Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The daughter roped me into going clothes shopping with her today to buy a sparkly dress. I'm never going clothes shopping with her ever again. She'll just have to wear the rags that she owns now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Dog got into kitchen this morning. Ate 1/2lb of butter about 4 slices of fruit brack and licked the grill pan clean. He then took the remaining butter up to the top of the stairs. This was what alerted me to his mischief when I got home. He's a ravenous animal but never thought he'd go up on table for stuff. I left hall/kitchen door open so I'm not totally blameless but he opened porch door to get in.

I'm sorry:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

TA at some of the ignorant things people think it's fair enough to say to someone. I'm not liking people much today.
    Most people are probably basically good but they can be fairly thick as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Phone Zombies, or Phombies as I call them. Met a friend last night for a few drinks. Checking phone every 2 minutes for the night, messaging the woman all night too. I asked him what could he possibly by texting her about, he lives with her, and had spent the whole day with her. "Ah she's asking where we are, who's out, good craic etc" Then when we are talking he's not even listening to me, phone on the table lighting up the whole time.
    I give up, lesson learned, don't do that again.
    Grow a fcuking pair of balls, tell her "I'll see you later, I'm going for a few pints, you wont hear from me unless there's something wrong, have a good night"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Shops are back selling those boxes of chocolate mallow Halloween things. I'm gonna be forty stone by the end of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,784 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Went to the toilet in a local hotel.
    The last user didn't even flush it after them.
    Dirty fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,784 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

TA at some of the ignorant things people think it's fair enough to say to someone. I'm not liking people much today.
    Most people are probably basically good but they can be fairly thick as well.
    What does "TA" mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Home of the year, pretentious back slapping sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What does "TA" mean?

Trifling Aggravation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

anna080 wrote: »
    Shops are back selling those boxes of chocolate mallow Halloween things. I'm gonna be forty stone by the end of the week

My missus bought two boxes of them. I accidentally found them hidden away at the back of a cupboard. It's taking all of my willpower to avoid them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

My missus bought two boxes of them. I accidentally found them hidden away at the back of a cupboard. It's taking all of my willpower to avoid them!

I bought them "for my mam". I hope my mam likes empty boxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Home of the year, pretentious back slapping sh1te.
    great programme that

makes me realise how crap my house is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I gave my teen my credit card to use on his PlayStation yesterday and he promised to pay me back which he rarely does,he gave it back a few minutes later and shocked me by giving me 20e also,I was actually going to post about it on the TH thread but didn't get a chance......I'd have been on here anyway because I've f*ing lost the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Colser wrote: »
    I gave my teen my credit card to use on his PlayStation yesterday and he promised to pay me back which he rarely does,he gave it back a few minutes later and shocked me by giving me 20e also,I was actually going to post about it on the TH thread but didn't get a chance......I'd have been on here anyway because I've f*ing lost the money.

He nicked it back off you :)

TA- people asking if my pregnancy was "a surprise". What the fcuk like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

s4uv3 wrote: »
    He nicked it back off you :)

There I was, Lying in bed minding my own business when this angel appeared to me. Unfortunately for me it was the fallen angel and I shall be naming my child Damien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭some random drunk

People writing the word "thrash" when they mean to say "trash". E.g "that videogame is a a load of thrash!"

Saying trash instead of rubbish is annoying enough in a wannabe American, trying to be cool way, but saying thrash just makes me want to punch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,717 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

People writing the word "thrash" when they mean to say "trash". E.g "that videogame is a a load of thrash!"

Saying trash instead of rubbish is annoying enough in a wannabe American, trying to be cool way, but saying thrash just makes me want to punch them.

no you should give them a good trashing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Conspectus wrote: »
    There I was, Lying in bed minding my own business when this angel appeared to me. Unfortunately for me it was the fallen angel and I shall be naming my child Damien.

Please PLEASE let it be a boy so I can do this :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

s4uv3 wrote:

No, we were riding like rabbits to get pregnant. Tried multiple positions to ensure it. :pac:

TA I never think of smart answers at the time.

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Man arrested by the Gord - eeeee

Much favoured by anyone who works for RTÉ

Where this is wrong is even more basic than pronunciation: as an organisation RTÉ frankly does not know the short-form name of the force. It's certainly not "The Gardaí", which means "The Police Officers". For some unknown reason RTÉ persist with using "The Gardaí" as the short form for An Garda Síochana. As a name it makes no sense.

The short-form for AGS is An Garda. Even calling the force 'The Garda' is better than calling it 'The Gardaí/The Police Officers'. But 'An Garda' is indisputably the correct short-form collective noun for An Garda Síochána. The garda = an individual garda; the gardaí = individual police officers (note: no capitalisation). It doesn't matter how often RTÉ or other journalists call it "The Gardaí". It really shouldn't be hard for any professional newsreader or journalist to get to grips with something this simple.

And does it say "Gardaí" on these cars? Of course not because it would be silly to write "Police Officers" (as opposed to Police) on a police car.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    "The man was arrested in Port Leesha"

On this, however, the few people who pronounce it like that in RTÉ are correct. Although a slew of people thanked that post, if they thought about it, the "Port Leesha" pronunciation is natural and makes sense. For instance, you wouldn't say "Bus Scoil" or "Mála Scoil", and even the dossers in Irish class instinctively know that: technically speaking, two nouns together result in the second noun being in the genitive case as we are indicating possession or a relationship of some sort. Thus, we all know it's Bus Scoile and Mála Scoile (similarly in English we wouldn't say 'Seán coat'; we would indicate the link by putting an apostrophe in: Seán's coat).

And back to Port Laoise, because that is precisely the correct spelling. It's two words, not one word. There is a connection between both nouns: the fort (port is an Old Irish word for fort) of Laois. There is no such place as "Portlaois", and the pronunciation "Portleesh" is wrong, no matter how often certain people might say it. It's wrong because it disregards a very ancient tradition, a huge pattern, of how to pronounce certain spellings.

The superb Logainm.ie website, where you can click and access digital copies of the primary source historical records connected with a placename throughout the centuries (Here, for instance, are 8 pages on the history of the placename Port Laoise), also has an excellent pronunciation guide. Here's the correct pronunciation entry for Port Laoise:

Port Laoise

Port Laoise, and like Scoile, Deirdre, Gráinne, Aoife, Ailbhe etc, when a word ends in an 'e' it has an 'ah' pronunciation. Again, every Irish person knows this but the ones who thanked that post criticising the "Port Leesha" pronunciation hadn't thought about it. So credit where credit is due to the RTÉ newsreaders in question for getting Port Laoise's pronunciation correct. To pronounce it otherwise is to disregard an entire pattern that has been clearly visible throughout the language for well over a millennium.

And, yes, it is Dún Laoghaire - not "Done Leery" - regardless of the irony of people ignorant of Irish sneering at Irish people who pronounce Irish names correctly in line with the above tradition. (pronunciation of Dún)
    It's actually called Portleesha a lot in the midlands!!

Correct, and rightly so.

My TA: people saying "amount of people/things/events/places" etc. It's a countable noun so it's number of people, number of things. Again, there are rules and traditions for that that should be respected. People inventing their own rules and sneering at people who go to the trouble of learning the established rules annoy me. The number of journalists who persist in saying "amount of people" etc is particularly depressing given that their entire trade deals with words, and precise meaning. Or at least it's supposed to. Amount versus Number Lastly, "begging the question" does not mean "posing the question" - no matter how many people think it does. It just doesn't. Me: "He's a gobshíte". You: Why? Me: He just is. That's an example of "begging the question".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

fussyonion wrote: »
    Starving all day and nothing is filling me.
    I was on the beer last night so that's probably partly to blame.
    I had tea and toast this morning, followed by cocktail sausages that were on the go. Then I had a small bag of nuts, a Mr Kipling apple pie, a bag of crisps and now I'm having tea and biscuits and I want my dinner aswell and tomorrow's dinner.

This is one of the worst parts of a hangover for me. It lingers for days and no amount of food suffices. I think it's your brain sending signals to your body that it needs food when it doesn't. But yes, TA.com/defomate.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

My TA: people saying "amount of people/things/events/places" etc. It's a countable noun so it's number of people, number of things. Again, there are rules and traditions for that that should be respected. People inventing their own rules and sneering at people who go to the trouble of learning the established rules annoy me. The number of journalists who persist in saying "amount of people" etc is particularly depressing given that their entire trade deals with words, and precise meaning. Or at least it's supposed to. Amount versus Number

I was following your explanations and your reasoning and nodding away, thinking to myself, "This is very interesting", but on this one, I can think of one case in which using amount instead of number does make sense (to me, at least) and that is when the number of people/things/etc is so large it cannot be quantified, making them uncountable nouns. Having said that, I'm with you when you talk about sand vs eggs, for instance - ditto with less and few(er).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

The expression “life goals”

Fcuk off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭donegal_man

People who say they are "weary of doing xyz" when they mean they're WARY of doing whatever it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When my cleaning frenzy has me on my hands and knees at 1:30 scrubbing my bathroom with so much bleach my eyes are streaming :(
    Why can't I sleep like a normal person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

When my cleaning frenzy has me on my hands and knees at 1:30 scrubbing my bathroom with so much bleach my eyes are streaming Why can't I sleep like a normal person

Swap Lex? I'm scrubbing the kitchen at the min and could do with a change of venue :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

I can't sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭gucci

Shpudnik wrote: »
    I can't sleep
    On a similar theme...the person in the shared accommodation who requires an alarm clock only succeed in waking everyone else as he sleeps through it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭gucci

Shpudnik wrote: »
    I can't sleep
    On a similar theme...the person in the shared accommodation who requires an alarm clock only succeed in waking everyone else as he sleeps through it?