Where you live.

• 21-09-2017 09:44AM

Inspired by another thread.

Once an area get a reputation is it impossible to change that.:pac:

I could name a few areas that people seem to think resembles down town Beirut in the middle of a civil war, will not perfect they are grand and all have parts that are described as affluent even very affluent.

It seems to be a hang over from the 1980s combined with petty snobbery?

Im sure there are people grew up in Foxrock and think its a KIp.

Maybe it is a bit of projectionist of personal issues on to the ares they grew up in?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I could tell you a few stories about Harolds Cross and Rathmines, south Dublin that would make Mexican cartels look like alter boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Maybe.

I could tell you a few stories about Harolds Cross and Rathmines, south Dublin that would make Mexican cartels look like alter boys

Yet they would be considered very desirable as a place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I doubt you'll find a soul who would call Foxrock a kip.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Yet they would be considered very desirable as a place to live.

Harolds Cross yes, not so much Rathmines. I live very near both

Its about perception not reality.

The corollary of my post would be that some areas are bathed in gold both literally and figuratively, its sunshine everyday.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Pfft, Foxrock is a kip.

side note: I don't think I've ever been to Foxrock.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Pfft, Foxrock is a kip.

I'll bring you fora day trip :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

jonnycivic wrote: »
    I'll bring you fora day trip :P

Do you think that in one day we can double handedly change the perception of it?

Pfft, Foxrock is a kip.

A no its lovely thing large house with half acre gardens trees every where its the epitome of leafy suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,381 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I've always felt that the Rathmines/Rathgar/Ranelagh areas were rather desirable places to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Harolds Cross yes, not so much Rathmines. I live very near both

What are you on about? Rathmines not a desirable area to live in? Ya, the ignominy of having to buy a gaff on Leinster Road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

mariaalice wrote: »
    Its about perception not reality.

The corollary of my post would be that some areas are bathed in gold both literally and figuratively, its sunshine everyday.

I don't think anyone would perceive Foxrock to be kip.

That better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The media would have you believe that Limerick is just one dead scumbag after another on the streets but I haven't seen a dead scumbag in days.

What are you on about? Rathmines not a desirable area to live in? Ya, the ignominy of having to buy a gaff on Leinster Road.

I never said it wasn't desirable, just Harolds Cross would be more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Bishopstown is terrible. Bad enough the regular drive-by-patio-admirings, there was a riot in Halldene last Sunday because Marks and Spencer had run out of risotto paste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

osarusan wrote: »
    The media would have you believe that Limerick is just one dead scumbag after another on the streets but I haven't seen a dead scumbag in days.

To be honest you're more likely to have a snail thrun at your house like, especially if you live on the Ennis Road, squire. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I was in Limerick for the first time last month and i was shocked at how nice the town was. It has a terrible reputation but it was really nice there. It looks nice and had a nice atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

jimgoose wrote: »
    Bishopstown is terrible. Bad enough the regular drive-by-patio-admirings, there was a riot in Halldene last Sunday because Marks and Spencer had run out of risotto paste.

Of course there are areas that are not great to live in - it isn't snobbery to acknowledge this.

If places had a bad reputation for good reason and have now settled down, I guess people still calling them kips are referring to how they knew them in the past. I suppose they should do their research though.

I agree that there is not likely anyone who would ever have called Foxrock a kip. Hell of a leap. Somewhere more realistic like Fairview might work better! (A grand area in my opinion but might be considered dodge by some, just because it's on the northside and near Ballybough).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Whats this thread about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

I never said it wasn't desirable, just Harolds Cross would be more
    I heard the opposite. Both areas are grand, but for one-off dodge incidents, it's Harold's Cross that I've heard more negative stuff in relation to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Where you live and other thread wanted names. Didnt know the Gardai used this so much?!?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway I live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I've never heard of a cartel member sucking off a priest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Tralee has a bad reputation

and rightly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

To be fair, the council are really putting in the effort when it comes to clearing the bodies off the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Your Face wrote: »
    Whats this thread about?
    Where you live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

chupacabra wrote: »
    Tralee has a bad reputation

and rightly so

Not surprisingly, them roses attract the wrong sort altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Pfft, Foxrock is a kip.

You're not missing much. As far as I can tell there's only a church, a Texaco, a driving range and a shop that sells curtains.

I moved into Fatima/Rialto/dolphins barn area with an open mind and a breezy outlook a few years ago.

I moved out of it several months back and if you offered me the button for a controlled explosion of the place I'd take the hand off you