Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What is her past, what was wrong with her?

Anorexic as a teenager apparently and then had a problem with 'promiscuity' - she seems to be prone to panic attacks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

:eek: I don't think Mulder and Scully are enough!

It's ok, they will have Skinner too.

ei2lPZq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Fair City have a Budget special tonight with Bob and Kerri Ann giving their alternative views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭js35

I wish Kerri Ann would feck off somewhere else she’s such an annoying character

Tonight's episode.

[URL="[img]https://i.imgur.com/tEjpS42.jpg[/img]"]tEjpS42.jpg[/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Tonight's episode.

[URL="[img]https://i.imgur.com/tEjpS42.jpg[/img]"]tEjpS42.jpg[/URL]

Yeah its really getting dark now. And not a peep out of the other cult members who spend their days listening fascinated to Manson. That doctor is strange too, there's more to him than meets the eye. Hannah went into a room with Manson and hasn't been allowed out since. Must be because her little coffee additive makes you psychotic!

Ah feck off Kerri Ann, such a boring and pointless character. Its only when you watch interesting storylines like the cult that you see how crap the other stories are, like Kerri Ann vs Decco, Orla vs Wayne etc. Yawn. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

threetrees wrote: »
    Anxious, promiscuous and anorexic. Now there's a cocktail.

There is a song there somewhere :P

I think Orla is more annoying than Kerrie ann. Always fecking winging. The nagging wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭LushiousLips

I love you Manson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I love you Manson

clap clap clap clap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

It's October. Why is Kerri Ann wearing a scrappy summer dress? Why can Alex not get the bus into town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

When Doug is the sanest person in the building...fcuk you have problems.

I'm going to ride into Carrigstown on my white horse tomorrow, throw Hannah over my shoulder, take her to a proper GP as opposed to some 'cult doctor' who quite frankly frightens the sh*t out of me.

amtc wrote: »
    It's October. Why is Kerri Ann wearing a scrappy summer dress? Why can Alex not get the bus into town?

Sorry about the bad joke in advance but maybe she's going through the menopause and feeling a bit hot! It would explain a lot!

Ah no October is almost as warm as July this year, up to 20C on Friday and Saturday;) I'd be a 'warm' person, t-shirt in January.

You'd wonder what the story is with Emmet. Big smiley head on him, completely comfy with the freak show. Either he has lost the plot or is a really devious schemer seeing opportunity for himself. TBH he looks like he has lost the plot, and after the year he's had with KT missing etc i suppose you could understand. He was always looked on as a looser by Eoghan etc and then Miriam comes along telling him how great he is, could have such an effect.

Still the whole Phoenix Way thing is a bit surreal. Bar Pete not one person with a bit of balls has stood up and said 'Hey hold on here, this is bull****, you can't hold someone against her will, i'm ringing a proper doctor, St. Pat's, the various mental health phonelines etc.'

Or said to Miriam .. your talking complete and utter New Age bull****. Show us your qualifications. You can't start going through people's perceived problems infront of others. Stop holding this person for 'session' after 'session' when she clearly needs to rest and eat.

How the fcuk did Ronan become such a successful businessman if he's such a fool. I suppose you could argue cancer has clouded his judgement and he's willing to try anything.

Another problem for me is i don't find Miriam the least believable. If someone in real life started telling me how great i was and what an addition, and latent strength etc i'd look them in the eye and say 'what the fcuk do you want'. As the old saying goes soft words butter no parsnips. Granted they're all 'vulnerable' etc but ffs surely some of them would twig something.

Then there's a wan in a red coat that sits at a lot of meetings. When Hannah was accusing Miriam of recruiting people for their money and all hell was breaking loose last week. The wan in the red coat was staring ahead of her like a space cadet...

And the hindu/chinese far eastern type music and all the alphabetical symbols around the room. If i went in there once i'd be going holy fcuk be on your guard here and leg it as soon as possible.

Aaaah rant over..

Actually no, rant not over.

Since that Helping Hand place opened and even before when Bella was selling merchandise out of it they have a Laois GAA jersey on the rails.. The very same Laois GAA Jersey with the 1995 Laois crest from that year!!! A Laois man would notice these things. So for 22 years it's been hanging there. Now, call me hasty, but after 20 years i'd be thinking it's not selling. Get rid of the effing thing or do some stock rotation..

And tonight i see a Video Cassette of Billy Connolly in Dublin that wouldn't be out of place in Bridget and Eamonn's collection..

Rant, finally, over..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Who actually does these therapies? I have yet to see a masseuse etc.

My dad is doing hse old age therapies where he goes to the local health centre every Thursday to do Pilates.. .he is 80...i was slagging him he is going to the Phoenix way. My dad has a very odd sense of humour and decided to print out made up leaflets for it. He had five sign ups for a completely made up thing within an hour..at 300 each per day. If only he put his mind to something like fixing my hall light! Just shows you how people fall for these things. My mother is mortified.

That closing scene tonight reminded me of George Orwell's Big Brother, where the brainwashed Winston Smith eventually has to declare he loves 'Big Brother' (even though we the reader know BB is a fraud and a phoney).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

The whole Phoenix Way story reminds me of this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1FxfR3lg6Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Na, na, na, na, na, Leader!

What Miriam, Emmet and Dr. Oakley are doing to Hannah is known as lovebombing, a cult technique

branie2 wrote: »
    What Miriam, Emmet and Dr. Oakley are doing to Hannah is known as lovebombing, a cult technique

It was quite uncomfortable to watch as well. Clearly this is more than a scam, Manson herself actually believes the brainwashing propaganda she is spewing. They are targeting the vulnerable and naïve in the guise of offering New Age mindsets. Money will inevitable change hands but its when they start spouting stuff about robbing/harming others, then PW becomes dangerous.

What are they doing to poor Katy up in PW HQ Donegal???

Na, na, na, na, na, Leader!

Batman... I mean Leader!

Yes indeed, it's a way of turning the group into a cult, to get them to believe that all of their emotional needs will be met inside the cult but not outside of it.

It works especially well on troubled or vulnerable people like Hannah.

Strazdas wrote: »
    Yes indeed, it's a way of turning the group into a cult, to get them to believe that all of their emotional needs will be met inside the cult but not outside of it.

It works especially well on troubled or vulnerable people like Hannah.

And cleverly, it keeps Katy completely away from her real family, instead she is surrounded by complete strangers who are pretending to care about her welfare and using every opportunity to diffuse the Phoenix Way ideas into her brain, plus putting God only knows what into her food/drink to help the conversion process.

A very fresh storyline, really warming up nicely. well played so far Fair City, its a blinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Melanie out of the country for a few days. This won't end well.

I can go into my local Spar 4 times a week and if i meet someone i know maybe once a month thats a lot. Such a stupid way to get the characters to meet, who needs to be in Spar 7 mornings a week?
    Ooh Doug is onto Manson i hope this isnt the end, its only just after getting good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Doug is not as dumb as he makes himself out to be. :)

He's onto.......her..

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQFjYYLMqar1tt6RyFaiPIwjMJUD_wR84cVy1Ospag15gvJM6Fo8g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

I thought Dr. Oakley seemed slightly familiar. Marcus Lamb is the son of Peadar Lamb & Geraldine Plunkett (Eoghan's mother Rose). He's been in a fair few things as well.

http://www.marcuslambactor.com/reacutesumeacute.html

What are they doing to poor Katy up in PW HQ Donegal???

I wouldn't be surprised if Ciaran is there with her, fully rehabilitated.

Maybe Rose is there as well