Irish bride-to-be pleads with hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Me thinks This fool organised and paid for a wedding on the strength of x amount of people each showing up with y amount of money. This would have covered the hotel but the lads preferring to play in some Mickey Mouse match had scuppered her calculations and left her writing a cheque her ass can't cash. If the husband has any sense he'll scarper sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

Time to get the popcorn,we have a live one here!
    Hope she enjoys the wedding on Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,986 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Doubt it the only cost the hotel would have is food and extra staff. Whereas the B&G church, car, photographer, band, dj flowers etc etc.
    But my point is that...the hotel stated they had the perishable food all bought in for this Saturday. And if they gave bride refund for the 28 no shows then they'd be left with all that food..
    If there is no wedding this Saturday then the hotel is left with 130 portions of perishable food.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,306 ✭✭✭kenmc

Bet the wedding reception will be a barrel of laughs after all this... the speeches will be fun, when the groom thanks the hotel staff with bridezilla giving him daggers. In the doghouse on the first night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

But my point is that...the hotel stated they had the perishable food all bought in for this Saturday. And if they gave bride refund for the 28 no shows then they'd be left with all that food..
    If there is no wedding this Saturday then the hotel is left with 130 portions of perishable food.
    She's not going to cancel an entire wedding on the back of 16 empty chairs, hotel knew that

harr wrote: »
    Hope she enjoys the wedding on Saturday...
    Or gets the winning goal at the semi..

She's not going to cancel an entire wedding on the back of 16 empty chairs, hotel knew that
    Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

pluto2018 wrote: »
    ya know
    the woman is the mother of civilisation
    the woman is the backbone of every nation

Not this beor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Why on earth do people spend so much on one day of their lives putting themselves in hock.

Oh, and if there isn't one already, some daft sad sack will start a crowd funding page for the poor bride. Even though there are far more deserving causes, people will donate, because they're soft. (some would say in the head but that would be cruel)

Nice hotel, food was meh at the wedding I went to, but rooms are lovely. Breakfast is great though.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

But my point is that...the hotel stated they had the perishable food all bought in for this Saturday. And if they gave bride refund for the 28 no shows then they'd be left with all that food.. If there is no wedding this Saturday then the hotel is left with 130 portions of perishable food.

You miss the fact that the B&G entered a contract? The hotel in an act of generosity was willing to take the hit so the bribe could have a different date and all her guests attend. Can't please some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭jluv

That's my point..I would imagine they'd have a huge panic on if she said thanks I'll have the third Saturday in October!

I love the fact that she said "Well we weighed that up last night and all our other deposits came to 5000 euros"
    Should her first concern not have been the other 114 guests she would be messing with in order to change a date:eek:

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    You miss the fact that the B&G entered a contract? The hotel in an act of generosity was willing to take the hit so the bribe could have a different date and all her guests attend. Can't please some people.
    My point is..and maybe I'm being unfair..
    But it's my opinion..
    I think offering to change the date was just the hotel trying to look good.
    I think they knew she'd decline because like I said why would they do a U turn from not taking a hit on 28 meals to taking a hit on 130?
    Absolutely she signed a contract. I'm agreeing with that 100%. And she did walk herself into looking silly. But equally I personally don't buy into the goodwill gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Not look good but be realistic. Would she go to the makeup artist or florist and say soz I need to change the date but I'll have my deposit back as it's unforeseen circumstances? No she wouldn't, so why do it to the hotel.

Hotel isn't breaking the contract. She is. They gave her another opportunity to uphold her side of the contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

My point is..and maybe I'm being unfair.. But it's my opinion.. I think offering to change the date was just the hotel trying to look good. I think they knew she'd decline because like I said why would they do a U turn from not taking a hit on 28 meals to taking a hit on 130? Absolutely she signed a contract. I'm agreeing with that 100%. And she did walk herself into looking silly. But equally I personally don't buy into the goodwill gesture.

Personally as soon as she attempted to blackmail the hotel any goodwill gesture went out the window and rightly so. She is not a victim, simples.

Not look good but be realistic. Would she go to the makeup artist or florist and say soz I need to change the date but I'll have my deposit back as it's unforeseen circumstances? No she wouldn't, so why do it to the hotel.

Hotel isn't breaking the contract. She is. They gave her another opportunity to uphold her side of the contract.
    I think she shot herself in foot by saying they had calculated the florist etc loss if they changed the date.
    If they went ahead and changed the date..OK great they don't lose the meals already paid for but the band/florist/hairdresser all suffer from potential lost business for that day that they've declined.
    I do feel sorry for the couple. That's four less tables at their wedding. And it seems like a small enough wedding.
    I do feel sorry for the hotel too because this debacle was thrown at them last minute and to be given a few hours threat of being on air- not on. And maybe I was unfair judging about the offer of reschedule. Lexie has a better take on it- non realistic is a better word.
    But to the poster who thinks getting to a semi final is a mickey mouse thing-youve obviously never had the honour to wear your club colours at that level. The team train rain and shine most of the year round for that glory. The opposition team isn't willingly going to allow a reschedule so the other team can attend a wedding. It seems from her call that the groom isn't even a team member himself!
    Best of luck to the couple on Saturday anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Is anyone else thing that Brother Andy s the actual bride.He keeps sticking up fo her and trying to blame the hotel for something the bride dd.

dubstarr wrote: »
    Is anyone else thing that Brother Andy s the actual bride.He keeps sticking up fo her and trying to blame the hotel for something the bride dd.

Ach, just a different way of looking at it. I myself don't think the hotel should be patting themselves on the back over it all, just they were forced to take a stand and did as well as could be expected.

On the other hand, this raving nonsense...
    google post-partum depression

education
    no, when you are criticizing her you are really criticising yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

lawred2 wrote: »
    she was probably banking on gifts

She should surely be getting them from the people who pulled out after confirming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

....... wrote: »
    Well then they shouldnt have accepted an invite to the wedding.

Did you miss the part that she guaranteed paying for 130 guests. Would she have been happy with we cant come to your wedding as we might be doing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

no, when you are criticizing her you are really criticising yourself

There is no spoon

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,357 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

She would have gone to the hotel a year and a half ago, at least. And would have agreed their package of x amount for a minimum of 130 guests. Some hotels do packages for €39 pp, a quick Google brings them up.

There will always be fewer numbers than you plan for. I think we invited 120, and 90 people sat down for the meal. "In my day" you paid per head and gave final numbers a month before the wedding, with final, final numbers the week before.

She agreed to pay for 130 people. Even if she only got RSVPs from 110 6 weeks before the day, the hotel would still charge her the package for 130 because that's the price she agreed to. It may have given her time to add in a few from the reserve list, but regardless she agreed a price with the hotel, so that's what she pays.

My sister did one of those deals and in the last couple of days, 4 people dropped out. She scrambled around inviting a few others to get her money's worth! I thought it was a bit cheeky inviting people a day or 2 before the wedding, but each to their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Please somebody let me know how the games goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

It wasn't just 18 as she mentions at the start of the clip other people who cancelled.

Also she mentioned they didn't go with the k club...a bit more expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I think she shot herself in foot by saying they had calculated the florist etc loss if they changed the date.
    If they went ahead and changed the date..OK great they don't lose the meals already paid for but the band/florist/hairdresser all suffer from potential lost business for that day that they've declined.
    I do feel sorry for the couple. That's four less tables at their wedding. And it seems like a small enough wedding.
    I do feel sorry for the hotel too because this debacle was thrown at them last minute and to be given a few hours threat of being on air- not on. And maybe I was unfair judging about the offer of reschedule. Lexie has a better take on it- non realistic is a better word.
    But to the poster who thinks getting to a semi final is a mickey mouse thing-youve obviously never had the honour to wear your club colours at that level. The team train rain and shine most of the year round for that glory. The opposition team isn't willingly going to allow a reschedule so the other team can attend a wedding. It seems from her call that the groom isn't even a team member himself!
    Best of luck to the couple on Saturday anyhow.

is 130 really a "small enough wedding"??

Why dont the plus 1 go and bring a friend.Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

is 130 really a "small enough wedding"??

in the context of irish rural weddings...yes....I've seen over 400 at some where both bride and groom are locals

Basically the entire community invite eachother to weddings

in Dublin (perhaps other urban areas) it wouldn't be considered small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Wonder did they read the small print on the contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I see a fairly simple solution to this issue .The couple had paid for 130 dinners and only 112 are eating. The meat or fish ordered is now extra to need so why not slice that extra meat and wrap it in individual 2 portion meals? It can be frozen and used over the next six months as a meal for two or four or whatever they fancy . I have had too much meat left over Christmas and done exactly this and froze two portions for use over the year.
    The desserts can be plated or divided too and frozen for a use at a dinner party or Christmas meal
    She has paid for 130 , 18 are not eating so she is not actually out of pocket as she was paying it anyway and budgeted for .So clear a freezer and make use of itand use your head instead of whinging and lieing on national radio would be my solution .

Mena Mitty wrote: »

Most people dont,they just sign on the dotted line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Mena Mitty wrote: »

Imagine ringing, say, SKY and asking for a discount for the month of August because you were away on 2 weeks holidays so you didn't use their services.

Contract was in place and I do think if she had called to the hotel straight away and had a chat the hotel would have been accommodating .