Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,438 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Yawns wrote: »
    Wtf?

What are we missing here? Are we not seeing the extra 10 cars behind you that he overtook in one maneuver or this a pisstake?

Maybe Ghosty Mc Ghost could see loads of ghost cars on the opposite side of the road.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Paddystix

Sand truck, car nearly bites the dust
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rLxTofjCV98

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Paddystix

Car Rear ended in Milltown Co. Galway, gardai on scene no serious injuries.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecv41rpy2ow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭josip

For those of you on a short lunch break skip to 1:40
    Paddystix wrote: »
    Sand truck, car nearly bites the dust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,859 ✭✭✭✭cormie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭homer90

***May Contain Some Strong Language***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

some from the last while and today. sounds on and off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

neris wrote: »

With that green bus, I actually think his driving is 100%.
    I intentionally went through your fast-forward moment there frame by frame to see what was happening.
    He was overtaking vehicles (including yourself) on middle lane, so that's why he was on most inside overtaking lane, and then moved to middle lane and kept overtaking vehicles in driving lane. While he finished overtaking them, he couldn't move to driving lane yet, as there was a slip-road entry to motorway, so never a good idea to change lanes by that in case someone tries to merge to motorway.
    Once he passed that slipway, you were already on driving lane, undertaking him, so he again couldn't move left.

IMO absolutely 100% correct driving on his side.

BTW - at the beginning of the video what was that about school kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

CiniO wrote: »

As the car in front nears them one kid tries to push another out into the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭Top Dog

CiniO wrote: »
    I'm confused by that too. It wasn't a pedestrian crossing as far as I could see so there was no obligation on the car in front to let them cross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭yannakis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

neris wrote: »

in fairness to the taxi man in Beaumont hospital (second video) you can get caught there for ages as thats the overflow for the car park and barely moves when its busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

in fairness to the taxi man in Beaumont hospital (second video) you can get caught there for ages as thats the overflow for the car park and barely moves when its busy.

AAh thats alright so. Probably the op did'nt realise that taxi men are exempt from obeying the basic rules of the road :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,210 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Riva10 wrote: »
    taxi men are exempt from obeying the basic rules of the road

interesting fact; They're also all mostly exempt from having to possess basic driving skills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Still waiting in Ghosty to tell us the craic with the idiot overtake.....

Or even the two lads who thanked it.. what did ye think was the idiot part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Isambard

Peatys wrote: »

as I said earlier he overtook across a junction which is a dangerous thing to do, but the lines appear to allow it and the one sign is easily missed. I don't think he did anything else wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭josip

Isambard wrote: »
    .... and the one sign is easily missed. I don't think he did anything else wrong.

Zero tolerance on here lately for signs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Peatys wrote: »

Life's too short to be waiting on such things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

blade1 wrote: »
    Life's too short to be waiting on such things.

Well, I'm not exclusively waiting.. i went to work aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Reported the N7 incident to TrafficWatch.
    Not sure if they will follow up.
    Mentioned I had it on DashCam but couldn't make out reg.

There's a lot of cameras on Gantries on those roads so maybe they caught something.

SHTAPPPPP All this negative chit chat, we are all bros here, it's people like us who make the roads of Ireland a safer and better place for EVERYBODY... So keep on filming. All video clips provide some info and some helpful hints and tips for safer happier driving experiences.. So keep up the good work everyone. Peace Out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

The Bus took a long time to stop I thought, did the Golf driver pull the handbrake or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I dont know... 8 seconds in that bus is still doing 61 mph and at 13 seconds in he is standing still.
    That isnt too bad, is it?
    Well that Golf driver obviously thinks it was good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

looks like the golf is well able to drive after so it can't have been an engine seizing up unless he tried to downshift into 4th and put it into second.. wouldn't ever be able to find the link again or fast enough, but there was a video on here of a passat or something in america maybe trying to keep up with bikes and it ended when the girlfriend pulled the handbrake to make him stop speeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Truckermal wrote: »
    The Bus took a long time to stop I thought, did the Golf driver pull the handbrake or what?

Think he did very well, if that's his voice he was amazingly calm, also assume ABS as no tire roar or any sign of instability with the bus. Very good job. Would have been even nicer had he gotten moving and out of the middle lane with a bit more urgency.

Note that the truck driver in the left lane didn't seem to react at all, even when the car crossed from the right to left lanes in front of him/her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

SuperS54 wrote: »
    Think he did very well, if that's his voice he was amazingly calm, also assume ABS as no tire roar or any sign of instability with the bus. Very good job. Would have been even nicer had he gotten moving and out of the middle lane with a bit more urgency.

Note that the truck driver in the left lane didn't seem to react at all, even when the car crossed from the right to left lanes in front of him/her.

There was another truck in lane 1 (you can see it at the end where he actually moved to the hard shoulder) so changing lanes might not have been an option.

Lanes changes like that are a common occurrence on the m50 so not really surprised the truck didn't react.

I just love the way he praises himself(well deserved).. "Hazards and everything boi" .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Jacovs