Hyundai Ioniq 28kWh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Mope

If to believe manual 15k service is when they inspect everything and rotate tires. The later is the only thing I am mostly interested for even tire wear.
    Also, wipers? Not sure how are yours guys, but mine leaves lines of water. Cleaned them a good few times with no visible improvements.
    Tire rotation is free, wipers, however most likely will cost. Thinking maybe just replacing them myself with some Bosch or Champion

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Mope wrote: »
    If to believe manual 15k service is when they inspect everything and rotate tires. The later is the only thing I am mostly interested for even tire wear.
    Also, wipers? Not sure how are yours guys, but mine leaves lines of water. Cleaned them a good few times with no visible improvements.
    Tire rotation is free, wipers, however most likely will cost. Thinking maybe just replacing them myself with some Bosch or Champion

That's funny, the wipers are one thing that are bad quality on ours too with the same problem leaving streaks of water as they wipe. It's annoying especially with the amouint of rain over the past month and in another car you'd think the blades had just worn out - but these are brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,766 ✭✭✭✭unkel

cros13 wrote: »
    Once the warranty is out of course you can just do the brake fluid and air filter yourself

5 year full warranty on our cars :D

After the 5 years, if you do an annual 30k km like Mope, it would be pretty silly to replace your pollen filter and brake fluid every year imho.

And even within warranty, my main concern about a dealer service is a software update rather than anything else. The car does have bugs that hopefully will be sorted out. The most annoying of course is that drive mode settings and charging settings regularly get set back to defaults. Personally I don't even really care about map updates as the nav software is always going to be inferior / out of date compared with dedicated packages or even Google Maps.

Anyone contact their dealer yet about the recall? I believe some UK dealers have confirmed it will be done, but are waiting until sometime next month until they receive the necessary parts.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Falcon L

cros13 wrote: »

Don't know what's going on with the 2018 Ioniq. I'll see if I can find out tomorrow.

Any information floating out there about Ioniq supply? :o

unkel, what recall?
    Looks like my annual will be circa 30k defo
    As for Map - do not care as well, although tweaks for Software are welcome if any. Is there any known new version of Software for a car?
    btw, just a random Tip (maybe someone does not know): You can turn of Automatic Demister by holding the button for "windshield demist" for circa 5 sec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Falcon L

Falcon L wrote: »

Ouch, sounds serious... Any of our dealers talk about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭jeremy_g

I wonder if you have seen the same. the battery is 28kWh and I charged at Stillorgan Park and Ride Fast DC from 29% to 94%, that is 65% battery capacity charge that would be 18.2 kWh. At the end of the session the chargepoint told me I have just charged up to 94% and 21.8 kWh... that is almost 3kWh... does it mean about 80% efficiency? Am I missing something?

I am not worried now, while is free, but when I'll need to pay I might be upset about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

jeremy_g wrote: »
    I wonder if you have seen the same. the battery is 28kWh and I charged at Stillorgan Park and Ride Fast DC from 29% to 94%, that is 65% battery capacity charge that would be 18.2 kWh. At the end of the session the chargepoint told me I have just charged up to 94% and 21.8 kWh... that is almost 3kWh... does it mean about 80% efficiency? Am I missing something?

I am not worried now, while is free, but when I'll need to pay I might be upset about this.

Due to the hidden percentages the displayed "SOC" percentage in the car is not the same as the actual state of charge. EG generally in a leaf when it displays "100%" it can be as low as 93. And a 0% display can equal as much as 5

it makes sense now. Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Any news on the Plug-in Hybrid version being released in Ireland? Only 2 months left in the year and the Hyundai website still says coming in 2017. I can't find anything online here for it but apparently it is available in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Ballylad

Hi, In trouble again, I plugged car in for charge this morning, in rushing, i left car on, closed door, now key fob will not open door, any ideas how to unlock? thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭thelikelylad

Ballylad wrote: »
    Hi, In trouble again, I plugged car in for charge this morning, in rushing, i left car on, closed door, now key fob will not open door, any ideas how to unlock? thanks!

Weird. Any luck with the physical key?

I think the lock is underneath the door handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭fred432

Lads,
    Are ye related as well! Any luck? Was it at a home charger or fcp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Ballylad

Hi it was at work slow charger (3kw), could not get plastic cover off lock, probably need something like needle, luckily boot opened so got in through back, charger then would not release so pulled emergency release cable in boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭fred432

I never had that but often had issues at the chargers where you use your own cable, where the unlocking and locking of doors turned off the charging. Someone had said something way back about the firmware on those but any of them that I have been at have been updated and turned off and on so many times (with me swinging off the cable trying to get it out) Actually the one in Lahinch hasn't been fixed since July!! Did you try pulling the charging cable out before you tried opening the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Macker

Hi, I've decided to wait till January to take delivery, for the sake of a couple of months I'll wait for the 181 reg, when can I apply for the free charger and RFID card, ESB registration site is asking for a reg number which I obviously don't have yet, does this mean I have to wait and will I qualify if the ESB stop giving out free chargers at the end of the year.

as far as I remember they require you to produce a copy of the registration certificate, a copy of the purchase contract and a copy of a recent utilities bill, so just the reg number is not enough. good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Macker

jeremy_g wrote: »
    as far as I remember they require you to produce a copy of the registration certificate, a copy of the purchase contract and a copy of a recent utilities bill, so just the reg number is not enough. good luck!
    Just got this email from the dealer. Does this mean I can apply when the grant is in place and I produce the dealers code which I have.

. I have just received an email from SEAI to say the free charging point will end this year. So my advice is to get onto the asap if possible. Next year will be a grant towards the cost which doesn't look like it will cover the full cost.

Later on today I will fill in the application online for you to get the SEAI grant in place for the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 fitz213

Which type public charge points can the Ioniq charge at?

All public charge points except fast chargers with CHAdeMo only

Saw an Ioniq 172D coming out of the estate opposite my own (off Griffeen Glen) in Lucan. It went to the local FCP but didn't charge. At the local FCP there was another white Ioniq 171G about to charge. Either one anyone in here?

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,451 ✭✭✭KCross

fitz213 wrote: »
    Which type public charge points can the Ioniq charge at?

CCS and Type 2 charge points on this map..
    https://www.esb.ie/our-businesses/ecars/charge-point-map

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭alangeorge

A charging unit is fitted at your home but was told by hyundai dealer it will cost about 10 euro out here to fully charge your car and a fully hybrid car coming out next year

Macker wrote: »
    Just got this email from the dealer. Does this mean I can apply when the grant is in place and I produce the dealers code which I have.

. I have just received an email from SEAI to say the free charging point will end this year. So my advice is to get onto the asap if possible. Next year will be a grant towards the cost which doesn't look like it will cover the full cost.

Later on today I will fill in the application online for you to get the SEAI grant in place for the vehicle.

Sorry, didn't apply myself for the home charge point, I live in an apartment... the above is for the RFID Card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭macnab

alangeorge wrote: »
    A charging unit is fitted at your home but was told by hyundai dealer it will cost about 10 euro out here to fully charge your car and a fully hybrid car coming out next year

A car with a 28kw battery pack will cost about €4 to fill from almost empty at 16c per kwh.
    On night rate that would be reduced to €2.
    Im my case I commute 100km per day so I only use 50% of the available battery energy. It costs me about €2 per day, which would be €1 per day on night rate electricity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 940 ✭✭✭thierry14

Even on the most expensive electric package it wouldn't be more than 6e

20c a unit x 28Kwh ioniq battery is 5.60e

5.60e for 200km driving is brilliant compared to diesel or petrol

Shrewd people will have night rate @ 8 cent a unit

8x 28, 2.24e for 200km

Limerick to Dublin for 2.24e, thats amazing tbf

6.65c is the cheapest night rate. So about €2 if the battery is completely empty, allowing for charging inefficiencies of about 10%

Or completely free day or night if you sign up with Just Energy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭ewj1978

whats with the just energy? i thought it was dodgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

is there any chance we can start naming and shaming these idiots. Hyundai need to know that these thick dealers are doing both Hyundai and the EV community a complete disservice with this idiocy. Are these salespeople getting any kind of training at all?

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

ewj1978 wrote: »
    whats with the just energy? i thought it was dodgy

See my thread

Linky

Summary: prove how much kWh you have used over the past 12 months and they will offer you a fixed price for the year (pretty competitive at that, for me it was about €30 more for the year compared to the cheapest provider Energia)

You can use as much kWh as you want (but have to stay below 10000kWh)