The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

that gunk is the worst. Every time I see it I then realise I've a hole in my glove and it'll take an hour to clean my hands properly after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well it wasn't today, but last week.

I wouldn't ride a bike without 'em.

430146.jpg

Done a few other jobs recently, I'll get photos up later, but on my sons ER6n.

Fitted a full Delkevic system, but it was a little loud for him so he kept the down pipes on and took a chance on buying a Chinese (hence 'fake) 'Akrapovic' can for €50.. We kinda thought 'feck it, its cheap so take a chance.

Well the engineering on the Chinese can is amazing, and sounds brilliant too.

So we've a new'ish (kept it on for two weeks) Delkevic 220 (51mm) can, no link pipes for sale (PM me if you're interested).

Also, if anyone is stuck for an learners bib we've one here (free of course) but you'd have to collect it in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Being having a intermittent issue with my Zzr with over 6 months.
    I first noticed it when it stalled one day while idling.
    Then another day it cut out pulling up to a junction.
    Bike is grand most of the time but I said I'd investigate further.
    The bike is custom tuned so I connected it to the laptop to see what's going on.

So the figures with are all over the place.
    I'm not sure if the map got corrupted or what.
    See the figures in the first column down.
    Should be 0's I think.
    IMG_20171008_155715.jpg

IMG_20171008_160912_01.jpg

So I got a map off the power commander website that was a similar set up my bike and installed it and this is what I have now.
    See the difference in especially the first few columns.

IMG_20171009_162150.jpg

IMG_20171009_162231.jpg

I also reset the TPS.

Next job is front wheel bearings which I'm waiting to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Shelled out a few quid for some bazzaz goodies and some race bodywork.
    Starting to hatch a plan for next year.

blade1 wrote: »

Next job is front wheel bearings which I'm waiting to arrive.

My Koyo bearings arrived.
    Cool little kit.
    Now,into the freezer they go until fitting tomorrow.

IMG_20171010_152640.jpg

Ended up doing the bearings as I couldn't wait until tomorrow.
    Out with the old
    IMG_20171010_173511.jpg

In with the new
    IMG_20171010_174536.jpg

The start of something totally unique.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Put a new D.I.D chain on the SV over the weekend. Loving the gold on silver.

erTqNwi.jpg?1

Was that pic with it tensioned? it looks a bit slack to me still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Was that pic with it tensioned? it looks a bit slack to me still.

Fcuk me thats slacker than Alice...are the tensioners missing too...???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭johnmolly92

Fcuk me thats slacker than Alice...are the tensioners missing too...???

Inch and a half of play from the mid point right?

yeah about that much play john from the tightest spot on the chain

just keep an eye on it, it does look slack to me as well but it could be the picture

You should really be sitting on the bike and someone else checking the tension.
    Someone 10 stone will have a different chain setting to a guy 20 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

maybe just the picture, but even the top run of chain looks slack :o

20-30mm from midpoint, that looks more like 40-50mm.
    Check the chain, there can be tight spots, if there is adjust it at the tightest point.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    20-30mm from midpoint, that looks more like 40-50mm.
    Check the chain, there can be tight spots, if there is adjust it at the tightest point.

I set mine at 30mm top of chain to top of chain mid way on swingarm at loosest spot....

I set mine kind of loose because I get a lot of air time on a certain route I take :)

I set mine at 30mm top of chain to top of chain mid way on swingarm at loosest spot....

What does it do at the tightest spot? Is there much difference? A lot depends on the sprocket mounting at the rear. I have adjusted the sprocket before to equalise the different tensions. It depends on tolerances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭johnmolly92

Well lads you were spot on! Checked it when i got home and its over 2 inches. Im gonna blame the lack of concentration after spending 2 hours changing the thing :pac:

Didnt realise you should be sitting on the bike either...every days a school day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

And so it begins in earnest.

And no pics?

And sort out your image hosting, I'm getting sick of clicking on links!!!!:p

Edit: pic LINK added :(

you can link stuff uploaded to boards just right click that link and put it in between [img][/img]

430508.jpg

Ah here....no pussy shots please.....:)

Well lads you were spot on! Checked it when i got home and its over 2 inches. Im gonna blame the lack of concentration after spending 2 hours changing the thing :pac:

Didnt realise you should be sitting on the bike either...every days a school day!

You shouldnt be sitting on the bike to adjust it at all!!

Its an inch play in the centre of the swingarm while the bike is on the sidestand or stands, there usually a mark on the swingarm.

If you've adjusted it sitting on the bike do it again.

You shouldnt be sitting on the bike to adjust it at all!!

Its an inch play in the centre of the swingarm while the bike is on the sidestand or stands, there usually a mark on the swingarm.

If you've adjusted it sitting on the bike do it again.

Different bikes have different tensions.
    I said sitting on the bike so to check the chain isn't too tight when the spring is compressed.
    The tightest the chain will be when is the swing arm pivot is in line with the axle.

You allways sit on a bike when checking chain slack and tension when replacing it.

Same when getting a suspension setup done.

you can link stuff uploaded to boards just right click that link and put it in between [img][/img]

430508.jpg

Thanks for that.:)

You allways sit on a bike when checking chain slack and tension when replacing it.

Same when getting a suspension setup done.

Do the bike shop call people in to sit on the bike when adjusting a chain? Measurements should always be with no weight on the bike.

It's nothing like a suspension set up regards weight being on the bike

blade1 wrote: »
    Different bikes have different tensions.
    I said sitting on the bike so to check the chain isn't too tight when the spring is compressed.
    The tightest the chain will be when is the swing arm pivot is in line with the axle.

Yeah, you can sit on it to check the tension is ok after adjusting, you never adjust the chain sitting on the bike.

In saying that , that's just to make sure it's not out of tolerance, your measurements should be done with no weight on the bike.

Yeah, you can sit on it to check the tension is ok after adjusting, you never adjust the chain sitting on the bike.
    Please don't tell me you thought I meant adjust your chain while you are sitting on your bike?
    Is that even possible?:pac: