Irish fitness YouTubers

• 20-09-2017 02:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

What a bunch of untalented, posh, stupid, rich, ripped, shallow, false idiots. Take this one guy, Rob Lipsett. He runs a fitness channel but, like the other Irish YouTubers with big arms, it's not about fitness. It looks that way, but really, it's about him and his cohorts visually boasting about their lives because they'd be **** if they did it verbally.

The videos start off with drone footage of Venice Beach or some f*cking place you can't afford to visit basically. Then, you see him pumping iron in Raw Gym in Sandyford, to the soundtrack of some horrible piece of music which sounds like something Daft Punk sh*t out when they were 13. And then you see him stepping into a flash car - yes, he literally records himself stepping into his car, though only because it's an expensive car and not an Opel Coursa.

Oh, and if he's doing a video with someone else, he will look touch his chin, fix his hair and give a smouldering look into the camera while the other person is speaking. I'm not even making this up. It's beyond rude to the point you genuinely wonder if it's some David Brent ting, but it's not.

He's one of four I could name. All of these mugs follow the same template basically and the real point of the videos is not to inform, but to provoke a level of envy. I know what you're thinking - "it obviously worked because you sound jealous" - but I'm not, not one bit. I am, however, quite passionate about nutrition. I am quite passionate about debunking the million and one myths about nutrition and weight loss and it hurts - like, really hurts - to see a bunch of people with a huge audience waste such a big platform by bragging about their lives when they could be informing.

But listen, they're obviously doing well for themselves both in terms of health and wealth, so one part of me says fair play, but I don't know. It's kind of worrying to me that these people are essentially role models, by virtue of their following, but I wonder if they're really just depressing people instead of inspiring them and, as I said, that's a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,009 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Nice try Rob, but I'm not searching for you on youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

You are enduring all these vloggers gym activities for research
    purposes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I've noticed some Youtubers recording themselves getting into/out of their cars or recording themselves 'arriving' to locations too in the hope of subtly showing off their cars/clothes etc.
    Just says trying too hard to me but sure isn't that what most people on Youtube are doing. The ones that leave their rooms anyway.

Always have clickbait titles on their videos too trying to make out like their lives are so varied and interesting.

If it makes them feel better or makes them money then fair play I suppose.

As for lying and misinformation well that's how most people/companies make their money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Just another fancy Dan who appeals to neanderthals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Never heard of him. I didn't know there are Irish you tubers that have fitness channels.

Fitness is the 'in' thing at the moment, there's a huge increase in people who are vlogging there healthy lifestyles. The only reason their doing it is money, as long as their not giving bad advice then leave them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Always have clickbait titles on their videos too trying to make out like their lives are so varied and interesting.

Yeah. The title could be "She's Pregnant!" and the thumbnail is an image of him looking scared and worried, and then the video is about his sister being pregnant on her fourth child or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Wait Hammer! How many jambons would be considered too many?
    Being a food scientist and all. :pac:

Know of one guy who does modelling, talks about his lifestyle non stop, how he's made it, how much money he makes, how transformed he is blah blah blah. Keeps on half pulling down his pants to show a few pubes. Has a good internet following, and they lap it up, even though the poor fellow must have injected enough steroids into his arse to power a small town.

It's the gym industry, all based around self obsession and looking better. I can look around my local town and see who else is taking steroids now.

Wait Hammer! How many jambons would be considered too many?
    Being a food scientist and all. :pac:

"Yeah so, like, the thing with jambons is, like, they're 87% carbs and, like, you will turn into a fat tub of sh*tty mess if you eat, like, nine of them a day. I know a knacker who went to St Michaels who was addicted to them and he, like, got dropped from the S because he was fat enough to be, like, a prop and he was, like, an inside centre the year before."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If only youtube would develop a method for stopping videos, or unsubscribing from youtubers the world would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

We are not a good looking country. If people are trying to get you to look at something that isn't their face, I'd say g'luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Rhea Melodic Thinner

Is it a requirement for All these bloggers/v loggers etc to be irritating , attention seeking, annoying douchebags - take cia. Twomey, Rosemarie McCabe or Roz Purcell or that Kavanagh fella for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭EMPunk

Know of one guy who does modelling, talks about his lifestyle non stop, how he's made it, how much money he makes, how transformed he is blah blah blah. Keeps on half pulling down his pants to show a few pubes. Has a good internet following, and they lap it up, even though the poor fellow must have injected enough steroids into his arse to power a small town.

It's the gym industry, all based around self obsession and looking better. I can look around my local town and see who else is taking steroids now.

Leave poor Dano out of this will ya;););)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I find the solution is to ignore them completely.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There needs to be vetting for these types. I reckon a lot of them have predatory instincts with the opposite sex. Creeps of the highest order.

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    You are enduring all these vloggers gym activities for research
    purposes?

No they're just unintentionally hilarious.

02:40 - 02:50.

You're welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Jesus phucking Christ. What a ****ing dickhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

LOLOL. I randomly stumbled across that Lipsett fella a few weeks ago after watching some other equally ridiculous training video and him popping up in my suggestions.

I'm still not convinced he isn't a Ross O'Carroll Kelly style parody account ripping the piss out of posh D4 w@nkers with a hard-on for 'that Cali life bro'.

He also gives talks and presentations about how 'successful' he's been at mastering the rockstar lifestyle in a hilarious rags-to-riches style ("I was just a college dropout...and now here I am!").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

The bit I find bizarre is this whole 'watching your macros nonsense ' where they weigh and analyse every bit of food they eat before they eat it and then wash all that down with some supplement powder in water which contains God knows what or an oul energy drink.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Another gimpy sweathog who is jealous of people who are in shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Rhyme wrote: »
    We are not a good looking country. If people are trying to get you to look at something that isn't their face, I'd say g'luck.

Theres lots of good looking people in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Your Face wrote: »

Sorry to hear that, chin up I'm sure you have plenty of qualities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

Your Face wrote: »

Ahhh brah don't be hater bro, its just dudes with different goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Could you try not watching them to alleviate your irritation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

It's depressing that anyone gives a sh!t about any of these twats.

Here's a solution:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't like it?
    Don't watch it..
    I sure as hell don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

It's amazing the negative emotion this draws from so many people.

Seriously they're having a bit of craic and enjoying life in a harmless way. What of it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

This is the only fitness YouTuber worth watching. #Reps4Jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

Posted something similar to this thread a while ago. Best thing about these fake people is more people exist out there with proper knowledge and experience and don't tolerate that self obsessed crap. Lipsetts ex Sarah Godfrey is the same, leeched off his "fame" her videos are stupid nothing in them expect touching her hair every two seconds. She gives personal training programs yet openly states she has no qualifications in fitness.
    What actually interested to see is what are these people going to do when the next fad comes along?
    Biggest gripe with these people is they somehow think they are morally superior to us in the lifestyle rhetoric they spout.

These people are really the modern version of the emperors new clothes