Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Petition to impeach pro life UCD SU President...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

But none of that is to say someone should be penalised for obeying the law in a country.

I'm going to repeat this because it's not getting through, apparently. It's not about breaking or obeying the law.

There is a difference between:

A) "Someone pointed out that information in the handbooks is illegal, so I sought legal advice, here is the legal advice, let's sit down as the SU board to discuss it. I made a commitment to defer on issues involving abortion and I don't want people to think this is because of my personal beliefs, I genuinely think this is just a legal issue, so let's make a joint decision. I know you want to proceed anyway, but the advice warns I could be in trouble too as head of the SU even if I don't hand out the books myself and I don't want to risk any potential legal trouble, so I think we should not do this."

and

B) "Someone pointed out that information in the handbooks is illegal, so I sought legal advice. No you can't see it, it just says we can't do this because it's illegal. I am in charge and making this executive decision without your input. The end."

Had she done the former, there would be no issue now. She did the latter.

If she had done the former and this impeachment referendum still happened, I would have sympathy for her. She did not. The optics are absolutely terrible for her that her personal bias played no part.

Katie Ascough was democratically elected as president of UCDSU. UCD students have now exercised their right, also democratically, to try to impeach her for a perceived wrongdoing.

It's not bullying to hold this referendum. It's part of the SU constitution. 1,200 students signed the petition because they feel Katie Ascough is not fit to be president of the SU. That mechanism has existed for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,907 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

RobertKK wrote: »
    The reason for law is to provide a civilised society and penalty if not followed.

Yet this information has been published for years and I don't see us cracking each others skulls open to feast on the goo inside. The country isn't any less civilised because of that information.
    It is amazing that yesterday people were crying over the €7,000 it cost to reprint the books, but think it was right to turn a bling eye to the law and leave the SU at risk of far higher costs from both fines and legal costs.

The fact is that unions all across the country have been doing this for years and the last time anyone was charged it was in the 80's (Maybe 90's).
    Going after the SU is not something the DPP or Gardai are ever going to do. There's no reason to expect them to any time soon. Technically there's a risk but the risk is so incredibly small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Jayop wrote: »
    Why not go get legal advice to suit your already preconceived idea of whether it's right or not and to suit your clear agenda?

One can't give abortion information unsolicited.
    One can't remove a clamp that has been placed by a company or whoever with a legal backing to place a clamp.
    One can remove a clamp if not done by a company with legal backing to place clamps on cars, because the person doing the clamping in that case would be acting illegally, meaning you could remove the clamp without consequence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I was being facetious. Thought that was obvious enough.

Maybe answer my last question.

Grayson wrote: »
    Yet this information has been published for years and I don't see us cracking each others skulls open to feast on the goo inside. The country isn't any less civilised because of that information.

The fact is that unions all across the country have been doing this for years and the last time anyone was charged it was in the 80's (Maybe 90's).
    Going after the SU is not something the DPP or Gardai are ever going to do. There's no reason to expect them to any time soon. Technically there's a risk but the risk is so incredibly small.

Isn't it great that UCD have someone who actually did their job well in this case?

A member of the public could have made a complaint if they saw it and the Gardai would have been forced to investigate it.
    I think it is crazy that some think leaving the SU in the possibility to be exposed to large fines and legal costs was the better option.

We live in a democracy, we use that democracy to change laws.

It was a democratic decision that made homosexual acts legal in this country. We did not abandon laws and turn to anarchy to change the laws.

She's being democratically removed.

I was being facetious. Thought that was obvious enough.

Maybe answer my last question.

What is my agenda?

The argument in this thread is like saying one is a United fan, but it is fine if Liverpool scored 3 clear offside goals on Saturday as rules are there to be broken.
    I don't think so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

If this was a big issue for her then why wait until she was president to do anything about it!?

How long has she been a student there and kept quiet, not a peep from her over the last few years (and I am including her other self Katy Martins)

Surely it was her civic duty to report this law breaking while she was a student there?

Would you agree?
    Isn't it great that UCD have someone who actually did their job well in this case?

A member of the public could have made a complaint if they saw it and the Gardai would have been forced to investigate it.
    I think it is crazy that some think leaving the SU in the possibility to be exposed to large fines and legal costs was the better option.

She's being democratically removed.

It is a bit like Brexit, they voted for it but after the vote they find the facts are different.
    If they impeach her now, it will show it was agenda based and not on the actual case, and will not be good for the Repeal the 8th people.

frag420 wrote: »
    If this was a big issue for her then why wait until she was president to do anything about it!?

How long has she been a student there and kept quiet, not a peep from her over the last few years (and I am including her other self Katy Martins)

Surely it was her civic duty to report this law breaking while she was a student there?

Would you agree?

I don't know how long she knew, or how long the process took.
    At the end of the day she closed off an illegality, and one could ask why previous presidents left the SU open to the possibility of legal action.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It is a bit like Brexit, they voted for it but after the vote they find the facts are different.
    If they impeach her now, it will show it was agenda based and not on the actual case, and will not be good for the Repeal the 8th people.

You really think that the removal of this lady from her position will have an effect on the referendum? Really now Robert? I know you're more intelligent than that.

The reason people will impeach her if they do (they will) is because she was dishonest about her mandate and proved that at the first opportunity. Another case of people in and associated with the IONA institute lying and spreading misinformation to the public to further their agenda.

The more times this happens the more times that IONA's influence is weakened, the btter it will be for the repealers.

Nice of you to be so concerned about the wellbeing of the repeal the 8th people though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I just think your reading of who is dishonest and who is not is operating like a broken radar.

The abortion information thing had nothing to do with repeal the 8th, and abortion information was not removed in the republished book, but was done in a way that was legal.
    So all she was doing was dealing with a illegality in this case, which was on legal advice.
    She did not nothing that removed abortion information, just made it legal. One might say doing a job her predecessors hadn't done properly by all accounts if they hadn't fixed it to make it legal.
    If a prochoice president had done this, there would be no work over it.
    Abortion information has to do with abortion, and she was mandated to defer issues on the 8th and on pro choice/pro life matters to others which she literally did the opposite of.

A pro choice president would not have done it, which is pretty much the point of the whole thing. None of the other members of the SU would have done it, which is why the all opposed her on it - that's a really weak straw man.

If it had anything to do with protecting students from incriminating themselves, she would not be giving out advise on how to break car clamps in the same publication. If it had to do with her being worried about incriminating herself, then she had every right to step down. Not only did refuse to do that, but she very deliberately fail to fulfill her promised mandate, which the acceptance of the second petition to impeach shows was a poor move.

pilly wrote: »
    You really think that the removal of this lady from her position will have an effect on the referendum? Really now Robert? I know you're more intelligent than that.

I think it might have a slight impact in showing IONA up to be the absolute pile of lying garbage they are.

So you think she just found out when she became president?

Would you agree that if she knew prior to becoming union President that it was her civic duty to report it? Yes or no?
    I don't know how long she knew, or how long the process took.
    At the end of the day she closed off an illegality, and one could ask why previous presidents left the SU open to the possibility of legal action.

So from an ethical point of view what they did was ok and from a legal point of view there's feck all risk.
    And as you said they would have been aware of the risk and still willing to go ahead with it, but apparently adults are not allowed to make decisions for themselves on issues where they had an agreement to be allowed to make decisions for themselves.

Ah here. Murder, rape and now pedophilia??

Maybe throw in genocide and anything else that pops into your head too. :rolleyes:

Oh I know. But you were being very selective in your parsing of which laws you think one can break with impunity, so obviously you went for the "nice" ones, after all who likes Apartheid or homophobia.

I was merely pointing out that the same logic applies to much darker stuff - application of the law is not really based on some popularity test.

True. Some crazies will even say that paedophilia should be allowed.

But none of that is to say someone should be penalised for obeying the law in a country.
    But they should be punished for breaking the rules they agreed to, e.g. to defer these matters to the rest of the SU and not get involved on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

But every previous Union for years had the same advice and still printed it. Also the cost of reprinting was more than the cost of a fine. She also said before she was elected that she wouldn't change the union's pro choice stance.

So she lied about what she'd do and then spent the limited money the SU has to avoid a potential fine. A Fine that no SU has has to pay before and a fine that had not been levied. And she spent more money than the non existent fine would be.

That's grounds for impeachment.

A politician then :P

I'm going to repeat this because it's not getting through, apparently. It's not about breaking or obeying the law.

There is a difference between:

A) "Someone pointed out that information in the handbooks is illegal, so I sought legal advice, here is the legal advice, let's sit down as the SU board to discuss it. I made a commitment to defer on issues involving abortion and I don't want people to think this is because of my personal beliefs, I genuinely think this is just a legal issue, so let's make a joint decision. I know you want to proceed anyway, but the advice warns I could be in trouble too as head of the SU even if I don't hand out the books myself and I don't want to risk any potential legal trouble, so I think we should not do this."

and

B) "Someone pointed out that information in the handbooks is illegal, so I sought legal advice. No you can't see it, it just says we can't do this because it's illegal. I am in charge and making this executive decision without your input. The end."

Had she done the former, there would be no issue now. She did the latter.

I suspect there would very much have been an issue. Anyway, we'll have to agree to disagree about your conjecture...even if you insist that your guesswork about what may have happened should get really through to people...:D

pilly wrote: »

Little things add up. Over on the Journal, she is getting a lot of support for following legal advice, I think some pro-choice have read this situation wrong.
    It is going to be viewed by many as someone who did their job properly being removed because of her personal views, rather than doing the wrong thing.
    That is the problem that some refuse to see.
    It will be better for the repeal side if the impeachment fails.

Billy86 wrote: »
    But they should be punished for breaking the rules they agreed to, e.g. to defer these matters to the rest of the SU and not get involved on them.

I think I asked 3 or 4 times for an exact description of what she agreed to do.

A lot of posters who seem to know say she agreed not to change the SU position. Which is not one and the same.

It may have been answered already, but is there a link to her promise in this regard?

Billy86 wrote: »
    Abortion information has to do with abortion, and she was mandated to defer issues on the 8th and on pro choice/pro life matters to others which she literally did the opposite of.

A pro choice president would not have done it, which is pretty much the point of the whole thing. None of the other members of the SU would have done it, which is why the all opposed her on it - that's a really weak straw man.

If it had anything to do with protecting students from incriminating themselves, she would not be giving out advise on how to break car clamps in the same publication. If it had to do with her being worried about incriminating herself, then she had every right to step down. Not only did refuse to do that, but she very deliberately fail to fulfill her promised mandate, which the acceptance of the second petition to impeach shows was a poor move.

Was she to defer on having the SU operate within the law?

Seems it's not the only time she's broken her promise...allegedly
    The University Times three weeks ago, surrounded the reprinting of the freshers’ guide was Ascough’s attempt at preventing Murphy from “recruiting pro-choice” class reps despite a post on their Facebook page appealing for class reps interested in certain campaign issues.

http://www.universitytimes.ie/2017/10/ucdsu-officers-voted-to-curtail-ascoughs-abortion-issues-role/?doing_wp_cron=1507820403.0464549064636230468750

What facts are different given UCD have apparently been publishing this information for years before a) voting for a pro choice and repeal stance and b) electing a known pro lifer who had promised to stay clear of such issues herself?

Well ok, we know fact b) turned out different as she lied. But otherwise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Was she to defer on having the SU operate within the law?

This intentionally acting dumb lark, its getting boring.

Oh I know. But you were being very selective in your parsing of which laws you think one can break with impunity, so obviously you went for the "nice" ones, after all who likes Apartheid or homophobia.

I was merely pointing out that the same logic applies to much darker stuff - application of the law is not really based on some popularity test.

Yes, I believe in a civil society it is right to break unjust laws, and comparing breaking laws outlawing homosexuality for example it to someone who's a pedophile is quite disgusting, but an age old tactic of people of that ilk.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/dup-minister-jim-wells-quits-after-gay-abuse-comments-controversy-31173893.html

You know when you're making similar comparisons to Jim ****ing Wells you're on the wrong side of a debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,907 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's been in the booklet for years and no-one batted an eyelid. The same with loads of other Student Unions. There was feck all risk.

If someone had made a complaint and it looked like they might be fined, that's one thing but no-one cared. Except katie.

Yes, I believe in a civil society it is right to break unjust laws, and comparing breaking laws outlawing homosexuality for example it to someone who's a pedophile is quite disgusting, but an age old tactic of people of that ilk.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/dup-minister-jim-wells-quits-after-gay-abuse-comments-controversy-31173893.html

You know when you're making similar comparisons to Jim ****ing Wells you're on the wrong side of a debate.

Hmmmm, I was obviously referring to whether laws were considered "nice" or not.

I see you've jumped to saying I am now equating homosexuality with paedophilia in a moral sense!

I think the only response is laughter at just how het up you are...:D Anyway, let's try not to bring in the Orange Order and get back to UCD SU.

Apologies Robert if you missed the below question I asked you earlier, here it is again...I have even bolded the main bit for you!!
    frag420 wrote: »
    So you think she just found out when she became president?

Would you agree that if she knew prior to becoming union President that it was her civic duty to report it? Yes or no?