our own tradition. It's not, it never was - and it never, ever will be.
    Which ancient Irish tradition is this? A goodly proportion of it was readied up in the 19th century, when the "ancient tradition" meme was a strong one throughout Europe. Most of the "Celtic" stuff came from then(similar was to be seen in Germany, Sweden, France, Spain, England, Scotland and Wales). The Irish you speak(if you speak it at all, never mind fluently) is a bit different to old and Bardic Irish. Itself a language of "invaders". As was the "Celtic" influence. Seems to be a time limit on this stuff...
    And there's no fúcking debate about that one, son.
    There actually is but I suspect you'd not be up for it.
    There's something decidedly snake-like and intellectually vacuous in these attempts to call British colonial cults "our past", an attempt to spread the blame, to normalise colonialism and to ultimately have Irish people embrace the myths of British nationalism by honouring the thugs and psychopaths of centuries of British colonial occupation in Ireland.
    Eh... or y'know just saying "this is part of our shared past". Or do you want to get back to Year Zero and imagine we were never invaded by the Norse French and their ancestors? If anything the native English were more duped and continue to be on that score. They've been lorded over by French Normans, Scots, Welsh(with a hint of Norman) and Austrian/Dutch/German Hapsburg inbreds down to this day.
    Yes, because it's anti-British to oppose these memorials to British colonial supremacy in Ireland. Or do you really think the British put their royalist symbols on everything they could find because they weren't political?
    Note the tense. Weren't. In the past.
    Also, I trust you'd be over defending those statues in the southern US states which commemorate racist American generals, and would tell African-Americans that they should be left there on their pedestal because they're "part of African-American history"? Will African-Americans be "anti-American" for refusing to have memorials to that racist aspect of US history in their communities?
    IN some senses I would suggest that. The major difference being that Black Americans are still getting screwed over in their own country. Today. Can't personally recall the last time I was oppressed by an Englishman.
    And, by your thinking, somebody should have told Tony Benn that opposing the anti-Irish Catholic sectarianism and racism that has symbolised the British monarchy for many centuries now made him "anti-British" also. Only a good old racist sectarian supremacist royalist can be "British", it seems.
    NOt me anyway. I had a lot of time for Tony Benn. I wouldn't have always agreed with some of his positions but IMHO he was a giant of a politician, political thinker and man. Brave with it.
    Of course, because that "Georgian" architecture built with the tithes and exploitation of the dispossessed Irish Catholics is not really Greco-Roman architecture with a wonderfully English name put on it to make it seem like the English came up with it...
    More a cultural thing because of proximity. The style had various names throughout Europe. Palladian is the more general term. Though itself culturally local enough as it was an Italian lad of the same name that kicked it off. Damned Romans again. The greasy stylish bastards.
    maryishere wrote: »
    The viewing platform at the top was a great tourist attraction. Pity it is not there now.
    Fcuk Nelsons column IMHO. Though again in my humble an opportunity was missed to put up a similar layout of monument that engaged the public with a viewing platform, instead of that bloody steel spike that just sits there. Laden down with the invisible bills of banks, the IMF and the EU.

31%2B9ydU0mHL._SY300_.jpg

Maybe it's more apposite than was intended... :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Time to knock those Norman towers down I think. And obviously raise any city founded by the Vikings.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No, I didn't. What's this obsessive clichidden objection to mentioning Hitler? Hitler for all his evil had a profound effect on the world. Godwin is remembered only for a "law" which is misunderstood by most of those who refer to it. I've even read posters referring to Hitler and apologising for it in the same breath, just like people used to ( maybe some still do ) refer to Jesus adding "God forgive me." Cut this censorship.

I'm with you on this F.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Come on, unless you're talking about genocide or crap art when you compare something to Hitler you deserve to be laughed at.

Time to knock those Norman towers down I think. And obviously raise any city founded by the Vikings.

Yeah, why not? Both those cnuts knocked down plenty here too themselves. I live beside Clonmacnoise, you'd want to see the state of that city now man.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

If Irish education is so much more balanced and better than British as I read on here constantly, why are there so many posters who only see black and TAN?

Fixed your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

What is Hitler's eircode?

Not your ornery onager

It's not the mentioning it's the equating of a post box to a psycho, and it's nothing to do with censorship and everything to do with ridiculousness.

And if somebody says of their boss "the devil you know is better than the devil you don't know", is that ridiculous too? I mean, equating the boss of a chip shop with Satan? What has Godwin to say about that? I mean, think of the pandemonium created by that old deluder, that SOB Beelzebub. He leaves Adolf in the halfpenny place! There was a time, you know, when the devil was the man of the moment, always invoked when naughty people were talked about. A seven year old kid stole a cookie from the jar: " the little devil is a thief." Imagine equating theft of a cookie with all the trouble that bustard caused. Then Old Nick was usurped by Adolf. ( Is it ok to say Adolf instead of Hitler, like it's ok to say Our Lord instead of Jesus? ) See how many different names the Old Deluder has, just to confuse us. What did Godwin have to say about the devil being equated to a kid stealing a cookie?
    Incidentally, Godwin never used the word ridiculous, nor did he condemn reference to Hitler, Naziism etc.. feargale's law: A thread in boards.ie is unlikely to extend very far without a reference to Godwin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Come on, unless you're talking about genocide or crap art when you compare something to Hitler you deserve to be laughed at.

Are you not aware of the British genocide in Ireland?

Are we allowed to use a comparison with Hitler when it comes to ethnic cleansing or is that against your anti-democratic rules?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Not too far fetched in this day and age. They're knocking down Confederate statues all over the US and some clowns are looking for the same to be done here.

Then there are those who wish to have the 'N' word taken out of Steinbeck's 'Of Mice and Men'.

Nothing would surprise me with what is deemed as upsetting to some people.