Underage Drinking

• 05-10-2017 09:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Just curious.
    Are you currently underage, and if so, do you drink? Are you now legal, but used to drink underage? What were your experiences with the subject? Discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Just curious.
    Are you currently underage, and if so, do you drink? Are you now legal, but used to drink underage? What were your experiences with the subject? Discuss

694.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I drank when underage. It was mostly good craic sprinkled with bouts of puking my guts up after a few litres of crap cider. 6/10, would do again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Deneb Cygnus

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    694.jpg

Now now Father, don't be thinking that way.
    Down with that sort of thing, careful now.

I'm currently underage meself, so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,130 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Remember giving some random lad money to go into the offie and get us drink and we do the whole 'pass by and hand over the goods without making eye contact' lol

Didn't knw what was happening the first time I felt tipsy lol I thought I was just dizzy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 489 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

Bunch of 14 year old scangers were outside a local supermarket. They beckoned me over. "Hey mistarr, geh us a few cans will yeh?. (They never specified which ones :) )

So I duly obliged. I asked them if I should get them the cheapest I can find, they said yes.

I took their collective 30 Euro and went int the shop. I filled a bag-for-life with shop brand cola. I covered the opening of the bag with another bag for life so it wouldn't be immediately noticeable.

I beckoned one of the scangers and said I'll leave it beside the bin, take it after I drive off so it's not so obvious (I wanted to be out of the firing line :P ).

I could hear them screaming when I was a mile up the road .. little vermin scrotes :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Discuss?

How about you do your own essay on the topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Deneb Cygnus

Bunch of 14 year old scangers were outside a local supermarket. They beckoned me over. "Hey mistarr, geh us a few cans will yeh?. (They never specified which ones :) )

So I duly obliged. I asked them if I should get them the cheapest I can find, they said yes.

I took their collective 30 Euro and went int the shop. I filled a bag-for-life with shop brand cola. I covered the opening of the bag with another bag for life so it wouldn't be immediately noticeable.

I beckoned one of the scangers and said I'll leave it beside the bin, take it after I drive off so it's not so obvious (I wanted to be out of the firing line :P ).

I could hear them screaming when I was a mile up the road .. little vermin scrotes :P

Ah jayzuz, that's a biteen bad now😂.

I have fond memories of the large bottles of Cider drank down by the river or under the train bridge when I was 13-15. Thankfully, we discovered cannabis, a nice sheltered older building and left alcohol far behind us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Used have a few cans and a few sups of a naggin on the bus out to the teen disco ever since I was 13/14 and gradually increased. By 16 I "bought" my brothers provisional license off him and rigged it up. Absolutely flawless considering the nonexistent level of security on those old paper licenses. Could get served anywhere outside the busy places in Cork city and anywhere where locals would know I was underage. Probably did a lot of harm to the liver which will f*ck me over in years to come but I don't regret it for one minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ten John Player Blue and a two litre of Olde English

An evening out for less than a tenner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What project is this for OP? Can't you just go to the local park on the Friday and chat to some youths; experience it first hand.. you could even do a vox pox and then show the class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

You're afraid to set foot in the area since though, aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

My brother in law is in his early 20's and recently told me he had never been "knacker" drinking. The same with all his mates.

I've often passed the spots where we used to drink when we were younger and there's never anybody there.
    Is it not a thing anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

If you've never taped a naggin to your knickers, are you even Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

What project is this for OP? Can't you just go to the local park on the Friday and chat to some youths; experience it first hand.. you could even do a vox pox and then show the class.

Superb typo.

Been drinking have we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

My brother in law is in his early 20's and recently told me he had never been "knacker" drinking. The same with all his mates.

I've often passed the spots where we used to drink when we were younger and there's never anybody there.

Mollycoddled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

From what I can remember my first encounter with drink went like this,

Age 14
    Summer night
    5 friends
    Back garden of friends house
    Tent
    8 two litre bottles of cider
    Smokes
    Talking about girls and life
    Brian's ma is hot
    Brian not happy
    So hungry
    Puke
    Broken swing
    Shed blasted with piss
    Angry neighbour
    Best of scooter cd
    Fire
    More fire
    No more tent
    Crying
    Parents
    More parents
    Everybody's fooking parents
    Brian's ma still hot
    All dad's agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Other side of the coin: several times when I live in Ireland I went to the offie to get a few beers (as an adult) and was asked by a teenager in the doorway if I'd get a bottle of vodka for him.

In the doorway of the Off-License. How thick is it possible to be...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Maybe more disposable income these days so it's not such a thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Just to add a voice of dissent for whatever figures you're cooking, I didn't start drinking till I was 23. Never knacker drank or drank underage as a result (naturally).

Generally speaking, I've spent the last 5 years catching up on lost time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Started at 16 drinking Poitin that we used to have at home to give to the lambs if they were dying .

Moved on to vodka and britvic orange after that so everyone thought we were drinking orange.

Throwing up breakfast dinner and supper was a regular occurence .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I started going out to pubs when I was 17. Usually got past the door without much hassle and drank cans of cider or vodka. Didn't go at it too hard and only once was I sent home in a bad way.

I'm happy with how I was introduced to drink. I learned what my limits were and when to call it quits, with some reckless craic along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Are you currently underage, and if so, do you drink? Are you now legal, but used to drink underage? What were your experiences with the subject? Do you drink in a park? What park? Are there any bushes in the park to hide in? How far away is the nearest Garda station from the park? Are there street lights in the park? Would you get into a car if someone gave you a naggin? Do you carry any weapons on when you're underage drinking such as pepper spray? Do you have a dog? Do you have an alarm? Does your dad have golf clubs in the house? Do you have any creaky floorboards? Discuss. Just curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

For my junior results my mam got me the alDi versions of smirnoff ice drinks as I had a few friends over to celebrate. Other than that the Christmas before our 18 birthday my dad would bring us for our 'first' drink in the pub. I'm not much of a drinker now, only on the odd occasion and my brother and sisters aren't big drinkers either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Started at 16 drinking Poitin that we used to have at home to give to the lambs if they were dying .

Moved on to vodka and britvic orange after that so everyone thought we were drinking orange.

Throwing up breakfast dinner and supper was a regular occurence .

I have no idea why but I can't stop laughing at this sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Underage drinking was always a thing, sank plenty of truly dreadful lager myself at the time - but the gallons of spirits the kids get through these days scares me, it'll be years yet before it is shown the damage many have done to themselves, physically and mentally, but you can bet it will be ugly and costly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

naggin of vodka and a couple of cans of LCL pils before heading in to the grove in raheny. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,283 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I never really went for the whole drinking outside thing. We were generally in a friends house. Our teachers allowed us to drink on foreign school tours but we weren't allowed to take pictures.
    A few local pubs the night club would generally serve you once you were around 16/17 and they knew they could trust you.
    I am legal now my relationship with alcohol is fine now I only drink drinks I enjoy. I was never into buying the cheapest thing in the shop just to get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Superb typo.

Been drinking have we?

I just have a rhyming addiction, it's quite the affliction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ten John Player Blue and a two litre of Olde English

An evening out for less than a tenner

Our flagons of choice was called boss cider, they used to sell it out of a hatch in some kip in Moore St.