Have you ever been the victim of a crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Back in 07 myself and the then girlfriend lived in charleroi, Belgium.
    Now for those who have never heard of the place, I envy you.
    Anyway we had a place right in the centre on rue de marsenielle or some **** which was essentially the centre but to our immediately right a very very dangerous looking brothel.
    One day my gf was on the late shift and cause there were reports of rapes and attacks i walked her to work.
    For some reason or another I got delayed there and then eventually started to make my way home.
    I'll never forget walking up the stairs to the apartment and seeing the "re-enforced" door caved in.
    Stupidly I walked inside without calling the police and went straight to our bedroom.
    No one there but the place was in bits.
    New laptops gone, new perfume gone, dvds gone, cameras gone, I bought her a svarovsky necklace in rome a few weeks prior which was taken too.
    The even stole my underwear.
    But.. what I could never understand was this.
    We had about 1000e saved in cash hidden in a drawer in an envelope.
    The drawer was removed and emptied but the envelope never touched which was a miracle as it saved us.
    The police were ****. And I mean hand on heart ****.
    It was a massive joke for them, asking me if I liked charleroi and Belgium after being robbed near on blind.
    House owner refused to fix the door and accused me of robbing myself for attention.
    So I had to barricade us into our room at night and kept a bat and a knife under my side of the bed in case we had more trouble.
    The rest of the nights were spent in hotels which took care of the remains of our savings.
    Left that dump soon afterwards but I always wonder what would have happened if I hadn't had been delayed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭jonon9

Forked out €150 for half hour in a whore house in Majorca 15 years ago (not my brightest moment) and left with a full bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Got mugged on New Years day in Dun Laoghaire in 1997, I was 15.

5 bigger boys and 3 smelly girls absolutely bate the crap out of me for a Man Utd baseball cap. I stood there and took punches and round house kicks to the face but refused to fall.

Eventually they tired out and fcuked off after waving a knife in my face.

6 years later, also in Dun laoghaire. I was in a pub with a group of friends. I overheard a guy in another group boasting about the day he and a few friends bate the fcuk out of a young lad and robbed his Man Utd hat for one of the girls.

Oh how the tables had turned. Over the following few weeks, I got my pound of flesh from 3 of the 5 lads. Still looking for the other 2.

Got mugged on New Years day in Dun Laoghaire in 1997, I was 15.

5 bigger boys and 3 smelly girls absolutely bate the crap out of me for a Man Utd baseball cap. I stood there and took punches and round house kicks to the face but refused to fall.

Eventually they tired out and fcuked off after waving a knife in my face.

6 years later, also in Dun laoghaire. I was in a pub with a group of friends. I overheard a guy in another group boasting about the day he and a few friends bate the fcuk out of a young lad and robbed his Man Utd hat for one of the girls.

Oh how the tables had turned. Over the following few weeks, I got my pound of flesh from 3 of the 5 lads. Still looking for the other 2.

I loved you in Death Wish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

jonon9 wrote: »
    Forked out €150 for half hour in a whore house in Majorca 15 years ago (not my brightest moment) and left with a full bag.

If you were only going in for a half hour I don't know why you didn't just leave your suitcase in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

mzungu wrote: »
    Aye, that handball by Thierry Henry. :pac:

That was a heresy for us. We all felt it :pac:

Yes - the assailant was brought to court but no punishment
    There is a real issue with the judicial system in this country.

I've given up on reporting things to the Gardai for a while now as nothing is ever done about anything, unless you do all the leg work yourself and actually bring the garda to the criminal. you almost have to put the cuffs on them yourself.

The Gardai slogan 'we wouldn't really be able to do anything about that' has worn me tired at this stage.

Gardai are nice pleasant people for the most part, but as a whole, they're a waste of time.

I get annoyed hearing about "more gardai needed" when the same judges are letting people off with slaps on the wrist time and time again.

We must have the most lenient justice system in the world. Nobody does anything. The thoughts of handing out a proper sentence seems to scare the judges themselves for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

CFlat wrote: »
    If you were only going in for a half hour I don't know why you didn't just leave your suitcase in the car.

Sure it only takes some of 'em less than a minute.

Anything over the 30 minutes was extra I was determined to meet my deadline but failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

jonon9 wrote: »
    Anything over the 30 minutes was extra I was determined to make it but failed.

That's an achievement in itself or else she was well rough.

A mixture of heat and alcohol left me with a mickey like a wind sock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

My bike was stolen 2 years ago.

Surprising that that's the worst that has happened, considering I live in Bogota.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

My bike was stolen 2 years ago.

Surprising that that's the worst that has happened, considering I live in Bogot

I'm imagining you were kidnapped writing the final á there.

House broken into, car broken into, attempted mugging. All in Dublin.

Cops only interested if someone is hurt. Otherwise all you get is the letter "Sorry that you've been a victim of a crime...."

You should report crimes though imo as the statistics need to be highlighted.

It's a-la-carte policing out there - do the easy / no hassle stuff like the the guard out on a motorbike on a nice sunny day pinging motorists for turning too early in a bus lane.

annoying hassle stuff like finding out who is breaking into houses is largely ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Yes - I'm happy with the punishment they received.
    pity you can only vote once . have been a victim 3 times

had a lot of pallets stolen on me over a six month period and just by chance i caught the guy doing it . didn't bother reporting it

had a boat broken into and the first aid kit and a few knives stolen . reported it , because of the knives , fingerprints taken . nobody found

wife's car was hijacked at set of light's , long story but, guards were brilliant caught the guys . they got jail but cant remember if it was 6 or 9 months

two out of the three incidents involved members of .... no i wont go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,966 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My car was stolen from right outside my house in the middle of the night. Hot wired and found burned out in Cherry Orchard. Scumbags were never caught. Gardai took my details and were polite but did’nt really want to know.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    My car was stolen from right outside my house in the middle of the night. Hot wired and found burned out in Cherry Orchard. Scumbags were never caught. Gardai took my details and were polite but did’nt really want to know.

Just curious, but when that happens does the insurance company simply pay out or do they check to make sure you didn't do it?
    Wonder if that's why the police weren't interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭angryIreGamer

mugged - in front of a busy bus stop. Told by guard that id have to go to station to make report as they were too busy, also told they doubted anything could be done.

what annoys me most is only one person checked if i was ok. all the other ****ers just ignored me being hit and having my wallet taken.

that one person, thanks.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Seriously assaulted by a group of lads, one armed with a golf club.

Reported it but nothing came of it in the end.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I'm imagining you were kidnapped writing the final á there.

Boards doesn't let write tildes for some reason, my words keep getting cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

Yes - the punishment was insufficient
    Why is there no poll option of 'reported it but nobody was caught'?

Have had a couple of small things happen over the years - basically phones and bikes robbed. Reported them all but nobody ever caught, thankfully have never been a victim of a serious crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

We were on a night out about 10 years ago just standing around chatting in a bar.
    Out of the corner of my eye I saw a punch coming at me. I took it on the chin but thankfully there was no damage.
    I was lucky I saw it coming, could have fallen back, concussed and been injured badly. It happens.
    The guy who threw the punch and his friend then ran out of the bar like cowards.

Didn't bother following it up. This was a supposedly well to do place as well not a notably dodgy place either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

two cars robbed and disappeared off the face of the earth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I've been jumped twice (unprovoked) and had a bicycle stolen. Never reported it, didn't think there was any point.

Herself had two break-ins in the past few years (in the UK). Cops had absolutely no interest in it, citing "priorities". Friend of mine was mugged, held up by knifepoint a few months back. Again, cops couldn't care less. Same fukers are on Twitter non-stop painting their nails and wearing heels or whatever the latest diversity bs is, and if there's some celeb story? You can bet that there's plenty of resources for that.

This is the OP who spoke of getting a teenager drunk and having anal sex with her. Folks, think about your answers...

Why?

This is the OP who spoke of getting a teenager drunk and having anal sex with her. Folks, think about your answers...

Well... ****ing hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Mugged a few times. The worst time was when I was getting into my car and putting my seatbelt on in the South Circular Road in Dublin, and a fella jumped into the passengers seat beside me and pulled a screwdriver on me while another lad got into the back behind me and grabbed me in a headlock. Took quite a bit of money on me and ran off.

Gardai were nice about it but nothing came of it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I walked outside of a pub in temple bar one night about 10 years ago and was having a smoke , Some bloke walked up behind me and gave me an almighty punch in the face I didn't see it coming,
    It split my eye open,  I didn't hit the deck no idea to this day how I stayed standing and  I turned around there was just other people looking at me in shock , I shouted who the **** done that ? they pointed at a chap trying to hide in the crowd,
    I'd never seen him in my life, he started to shout at me saying " I told you I'd get you Dave " my name is NOT Dave, he then made another attempt to punch me but got tackled to the ground by my mate who had just walked out of the pub,
    I was lucky 2 Garda had seen the whole thing from a distance and where making there way over and arrested him, he kept refereeing to me as Dave I showed the guards my ID to prove im not Dave, they showed your man and he kept apologising to me,
    Strangely then my mate gave him a good dig, which was stupid with the Garda there, they arrested him
     I told the Garda I didn't want to press charges and I'd forget about it if they let my mate go which they did, They took the bloke to the station to calm down and that's the last I ever heard of it, I got 5 stitches for my troubles,

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Shed was broken into one day and my bike was taken.

I closed the shed door as best as I could and reported it to the Garda.

The next morning, the shed door was swinging open again, and the missus's bike was stolen.

I was an idiot for not securing it and locking the other bike after the initial break in :o

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

My car was broken into one night in town. When I came back to the car, I seen 3 Garda cars beside my car and the ar$e end of a Gard hanging out of the car and glass on the ground.

Gard: Your car has been broken into, can you identify this stuff
    *shows pictures and other stuff that were in the car*
    Boomer: Yep, they are mine alright
    Gard: Grand, we found them on the person who broke into your car
    Boomer: Deadly, how did you catch him?
    Gard: Well, he fell asleep in your car whilst robbing it, we found that stuff in his pockets