Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

:) Lol :)

I'm glad I didn't show the attachments :)

TbL

It's purely for medical purposes!!!

That’s what they all say :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Monday: planned rest day, got an early morning massage and left work at 3pm to get home ahead of the worst of the weather. Took the eye off the diet ball and retired to the couch with a bucket of chocolate and a multi bag of Rancheros! Had a chocolate hangover this morning :)

Tuesday: plan today called for 7 x 800 metres @ around 3.20 pace off 90 seconds jog recovery.
    Headed to Dangan to do this early this morning. Beautiful sunny morning, but I felt tired and sluggish and I needed a 2.2 mile warm up to feel in any shape to start the 800's.

Did the 800's on the track. Jogged all the recoveries but only took between 65-70 seconds as I wanted to start the 800's on the 200/start lines. When I saw this session on the weeks plan I thought that'd be a piece of piss but I found it harder than expected. Glad to have it out of the way as I'm travelling to Paris and won't get a chance to run tomorrow.

TbL

Wednesday: planned 5 miles easy, was in Paris all day and changed around Friday's planned rest day to today.

Thur: planned 5 miles easy. Met up with Ecoli outside Santry Park, I'd say it's over a year since he'd provided counselling/ran with me. I'd usually be apprehensive about one of his magical mystery tours as I never knew until we started what the session involved apart from a bucket of pain, but this time it was only easy miles and a catch up. He looks like he's aged a bit since I've seen him last, he now looks like he's legally eligible to vote :)

Great to catch up and we got 5.8 miles easy around the park @ 8.08.

I've also decided to put thoughts of doing a marathon in the next 9 months out of my head and concentrate on the shorter distances. Most of my shorter PB's are soft and I'm going to start targeting them and increase my racing frequency. I'm looking at doing a local 5k this weekend and I'd like to improve on the 20.40ish I did a few weeks ago and ideally go comfortably under 20.30. Want to try and hit 19.15 before the end of the year.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Nothing like aiming for a 5k PB by the end of year, sure 19.15 is well past your current one!!!! Jingle Bells 5k in December, you won't find a faster one in Ireland before the New Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

There is a good fast one ran by Duhallow AC in Newmarket Co Cork the week before christmas. Flat course and a deep enough field without having to trek to the big smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

ger664 wrote: »
    There is a good fast one ran by Duhallow AC in Newmarket Co Cork the week before christmas. Flat course and a deep enough field without having to trek to the big smoke.

Yeah but he'd have to go to Cork :D. You'd be very welcome in the big smoke for jingle bells, you'll know about 90% of the field although that might put you off rather than encourage you!

Tom Brennan Memorial on New Years Day is also a good one.

Friday: planned rest day but I taken an unplanned rest day on Wednesday as I was travelling with work so I just did Wednesdays planned 5 miles early in the morning. Had a S&C session at lunch time, first one in almost 3 weeks, so he eased me back in gently.

Sat: I had planned on doing a local 5k but it got cancelled because of the adverse weather. I texted coach suggesting a 3 mile tempo but he resurrected a session that I don't like: wu/cd with 6 x 1 mile @ 7.00-7.10, off decreasing recoveries 2.30, 2.00, 1.30, 1.00 & 30.

I got the gear on at 12 to do this but kept putting it off. (It was after 2 before I got out). It was blowing a mini gale out there and I decided I needed a quieter road to get this done so I headed up to Seanadh Pheistin, less cars but more exposed and it was really gusting up there.

The wind was very strong and it was causing my heels to occasionally clip together, at one stage a gust blew into my gaping mouth and my cheeks blew up causing me to look like a fat puffer fish. Wind made this very difficult and after .2 mile of the last rep the pace was 8.35!!!

Happy enough with the effort.

1. 7.11
    2. 7.03
    3. 7.05
    4. 7.13
    5. 7.09
    6. 7.15

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

That's a very solid session there C, fair play to you

Duanington wrote: »
    That's a very solid session there C, fair play to you

+1 to D's comment C, solid stuff in the weather that's reported at home.

Plan called for 10 miles easy.

Did this around local routes and eldest daughter cycled the first half with me. I was glad of the company as I was tired and sluggish despite getting in 10 hours decent kip last night.

Got just shy of 40 miles done this week and it was probably the best weeks training in months. Hoping for another solid week this week as work travel for November could be horrendous.

10 miles @ 8.52

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

Plan called for 10 miles easy.

Did this around local routes and eldest daughter cycled the first half with me. I was glad of the company as I was tired and sluggish despite getting in 10 hours decent kip last night.

Got just shy of 40 miles done this week and it was probably the best weeks training in months. Hoping for another solid week this week as work travel for November could be horrendous.

10 miles @ 8.52

TbL

10 hours kip.....living the dream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

healy1835 wrote: »
    10 hours kip.....living the dream!

I got 10 hours kip once. That was a great week. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

I was glad of the company as I was tired and sluggish despite getting in 10 hours decent kip last night.

Arguably the best part of your training week IMO, a few more of them coupled with the training at there will be no stopping you.

Monday: plan called for a rest day. I did a S&C session that concentrated on mobility as I've tight muscles in my back.

Tuesday: plan called for wu/cd with 5 x 3 mins @ 6.40 off 75 seconds, 3 mins recovery followed by 4 x 30 secs hard off 60 secs.

Did this in Dangan, took 2.2 miles again to warm up and then hit the track. Very wet on the track so I ran the 3 mins reps in the outer lanes. Watch showed I was doing these too fast but it's never accurate on the track so I just ran at a consistent decent clip. I decided to ignore the watch altogether for the 30 seconds stuff and just run 200 metres hard. Probably closer to 40 seconds but doing it point to point allowed me to focus on form and leg turnover (which were ****e anyway)!

Need to front load the training this week as I'm staying out past Leenaun for the long weekend.

Hoping to get a race done soon.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Monday: plan called for a rest day. I did a S&C session that concentrated on mobility as I've tight muscles in my back.

Tuesday: plan called for wu/cd with 5 x 3 mins @ 6.40 off 75 seconds, 3 mins recovery followed by 4 x 30 secs hard off 60 secs.

Did this in Dangan, took 2.2 miles again to warm up and then hit the track. Very wet on the track so I ran the 3 mins reps in the outer lanes. Watch showed I was doing these too fast but it's never accurate on the track so I just ran at a consistent decent clip. I decided to ignore the watch altogether for the 30 seconds stuff and just run 200 metres hard. Probably closer to 40 seconds but doing it point to point allowed me to focus on form and leg turnover (which were ****e anyway)!

Need to front load the training this week as I'm staying out past Leenaun for the long weekend.

Hoping to get a race done soon.

TbL

Clear reference to Valencia Marathon!! I like the way you think.

Wednesday: plan called for 5 miles easy.

given that I'm away for the weekend I brought forward my weekly 10 mile "long run" by a day.

Worked through lunch to get this done in the late afternoon around Dangan. I had planned on just plodding around and was doing 8.40 pace nice and handy when I met up with a fast lad I know at the end of mile one. The pace went up rapidly and after 3 miles I'd to make my excuses and let him off. The run ended up at steady pace and although not planned it was the longest and fastest I've run in over 4 months.

10 miles @ 7.37

Also did a S&C session focusing on mobility.

Thursday: swapped rest days and took today off after a late night day at work.

Did another S&C session that focused on core, felt like someone was taking a Stanley knife to my blubber!!

Friday: plan called for wu/cd with 2 x 90, 4 x 60, 4 x 30, 4 x 15 seconds hard, off equal recovery at steady pace.

Heading to Delphi for the weekend so I headed to Dangan. Got a short warm up done and hit the track for the faster stuff. Didn't like this session the last time I did it but thought I'd manage it handy enough. I'd planned to run at least 400 metres for the 90 seconds. Went through 400 metres around 88 seconds but although the legs felt ok the heart rate was very high and I was struggling. At this stage I should be able to manage a few 400's at that pace but I was buckled. I actually had to walk after the first 60 seconds rep. Found this very very hard and the paces kept slipping as I went through the reps. The only consolation was that I finished the session when my head was screaming at me to pull the plug. First session in a long time that I've had such an epic fail.

TbL

You sick(genuinely)?? Might be feeling under the weather somewhat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Wednesday: plan called for 5 miles easy.

given that I'm away for the weekend I brought forward my weekly 10 mile "long run" by a day.

Worked through lunch to get this done in the late afternoon around Dangan. I had planned on just plodding around and was doing 8.40 pace nice and handy when I met up with a fast lad I know at the end of mile one. The pace went up rapidly and after 3 miles I'd to make my excuses and let him off. The run ended up at steady pace and although not planned it was the longest and fastest I've run in over 4 months.

10 miles @ 7.37

Also did a S&C session focusing on mobility.

Thursday: swapped rest days and took today off after a late night day at work.

Did another S&C session that focused on core, felt like someone was taking a Stanley knife to my blubber!!

Friday: plan called for wu/cd with 2 x 90, 4 x 60, 4 x 30, 4 x 15 seconds hard, off equal recovery at steady pace.

Heading to Delphi for the weekend so I headed to Dangan. Got a short warm up done and hit the track for the faster stuff. Didn't like this session the last time I did it but thought I'd manage it handy enough. I'd planned to run at least 400 metres for the 90 seconds. Went through 400 metres around 88 seconds but although the legs felt ok the heart rate was very high and I was struggling. At this stage I should be able to manage a few 400's at that pace but I was buckled. I actually had to walk after the first 60 seconds rep. Found this very very hard and the paces kept slipping as I went through the reps. The only consolation was that I finished the session when my head was screaming at me to pull the plug. First session in a long time that I've had such an epic fail.

TbL

Check back on your emails horse ;)
    Overall you are working for 20 min and don't underestimate the session its a tough one. Err on side of caution in the hard efforts and keep honest on the recover sections. Focus is on not letting the body really recovery so HR is high throughout the session so I really want you to avoid overcooking in the early stages

Fair play on gritting it out man, no harm having the odd session you just forget the splits and grit out. Will stand to you when you have to dig deep in races as it's a hurt that is hard to replicate in training too often.

So despite feeling like crap, you completed the session? No failure there C....there are times when you need to just forget the splits\watch and finish it out, those are worth their weight in gold over time - mentally its a big victory when every fibre in your body is telling you to walk away and open the skittles

For what its worth, I'm forever underestimating those shorter sessions, as Murph often reminds me though, they hurt harder, just for less time

A really crappy few days on the running front. Tang may have been right, in that I had a touch of sore throat and chesty cough for a few days. It was minor enough but I was feeling sorry for myself and didn't run all weekend. We were out in Delphi and I got their bog challenge done. I slipped and slid through a combination of Connemara peat, sheep **** and lake water with all the grace and elegance of a castrated hippo!

Was in London Tuesday and Wednesday with work and again no running. The week was turning into a disaster so I decided to do yesterday's missed session today.

Ideal running conditions today, cool, crisp and no wind. The plan called for wu/cd with 3x3 minutes @ 6.40 pace, 8 minutes @ 7.20, and 3x3 mins @ 6.40 all off 90 seconds recovery.

Took a while to get going but I managed to do the reps under the guide pace. I'm going to Stoke with the young lad this weekend so I'll just have to write it off as a crap week and move on.

Don't think I'll run the Waterford half now as I'm still not in shape and I'd wanted to go sub 1.35 if I was doing it. I'll decide in a week or two and happy to transfer my entry if not doing it.

Lots of Log catching up to do after the DCM exploits.

TbL

Just leave this here...........

Friday: got an early morning 5 mile nursing home special done around a local route. Slow, laboured and uninspiring.

Saturday: travelled on Friday evening with the young lad to see the Stoke/Leicester match so no opportunity to run.

Sunday: plan called for a raced 8k and I'd earmarked the Corofin 8k for this. Nearly decided to can this as I'd a terrible week and wasn't really motivated. In the end my daughter wanted to do it with me so we headed down together. Very well organised race with just under 200 running. Wasn't sure at all what to target here but I wanted to come in under the 6.43 average pace from the 10k two weeks ago.

Ran the first km with a friend of mine in around 6.30 pace but I didn't feel great so eased it back slightly. I'd set the watch to average pace and after 3k I was at 6.34 average pace. I was managing it ok and tried to pick it up a bit but by kilometre 5 the demons appeared and I was struggling (slow down, you've had a tough week, jog it in with my daughter) and the watch showed 6.33 average pace so I was treading water. There were a few long straights and I could see 3 runners in front of me and just tried to keep up with them. Passed one and then another at 7k but he responded and picked it up himself. Was really struggling here and in the past I would have meekly let him take me (calm down Tang :)) but I kept pushing and managed to hold him off.

Finished with watch showing average pace of 6.30 and clock time of 32.42.

Not a great time but it's almost 2.5 mins faster than the Steets of Galway 8k in August and I didn't give up.

Hopefully another step on the road back.

TbL

Was really struggling here and in the past I would have meekly let him take me (calm down Tang :))

TbL

Tart, gave up no fight, just like OUR day on the Royal Canal!!!Well done, dug in and gave your all on the day, can't do anymore than than that C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Finished with watch showing average pace of 6.30 and clock time of 32.42.

Not a great time but it's almost 2.5 mins faster than the Steets of Galway 8k in August and I didn't give up.

Hopefully another step on the road back.

TbL

Definitely another step on the road back and don't underestimate all the smaller steps, that add up to one giant big step!!! Keep it up.:D

"there are times when you need to just forget the splits\watch and finish it out, those are worth their weight in gold over time - mentally its a big victory when every fibre in your body is telling you to walk away and open the skittles"

helped in no doubt by the mental toughness you're gaining from finishing tougher than expected sessions !
    The demons arrived and yet you pushed ahead, that really is progress C, well done, great to see it

Last couple of days at work have been manic to say the least. Headed to London on an early flight Monday morning and traveled to Iceland arriving early hours of Tuesday morning. Less than 12 hours in Iceland and then back to Galway via London and Shannon! Monday was a rest day and Tuesday had 5 miles easy but I got no chance to run.

Wednesday: plan called for wu/cd with 7 x 1 mile @ 7.15 pace off decreasing recoveries (3,2.5,2,1.5,1,0.5 mins)

I've done this session twice before with 5 and 6 reps and struggled with it so I was a bit wary as I headed out for my warm up along the trails in Dangan. I did the mile reps on along the riverbank in pretty miserable weather. The first one was the hardest but after that it got, I won't say easy, but comfortable. I felt relaxed and in control and could have buried the reps but I've come to the belated realisation that I need to be burying the pace at races and not in sessions, although I still couldn't resist a faster last rep. (Still an auld dog)! Even the shortening recoveries didn't seem to make the effort level hard and I could have probably run the 7 miles at 7.15 pace without killing myself.

I suppose this is the benefit of structured training in that the same session over a lower number of reps a couple of weeks ago had me buckled!

Great feeling of satisfaction finishing that session and I think I might have actually enjoyed it!

Hoping to run a 5k in 20.15 range this weekend.

TbL

You'd surely manage a 5k in 20hrs 15mins C, even you should be able to do that........ Or is the 20.15 the pace per mile your planning on running it..........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Last couple of days at work have been manic to say the least. Headed to London on an early flight Monday morning and traveled to Iceland arriving early hours of Tuesday morning. Less than 12 hours in Iceland and then back to Galway via London and Shannon! Monday was a rest day and Tuesday had 5 miles easy but I got no chance to run.

Wednesday: plan called for wu/cd with 7 x 1 mile @ 7.15 pace off decreasing recoveries (3,2.5,2,1.5,1,0.5 mins)

I've done this session twice before with 5 and 6 reps and struggled with it so I was a bit wary as I headed out for my warm up along the trails in Dangan. I did the mile reps on along the riverbank in pretty miserable weather. The first one was the hardest but after that it got, I won't say easy, but comfortable. I felt relaxed and in control and could have buried the reps but I've come to the belated realisation that I need to be burying the pace at races and not in sessions, although I still couldn't resist a faster last rep. (Still an auld dog)! Even the shortening recoveries didn't seem to make the effort level hard and I could have probably run the 7 miles at 7.15 pace without killing myself.

I suppose this is the benefit of structured training in that the same session over a lower number of reps a couple of weeks ago had me buckled!

Great feeling of satisfaction finishing that session and I think I might have actually enjoyed it!

TbL

Usually a crew doing sessions at 12.30 Tuesday and Friday in Dangan , maybe not quite that volume ,but you should join if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lukeeman

20.15 would be a backward step from your race on Sunday
    Realistically you should be aiming for a sub 19.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

lukeeman wrote: »

20.15 would be a backward step from your race on Sunday
    Realistically you should be aiming for a sub 19.50.

Quit talking to yourself, it’s weird.