So this Hurricane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

All Tesco and Supermac's outlets have closed for the remainder of the day due to #Ophelia
    [/I]

Supermacs is closed!?

I predict outbreaks of cannibalism nationwide by 5.30 at the latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Lidl Clonmel!

22498849_1693140557385831_2720661279566836073_o.jpg?oh=f590f041b208be4303ab59656b979490&oe=5A74FF12

22491962_1693140624052491_424785359164296354_n.jpg?oh=5a472d166aa04df74bd2906850907bd5&oe=5A3B6E7D

Are they doing a special on abestos ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Lidl Clonmel!
    What is that yellow stuff??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 96,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

https://www.esb.ie/esb-networks/powercheck/

About two hours ago the outages were confined to the south , Munster, Waterford.

Now all the way up to Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

Hurricane needs to stay off land to survive - looks like it is heading away from the coastline .........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

CAN EVERYONE PLEASE STOP BICKERING. THIS ISN'T A TIME FOR INTERNET WAR, THIS IS A TIME FOR EVERYONE TO BAND TOGETHER AND GET THROUGH THIS. INCLUDING THE TROLLS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's unbelievable that there are people walking in this. I just saw four young lads walking past my window a few minutes ago with the most gormless looking grins on their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Anyone else getting a load of connection errors from Boards? 503s and neverending cloud flare checks?

https://twitter.com/boards/status/919908978586505216

diomed wrote: »
    I went into the back garden here in Stillorgan to rearrange the stuff that had blown around.
    The little birds in the bushes were having a right discussion about the wind.

Get that inside, seriously. If it's anything at all heavy it could come flying in through the window and today is not the day to have a smashed window. If it can rip the roof off a gym or stadium and send it flying, there is nothing in your garden it can't send flying toward the house at 50+ kmph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,548 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Making an educated guess roof insulation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Making an educated guess roof insulation!

Yup looks like a DIY builders providers yard next door. No structural failure at yet another superbly designed LIDL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,879 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

CAN EVERYONE PLEASE STOP BICKERING. THIS ISN'T A TIME FOR INTERNET WAR, THIS IS A TIME FOR EVERYONE TO BAND TOGETHER AND GET THROUGH THIS. INCLUDING THE TROLLS.

How can bickering on the internet or even banding togeher on the internet have any impact whatsoever?

Also, why are you shouting?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

I picked worms earlier in this weather, great protein, just freeze them. Make the most of this weather folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,852 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Gusting quite bad now in North Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,563 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Serious amount on the site overall at the moment pretty heavy on the servers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Great the power just went out here…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Agh the roof of my shed is after lifting. Bollox anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

A length of our UPVC (sp?) guttering has just come off.

Limerick city (ish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I have some custom wind chimes I made from old butcher knives hanging around the garden. Should I take these in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Billy86 wrote: »
    Get that inside, seriously. If it's anything at all heavy it could come flying in through the window and today is not the day to have a smashed window. If it can rip the roof off a gym or stadium and send it flying, there is nothing in your garden it can't send flying toward the house at 50+ kmph.
    Just a wheelie bin that I had put on its side yesterday had rolled a few yards.
    Everything is in a corner bounded on three sides by high walls and held in by heavy stuff. As much as possible was brought indoors.

I picked worms earlier in this weather, great protein, just freeze them. Make the most of this weather folks.

You're in the north right? It hasn't hit you lot up there yet. 'This weather' is not the storm, it's barely even got to Dublin yet just some noticeable swirling winds (and I'm the other side of the mountain from Wicklow so on the southern edge). If you had tried that in Munster you'd be running the risk of literally having a whole roof fall on your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Don't mean to be pedantic but this isn't a hurricane. It's a storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

Haven't read the whole thread so maybe its already been mentioned but there was a couple of kite surfers rescued off the east coast by the coast guards.....what a shower of muppets given the warnings etc. Maybe it seemed fine at the time but who does that?? Not only did they put their own lives at risk, but they risked the lives of the coast guards too...hopefully they'll have to pay for the rescue...probably some hipster kids looking for something new to post on snapchat or whatever the kids are into these days.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Berserker wrote: »
    Don't mean to be pedantic but this isn't a hurricane. It's a storm.

It's an ex-hurricane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I live less than five minutes away from the school that had its roof blown off. My phone signal and internet connection is pretty bad. Send me smoke signals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Wind really picking up here in Dublin now. I find it worrying that so many people are still unable or unwilling to take this seriously.

Lads you don’t get red weather warning issued for nothing. One poor woman has already lost her life. It can’t be that hard to keep away from the coast and off the road for a few hours.

And as for those fools out swimming and kite surfing - how selfish and idiotic can you get? It’s not just yourselves you’re putting in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,682 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Ok, enough of this.

I live less than five minutes away from the school that had its roof blown off. My phone signal and internet connection is pretty bad. Send me smoke signals!

Smoke signals? In this wind!? :pac: