Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Bloggers / Influencers releasing products [Please read note in post #966]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I'd say Holly had an input into her jewellery design. The hot air balloon necklace is an exact copy of her tattoo that she's had for over a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

Also I seen in an interview that holly had help/advice from a jewellery expert. (They had her name in the article but I can't remember it! No one I knew but then I wouldn't) I think Hollys is not Just taken from aliexpress and also I appreciate the price point of hers. Some difference between what the max she could be making compared to the rest of the stuff from these boutiques! Just doesn't seem like she is ripping people off. Like some of these places couldn't even bother changing the stock photos.

On another note, Laura's Views is putting up a review of MUFs pixie pouts tonight in her YouTube! Just seen on her snapchat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

I think it’s very important to well informed when we see bloggers/influencers release these products because there are parents even buying stuff for their younger teens just because a blogger is selling.
    Transparency has always been an issue in this industry and hopefully the tides are turning especially with boards being at the forefront of the change (#ad/#spon) and hopefully now this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I just can't get over the mark up to be honest. Rosie's aluxe collection are affordable. There's no justification charging up to 900% profit on an item. Knowing Rosie's are ali express, I'd still be inclined to purchase as it's only 15 euro and I don't have to wait for delivery. A hairpiece for 145 though? <snip>

Exactly! Imagine being a bride and buying a headpiece for your wedding thinking you’re buying something special and you’re basically buying tat. Like the minute you mention weddings the price seems to go up but this is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I wouldn't pass much remarks on those groups, you have a certain kind of poster on them, very much a sheep mentality, you're allowed to like and support certain people and encouraged to bully others. Couldn't be dealing with giving them the time of day so wouldn't get too consumed in what they're saying as they're not capable of an original thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Yes and Penneys etc  are of course in the business of profit however they also have overheads such as store fit outs, rents, wages , buyers etc which they have to factor before profit. Only overhead with this is her time clicking links on a chinese website and bloody postage, she hasnt even done her own photography etc for it, she's using the stock photos. At least Sue et do some work on the packaging.
    The ones going "its just business" really need to educate themselves on ethics, regulations and fair trade business practices

<removed>

Lindy97 wrote: »
    The comments on the facebook group continue to baffle me!
    There is a massive different between RI or Pippa over charging. Their clothes are coming from the factory.
    There is no alternative to buying Pippas jeans. You pay the full whack or you do without. (In my case I do without because im a RI jeans gal for life and a scabby b1tch)
    I think these bloggers view Aliexpress as a supplier when in fact they are not.
    I deleted my snapchat two weeks ago and had to reactive it today in the hope someone like Rosemary MacCabe picks this up on one of her Rosemarys Rants
    Yes and Penneys etc  are of course in the business of profit however they also have overheads such as store fit outs, rents, wages , buyers etc which they have to factor before profit. Only overhead with this is her time clicking links on a chinese website and bloody postage, she hasnt even done her own photography etc for it, she's using the stock photos. At least Sue et do some work on the packaging.
    The ones going "its just business" really need to educate themselves on ethics, regulations and fair trade business practices

<removed>

RRP is actually the most basic business lesson you learn. You cannot sell something for a price more than it never was

That Facebook page is hardly the barometer for intellectual thought!
    Whatever they have to say on anything I usually think the opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

There are loads of people posting on this chat that have posted on the FB group. Writing style is very obvious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭AnnaSophia

Ah lads I'm ripping, I bought these Taylor and Rose earrings :( at least I know <removed> fair play to you all for uncovering this, great work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

AnnaSophia wrote: »
    Ah lads I'm ripping, I bought these Taylor and Rose earrings :( a<removed> fair play to you all for uncovering this, great work!

<snip> This is why I'm so annoyed by the whole thing. Genuine consumers thinking they're buying one of a kind quality products when it isn't the case at all. You should ask for a refund and see what she says!!

<removed>

I don't mind buying in Penneys, River Island etc because I can't get the stuff elsewhere. If I could get a €60 River Island dress for €5 on Aliexpress I'd definitely buy it, we all would, but the stuff isn't available.
    Similarly I don't even begrudge Rosie Connolly because if I wanted the product quickly, I wouldn't mind paying the €18 versus the Aliexpress price just for the convenience of faster delivery.

On another note, websites like Oh Polly, Pink Boutique, Pretty Little Thing etc all sell very similar stock so its worth looking through those to get the best price.

People on that group are missing the point entirely. 900% mark up when the product is readily available elsewhere online is indefensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

Totally agree re; Penney's! I usually just buy nightwear or gym stuff there, but if I buy a dress for 18e, it makes no odds to me that it's value is 2 or 3e. I know that already. I want a quick, disposable fashion fix. I have low expectations.

I do NOT have low expectations if I spend 145 quid on a glorified hairband!!! You'd be better off seeing what they have along the same lines in Penneys.

<removed>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

Lads, well I for one would never have been caught out...

Cos I can't even afford the Aliexpress prices :D

I have to stop looking at that Instagram page and here because I'm so tempted to buy a few bits even though I haven't the money to buy a packet of chewing gum at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

MUF is heavily promoting the online coaching service and leads us to believe that this is the secret to abs making an appearance. I believe flogging this service and showing off a heavily toned body might be somewhat fraudulent when you then see photos of her taken by others where she doesn't look as toned or even as slim. I couldn't care less what size she is but showing a toned body and saying the secret is an online coach you admire and work well with when at the same time not appearing as toned an slim in other peoples photos is deceiving. The amount of photos ive seen of this woman at for e.g., a launch or event and she looking super tones and slim in her own photos and yet in other people's photos at the same launch/event looks completely different. It is a false image being shown to followers, many of which are underage and impressionable. If photo shop is your secret then say so. The huge variances in how this woman looks from her photos compared to other people's almost warrants a Instagram page being set up to call out this false image potrayal.

There is very much a dichotomy of views when you compare the Facebook page and the insta page. Which pretty much highlights the brainwashed sheep culture that FB page has. Their views don't seem to exist outside of it, or at least they don't believe in their stance that much to have their views challenged on Instagram. I see Holly Shortall is following the Insta page now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭qxtasybe1nwfh2

Yeah and also Rosie sells to suppliers at 7 or 8 euro a piece and the RRP is 15euro so she isn't even making a bomb either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Look, end of the day every business is marking up, otherwise they're not doing it right.
    The issues here are a) bloggers buying stuff then claiming it's their own product from scratch b) selling items and a completely unjustifiable mark up and c) claiming items are handmade or bespoke when they are clearly neither.
    This needs to be looked at as a matter of consumer protection, the ASAI are useless on this and they are largely focused on advertising, so some other advertising body or regulator needs to step in and ensure these clowns are being taken to task to protect the consumers.

Doing business in this way does not make you a creator, a business woman, a crafter and innovator... bla bla. It makes you a reseller, nothing more, nothing less. Which is grand, nothing wrong with that, just be upfront about it.

anna080 wrote: »
    Doing business in this way does not make you a creator, a business woman, a crafter and innovator... bla bla. It makes you a reseller, nothing more, nothing less. Which is grand, nothing wrong with that, just be upfront about it.

Exactly, nothing wrong with being a reseller. Just admit it. See, if they were clever, they would play it off as being a reseller so from Aliexpress to help their customers acquire the products easier and safely, and charging a little bit more and charger for standard delivery but it appears to me that they want it to be their brand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ImMaryAnne

From her "30 under 30" article:

[font=Georgia, serif]“I was very slow to call myself a businesswoman or an entrepreneur. I suffer from what I call imposter syndrome!”

You don't say...[/font]

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

mod

ImMaryAnne Please read the charter. You must be a Boards member for over 3 months and have over 50 posts to post in here. You are welcome to rejoin the discussion when you fulfil this criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Is that not what a retailer is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭scarbouro

Has anyone contacted these people to see what they have to say for themselves?! I'm amazed they haven't come on some form of social media to defend themselves... or will they just ignore it all and hope it all blows over!

I hope some of the fashion and magazine sites pick up on it and do a piece about it. Letting even more people know what they're up to.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

scarbouro wrote: »
    Has anyone contacted these people to see what they have to say for themselves?! I'm amazed they haven't come on some form of social media to defend themselves... or will they just ignore it all and hope it all blows over!

They're too smart to comment, they know like anything it'll be a storm in a teacup, ignore it and it'll go away.

I really hope it doesn't but it prob will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭gossipgirl10

Ya I'm waiting with baited breath to see who's going to be the first person other than here or the Instagram to mention it. I'd imagine in her line of work she probably is friendly with a lot of media people so I doubt they will be too quick to do a write up about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

You know what, I don't care if something has a massive markup. The only thing I care about is 100% transparency. This goes for whether a post is #sp #ad or #freebie too. Some of those influencers are deliberately vague on certain aspects and word things carefully to give the impression that they designed or had a say 100% of the way. Using terms like "bespoke" is misleading. The most annoying thing for me is these influencers will then be lauded in certain sectors (Expose, magazines, blog shows and the Sunday lifestyle papers) for being #GirlsBosses when in reality they're no different from a woman who has set up a local business that you can find up and down the country.

Another thing is, I can understand if the influencers buy in bulk from Aliexpress or the likes and then sell them on, I might be tempted to buy from the influencer so that I can have it in a more reasonable time frame and if the influencer has commented on the quality.

The comparison I think on FB to Penneys was laughable. It's like comparing Penneys and BT. In Penneys I know what I'm getting is cheap and cheerful and I'll get a few wears out of it before it starts to disintegrate. However, if I fork out for something from BT I expect a much higher and long lasting standard of quality.