Irish bride-to-be pleads with hotel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

Listened to this yesterday and thought the girl was foolish, although we all do stupid things that we don't care to admit, particularly when in a state of panic. I know she must be regretting it now and one would have to be sympathetic for that position.

I think the guests who bailed on her for a silly ball game are the real dicks. If they weren't so ignorant, none of this would have happened in the first place and no cloud would ultimately be cast over this important day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭mazwell

Fair play, I love the idea of a wedding invite being referred to as a summons :D

I'm getting married in two weeks and when my fiance handed out the local invites he kept saying there's your summons. We're no fools we know how expensive weddings can be for the guests.
    Which is probably how we realised to have the money to pay for the **** meal in our account instead of whinging to Joe Duffy that people didn't turn up.
    Incidentally our team also made the club county final. Not on our wedding day but I just thought I'd congratulate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

Can't get this song out of my head after reading this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

valoren wrote: »
    She sent out invites to people which they accepted.

Now they decided to play a match instead leaving her out of pocket contractually with the hotel.
    That's pretty appalling from those who decided to stay away having accepted an invitation.

There's a reason invitations have RSVP. It let's the couple confirm who will be attending to solidify expected numbers.
    They will be attending barring an emergency situation, illness, a death etc. In many cases, couples have to ring people they've sent invites to before hotel deadline for numbers to confirm if they'll be there. People are really that stupid. "Oh...yeah...we'll be going alright..."

A football match is not an emergency. Clearly the bride in this case is quite understandably livid, clearly she is stressed out to the point of threatening a hotel with a smear via Joe Duffy. A self-absorbed bluff which the management tactfully called her on. From their point of view, they agreed a price, they spent from their expenses in lieu of that and don't want to be out of pocket understandably because of a group of ignorant GAA players.

The match is more important than a wedding. The date of the game was likely only set in the past month. Because of the All Ireland SFC county boards do not nail down fixtures at the beginning of the year and base it on the progress of the county team. You train all year from the depts of the winter and are going to miss the business end of the season because of a wedding?? Not a hope. The players will probably arrive in the evening.

I guess some will never understand the sense of achievment that arrives with breaking your balls all year and winning something at the end of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Bebopclown

If the groom hears this I don't think she'll need to worry about the wedding at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    The match is more important than a wedding. The date of the game was likely only set in the past month. Because of the All Ireland SFC county boards do not nail down fixtures at the beginning of the year and base it on the progress of the county team. You train all year from the depts of the winter and are going to miss the business end of the season because of a wedding?? Not a hope. The players will probably arrive in the evening.

I guess some will never understand the sense of achievment that arrives with breaking your balls all year and winning something at the end of it.

Feck, I'd take any excuse to miss a wedding. I'd happily pay the hotel bill and throw a few quid in a card and not go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

myshirt wrote: »
    I'd watch this girl very closely. If there is any drink brought into the premises and drank under the table or any of that messing, I'd be making sure she foots the bill.
    Would retrospectively charge a corking fee per can :P
    Thargor wrote: »
    Okay Ive read the thread and all the articles and I still dont get it, how did they make the leap to actually getting on Liveline? She sounded like she didnt want to do it, did the hotel arrange it?
    It sounds like she threatened to give the hotel bad publicity by going on the radio about it, so the hotel went to the radio about it first. From the article in the OP;
    However, the hotel said that they felt 'quite threatened' when they received an email from the bride claiming that she had a 'friend' working for the RTE radio show.

"Is there no way you can refund some of the money for the wedding?" the bride said in an email addressed to The Keadeen Hotel.

"My friend works for Joe and Liveline and they said they'd put it on the radio today and that the hotel won't help us out in any way."
    If weddings were the hotels bread and butter this sort of stunt from the bride to be could financially ruin them (if she really had known someone in the radio station). So it seems they took her threat head on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

She deserves all the negative attention that's coming her way. People get away with this sort of brazen douchery too often. She needs to be accountable for her appalling actions.

The only way I can see her turning this around and not being the laughing stock at her own wedding is if she donates a significant portion of money gifts to a worthy charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

For those who are saying she did not sound that bad, I disagree.

She was prepared to threaten a business who had been nothing but professional and kind to her in the lead up to her wedding.

She went ahead and contacted the Radio Show and was prepared to go on and try to shame the Hotel.

She did not care about the business, or the people working there once she got her own way. She could have damaged the hotels business and reputation as they rely on wedding business.

Her mail was very threatening.....the usual "I know" you can give me the money back (the usual I know better than you) and then actually going through with the threat to call liveline. Bullying tactics.

She had no comeback once she was exposed, as she knew she was caught out, hence the change of attitude. The old saying "tell the truth and shame the devil" has rung through in this instance.

Anyone who has ever had to deal with this type of customer would love to shake the Managers hand.

It's great to see businesses stand up and defend themselves against these types of threats. They were right to take her threat seriously.

People do this all the time against businesses and it needs to stop. There was another thread on here previousky about a bride to be shaming a hotel and she had put a nasty thread in trip advisor as well as on here. The manager came on And told the truth which was very different than the original story and the liar was not seen for dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Ray Purchase

I actually can't believe how easily she got off here. She threatened the hotel, plain and simple. That would be quite sinister if she wasn't so f***ing stupid. As soon as the letter was read she should have been cut-off.

anewme wrote: »
    For those who are saying she did not sound that bad, I disagree.

She was prepared to threaten a business who had been nothing but professional and kind to her in the lead up to her wedding.

She went ahead and contacted the Radio Show and was prepared to go on and try to shame the Hotel.

She did not care about the business, or the people working there once she got her own way. She could have damaged the hotels business and reputation as they rely on wedding business.

Her mail was very threatening.....the usual "I know" you can give me the money back (the usual I know better than you) and then actually going through with the threat to call liveline. Bullying tactics.

Plus, fundamentally, she was wrong. She was inconsiderate, threatening, bullying etc. etc...to get a refund to which she wasn't entitled except she thought she could bully her way to it.

I think a post above said she chanced her arm. Asking for money back is chancing one's arm. Devising a plan to unfairly force the matter, writing a threatening email, lying, actually going on air...wrong, wrong, wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I actually can't believe how easily she got off here. She threatened the hotel, plain and simple. That would be quite sinister if she wasn't so f***ing stupid. As soon as the letter was read she should have been cut-off.

I'd imagine that the producers had the full story before it went on air.

It's not as if they hadn't spoken to the hotelier prior to him going on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Cork Lass wrote: »
    Y'know, I can be a complete b1tch sometimes and my initial reaction to this thread was "what an utter b1tch" but honestly, I feel she never meant this to happen. She 100% went the wrong way about it but probably never meant it to get this far and wishes she could turn the clock back. I've read the whole of this thread and at this point I really feel sorry for her. I hope her day goes well. Life is short guys and everyone of us makes mistakes.

I have to disagree, I think she totally meant for it to get this far. It's not like it was a spur of the moment phone call to liveline where you might get some sympathy.

One she writes a threatening e-mail to the hotel, saying pretty much that she will tarnish their good name on the national airways.

Two she calls liveline and complains and gets caught out.

She clearly planned out what she was going to do and I personally don't have sympathy. The term we all make mistakes gets thrown out too often to justify actions that are totally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭mikeecho

jamesbere wrote: »
    I have to disagree, I think she totally meant for it to get this far. It's not like it was a spur of the moment phone call to liveline where you might get some sympathy.

One she writes a threatening e-mail to the hotel, saying pretty much that she will tarnish their good name on the national airways.

Two she calls liveline and complains and gets caught out.

She clearly planned out what she was going to do and I personally don't have sympathy. The term we all make mistakes gets thrown out too often to justify actions that are totally wrong.

And yet, somehow, I don't think she'll be a bit embarrassed about this in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

They signed a contract guaranteeing numbers, 12 are going to a match and she wants at least 2000 back, ie 125+ per head. The people not going must be bringing the numbers below and surely the non attending invitees will give presents anyway.

She comes across as a cont and certainly explains why she is struggling for numbers and why even the women in the couples arent going.

If a situation arose where myself and the missus were invited to a wedding and I had a big match that day, she would go to the wedding and I would follow after the match, unless we needed an excuse to get us out of a wedding we didnt want to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

She kept saying she "didn't want to go online." Did she mean "on air"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

I usually side with the company (working in customer service makes you do that because you have more of an understanding of the bigger picture) and I really despise people who try to damage a business on social media. I think the hotel manager was dead right to go on air.

But having listened to the clip, I don't get why people are saying she comes across as a **** - she seems totally embarrassed at herself, and is really meek.

I was expecting this one screaming demands at the hotel manager, when it's nothing at all like that. A chancer, in a bit of desperation, now seeing sense, is how I'd characterise her - definitely not a bullying ****.

Spider Web wrote: »
    I usually side with the company (working in customer service makes you do that because you have more of an understanding of the bigger picture) and I really despise people who try to damage a business on social media. I think the hotel manager was dead right to go on air.

But having listened to the clip, I don't get why people are saying she comes across as a **** - she seems totally embarrassed at herself, and is really meek.

I was expecting this one screaming demands at the hotel manager, when it's nothing at all like that. A chancer, in a bit of desperation, now seeing sense, is how I'd characterise her - definitely not a bullying ****.

She tried to Blackmail the hotel, thats bullying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I dono.
    A part of me feels sorry for her but another part of me feels she approached it like a bull in a China shop. Sending threatening emails before even broaching a decent conversation is not on. That is not the measure of a decent person. I can be fiery as fcuk but I'll always try and be reasonable with people first. I find you get better results that way. She's more than just a wagon- telling him she "works in pr and knows how these things work" and threatening to trash his business on Joe Duffy are not the qualities of a nice person. Quiet and meek people can be absolute b|tches too.

AND she had the absolute shocking foresight to try and sort this before the wedding even happens, instead of afterwards like every other normal person would do!!
    Awkward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Spider Web wrote:

Her 'meekness' had more to do with the tables being turned vis a vis her amateur attempt at blackmail. The hotel played a blinder, she is the loser in this and somewhat of a joke. I do agree she's not a cnut, just an idiot who got caught. Let's not forget she threatened the hotels reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

This is a classic example of what Shakespeare called getting 'hoist by thine own petard'.

Threatening a hotel to smear their reputation via 'Joe' but culminating in her getting her reputation smeared by the hotel via 'Joe'.

There's a beautiful irony to it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I loved how the hotel manager got in the comment about feeling that because her friend worked on the show they'd have been biased towards the hotel too.
    Some customers are complete wagons. A few years ago we had a customer who had cancelled 3 appointments with us not giving much notice at all. We were then looking for models and she replied to the post instantly looking for the free treatment. We weren't going to give her free treatments when she cancelled on three occasions and never spent money with us, we'd rather give it to a customer.

She didn't get it, she emailed whining. Sent back the standard were filled the models places thanks for your interest well keep you in mind for future dates blah blah blah. She rang the salon and was screaming, whining the she was one of the first of people to respond it was bad customer service to give it to someone who didn't respond as quickly as she did and if we didn't give it to her she'd trash us with reviews online.

Sometimes people are just self entitled assholes. Weddings can turn the nicest people into demons. But I like seeing a business defend themselves and he was so polite and professional while being honest. Guests blowing off her wedding for a match is not unforeseen circumstances it's a choice they've made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

....... wrote: »

she was probably banking on gifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

valoren wrote: »
    This is a classic example of what Shakespeare called getting 'hoist by thine own petard'.

Threatening a hotel to smear their reputation via 'Joe' but culminating in her getting her reputation smeared by the hotel via 'Joe'.and some people on boards

There's a beautiful irony to it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    She tried to Blackmail the hotel, thats bullying

Ah stop. She chanced her arm. The email wasn't even threatening or obnoxious in the way that's being inferred.

She clearly didn't want to go on air, she just tried to push the hotel and they completely called her bluff. She did nothing that most people don't try in some form during their lives.

I think people are trying to project their worst impressions of "bridezilla" on this woman and situation when it was nothing of the sort. She seems a decent person who chanced her arm badly and it blew up in her face spectacularly.

The schadenfraude on here is really ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭meep

A lot of people really don't understand the sequence of events and are posting based on causlity that did not happen;

1. Bride realises a lot of guests are not coming at short notice and thinks there might be a chance of refund/flexibility from hotel.
    2. She calls hotel late Monday evening and leaves a message
    3. For some unexplained reason she proceeds to contact Joe Duffy on Tuesday (her big misatake, everything sprials from here)
    4. To her surprise, JD researchers bite and ask her to go on air
    5. She gets second thoughts an doesn't want to go on air. At this point, she writes the fateful e-mail to the hotel raising the spectre of a liveline appearance in the hope that it will prompt the hotel to compromise.
    6. It doesn't and she is somehow cajolled into participating in the show even though she realises things have gone out of control. Hence her meek and subdued demeanor.

So the email was written AFTER she'd made contact with LiveLine. I'd love to know what transpired between her call to the hotel on Monday eveningand her calling Liveline on Tuesday as it seems a bit nuclear. Did I miss a call back or meeting with hotle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Bebopclown wrote: »
    If the groom hears this I don't think she'll need to worry about the wedding at all.

Do you also think he'll take their child with him :rolleyes: More than likely he knew about it beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

lawred2 wrote: »

The hotel is in no way responsible for her gift haul though. That depends on the demographic of guests.

She was perfectly happy to try to damage a business. That affects real people. People whose whole take home pay for a week would match what she would likely get in an envelope. She has no regard for the staff who may get laid off due to reduced bookings in the future due to her lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Neyite wrote: »
    lawred2 wrote: »

The hotel is in no way responsible for her gift haul though. That depends on the demographic of guests.

She was perfectly happy to try to damage a business. That affects real people. People whose whole take home pay for a week would match what she would likely get in an envelope. She has no regard for the staff who may get laid off due to reduced bookings in the future due to her lies.

Erm ok.. it seems you've confused me with someone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Dice75

All the remaining guests should get her toasters and lamps as presents :)

If you're gambling on cash presents to cover to cost of the wedding i'd like to be your bookie.