Irish bride-to-be pleads with hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

brainwave !!

could they have the reception pitchside or in the clubhouse whilst watching the match and the players could join them later once the game is over ??

no need to thank me

i take a bow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Jaysis she really is a muppet. She threatens the hotel with Joe Duffy and ends up being humiliated on Joe Duffy by the hotel manager who exposes her lies.

Imagine what the main topic of conversation is going to be among guests on her wedding day? There is going to be one giant elephant in the room that nobody can mention to her directly but that everyone will be talking about behind her back. She knows it, the grooms family all know it as do the guests. Even the waiting and bar staff who will be serving the guests know what she did. The hotel manager will be telling her he hopes she has a lovely day while he is sniggering inside.

And all eyes will be on her for her wedding day but for all the wrong reasons. I almost feel sorry for except I dont, she brought it on herself after all.

its a victory for anyone that's worked in retail that's been threatened with these talk shows. I can only imagine the manager's delight knowing that they had the letter in their back pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

fryup wrote:
    could they have the reception pitchside or in the clubhouse whilst watching the match and the players could join them later once the game is over ??

Only problem with your solution is... there is a contract signed with the hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Just goes to show that to 95% of wedding guests the invitation was an unwanted hefty bill that came through the door. A wedding is only important to the B+G s close circle.

Getting married should just be a case of filling out a few forms for the tax office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

at least this couple have the balls to ask their guests to pay for their wedding

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-derbyshire-41317297

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

....... wrote: »

Amateur means that you don't get paid for taking part. It doesn't always lessen the effort put into it or the importance of it to the individual taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭meep

fryup wrote: »
    brainwave !!

no need to thank me

i take a bow

Nice idea, not practical

The wedding is in Kildare, the match is in Cavan, at 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

pmce4 wrote: »
    seriously "a tramp" have you forked out for a wedding these days this is obviously a lot of money to this person and to the other 11 other twats who thanked you for this post get a life and see if any of you could afford to drop 2 grand down the back of a sofa.
    Tramp is being kind to her,if I was invited to that wedding I'd probably cancel now as well after hearing what she tried to do. Despicable behaviour and delighted the hotel shamed her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Id agree if it was some kind of important sporting event that gets televised etc.

An amateur football match - not so much.

Though that's just your opinion. Which means Jack s hit.

The people playing care about what they do. You can't understand that... Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Logo

thevow.ie/: Although a bizarre exchange occurred on Liveline as an Irish bride-to-be pleaded with her hotel venue to show 'compassion' as she faces a potential €2,000 bill for no-show guests.
    Bride-to-be Jennifer Long took to the RTE show to explain how she will be left short of 16-18 wedding guests at her big day this weekend as her guests' GAA team had made it to the semi finals of their league, with the match to be played on the same day as her nuptials.
    However, the hotel said that they felt 'quite threatened' when they received an email from the bride claiming that she had a 'friend' working for the RTE radio show. "Is there no way you can refund some of the money for the wedding?" the bride said in an email addressed to The Keadeen Hotel.

Neyite wrote: »
    I used to work in a place were we had a running tally on the noticeboard of how often the place got threatened with Joe. It was at least once a week. Each.

We would take great pleasure in pretending not to know who he was.

One place I worked had someone do the exact same. Usually it's the hysterical people that are out to be offended. One woman said she'd do it... over something that was her own fault, but placed blame on us.

F*cking eejits.

Neither is 2 people standing in front of a man in a dress talking to his imaginary friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

There. FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Only problem with your solution is... there is a contract signed with the hotel.

well then.. the hotel can provide the catering pitchside

do i have to think of everything :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

danmanw8 wrote: »
    I know! and they'll probably still give money as a wedding gift which would cover their costs anyway.

Still at least she admitted she was wrong and spoke highly of the hotel after...

You do realise its Cavan we're talking about here. Not a hope 16 Cavan footballers going to stump up without getting the beef or salmon.

The level of importance on both sides is subjective rendering this entire thread rather pointless.

What's also pointless is trying to reason with rural GAAliban types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,520 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

The hotel in question will refund your money as 'credit' when informed of final numbers up to 48hours in advance. What happens with this credit, I don't know.... but if the 16 guests are a 2k cost, then she should have a 2k credit based on that now, given it is a few days before the wedding and well before the cut off time.

Seems an odd argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

As far as we know, no guest has cancelled for something unimportant.

I have.

Not pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Schwiiing wrote: »
    The level of importance on both sides is subjective rendering this entire thread rather pointless.

What's also pointless is trying to reason with rural GAAliban types.

I think the point of the thread is more to do with the woman's attitude in trying to blame the hotel for guests not turning up and expecting compensation for that rather than how important a football match is to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

The hotel in question will refund your money as 'credit' when informed of final numbers up to 48hours in advance. What happens with this credit, I don't know.... but if the 16 guests are a 2k cost, then she should have a 2k credit based on that now, given it is a few days before the wedding and well before the cut off time.

Seems an odd argument.

Subject to the final number still being over 130, if I understand it correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Its a senior championship match..

If they get to the all ireland final they will be live on television on St. Patrick's Day.

Do you know that important day we have?

Even most inter-country player (Players who play for the county team for the "county" All Ireland, the one where 80,000+ go to see in Croke park and 1 million TV viewers, and thousands more can't get tickets), would much prefer to win a club medal over a county medal as it is achieved within the community and friends and family.

I can only point you here for more infomation as it seems like the basics of GAA here:-

http://www.gaa.ie/the-gaa/about-the-gaa/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

Donal55 wrote: »
    You do realise its Cavan we're talking about here. Not a hope 16 Cavan footballers going to stump up without getting the beef or salmon.

Bridezilla herself actually laughed when that solution was suggested during the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭meep

I'd love to know if the groom was consulted on the call to Joe Duffy and the subsequent e-mail to the hotel, or did the bride head off on a solo run, so to speak.