Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers and #ad #spon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

The fact that you appear to know where he works (I do too based on her snapchats), is so problematic and shows she shares way too much on her platforms.
    Most companies actually would have major issues with that, I know mine do.

Grace earns a lot more than I think people realise (mainly down to her lack of # when she should), that's how she flies under the radar, it's part of her "I'm just a normal girl" schtick. She's clearly making enough to have an accountant and even be considering a mortgage after 2 years of audited accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

Lindy97 wrote: »
    The fact that you appear to know where he works (I do too based on her snapchats), is so problematic and shows she shares way too much on her platforms.
    Most companies actually would have major issues with that, I know mine do.

Grace earns a lot more than I think people realise (mainly down to her lack of # when she should), that's how she flies under the radar, it's part of her "I'm just a normal girl" schtick. She's clearly making enough to have an accountant and even be considering a mortgage after 2 years of audited accounts.

She said on Snapchat a few months ago that her and Chris were putting away 2 grand a month each towards the down payment for a mortgage. I remember being gob smacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

She said on Snapchat a few months ago that her and Chris were putting away 2 grand a month each towards the down payment for a mortgage. I remember being gob smacked.

I know it's off topic but that is about right if you are trying to buy in Dublin anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

I think they mean more so that they can afford that, given she never declares ads so  one would assume she doesnt get paid for anything and makes very little.

Again, the girl is clearly making more than she lets on even taking into account her living with her mum. She shops a fair bit and lunches out so has money to spend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

James Kavanagh Snapped himself unboxing a new phone from Carphone Warehouse.
    In the first Snap relating to it, he typed "Im working with them" and that was it.
    No #ad and no #spon.

I'm starting to go off James a bit. He'd turn up to the opening of an envelope it seems.
    He goes to anything and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

fussyonion wrote:
    I'm starting to go off James a bit. He'd turn up to the opening of an envelope it seems. He goes to anything and everything.

I still like James. When you're invited to events you probably have to appear. He supports Meningitis Ireland and is motivating people to get healthy on OT.

I think hes hilarious too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

That's James Patrice not James kavanagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

That's James Patrice not James kavanagh

Oh yeah. Sorry my bad! Yeah james kavanagh is a bit of a dose

Hah, weird thing is, James Patrice is my no.1 Snapchatter. I absolutely adore him and won't hear a bad word said against him. I LOVE LOVE LOVE him :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I used to love James K and still think he's a lovely guy, but he just used to snap way too much and I found his content quite repetitive. He was also a hoor for not #ad

anna080 wrote: »
    I used to love James K and still think he's a lovely guy, but he just used to snap way too much and I found his content quite repetitive. He was also a hoor for not #ad

Yeah the constant night-out snaps are something he has a habit of doing.
    One night he snapped 80 snaps of him posing and dancing with friends.
    Like, I don't want to see that?!
    But he isn't the only one who does it.

I didn't know he was a hoor for not #ad'ing though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I love him. I remember ages ago he gave out because people were messaging him saying is that an #ad?
    This was not long after himself and Grace went on I think the Elaine show to talk about how transparent they are LOL.
    He has reeled in the snaps thank god, there used to be looads more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

Carla Jackson just posted a "gift" she received from Freddy jeans. 4 pairs of jeans. Totalling 490 euro.

FOUR HUNDRED AND NINETY EURO.

She posted all the price tags.

There HAS to be some kind of #ad or #spon with those posts. That is payment in kind. It's crazy. I am in shock that someone who is in the public eye for being Sue's sister is getting that level of freebies. Obviously this is bolstered by the fact she is a stunning girl, but my god, 490e worth of gear.

Are Freddy still on the go?
    Rosie C got a shed load sent to her last year. About ten pairs I think, all for free. She had them up on Depop a few weeks later selling the lot.

anna080 wrote: »
    Are Freddy still on the go?
    Rosie C got a shed load sent to her last year. About ten pairs I think, all for free. She had them up on Depop a few weeks later selling the lot.

They are still on the go! In fairness I love them. I bought two pairs of identical jeans last year cos I liked them on me so much. It annoys me that I paid out that much, money I worked hard to earn, for their product, and they throw it for free at bloggers. But that's a different topic to whinge about another day.

That was just free money that Rosie got. She sold them for 80ish each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

Freddy Jeans are another brand I wouldn't touch as they throw the stuff at anyone who will show the slightest interest. They are on my list of 'I'll never shop there' along with Caris Closet, Starla Dresses, Bbold Tan, Bellamianta, Flormar, Bella Baby, and loads more I can't think of at this moment!

Ray37 wrote: »
    Freddy Jeans are another brand I wouldn't touch as they throw the stuff at anyone who will show the slightest interest. They are on my list of 'I'll never shop there' along with Caris Closet, Starla Dresses, Bbold Tan, Bellamianta, Flormar, Bella Baby, and loads more I can't think of at this moment!

Fecking Cari's Closet!!! I rented a Diane Von Furstenberg dress from them 4 years ago. It had been worn by several high profile models; Roz Purcell and the like. I rented it for about 250 for the night (more fool me!!!!) When I picked it up, it wasn't in great condition; it was the same dress that had been worn by the different models and was showing wear. Then they asked me for a further 100e deposit on my card! That would be refunded within 5 working days on getting back the dress. This had been mentioned at no point before. I had a ball in 4 hrs and was staying in a hotel with no other dress, but also wasn't handing over 100e that I hadn't budgeted for, so I called their bluff and said "grand, I'll take back the 250 rental fee then. I'm not paying the extra 100."

They let me off after much discussion but they were serious chancers. I found the dress online on sale in the states for 1000 dollars so they were charging way over the odds per rental. Though I was a stupid eejit to pay it. Never again.

And they give all the models/bloggers several dresses per trip/event for free with no #ad.

Meaghers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

fussyonion wrote: »
    James Kavanagh Snapped himself unboxing a new phone from Carphone Warehouse.
    In the first Snap relating to it, he typed "Im working with them" and that was it.
    No #ad and no #spon.

I'm starting to go off James a bit. He'd turn up to the opening of an envelope it seems.
    He goes to anything and everything.

he’d turn up
    To the opening of a gas bill him lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

Jaysus YES! I knew I was forgetting one of my top ones. Uggghhhh that name even annoys me now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

And Kerrigan Foods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭frogstar

ratmouse wrote: »
    And Kerrigan Foods

Only thing I'll say about kerrigans is that while I hate that they use MUF and other fitness people their turkey burgers are the best that are out there (even MUF's ones)

I hate having to ask for fairy sliders (and have told them that but their food really is fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

I wouldn't order from the cake cuppery either. They are all over bloggers snaps at any special occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Retro Flame did an event with Brown Thomas today. I didn't notice one #ad on her snaps or instastories of the event today. Just one on her instagram post. I've noticed she's not great at #ad when she's in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Retro Flame did an event with Brown Thomas today. I didn't notice one #ad on her snaps or instastories of the event today. Just one on her instagram post. I've noticed she's not great at #ad when she's in Ireland.

Hmmm you'd wonder... maybe because she is based primarily in the US they can't apply the ASAI rules to her here? Not sure how that works when people are in other countries... would they have any authority over a non resident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

And now I see a post for retro flame on facebook from yesterday (my facebook feed is all over the place) in relation to an online perfume retailer with a discount code. I remember her talking about it on snapchat and she #ad it so why does she not #ad the post?
    I've found that since she's come back to Ireland for the few days she's been inconsistent with her declarations. And she's normally fairly good at declaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

Just heard on the radio the ASAI has warned bloggers and influencers about #ad on posts- apparently Lisa Jordan had stuff on snapchat that were deemed misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

Siobhnk wrote: »
    Just heard on the radio the ASAI has warned bloggers and influencers about #ad on posts- apparently Lisa Jordan had stuff on snapchat that were deemed misleading.

Here it is on the ASAI complaints bulletin;
    http://www.asai.ie/complaint/just-jordanuniversal-pictures-international-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

wolfmoon87 wrote: »
    Siobhnk wrote: »

Here it is on the ASAI complaints bulletin;
    http://www.asai.ie/complaint/just-jordanuniversal-pictures-international-ireland/

Thanks! They didn't elaborate so I wasn't sure what it was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

I think it's fairly safe to assume at this stage, for Irish bloggers at least, that none of them are believable when it comes to any product. Basically, if they're showing it then it's an ad and take that from it what you will. Sad as it will erode any credibility they have as marketers in the long term or that blogging has as a soft marketing tactic