The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Really? My one is plastic and I've never had that problem in all the years I've had it. I only ever use it for blending soup too.

Yeah, mine is plastic too and I've never had an issue. Mine is Braun. I bought it 9 years ago and it's still going strong with regular use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Mine is a plastic braun as well and I use it regularly to make soup, no complaints yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    Will you be using the extra pieces you get with it?
    I probably (most likely) would use them. I'd get more use out of a smaller whisk than I would from a masher really, so that'd be my option if there were bits with it, but I could even go without them, either or really.

My main uses would be soups/smoothies.
    kylith wrote: »
    I've got the Russel Hobbs hand blender with the bits, and I don't believe I've ever used the whisk or the tall glass. The immersion blender is very good, and it's handy that it clips onto the food processor bit, but that tends to leak when in use.

I'm thinking I might actually get a proper food processor, or a stand mixer with a dough hook. Cos (drumroll) I'm getting a new kitchen! Well, a new second hand kitchen, but it's taking over half my living room (no more being stuck in a freezing, damp kitchen by myself, hello open plan ground floor). I'm considering if a gas hob with a canister would be worth the effort of drilling holes through the wall, but I'll get to get an actual oven! That actually works! And didn't come from Lidl! And I'll have cupboards and drawers and maybe even a big press!
    I'd definitely go with an 800w one over a 300w one. And I'd buy a metal rather than plastic one, otherwise you have to wait for soup to cool a bit before blending it or it will melt the casing around the blades.

Congratulations on the new kitchen :)
    Thank you all so much for your helpful replies.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Buy anything but a breville, had two and lasted no time. Brutal. The Bosch one I had lasted the longest

I must say, anything I have ever had made by Bosch was top-quality, high performing and hard wearing. I had to sell my Bosch dishwasher when I was moving house and it nearly broke me heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I've got the Russel Hobbs hand blender with the bits, and I don't believe I've ever used the whisk or the tall glass. The immersion blender is very good, and it's handy that it clips onto the food processor bit, but that tends to leak when in use.

I'm thinking I might actually get a proper food processor, or a stand mixer with a dough hook. Cos (drumroll) I'm getting a new kitchen! Well, a new second hand kitchen, but it's taking over half my living room (no more being stuck in a freezing, damp kitchen by myself, hello open plan ground floor). I'm considering if a gas hob with a canister would be worth the effort of drilling holes through the wall, but I'll get to get an actual oven! That actually works! And didn't come from Lidl! And I'll have cupboards and drawers and maybe even a big press!

Wooooh, exciting!!! It's a great thing having a new kitchen - well, once the mess from getting it in has been cleared away, and everything has found its forever home :D

I would not want to miss my 5 ring gas hob, and would be willing to drill through almost everything for it.

I've got a combined food processor/stand mixer, it's a Kenwood. Best christmas present I ever got, it gets used nearly every day in one function or another. I would absolutely recommend it, you'll use it more than you think now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

That's great to hear about plastic blender sticks not all melting - the one that melted on me was a cheap one from Argos, so that explains it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I'd go metal for hand blender if there was an option.
    I just prefer the metal, rather than it having any great technical benefits.
    It looks nicer, cleans easier (I think), and you don't have to worry about it melting (I've had a good few plastic, none have melted, but I've always had the fear of it) and just feels like better quality.

I've convinced my wife in past week that we could do with having a stand mixer, trying to figure out which would be the best for us and decent value.
    My mum always had a Kenwood Chef, so I'm leaning towards that. Although, having looked them up, I've now discovered there are lots of variations.

Any advice on Kenwood chef variants, or any other mixers you think are better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

On the hand blender thing.
    Splashed out some years ago on a Dualit one. Kinda pricy as I remember. Metal shaft.
    It still works fine but the rubber coating that is on the body had gone all sticky and horrible to touch. It's a bit crap that the coating that they put on it to give it a rugged feel and look doesn't even last the lifetime of the appliance:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭caviardreams

There's a 600w hand blender in LIDL from the 28th - might be worth a look!

https://www.lidl.ie/en/special-offers.htm?articleId=2593

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Made plans for Christmas yet?

We're going to my Mum's this year but I'm doing all the cooking. So it'll be prepped in Dublin, loaded in the car and finished in Cavan.

Because we'll need the space in the car, I can't decide whether to leave the dogs or the kids' presents behind!!!! :eek:

(And when can we start the Christmas thread?) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Staying home this year. I'm stupidly excited. This'll be the first year our boy understands what's happening (he will be 3 mid December).
    In saying that, he's not the best grubber when it comes to sit down meals and he eats better at lunch than dinner. So our Christmas "dinner" will be served at lunch time, on the table but likely eaten on the sitting room floor with a Christmas film on in the background.

Then when the little fella goes to bed myself and my husband will have our Christmas sandwiches at the table with the fancy champagne glasses and nice music.
    So upside down food wise but I don't caaaaare. I'm so excited.

Question for ye. I don't eat meat so turkey and ham to feed 1 and a half men. Would I be as well off to get a duo from M&S or are they much better when you get from a butcher?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,396 ✭✭✭✭beertons

(And when can we start the Christmas thread?) :)

I've been looking for someone to start the thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Whispered wrote: »
    Staying home this year. I'm stupidly excited. This'll be the first year our boy understands what's happening (he will be 3 mid December).
    In saying that, he's not the best grubber when it comes to sit down meals and he eats better at lunch than dinner. So our Christmas "dinner" will be served at lunch time, on the table but likely eaten on the sitting room floor with a Christmas film on in the background.

Then when the little fella goes to bed myself and my husband will have our Christmas sandwiches at the table with the fancy champagne glasses and nice music.

Question for ye. I don't eat meat so turkey and ham to feed 1 and a half men. Would I be as well off to get a duo from M&S or are they much better when you get from a butcher?

I would probably go with a butcher and freeze what you don't need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I think my parents have invited themselves up to me for Christmas this year. They're trying to escape one of my aunts, I believe.

No way am I cooking a bloody turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭kimokanto

kylith wrote:
    I think my parents have invited themselves up to me for Christmas this year. They're trying to escape one of my aunts, I believe.

kylith wrote:

"Tis the season to be jolly! Fa la la la la,
    La la la la!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Does your husband have a preference for white or dark meat? We like dark meat, so we quite often buy just a turkey leg to roast - a decent sized one would be easily the equivalent, size-wise of a roast chicken and provides plenty of cooking juices for making gravy and so on. They are also a lot easier to cook well than a whole turkey - much less inclined to get dry and tasteless. If he's more of a white meat person, a turkey crown might be the way to go, though for some reason they tend to be stupidly expensive, compared to a whole turkey.

If a leg suits, be sure to get one well before Christmas and freeze it - they are pretty much impossible to get closer to Christmas :)

FX Buckleys and Troys in Moore street Dublin usually have turkey legs.

Hams are much handier - as long as you don't want them bone-in you can get them any size you want :)

Say you're a vegan now & threaten to serve Tofurky.

zAJJ7Lh.jpg

That'll see 'em off.

^ hilarious!

B0jangles wrote: »
    Does your husband have a preference for white or dark meat?

He wastes all the leg meat on a chicken, takes the breast meat and then tries to feed the rest to the cat and dogs, I usually end up stripping the carcass and making a curry but he wouldn't be mad about the texture. So maybe a crown would be the best idea. Is boned and rolled a bad idea?

The tofurkey looks AWFUL, would be interested to try though!

beertons wrote: »
    I've been looking for someone to start the thread too.

I'm fierce impatient, more so since I stopped smoking. So I started it.

And breathe slowly again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Does your husband have a preference for white or dark meat? We like dark meat, so we quite often buy just a turkey leg to roast - a decent sized one would be easily the equivalent, size-wise of a roast chicken and provides plenty of cooking juices for making gravy and so on. They are also a lot easier to cook well than a whole turkey - much less inclined to get dry and tasteless. If he's more of a white meat person, a turkey crown might be the way to go, though for some reason they tend to be stupidly expensive, compared to a whole turkey.

If a leg suits, be sure to get one well before Christmas and freeze it - they are pretty much impossible to get closer to Christmas :)

FX Buckleys and Troys in Moore street Dublin usually have turkey legs.

Hams are much handier - as long as you don't want them bone-in you can get them any size you want :)

As far as I know 4 adults, a 3 year old and a baby this year. Cooking will be done between myself and my wife, and kept as simple as possible if I get my way; Turkey, ham, roast potatoes, carrots and another veg.

I might try these stuffing balls that get a lot of mentions too; 2 coeliacs at the table, so outside the turkey is the way to go, or GF stuffing...

We had to have 3 types of spuds last year; roast, boiled and mashed; hoping to strip it back to 2 max.

Intrigued by the turkey leg option, had never even thought of it. Do they generally work out cheaper, as the less desirable pieces?
    I have no interest in turkey breast meat; although I doubt I could convince the in-laws who I think are coming again this year that dark meat is better.
    Full turkey will most likely be the result again.

He wastes all the leg meat on a chicken, takes the breast meat and then tries to feed the rest to the cat and dogs, I usually end up stripping the carcass and making a curry but he wouldn't be mad about the texture. So maybe a crown would be the best idea. Is boned and rolled a bad idea?

The tofurkey looks AWFUL, would be interested to try though!

If it was for me, I'd pick boned and rolled over a crown because the meat would probably be tastier and keeping it nice and moist would be easier, but it sounds like he definitely prefers breast meat so a crown would probably suit your needs best.

And yeah, I'd love if someone else would buy the vegan turkey just so I could have a taste :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

So maybe a crown would be the best idea
    Or a steak. At the end of the day a bunch of lads in my place are always discussing their dinner coming up, I can picture one of them saying they are going home to turkey and the others laughing and feeling sorry for them.

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    As far as I know 4 adults, a 3 year old and a baby this year. Cooking will be done between myself and my wife, and kept as simple as possible if I get my way; Turkey, ham, roast potatoes, carrots and another veg.

I might try these stuffing balls that get a lot of mentions too; 2 coeliacs at the table, so outside the turkey is the way to go, or GF stuffing...

We had to have 3 types of spuds last year; roast, boiled and mashed; hoping to strip it back to 2 max.

Intrigued by the turkey leg option, had never even thought of it. Do they generally work out cheaper, as the less desirable pieces?
    I have no interest in turkey breast meat; although I doubt I could convince the in-laws who I think are coming again this year that dark meat is better.
    Full turkey will most likely be the result again.

A good sized turkey leg (to be clear I mean the thigh and drumstick, not just the drumstick - those you can get in a lot of supermarkets.) cost between 6-8 euro the last time I got one, and there is plenty on a good one to feed 4-5 adults for a sunday roast dinner. With all the extras like ham, 3 types of spuds, bread sauce, 2 veg etc etc, there's even more to go around. To be safe though, I'd get two for Christmas and have plenty for Stephen's day sammiches :D

Cooking-wise, you just don't have the worry that the breast will dry out which is always my concern with a whole bird, particularly a large one. With a leg the meat is much more evenly exposed to the heat so it all cooks at the same rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Say you're a vegan now & threaten to serve Tofurky.

zAJJ7Lh.jpg

That'll see 'em off.

Himself is practically vegan, so that might be a goer....

Ah, they're not so bad. I just have to bear in mind that my dad won't eat anything that doesn't come with a side of potatoes (no noodles, curries, rice, or cous cous. Pasta under sufferance). I'll probably bake a side of salmon if they come; they're not too traditional.

rubadub wrote: »
    Or a steak. At the end of the day a bunch of lads in my place are always discussing their dinner coming up, I can picture one of them saying they are going home to turkey and the others laughing and feeling sorry for them.

Nah he'd rather turkey. Not mad into red meat and loves the "traditional dinner".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,345 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

A Sunday dinner is my idea of hell generally but I have to say, I love my traditional Christmas dinner. Although Christmas Day and Stephen's Day does me for the year :D I don't see the appeal of eating turkey and ham at every single event for the entire month of December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Thank you so much. I will check out the Panasonic website and see what they have.

Are there any hand blenders you'd recommend? I had a look on Amazon and they have loads from different price points so I'm a bit lost with which to go for :o

I bought one in DID ten years ago - not available anymore but this is what it had: Old Philips Blender

It is BRILLIANT and used almost every day. I drag the food processor/jug blender out from under the stairs when making paté or a lot of coleslaw for a party but the hand blender does almost everything else. Here's the replacement I'd buy if ours finally gave up the ghost: New blender? but I can't find a European stockist. If anyone comes up with one, tell me!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

looking for some advice guys...in our house there is an electric/induction hob (not sure the difference but ye know the ones!) and its all scratched/stained from previous owners.

You know, the doorbell rings, you wander out, come back and the saucepan has spilled all over the place and burned into the surface!

Any tips on cleaning it back to its former glory? From googling im seeing all sorts of advice, from baking soda to scraping with a blade to using heavy duty metal polish!

If I ever get to put a new kitchen in it will be a gas hob all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,345 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Sounds like a ceramic electric hob. You'd know if you had induction. You can buy slightly abrasive ceramic cleaner for it and the little flat blade thing is also excellent. DID/Power City/Home Store & More all have them.