Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Discovery 1x01 & 1x02 – 2-part premiere [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

Goodshape wrote: »
    Worst part of the episode was the lighting in the courtroom scene at the very end. What a bizarre choice. Like they didn't want to "reveal" to us what Starfleet looks like yet.

Really strange and out of place.

That was badly done to be fair. Completely at odds with an open procedure.

Smacks of a sinister organisational slant, hopefully not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I'm absolutely baffled and infuriated by the people pro-claiming this show to be dead in the water and a total disaster.

I went into this sceptical as hell, but I thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes.

They're doing something which Trek has never done before, which is establishing a bit of backstory for the setting and characters early on, instead of making it up when they're 3 seasons deep.

I truly loved TNG growing up, I still re-watch it every year, but they just kinda tacked on a lot of the Klingon stuff as they went and forced in whatever story they could for Worf.

Poor Riker has no proper back story other than we know he has a weak relationship with is dad and he should be a Captain.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Tell me how the can move forward after Voyager completely ****ing everything up; with quantum slipstream, transphasic torpedoes, mega armour. The galaxy can be traversed in months and Federation is unbeatable.

Yeah 'cause we all know they are so loath to retcon anything in the ST canon. In fact the voyager stuff could be retconned much more easily than what they have done before now.

I thought this showed promise with some annoyances. Found much of it to be quite engaging and tense at times. Those annoyances match much of what has been said already.

Agree with meep on some of the exposition, particularly while walking in the desert.

Sorry hate the new look Klingons. I've seen some people talk about how they have changed througout the franchise. Sorry folks they had one look in TOS and then a well established look in all the movies and the rest of the TV shows. I think most of us would agree that the tech. is bound to look more advanced simply because special effects since the 60s etc. so quipping about tans and beards re. the Klingons is a bit cheap.

Show also managed to include one of my pet hates in most sci-fi, an AI that could be debated with. Ugh.

Overall Jury is still out for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Good post on Reddit, outlining canon references, inconsistencies, not-inconsistencies, nitpicks, etc:

https://www.reddit.com/r/startrek/comments/72aaot/canon_references_s01e01_e02_spoilers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

The first two eps were much better than I had feared they might be
    (Its already 100 times better than Enterprise)

Things I liked:
    - the TOS theme in the opening credits (now THAT is Start Trek)
    - TOS sound effects on the bridge
    - the way she laughed to herself when she fired up the rocket in her EVA suit
    - the flashing warning graphics on her cracked helmet faceplate
    - the forefield cell scene
    In general I found our heroine to be a pretty cool and watchable character

Things I didn't like: feckin Klingons bored the arse off me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,851 ✭✭✭Evade

mewso wrote: »
    Yeah 'cause we all know they are so loath to retcon anything in the ST canon. In fact the voyager stuff could be retconned much more easily than what they have done before now.
    They wouldn't even need to retcon. They've already introduced organisations that deal with cleaning up fallout from time travelers.

mewso wrote: »

Show also managed to include one of my pet hates in most sci-fi, an AI that could be debated with. Ugh.

I actually thought that was very well done, it was not a debate. She probed the computers logic to find a way to disable the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Greyjoy

That was badly done to be fair. Completely at odds with an open procedure.

Smacks of a sinister organisational slant, hopefully not

It was a jarring tone in comparison to how they were trying to portray Starfleet in the rest of the episode. It came across like Gul Madred's interrogation of Picard rather than an open trial. I'm guessing the writers were doing it to try to generate sympathy for Burnham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

It felt to me that it was a double episode to just introduce one character and episode 3 will be where it might start the rest of the story.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,607 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I actually thought that was very well done, it was not a debate. She probed the computers logic to find a way to disable the field.

Yeah I really liked that bit.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I liked it...i think. It definitely feels more like JJ trek than Prime trek, but has potential.

I wasn't a fan of some of the dialogue. It felt over the top and forced at times, and really didn't like the 'My species feels death coming' or whatever he was on about. I actually liked the Klingons, even though i wasn't a fan of the way they spoke. Was surprised they killed off...whatever his name was. Was there a universal translator type thing when they hailed the Federation ships, or did he actually speak English better than his own language?

I thought Burnham was decent. I'm also annoyed that her name annoys me. I know it shouldn't, but it does. The mind meld was stupid. It would have been better if it was some sort residual memories or something, leftover from when Sarek melded with her as a child.

Finally, I really hope it's not going to be a season of flashbacks. Sick to death of that in shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

Before watching I had a paraphrase ready to use ... "It's Trek Jim, but not as we know it." :rolleyes: ... I'm going to reserve using it for a few episodes. I was looking forward to it, having watched Trek since the 70's.
    • The title sequence looked like an explainer video to me, with a little bit of Monty Python thrown in (before the hands come together).
    • I felt it drag on really badly throughout.
    • The Klingons seemed to be speaking, almost, formally rather than fluidly. This did not help with the dragging-ness of the show.
    • When Burnham debated with the computer, I was hoping she'd do a TOS Kirk on it and make it's head explode with some logic trick. :D Alas, twas not to be. :(
    • After seeing the spoiler for Ep3, I hope there is more to happen in it than what was shown. Note to self - don't watch the spoiler in future episodes.
    It probably would have fitted better post-Voyager, but I don't mind the changing tech or the look of the Klingons so much, but the pace needs to improve.

I watched the first episode of The Orville afterwards and liked that a lot more than I did this.

8.2 million viewers for episode 1 on CBS with a 1.6 demo.

I'd guess CBS All Access like all streaming platforms including Netflix it's partner for this at the moment won't release how many viewers they get for episode 2 and all following episodes following to come.

Wonder how Netflix numbers will stack.

Kinda sucks that this has to go through CBS. I think they're even showing ads on their subscription service?

Watching on Netflix you could still feel those hard breaks for adverts, and that second episode wasn't even 40 minutes long with the ads stripped out.

Afraid I've just gotten used to not having to put up with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

8.2 million viewers for episode 1 on CBS with a 1.6 demo.

I'd guess CBS All Access like all streaming platforms including Netflix it's partner for this at the moment won't release how many viewers they get for episode 2 and all following episodes following to come.

do these companies release their subs numbers every qtr? from what I gather its $6 a month for the sub so either a rake of people will buy the sub for a few months and cancel or possibly keep it but if their subs numbers don't jump bigly then its a flop.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,452 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

silverharp wrote: »
    do these companies release their subs numbers every qtr? from what I gather its $6 a month for the sub so either a rake of people will buy the sub for a few months and cancel or possibly keep it but if their subs numbers don't jump bigly then its a flop.

As I understand it, it's $6 for a sub with "limited ads" or $10 for no ads.

Seems to be a lot of griping about that... I read complaints about the quality and buffering as well and the fact that unless you keep paying or buy the DVD/Blu-rays, you won't own them .. but then the same argument could be levelled at Netflix in that regard and it seems to do well enough.

I have CBS All Aceess and find it great value for money at $5.99 a month.

Limited ads are grand.

I really can't stand ads.

But.. anyone remember when we use to buy magazines? There were at least a couple of film magazines I'd buy every month for around €6 or €7. And occasionally I'd get something weekly. Didn't even think about the cost.

It's amazing how averse we've become to paying anything at all for the content we consume.

Limited ads are grand.

is that instead of Netflix then ? are they hoping people drop Netflix and use their service? from what I have heard its not a common subscription to have.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,452 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

silverharp wrote: »
    is that instead of Netflix then ? are they hoping people drop Netflix and use their service? from what I have heard its not a common subscription to have.

In the US it's available on CBS All Access only... Netflix have the rights for the rest of the world.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    In the US it's available on CBS All Access only... Netflix have the rights for the rest of the world.

a lot of the potential audience in the US will have a netflix sub, what are CBS hoping they do? drop netflix for theirs? buy both? I assume all access isnt a good as netflix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Inviere

Enjoyed both eps a lot actually. I think Michael, especially considering we're at Encounter at Farpoint stage of development, is very good, with a lot of potential. I was engaged in the opening ep within about ten mins, and the second one took me in straight away. I really enjoyed the Klingons I have to say. They're very different, but also quite warrior-like in a theistic/cultural way, not just angry Klingon bad guys we've seen done to death. I did think the other house leaders were very quick to acquiesce to T'Kumva though.

Pro's:
    Almost everything. It's what Enterprise could, and should, have been. Yes, there's some minor inconsistencies, but they can be overlooked if the quality and rationale is good enough.

Cons:
    The holo-comms thing, big no no for me. I instantly thought of the big deal made of those on the Defiant circa 150 years later! Very jarring, and a definite break in continuity. I also think the ship to ship phasers look awful! Also, the opening scene is cringey bad (walking in the shape of the starfleet emblem)

As said already, it's pretty jarring to consider this is set a decade before Kirk took command of the Enterprise, the tone, the tech, everything is radically different. I maintain the show would have been ever better had it been set 100 years after Voyager. The story didn't need to change at all, 100 years without contact with Klingons, sorted.

For an opener however though, it blows Enterprise away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭stronglikebull

Inviere wrote: »
    Pro's:
    Almost everything. It's what Enterprise could, and should, have been. Yes, there's some minor inconsistencies, but they can be overlooked if the quality and rationale is good enough.

Yeah. When Enterprise first started, I thought it was going to be something along these lines. It really should have been though. What a wasted opportunity that was. Anyway, we have it now.

Very good opening episode, but I thought the 2nd one wasn't as good. Not sure why, but I felt a bit disappointed by it. I thought that Michael's turn on the captain and trying to attack the Klingons was very unexpected. Also, why did she kill T'Kumva, when it was her idea to go over there and capture him? I had to rewind that scene and watch it again as I wasn't sure that it had just happened.

Anyway, pretty good opening double. Certainly very engaging, and makes it worth wanting to see more. Still hate the design and look of the Discovery, and I don't think it'll ever grow on me. I think that the Shenzhou is a far better looking ship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Just finished watching the 2nd episode there. As two opening two parters go it was better then TNG's Encounter at Farpoints, Voyagers Caretaker , Enterprise's Broken Bow and about on par with DS9's Emissary.

As to the issues people have with it thus far on here and otherplaces, here are my thoughts

The theme music/credits: Not as catchy or as long as I'd like, but I found the more it was reprised during the episodes the more I liked it. The credit sequence was very Marvel Netflix/Bondian so zero credits for originality but bonus credits for not being a Faith of the Heart abomination.

The tech looking too advanced: Everybody has their tolerance for these things but Star treks future has to look more advanced then our present so if that means floaty touchscreens and holograms I can live it so long as I'm enjoying the show overall. Like all things I'll overlook a multitude of sins so long as I'm enjoying a show/film, if I'm not, I'm as nitpicky as the next guy.

The Klingons new look : While the changes to their look (and possibly their culture) did give them a refreshing sense of otherness compared to how familiar they had become over the course of so many seasons of TNG & DS9(and lets face it they had almost become a parody of themselves) , the same effect could have been achieved by setting Discovery in a post Nemesis era and having them being an entirely new race. But we have what we have, they are apparently Klingons, so what the show(or its showrunners) has to do before this season is out is make it clear whether this is a complete ret-con like the one made between the TOS and TMP or are these Klingons merely a subset of a greater, more genetically diverse Klingon culture, one that gets marginalised and driven to extinction by the more numourous TNG Klingons by the late 23/24th century(Think what the Romulans did to the Remans). Personally I'm leaning towards it being a complete retcon and TOS or TNG style klingons will never be referenced. The Beacon called what was meant to be every Klingon house and they all looked pretty similar when they showed up. One thing I do hope is that they continue to work on the prosthetics/dentures as they seemed to inhibit some actors performances more then others.

The Acting: I feel like some people are confusing difficulty in delivering clunky dialogue with bad acting. Other then the exposition dump that was the desert prologue like this "I can't believe you've been under my command for 7 years Michael, you should be commanding your own ship by now" I can't think of any other examples of bad acting.

The Bloody lense flare : They need to **** right off with this. Surely its possible to establish everything is shiny, new and futuristic without endless lense flare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Inviere

The tech looking too advanced: Everybody has their tolerance for these things but Star treks future has to look more advanced then our present so if that means floaty touchscreens and holograms I can live it so long as I'm enjoying the show overall.

Agreed, however, technically this isn't Star Trek's future, it's Star Trek's past. It's very clearly more aligned with the JJ-verse, than the Prime universe. Not to say I didn't enjoy it, quite the opposite, but it's hugely out of place being set where its set.

I actually didn't really notice the lens flair. Not to any excessive or annoying amount anyway.

I did notice the constantly crooked and kinetic camera work though. I wouldn't mind at all if they cut down on that. I really want to see these sets and characters and enjoy the world they've built. Difficult when you're constantly zipping around between close ups and different angles every cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Also, why did she kill T'Kumva, when it was her idea to go over there and capture him?

Because he stabbed Georgiou to death in front of her. Her reaction to this was pretty raw and likely very bound up in her own guilt. She killed him in rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

The idiotic writing ruined this for me.

- Michael didn't notice that the Captain was walking them in the shape of a Star Fleet insignia including sharp corners? The ship can't detect them through a storm but it will be able to see a symbol drawn in footsteps?
    - Assaulting your commanding officer over a hunch and trying to commandeer the ship wtf.
    - Everyone arguing over who gets to go on the entirely unnecessary suicide mission.
    - Bombs on corpse is literally a war crime.
    - Her entire plan was to capture him and then she just executes him in the back? What are we supposed to believe in going on with this character development? "Argh I just hate Klingons so much" is not an interesting trait. We saw enough of that explored with O'Brien and the Cardassians, and it was done a hell of a lot better then.
    - Sarek able to do a mind meld across the galaxy, and does so just say hi go get 'em tiger?
    - The Klingons were a mess. The high council goes from "lol fck off" to "hail our new emperor" in seconds, for almost no reason.
    - HEY I KNOW let's send the Captain and the first officer on an assault onto an enemy ship. Two women with no back will go into melee with Klingon warriors. Great fckin plan. Will we bring a security team? Naaaaah. Remember in the other Star Treks where there were actual security personnel and officers commanding them? And then the Captain gets killed and I practically shouted at the screen "OH IT'S ALMOST LIKE SENDING HER IN THERE WAS DANGEROUS".

I should have kept a list but I lost track of all the times the writing was just stupid. The writers are stupid people. They're focussed on artificial drama and aping other shows and movies without bothering to create a coherent world of their own.

I couldn't care less about the theme tune or the Klingons' new look in the face of all that. It's a dumb show and I'm angry at how bad it is, because they obviously spent so much money on it and it could have been so much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

As someone who's generally not a strong ST fan but enjoyed all of the movies and sporadically watched the TV series, I found this fantastic so far. Yes, the plot's incredibly convenient and largely brainless but I'm willing to accept that personally.